Wilson, NC 
Lake Wilson Share
Uploaded By: dhall Hole #18 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
What a hike

1    5/9/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: gvdg jake
Played: 49  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun front 9. Really enjoyed 5 with it crossing the corner of the lake. Also liked hole 8 with it being slightly uphill and basket is on mound. Holes 11,12,13 were a very nice challenge. Would be nice to see parks and Rec cut low hanging limbs that are in fairway. It takes the line away.
Cons: Old discatcher (single chains). Long walk to hole 1 from parking lot. Water is in play on 5 or 6 holes if you take a bad kick. Would have rated better if there was a bridge to cross at 18. It's already a lot of walking and then to finish 18 you have to make a 5-7 minute walk back by hole 1,2,3,4,5 and 13.
Other Thoughts: It was nice to get away from heavy traffic disc golf and come to a course where you are the only one playing. Also water is VERY DARK/DEEP!! 2 guys I played with lost discs on rollaways and we never got them back.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Perfect little starter course

1    11/16/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discatchers.
Teesigns with hole shape, but no distance
Superior use of a nearly impossible to use land. The land this course is on is very narrow an oddly shaped, yet somehow they made it work.
Holes 1 and 2 are short and simple with some water on left. They are nice warm up holes that are beginner friendly. The entire front 9 is a low stress beginner friendly course with few blind holes that does not resort to becoming a boring pitch and putt.
the back 9 quickly changes gears to longer tougher holes.
2 hole 18's. Hole 18A is a tee, water, and a basket with nothing but water as your fairway. It is a short hole, but you have to over throw or risk getting soggy.
5 is a short shot over the water, but a devious stump acts as a baseball bat knocking discs into the water.
Cons: Gravel and natural tees that are in need of work.
Signs do not have distance.
11 could cause confusion. 15's basket is visable from the tee, but the actuall basket is to the right up a small hill.
16 is an odd tee location that faces 45 degrees from the fairway.
1/4 mile walk from tee 18A to the basket. 1/2 mile walk from basket 18 back to parking lot.
Other Thoughts: If you are bringing children to play I would suggest they play the front 9 then go enjoy the playground that is on site.
There are 2 holes where there is clear risk of water and numerous others where your disc could end up in the water if you make a mistake.
Bring a towel, I wound up in the water twice on holes where I had no business being near the water.
This is the type of course that I would consider a perfect beginner course. It is fair and starts off very tame but the back 9 shows new players what they are in for at other courses. I would like to give the designers a 5 for thier use of the land, you really need to see an overhead view to fully grasp what they had to work with.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Life is like a box of chocolates!

1    11/3/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a small park surrounding a small lake. Nice setting for a course.

Navigation is simple and aided by a map at first tee. All holes have basic signs and flat very playable natural tee pads.

Hole length variety is excellent. There are holes from 184' all the way to 675'. There is a good mix with holes in the 200's, 300's and 500's.

Hole variety is pretty good. There are some holes along the lake, some holes in a sparsely wooded setting and some long tight lines. There is a little something for everybody at Lake Wilson.
Cons: Natural pads could be upgraded.

Signs don't tell distance or give much information.

Course has a gravel road and some trails used for walking throughout. During peak times there is probably interference with other park users.

Long walk around lake to basket 18.
Other Thoughts: This course was better than what I expected. It starts slow with 4 short holes along the lake. At this point you will be asking yourself if the drive was really worth it. Even if you came from the next town over. But then things start to look up.

#5 is a nice, short ace run over the lake. Only 182' so not much water risk, but fun.

Holes 6-10 are basic holes playing through mostly open ground with some large trees mixed in. Each hole has multiple lines to the basket and nothing is too tight.

#11 and #12 are the 2 long holes that make you realize the drive was worth it. 11 plays along an OB road and is mostly open, but finishes in the trees. #12 has a typical long, tight, wooded feel that NC golf is known for. It's 561' and fairly narrow.

13 -15 are shorter, but maintain some tight lines near the water.

16 and 17 are similar to the 6-10 stretch. Just typical open with large trees fairways and multiple lines. Although 16 may have a huge hyzer route over the water if you are feeling brave.

18 is a 204' shot back over part of the lake. Just a wide open hole with some water risk. Not a bad hole until you realize it will take you 10 minutes to walk around and find your disc.

This course is fairly flat and open so wind becomes a factor on the water holes and the open holes.

There is nothing exceptional at this course, but it does offer a multitude of lengths and shots. It offers some water risk, some tight lines and some flat out bombs. Any course with this many features is worth playing. If you're in the Wilson area make sure you stop and give Lake Wilson a try.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Day @ the Lake

2-4    6/10/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout - The course is designed well in terms of mixing up hole types and distances. You'll see some more open shots near the beginning and the more you get in to the course the more the trees become a factor.

The course runs up and down the edge of the lake and it is a factor on quite a few holes. Only two holes actually cross the water and they're both shorter water carries. The proximity to the water makes wind a huge factor here.

The wooded holes do a good job of making you shape shots and be accurate through gaps; while the more open holes sometimes give you a few trees to maneuver around while being conscious of the water.

There are also some OB lines running down some of the longer interior holes which makes drive placement a key.

There's not a huge amount of elevation change but the rolling hills out there are used very well in the way the greens are positioned.

Overall I'd say it's a well rounded course despite its limitations. It flows well and you never find yourself in question of where to go next.

Atmosphere - Very scenic park right on Lake Wilson. There's a few swampy bits right on the edge in the back part but for the most part it's a great place to play disc golf.

Equipment - The baskets were in good shape and there's a map with scorecards at the beginning of the course. There are signs letting you know where the tees are.
Cons: Layout - My biggest problem with the layout is that the front part of the course mainly consists of straight on shots with the lake on one side. Although there are more obstacles and tighter gaps towards the middle the fairways don't have a lot of shape.

Some of the holes are positioned very close to each other as well. I ended up on another fairway a few times which isn't hard to do.

#16 was questionable for me because it was unclear of which route was intended from the tee. It appears there should be a hyzer route over the water but there was a huge branch blocking it, the left route shoots you right towards another fairway.

#18 is just poor design in my book. You're asked to throw a water carry then take a 5 minute walk down around the water over to the green. Somebody could easily sit there and grab your disc.

There's a trail running through the course area as well which could be a problem at times considering there are a few blind shots near it.

Atmosphere - Just a few swampy bits right near the water on the back part, not really that bad in itself. Standing water is probably a problem here when it rains.

Equipment - The tee signs don't give you any information other than the hole #. The pads are just sand and gravel framed in to the ground. They're very uneven and not my favorite.
Other Thoughts: If more holes had shape to them this would be a better course. The land just had limitations but it's a beautiful park and a great place to spend a day. If it's windy you'll encounter a serious challenge out there.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lake WILSON

5+    4/9/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: LeeBo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First few holes are an ace run. New Basket placement on hole #8 (top of hill). Good Mix of water and fairway areas. Hole #11 no out-of-bounds play anymore (excluding water).
Cons: The course is very poorly designed. It's not even worth going to the course without other experienced players that have played it. There are at least 50 trees that need to be cut down before the course becomes reasonable. Hole # 13 are trees to the left and right with barely enough room to get your disc through a gap and there are even more trees in front of those trees. Easy to lose a disc. Hole # 14, there is no line. You have to get lucky enough to get a birdie without hitting a tree. Hole # 16 (678ft Par5), the tee-pad is facing the opposite direction. The idea of the tee facing over the water is to throw a 500ft back to the left in which the risk/reward is entirely to high. Hole #18, you throw over water and walk about half a mile before you get to the landing area, (five min walk). Lastly, most of the baskets have one set of chains which are old and rusted (need 2/3 sets of chains OR New Baskets).
Other Thoughts: Hole #5 can be a hassle because of branches, but very good place over the water! Very hard to call this your home course, considering that I live here. It takes about 2 hours to play this course, bring plenty of water.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: jksenior
Played: 117  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple of pros:

The first is the actual hole layouts. I thought the holes were generally good with easy per 3's, tough par threes and a couple of par 4's. The wind and water definitely added to the difficulty of several of the easier holes

Navigation was easy with most of the tees easily spotted from the previous hole.

Also, the lake makes the course quite scenic
Cons: There are quite a few cons which drive my 2.5 rating.

- first is the tee pads. They seemed like a mix of san and gravel and several had some standing water after a rain overnight. They were framed in so it wouldn't be too difficult to make them concrete.
- next is the overall course layout. Many of the holes were very close to other holes. I suspect there is a lot of waiting when the course is more crowded.
- there were tee signs, but there were no distances on them so they did little more than act as directional guides.
- based on the walking path that wove through a number of the holes I suspect there is some contention with pedestrians during prime times.

Some individual hole comments:

15 - I think the design of the hole is to throw a hyzer out over the water and come back into the fairway. But the water was high and the risk/reward was definitely not worth it. So it forced an anny or turnover shot where you were throwing back towards another hole.

18 - an ok hole just throwing across the lake, but the walk from the tee to the basket was terrible. Not only did it take 5 minutes or so, but you had to cross over at least 4 or 5 other holes. It would be great if there was a bridge across the thin portion of the lake near the hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite all of the cons and the relatively few pros, I did enjoy my round there and will go back. It helped that I played in the morning when no one else was around. I think with some tees and a few navigational/layout improvements this could be a really good course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wind and Water

5+    6/19/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: grhomes
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2013
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Came back to update my review... New basket on #1. Good mix of water and open areas to crank one. First few are very aceable.
Cons: This course is not the best design. The first 4 holes are all less than or right at 300', in the middle of the pedestrian walkway, which can be a pain. Many fairways/walks to next tee cross each other, and can be hectic. Biggest problem is the quality of the baskets, at least 15 baskets only have one set of outer chains, and are old and rusted.
Other Thoughts: This course has started to grow on me a little...After the front 9, the course veers into a narrow wooded area that require precision shots. The walk from 18 tee to green is a pain, and with so much space it could be fixed easily. If it has rained recently, be prepared to bring boots because the course gets very muddy.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lake WIlson

2-4    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: teej
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. I have played this course twice now. It has a really good mix of short and long holes. The first couple of holes are almost just ace runs which I really like. I liked how the course flowed around the lake, putting the lake in your way or in your sight making it a factor on about 9 holes. It also forces you to throw over open water.

At hole one, they have a box full of score cards and there are suppose to be pencils there. The score cards have the distance of each hole, pars and the layout of the course which really comes in handy since the tee signs do not have the distances listed.

Cons: There is an unbelievable amount of mosquito's out there. Make sure you bring bug spray, its just as important as your discs.

There are no tee pads. There was a couple of holes where I was not sure exactly where to throw from.

A couple of holes run together. It actually it not that big of a deal. It will not affect normal play but any tournament play I could possibly see problems coming up.

Hole 18 is kind of a inconvenience because you have to walk all the way around part of the lake. It is a good 5min walk. Plus you are walking through holes 7, 5, 4, and 3. It would be great for them to put a long bridge/fishing bridges so it could cut down walking time.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It is quite challenging. It has a really good combo of short and long holes.

I think if some holes were tweaked and some tee pads were thrown down, this would become a very sought after course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Around the Lake

1    5/1/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Obviously, water and lots of it, both scenic and challenging. About half the holes play parallel to the lake, and two more holes, have you throwing over it. This will be more challenging to the lesser skilled players, but can put a little discomfort for the higher skilled players.

The course is fairly easy to navigate, even without a map, but there are score cards with maps at the first tee. Even though there are tee posts at each hole, they don't offer much information other than the hole number, so refer to the score card for distances.

There is a good blend of distances here, a few short holes and a few long holes, and every distance in between.
Cons: There is a walking path that meanders throughout the course. Hole 11 has you throwing a blind, around the corner shot, right down the path, so be very careful. Some park patrons, not familiar with disc golf, wander off the path, and onto the course.

The fairways from 11 to 15 are parallel and a little too close to one another. Errant throws definitely encroach on the others fairway, but so can some routine good shots.

Hole 18 has you throwing across the water, probably too far for beginners and low intermediate players to accomplish. My biggest problem with 18 was after your drive, you have about a 5 - 7 minute walk around part of the lake to the basket. Half that time your back is to the basket, so any park patron can find your disc, pick it up and do what ever with it.
Other Thoughts: Park in the parking lot farthest down the entrance road, you will have a little bit of a walk to the first tee. Bring your supplies, water, discs, etc with you, because the walk isn't convenient.

There's a good chance of losing a disc in the water, but there is enough open and semi-wooded holes to keep you dry.

This is a marked improvement over the previous course, Toisnot Park, in design, difficulty and beauty. Still a few minor improvements needed to complete the course, but you'll enjoy it none the less.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Lake

2-4    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Prothios
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging long shots. Nice view across the lake.
Cons: I didn't like this course for my play style. Too many long shots, most running right along the shore of the lake. Stray to far or even a roller and your in the lake. Hole 5 tee's across the lake but the landing is tight. Hole 18 has a long tee across about 300 feet of lake. Lost plenty of discs here in the 2 days i played it. No tee boxes, just a single post to mark were they should be. lots of people fishing, especially the landing area on 5.
Other Thoughts: If you have a big arm with lots of distance and floating discs, this one could be fun. Really need some tee boxes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.