Wilson, NC 
Lake Wilson Share
Uploaded By: dhall   (Taken 10/2010)



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What a hike

1    5/9/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: gvdg jake
Played: 53  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun front 9. Really enjoyed 5 with it crossing the corner of the lake. Also liked hole 8 with it being slightly uphill and basket is on mound. Holes 11,12,13 were a very nice challenge. Would be nice to see parks and Rec cut low hanging limbs that are in fairway. It takes the line away.
Cons: Old discatcher (single chains). Long walk to hole 1 from parking lot. Water is in play on 5 or 6 holes if you take a bad kick. Would have rated better if there was a bridge to cross at 18. It's already a lot of walking and then to finish 18 you have to make a 5-7 minute walk back by hole 1,2,3,4,5 and 13.
Other Thoughts: It was nice to get away from heavy traffic disc golf and come to a course where you are the only one playing. Also water is VERY DARK/DEEP!! 2 guys I played with lost discs on rollaways and we never got them back.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Perfect little starter course

1    11/16/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discatchers.
Teesigns with hole shape, but no distance
Superior use of a nearly impossible to use land. The land this course is on is very narrow an oddly shaped, yet somehow they made it work.
Holes 1 and 2 are short and simple with some water on left. They are nice warm up holes that are beginner friendly. The entire front 9 is a low stress beginner friendly course with few blind holes that does not resort to becoming a boring pitch and putt.
the back 9 quickly changes gears to longer tougher holes.
2 hole 18's. Hole 18A is a tee, water, and a basket with nothing but water as your fairway. It is a short hole, but you have to over throw or risk getting soggy.
5 is a short shot over the water, but a devious stump acts as a baseball bat knocking discs into the water.
Cons: Gravel and natural tees that are in need of work.
Signs do not have distance.
11 could cause confusion. 15's basket is visable from the tee, but the actuall basket is to the right up a small hill.
16 is an odd tee location that faces 45 degrees from the fairway.
1/4 mile walk from tee 18A to the basket. 1/2 mile walk from basket 18 back to parking lot.
Other Thoughts: If you are bringing children to play I would suggest they play the front 9 then go enjoy the playground that is on site.
There are 2 holes where there is clear risk of water and numerous others where your disc could end up in the water if you make a mistake.
Bring a towel, I wound up in the water twice on holes where I had no business being near the water.
This is the type of course that I would consider a perfect beginner course. It is fair and starts off very tame but the back 9 shows new players what they are in for at other courses. I would like to give the designers a 5 for thier use of the land, you really need to see an overhead view to fully grasp what they had to work with.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Life is like a box of chocolates!

1    11/3/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a small park surrounding a small lake. Nice setting for a course.

Navigation is simple and aided by a map at first tee. All holes have basic signs and flat very playable natural tee pads.

Hole length variety is excellent. There are holes from 184' all the way to 675'. There is a good mix with holes in the 200's, 300's and 500's.

Hole variety is pretty good. There are some holes along the lake, some holes in a sparsely wooded setting and some long tight lines. There is a little something for everybody at Lake Wilson.
Cons: Natural pads could be upgraded.

Signs don't tell distance or give much information.

Course has a gravel road and some trails used for walking throughout. During peak times there is probably interference with other park users.

Long walk around lake to basket 18.
Other Thoughts: This course was better than what I expected. It starts slow with 4 short holes along the lake. At this point you will be asking yourself if the drive was really worth it. Even if you came from the next town over. But then things start to look up.

#5 is a nice, short ace run over the lake. Only 182' so not much water risk, but fun.

Holes 6-10 are basic holes playing through mostly open ground with some large trees mixed in. Each hole has multiple lines to the basket and nothing is too tight.

#11 and #12 are the 2 long holes that make you realize the drive was worth it. 11 plays along an OB road and is mostly open, but finishes in the trees. #12 has a typical long, tight, wooded feel that NC golf is known for. It's 561' and fairly narrow.

13 -15 are shorter, but maintain some tight lines near the water.

16 and 17 are similar to the 6-10 stretch. Just typical open with large trees fairways and multiple lines. Although 16 may have a huge hyzer route over the water if you are feeling brave.

18 is a 204' shot back over part of the lake. Just a wide open hole with some water risk. Not a bad hole until you realize it will take you 10 minutes to walk around and find your disc.

This course is fairly flat and open so wind becomes a factor on the water holes and the open holes.

There is nothing exceptional at this course, but it does offer a multitude of lengths and shots. It offers some water risk, some tight lines and some flat out bombs. Any course with this many features is worth playing. If you're in the Wilson area make sure you stop and give Lake Wilson a try.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Around the Lake

1    5/1/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 230  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Obviously, water and lots of it, both scenic and challenging. About half the holes play parallel to the lake, and two more holes, have you throwing over it. This will be more challenging to the lesser skilled players, but can put a little discomfort for the higher skilled players.

The course is fairly easy to navigate, even without a map, but there are score cards with maps at the first tee. Even though there are tee posts at each hole, they don't offer much information other than the hole number, so refer to the score card for distances.

There is a good blend of distances here, a few short holes and a few long holes, and every distance in between.
Cons: There is a walking path that meanders throughout the course. Hole 11 has you throwing a blind, around the corner shot, right down the path, so be very careful. Some park patrons, not familiar with disc golf, wander off the path, and onto the course.

The fairways from 11 to 15 are parallel and a little too close to one another. Errant throws definitely encroach on the others fairway, but so can some routine good shots.

Hole 18 has you throwing across the water, probably too far for beginners and low intermediate players to accomplish. My biggest problem with 18 was after your drive, you have about a 5 - 7 minute walk around part of the lake to the basket. Half that time your back is to the basket, so any park patron can find your disc, pick it up and do what ever with it.
Other Thoughts: Park in the parking lot farthest down the entrance road, you will have a little bit of a walk to the first tee. Bring your supplies, water, discs, etc with you, because the walk isn't convenient.

There's a good chance of losing a disc in the water, but there is enough open and semi-wooded holes to keep you dry.

This is a marked improvement over the previous course, Toisnot Park, in design, difficulty and beauty. Still a few minor improvements needed to complete the course, but you'll enjoy it none the less.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lotsa Lake

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful lake setting! Most of the holes follow around the lake and back. There is a great satellite map at hole #1 with a mailbox for scorecards. This course is much better than the former course in Wilson, in my opinion.

Other Pros:
- clean and well maintained
- risk/reward
- distance varieties
- open and wooded holes
- not crowded
- 2 water throw overs!
Cons: Well, I put a disc in the water on #5. The water looks clean so my friend and I wade in to retrieve it. A fisherman comes up and takes our picture and says he's calling the sherriff. After trying to reason with him, we give up. He pointed out where it says no swimming /wading but it wasn't very noticable.
He didn't call the sherriff when we asked if he had a fishing license! I was just irratated because he wasn't friendly at all.

Other Cons:
- very windy
- very basic tee signs
- fairways close to each other
- tee areas are just somewhere near the tee sign
- many fishermen near the baskets

These cons weren't a big deal because we didn't see any other players on the course and having a big lake means there is going to be wind. I still had a great time playing some disc golf.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course just beware of the water and the fishermen. There are plenty of garbage cans so please keep it beautiful!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  wilson

2-4    10/26/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: stankee1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome park/lake setting, beautiful scenery, and landscape, some fun holes.
Cons: Where to start, i kno its new, but the planning on course flow and tourney flow are out the window..mulitiple crossing of holes, conflicting with other groups, hole 18 after you throw, u walk back threw, hole 8, 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1???..how is that safe??..need a bridge build over the water at hole 18, and would resolve issue. mulitiple long walks as well..post for marking holes are rite were the "good" tee area would be, no consideration of making a good teebox, on a 600 ft hole that have u lined up directely into a tree, with no run-up.??,,madd-wack...lots of briars...please get help or knowledge from a seasoned pro b4 installing concrete please!!!
Other Thoughts: Its new..major kinks on teepads and crossing others fairways..safety issues for sure if lots of people on course!!..oh ya i took a few pictures of map they have posted by hole 1, so i could get around the course..suggest u do so as well if u have a cell phone..confusing for 1st timers..they had a scorecard mailbox, but of course all were gone.lol..enjoy

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.