Southfield, MI
Lawrence Tech Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
a lot of really poor choices

1    4/17/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 195  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Baskets-- all present and in decent repair.

Teesigns-- Decent. the little strip at the bottom apparently shows a picture of the hole? Distances seem ok.
Cons:
Aesthetic and safety-- ugh. where to begin... the first half of the "course" starts down a pedestrian stairway, down and over a pedestrian bridge and around a soccer field and along a very busy road. front half finishes up next to a storage trailer. The back half plays through busy sections of campus and around a parking lot, then down the same busy road as #4... This course is a safety nightmare.

Teepads- where the eff are they supposed to be? no definite way to know where the teepads are supposed to be.

Water retention-- front half is largely wet and muddy. hard to play in the spring for sure.

Other Thoughts:
it's hard to put into words how bad this "course" is. I only gave it a half a disc for the baskets and teesigns. Other than that, the fact that the aesthetic section is in cons is a dead giveaway. Avoid unless you are course bagging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Engineering University Fail

1    8/29/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: Cantolope
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a nice view at one point. Around hole #2.
Cons: Everything else. Poor design, Vandalism, Bugs
Other Thoughts: The problem with this course resides in it being broken up into two smaller courses (the latter which needn't exist)

The first basket is literally ten feet down some stairs. The second basket is a stick because someone stole it. After that there are about five somewhat playable holes, made marginally difficult by the fact that you're playing within 15' of a 40 MPH service drive off M-10 (The Lodge) The second half of the front nine requires doubling back a hole into the woods and down an unmarked slope. Incredibly buggy terrain. The second course starts on the other end of campus behind the dorms and engineering labs. The second half of the back nine is virtually unplayable as it plays over parking lots, roads, and BUSY street intersections all with dog leg angles into baskets. If your friend suggests playing here, I suggest hitting him with a disc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

"Settle down, Beavis."

1    6/7/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice big course maps at the start of the front and back nines give you the lay of the land. Sign posts showing tee number and par info, as well as a bird's eye view of each hole are a nice touch. Brand spankin' new bright yellow baskets are gorgeous. Some nicely designed holes sprinkled throughout; thinking specifically of #7 and 8, 14 and 15, and #18's gauntlet to end the round. Some interesting obstacles not seen at your standard course: a flight of stairs, a chain link fence, elecrical boxes, a frickin' freeway. While I don't know whether these add to the experience or not, your round will not be boring.
Cons: Not gonna lie - there's a lot to hate. I'll rattle some off here.

Holes 1 and 2 can be aced by using a PUTTER. Hole 1 is horribly designed, the shortest hole I've ever played (if not the shortest hole IN EXISTENCE), and probably isn't even PDGA approved. Not sure why they didn't mow the tall grass in the field to the left of the staircase and put the pin back there...would been a nice snake shot down the hill. I wonder if that seemed almost too obvious that no one thought of it? There is some great land back through here as well, with a bridge over a creek and twin hills just screaming for some challenging holes. But instead you have two practice baskets before the course really begins at Hole #3.

Hole #7 could be a great bomb off the top of the hill with a sweet run through the tree tops, but instead the designer opted to have the tee at the bottom of the hill, maybe 200ft. from the pin, a lazy midrange drive to the basket. Needless to say, we created the "unofficial pro tee" at the top of the hill. #8 might be the best hole, but here again is a huge area of land that isn't being used properly. Thick woods, the aforementioned hill, a winding stream as a water hazard...they could've added much more (at least one more hole) to the course in this, the only secluded area of the property.

#10 and 11 seems crammed into a very small area, with woods defining the barrier of the space. Not sure if LTU owns this land, but again, a missed opportunity IMO to maximize the property.

I've seen a lot of complaints on the reviews so far about how #14-18 are unplayable because of the parking lot/service drive etc. I can certainly see their point. We played in summer at 7PM so the parking lot was almost empty, and the service drive about as busy as a subdivision sidestreet. But playing here at the height of a semester COULD be considered "unplayable." Regardless, I enjoyed the way this course finished up, and honestly thought this stretch had some of the best designed holes for the land they had to work with.

Course is a little hard to locate, and there is a bit of a walk from 9 to 10 and after 18 back to your car, but that is minor. I only mention it because I wonder how restricted they were on designing this course. I'm sure they had to get approval for everything they did from the administration.

Course signs really needed to have distances listed. Also, the pars listed are ridiculous. No hole is a Par 6 (#4). Sorry. I don't even think it was 1000 ft. long.
Other Thoughts: I think my overall complaint is the lack of imagination in designing some of the holes and leaving a lot of land unused. Again, I wonder how restricted they were in making these 18. I also wonder if maybe money was a factor? Land clearing can be expensive. If that was the case, I'd say they did a helluva job in making this course work. And while it isn't pretty, IT DOES WORK. And that means something to me. I may never play it again, but it will stick in my mind. I went into it thinking the worst, and came out of it pleasantly underwhelmed. Stop by and say hi if you get the chance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ???

1    3/20/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice signs
No real lengthy walks to next tee area
Good course design
Nice use of space
Even distrabution of hard and easy holes
Cons: Couldn't find 10-18
Had a hard time finding 1
Some holes run right along a bussy ass road
Others are in a area that is easley a swamp 7 months of the year (with a bad smell)
Other Thoughts: I only played the front 9 cus we couldn't find 10 and it started to rain so this review is only about the first 9 holes. All and all I'd say it's good but could be better with a lil tlc.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Fail

1    7/31/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 152  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets.
Decent tee signs.
Sloped green on hole 4 requires good putt.
There are about 8-9 holes worth playing.
Only course in the immediate area.
Cons: Design and layout is ridiculous and unsafe: Three holes (4, 17, 18) play on a narrow strip of grass with a parking lot on the right and a freeway service road on the left, with another (hole 5) playing along-side a major road. If this course gets any significant traffic, discs will hit significant traffic.
Asphalt comes into play on 4 or 5 holes; difficult to avoid and murder on discs.
Tee signs face wrong direction. Would be nice if they showed distance. Arrows on tee signs are worse than useless.
I have no clue what the first two holes are about. They make no sense whatsoever.
Basket for 12 is placed under a large metal structure with support braces blocking what could be an Ace or birdie putt. Sorry, but that's just not the same as a couple of trees guarding a well-placed basket.
Other Thoughts: This course makes me embarrassed to say I graduated from LTU. Several fairways here simply make no sense (you'd think an engineering school would have better appreciation for disc physics and flight patterns). There are a few decent holes, but some of them simply shouldn't exist, and are essentially, a waste of a good basket, or worse, a legitimate safety hazard. Bad enough that you have to play around and over a parking lot, but using a narrow strip of grass alongside a busy road as a fairway is completely irresponsible. OK if you tee off with a BlowFly, but Champ plastic and cars? Not a good combo.

Never have I seen a course that was so poorly suited to beginners and experienced players alike. Do yourself a favor: drive 10 miles east and play Wagner instead.

Just my opinion, but this could have made a decent nine holes; instead, it's a bad 18 holes. Proof positive that more does not necessarily equate to better.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 weekend course

2-4    10/3/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good baskets, signs, some interesting obstacles. even some blind holes.

i would call this an upgrade to an object course. since i played object at OCC's campus, this feels right at home.

the tees arent really marked, and some holes are short. its best to find alt tees in these cases. like hole1 shoot from the parking lot (from 6 parking spaces north from the stairs).

scenic skyscrapers and windy around the barren southfield flats.
Cons: pretty much limits you to the front 9 on weekdays or when the parking lot is full.

no restarooms?
no trashacans.

shanking one into northwestern hwy (or the service drive) would be very bad.

i lost one in the tall grass on #8 and spent 30 minutes lookin for it. two holes circle the tallest cattails i've seen (15-20 ft!) so watch for that wet swamp...
Other Thoughts: mostly (~14 holes) in the sun. some walking distance between back and front 9.

i found a fastback on the course, maybe thats the reason for the 60ft par 3's ? its a humfrey flyer course not a discraft/innova course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worst Course Design

1    9/20/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Malachy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: They have very nice baskets
Cons: They put them less than 10 feet from a freeways service drive.
Other Thoughts: Me and some buddies walked the course a bit and decided it was too dangerous to play. Several holes were directly next to a parking lot on one side and the freeway on the other.

Also had a basket 2 feet off a busy walking path and a hole within 5 feet of the corner of an apartment building

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/28/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: breezy
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good Use of the Land.
- Sweet Greens.
- Crazy OB and Obstacles through out the course.
- 1/3 of the Course is lit up = Night Putting.
- 5 miles from my house.
- Course is kept maintained.
Cons: - Tee signs are wrong.
- No distinct tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Not a course for beginners.

Traveled here with low expectations due to previous reviews. Played with 4 other really good players and we all had a blast. Hole 1 and 2 are kinda a joke, but the tee placement can be moved to your own choosing to make them more challenging. I will definitely be coming back often.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Casuals stay away

1    9/28/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: grizzlyd
Played: 58  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the land available they made the best holes possible. Most of the holes have very tough greens and ridiculous OB, making this a fun course for a seasoned golfer. Holes 12 or 13 thru 18 are lit up by the lamps throughout campus! New buckets are buttery.
Cons: Tee signs are ridiculous and should be ignored. No distances and often pointing in the wrong direction. Some dangerous OB on several holes. Also be weary of people and cars. Very long walk between Hole 18 and 1.
Other Thoughts: Casual golfers and noobs should probably stay away. With the danger of hitting people and/or cars it's too risky to have "extremely" errant shots.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OMG

1    9/27/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 109  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New baskets. Even if they are Innova, basket is a basket. 18 hole course playing along crazy traffic and at dorm buildings, parking lots full of cars, etc. Those things add to the fun.
Cons: Obviously ZERO disc golfers were involved in the making of this course. Hole 1 was about 45' long down a few stairs and tucked behind a huge bush. I was pissed I didn't ace holes 1 and 2. If this course was at my college I would drop out assuming the course design was directly related to the curriculum.

(added aug31st 2011) - The course makes no sense. When it went in, the expensive looking tee signs marked out some holes as par 2. Hole 1 was 40', hole 2, 80'. Hole 12 has a basket installed under and within a metal structure so if your drive gets close, hope you don't want your disc because the metal will destroy it. Hole 18 is next to I75. You can literally walk down 75 while walking to your lie... worst place for a dgc ever.
Other Thoughts: WOW. I guess I understand the course because none of the holes are too impossible. All of them can feasibly be deuced by someone. Hole 12 almost made the least sense of all the holes, being tucked inside a metal structure awning type deal, risking the structural integrity of every disc that even comes close to the basket. That was until I played holes 16,17, and 18. I liked 18 because I rolled my Z Xpress almost on the freeway but it turned over and I had a look at an easy 3. Be careful if you play here. Do not bring animals or children unless they are on a leash.

However there is a Wendys across the street from hole 4 or 5 so after you burn away the memory of holes 1, 2, and 3, you can get a frosty to lighten up your wasted trip to LTU.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.