Disc Golf Store
Southfield, MI 
Lawrence Tech Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 OMG

1    9/27/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New baskets. Even if they are Innova, basket is a basket. 18 hole course playing along crazy traffic and at dorm buildings, parking lots full of cars, etc. Those things add to the fun.
Cons: Obviously ZERO disc golfers were involved in the making of this course. Hole 1 was about 45' long down a few stairs and tucked behind a huge bush. I was pissed I didn't ace holes 1 and 2. If this course was at my college I would drop out assuming the course design was directly related to the curriculum.

(added aug31st 2011) - The course makes no sense. When it went in, the expensive looking tee signs marked out some holes as par 2. Hole 1 was 40', hole 2, 80'. Hole 12 has a basket installed under and within a metal structure so if your drive gets close, hope you don't want your disc because the metal will destroy it. Hole 18 is next to I75. You can literally walk down 75 while walking to your lie... worst place for a dgc ever.
Other Thoughts: WOW. I guess I understand the course because none of the holes are too impossible. All of them can feasibly be deuced by someone. Hole 12 almost made the least sense of all the holes, being tucked inside a metal structure awning type deal, risking the structural integrity of every disc that even comes close to the basket. That was until I played holes 16,17, and 18. I liked 18 because I rolled my Z Xpress almost on the freeway but it turned over and I had a look at an easy 3. Be careful if you play here. Do not bring animals or children unless they are on a leash.

However there is a Wendys across the street from hole 4 or 5 so after you burn away the memory of holes 1, 2, and 3, you can get a frosty to lighten up your wasted trip to LTU.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 how many words can I type in the "cons" section?

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - New baskets
- Has a map board (maybe only on the back 9?) and tee signs now
- Well mowed
- Lack of poison ivy, thorns, rough*
Cons: - Seems to have been designed by a non- disc golfer or maybe by throwing wet noodles onto a campus map
- Honestly 18 holes should not have been attempted to be installed at this property
- Parking lots in play often cars will get damaged
- Pedestrians, windows, and a FREEWAY in play (someone could die if you shanked)
- Fairly tough to navigate especially if you don't know the campus, back 9 is separated
- Tee signs show ridiculous flight lines (such as over a roof, through impenetrable woods, etc, and don't face the right way and the actual tee spot isn't marked make your own for now
- ranges from par 2 (#1- 60 ft.) to par 6 (#4- 500 ft)
Other Thoughts: Course needs to be scaled back to 9 holes or completely re-designed this isn't how disc golf should be shown to new-comers

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 It's Changed

5+    9/16/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Equigley
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course used to be very hard to navigate however, the grounds crew just put up the tee markers. The entire process has been slow moving on campus, however the course is now official. We have billboards at the beginning of the front and back 9, as well as tee markers at every tee.
Cons: the course plays close to ten mile, as well as the lodge free way.
Other Thoughts: The course is good for moderate players, there are a few holes that are wide open, otherwise, there are roads and potential hazards to lose discs in.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course be unfinished

1    9/2/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: jamal_jumpstart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The campus has good landscaping but the course dont.

Staff was helpful but security always be giving me a hard time.

Lots of parking
Cons: Cattails everywhere
The bridge is a deathtrap
You or you discs will get hit by a car if you throw left
Houses around the property some guy already yelling at players and I'm a player
Other Thoughts: Wait until next year until it be done

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't shank it into the Highway!

2-4    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-It's always good to see disc baskets somewhere. There were a couple fun and unique holes here. Hole #8 plays with a winding river on one side and cattails on the other, forcing you to test your finesse. Hole 12 has a basket that is guarded by some kind of art design / crooked bridge thing, lol. A couple other holes play near some buildings that make for interesting throws.

-Really the only good thing goin for this course is that there is decent variety from hole to hole. Wide open to tightly wooded, short holes and long holes.
Cons:
-When I called here a day before playing, I was told you could go to the "field house" and get a map, but when I went it was closed. Without a map it's almost impossible to navigate the course. Not only is Hole #1 hard to find if you don't know where it is, but also hole #9 is hard to find too. I even saw a group decided to walk the course in reverse to find every basket.

-Almost half the holes are dangerous to play with the basket locations. A couple play way to close to the roads, and it's not even out of the question that someone could shank their throw and put it into the highway. We also had to skip hole 16 because there was a car parked within 10 feet of the basket.

-I could easily see problems here in the future with beginners hitting cars and what not.
Other Thoughts:
-Personally, I just feel like the hazards force you to play super smart, and it adds to the challenge (knowing that a bad throw could go through a car window, lol). Mostly everyone who reviews this course is gonna slam it hard for this reason though.

-Now that there tee markers in, there is a little bit of a fun factor here. It's not like any course i've ever played. And I say that in a good and bad way.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.