Canton, MI 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: taboo8614 Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Time for a Quicky

1    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: rortopan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained landscape
-Concrete tee pads
-low traffic
Cons: -Missing pad signs
-broken pads
-broken baskets
-poor markings for next hole
Other Thoughts: This course was good for a quick round, but its just a practice course compared to some of the nicer ones in the area. Par is easily obtained. The blind holes are the only real challenge to it and a lot of Ace opportunities. The broken baskets and signs are unfortunate because the park itself is nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Easy

5+    9/10/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: ZanierRules
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Short holes, opportunity for aces abound
- Obvious fairways without many obstacles
- Easy course for beginners
- Outhouses available for use, and of course the rest of the park
- Hole numbers engrained on teepads, makes navigating a bit easier
Cons: - Most of the signs have been taken or vandalised
- Bugs
Other Thoughts: It's a short, easily navigated course that's fairly fun. There aren't many obstacles like hills, water, or trees, so the course is pretty bland.

Fun to try and get a few aces on open holes like 1, 3, and 4.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Swampy Neighborhood Course

2-4    8/1/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: Aceswild
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.3 Years
Pros: Some great ace opportunities exist in what will surely be a quick round for any and all who play this neighborhood course in Canton.
Cons: Nine holes just fly by as you run for your life from the Deet resistant bugs in this swampy course with way too many blind throws into what will surely be a patch of poison ivy or a pack of teenage vandals.
Other Thoughts: I've never played this course in the fall, but I would bet it would be at least a star better. Or you could just drive to the better nearby course at Lakeshore or Rolling Hills.

  

5+    8/27/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: WaldosBeard
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simple course with a few challenges. Nice when you don't have time for 18. Nice course to start out on. Good for practice.
Cons: Turns into a total swamp after it rains and takes a while to dry up. bugs can be a bother.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

‘A’ for Effort… ‘C’ for Execution

5+    6/26/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant setting in a quiet neighborhood park that's clean and well maintained.

Concrete pads with brass hole # imbedded in the tee pad (adds a nice touch) + tee signs w/distance and hole layout. Baskets in good condition.

Passable for beginners or a quick round if you're in the area. Short holes with little walking between them = quick rounds. Don't play here often, but I've never had to wait for a tee.

Fairly good shot variety for 9 holes - all look and feel different.
Cons: A couple of fairways seem tight for such brushy borders. Tight, often illogical fairways, with fairly thick brush mean lots of time spent looking for discs - more than I feel is acceptable for a short course like this.

Course can be very swampy messy, with lots of bugs.

Brush surprisingly thick in areas for this little neighborhood park - wouldn't be surprised if you lose (or find) a disc here.

Is there a course anywhere with intact tee signs?
Other Thoughts: Call me the "Bad Guy," but the bottom line is this course looks a lot better than it plays. Seems inviting and friendly, but playing here can be frustrating. I like the idea of bringing disc golf into the heart of this quiet community, but it simply wasn't executed well. Risk/reward ratio doesn't make sense here. I don't mind throwing annies , forehand, or touch shots, but the lines here don't seem very executable. Because of this, I can't consider this truly a good beginner course - I simply don't think this course helps you develop a good understanding of how discs behave or sharpen the skills you need for more challenging courses.

I return here every so often to see if my opinion will change - it hasn't. Kind of a shame, because if it were laid out differently, this course could have been a lot more fun to play.

Too many other good courses nearby that I can't recommend this to anyone who has to drive more than 10-15 min to get here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Freedom Park

5+    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean, well-maintained park with nice variety of open and wooded holes. To me, this allows for plenty of chances to rip it, as well as challenging yourself when presented with doglegs and blind shots. It's also free and close, so I don't have to break the bank just to play. Seriously, $5 park fee and 2$ disc golf fee? (looking at you, Hudson Mills)
Cons: There are A LOT of mosquitoes and, especially in the spring, stagnant water--while a nice hazard to challenge players--will become annoying. Also, there are no scorecards present. While it's unrealistic to comment on the length, I will say that I wish there were more than nine holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course with a great variety of holes for every type of player to have fun with. I've played tournaments here in the past and have had a blast doing so. Hopefully more will be scheduled in the future.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice/beginner course

2-4    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: mdarket
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Variety of shots - dogleg right, then left. Some narrow fairways
Cons: Very short. Markers are pulled or vandalized. Mosquitos are everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Good for beginners or to practice mid range. I shot -3 and I have only played for a year.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and narrow

5+    5/12/2009   7/6/2010
Review By: Scrubgolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tees. Good baskets. Easy to get to, good parking. Not too busy.
Cons: Very tight fairways. Lots of water in the spring.
Other Thoughts: For being in such a nice area I was surprised at how much vandalism there was to the signs.

Don't go too far out of your way to play this course but if you are in the area give it a try.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: LittleWoodenBoy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for practicing approach and putting. Was able to play a round at lunch (30 min.). Good use of land. Hole numbers on Tee pad was helpful. I was the only one playing at 12:30pm.
Cons: Most signs not present. Very short holes, <200'. A little buggy, but hey, it's summer time! can see how muddy it would get in Spring/after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: Too many holes veer to the right, so this is good and bad. It's good practice, but not much variety in layout. Hole 9 kind of leaves you in the middle of park, so I decided to shoot back to hole #1 to get in a tenth hole. Overall, a nice lunch/practice park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Slow and sloppy

2-4    5/29/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice use of the land this park has. it's just in a small little city park, but 9 holes fit in OK. not very crowded. a tight-knit course that provides a challenge on every hole. course can be played in a half-hour if you are by yourself.
Cons: most course signs have been ripped down; the concrete tees are marked with number though. quite sloppy off the fairways, as everyhthing is constantly under water. and hole #4: do you want me to play through the fairway, or can i just throw to the wide-open area to the right? I don't see any OB markers..
Other Thoughts: **update**
after playing this course through a few more times, i have to update to "passable". everything but the fairways are always under water, and the fairways are so tight there's very little reward for all that risk. 6 or 7 of the holes are anhyzers, which would be nice except there are only 9 holes total. not very nice to a RHBH. this course is bloody tough, and not worth the challenge. in my opinon, this should be a lazy-summer-day type of course in the local neighborhood. skip this course for any of the other numerous ones in the greater Detroit area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.