Southfield, MI 
Lawrence Tech Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
short, sweet and challenging.

1    5/9/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: mball1684
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, some "interesting" hole layouts. Nice and quiet and not very busy.
Cons: Perhaps a few too many easy holes. A lot of the holes get very wet when it rains. Has the ability to have some errand shots head into traffic.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "Settle down, Beavis."

1    6/7/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice big course maps at the start of the front and back nines give you the lay of the land. Sign posts showing tee number and par info, as well as a bird's eye view of each hole are a nice touch. Brand spankin' new bright yellow baskets are gorgeous. Some nicely designed holes sprinkled throughout; thinking specifically of #7 and 8, 14 and 15, and #18's gauntlet to end the round. Some interesting obstacles not seen at your standard course: a flight of stairs, a chain link fence, elecrical boxes, a frickin' freeway. While I don't know whether these add to the experience or not, your round will not be boring.
Cons: Not gonna lie - there's a lot to hate. I'll rattle some off here.

Holes 1 and 2 can be aced by using a PUTTER. Hole 1 is horribly designed, the shortest hole I've ever played (if not the shortest hole IN EXISTENCE), and probably isn't even PDGA approved. Not sure why they didn't mow the tall grass in the field to the left of the staircase and put the pin back there...would been a nice snake shot down the hill. I wonder if that seemed almost too obvious that no one thought of it? There is some great land back through here as well, with a bridge over a creek and twin hills just screaming for some challenging holes. But instead you have two practice baskets before the course really begins at Hole #3.

Hole #7 could be a great bomb off the top of the hill with a sweet run through the tree tops, but instead the designer opted to have the tee at the bottom of the hill, maybe 200ft. from the pin, a lazy midrange drive to the basket. Needless to say, we created the "unofficial pro tee" at the top of the hill. #8 might be the best hole, but here again is a huge area of land that isn't being used properly. Thick woods, the aforementioned hill, a winding stream as a water hazard...they could've added much more (at least one more hole) to the course in this, the only secluded area of the property.

#10 and 11 seems crammed into a very small area, with woods defining the barrier of the space. Not sure if LTU owns this land, but again, a missed opportunity IMO to maximize the property.

I've seen a lot of complaints on the reviews so far about how #14-18 are unplayable because of the parking lot/service drive etc. I can certainly see their point. We played in summer at 7PM so the parking lot was almost empty, and the service drive about as busy as a subdivision sidestreet. But playing here at the height of a semester COULD be considered "unplayable." Regardless, I enjoyed the way this course finished up, and honestly thought this stretch had some of the best designed holes for the land they had to work with.

Course is a little hard to locate, and there is a bit of a walk from 9 to 10 and after 18 back to your car, but that is minor. I only mention it because I wonder how restricted they were on designing this course. I'm sure they had to get approval for everything they did from the administration.

Course signs really needed to have distances listed. Also, the pars listed are ridiculous. No hole is a Par 6 (#4). Sorry. I don't even think it was 1000 ft. long.
Other Thoughts: I think my overall complaint is the lack of imagination in designing some of the holes and leaving a lot of land unused. Again, I wonder how restricted they were in making these 18. I also wonder if maybe money was a factor? Land clearing can be expensive. If that was the case, I'd say they did a helluva job in making this course work. And while it isn't pretty, IT DOES WORK. And that means something to me. I may never play it again, but it will stick in my mind. I went into it thinking the worst, and came out of it pleasantly underwhelmed. Stop by and say hi if you get the chance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 weekend course

2-4    10/3/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good baskets, signs, some interesting obstacles. even some blind holes.

i would call this an upgrade to an object course. since i played object at OCC's campus, this feels right at home.

the tees arent really marked, and some holes are short. its best to find alt tees in these cases. like hole1 shoot from the parking lot (from 6 parking spaces north from the stairs).

scenic skyscrapers and windy around the barren southfield flats.
Cons: pretty much limits you to the front 9 on weekdays or when the parking lot is full.

no restarooms?
no trashacans.

shanking one into northwestern hwy (or the service drive) would be very bad.

i lost one in the tall grass on #8 and spent 30 minutes lookin for it. two holes circle the tallest cattails i've seen (15-20 ft!) so watch for that wet swamp...
Other Thoughts: mostly (~14 holes) in the sun. some walking distance between back and front 9.

i found a fastback on the course, maybe thats the reason for the 60ft par 3's ? its a humfrey flyer course not a discraft/innova course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This course be unfinished

1    9/2/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: jamal_jumpstart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The campus has good landscaping but the course dont.

Staff was helpful but security always be giving me a hard time.

Lots of parking
Cons: Cattails everywhere
The bridge is a deathtrap
You or you discs will get hit by a car if you throw left
Houses around the property some guy already yelling at players and I'm a player
Other Thoughts: Wait until next year until it be done

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't shank it into the Highway!

2-4    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-It's always good to see disc baskets somewhere. There were a couple fun and unique holes here. Hole #8 plays with a winding river on one side and cattails on the other, forcing you to test your finesse. Hole 12 has a basket that is guarded by some kind of art design / crooked bridge thing, lol. A couple other holes play near some buildings that make for interesting throws.

-Really the only good thing goin for this course is that there is decent variety from hole to hole. Wide open to tightly wooded, short holes and long holes.
Cons:
-When I called here a day before playing, I was told you could go to the "field house" and get a map, but when I went it was closed. Without a map it's almost impossible to navigate the course. Not only is Hole #1 hard to find if you don't know where it is, but also hole #9 is hard to find too. I even saw a group decided to walk the course in reverse to find every basket.

-Almost half the holes are dangerous to play with the basket locations. A couple play way to close to the roads, and it's not even out of the question that someone could shank their throw and put it into the highway. We also had to skip hole 16 because there was a car parked within 10 feet of the basket.

-I could easily see problems here in the future with beginners hitting cars and what not.
Other Thoughts:
-Personally, I just feel like the hazards force you to play super smart, and it adds to the challenge (knowing that a bad throw could go through a car window, lol). Mostly everyone who reviews this course is gonna slam it hard for this reason though.

-Now that there tee markers in, there is a little bit of a fun factor here. It's not like any course i've ever played. And I say that in a good and bad way.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.