Wilson, NC 
Lake Wilson Share
Uploaded By: dhall   (Taken 10/2010)



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lake WIlson

2-4    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: teej
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. I have played this course twice now. It has a really good mix of short and long holes. The first couple of holes are almost just ace runs which I really like. I liked how the course flowed around the lake, putting the lake in your way or in your sight making it a factor on about 9 holes. It also forces you to throw over open water.

At hole one, they have a box full of score cards and there are suppose to be pencils there. The score cards have the distance of each hole, pars and the layout of the course which really comes in handy since the tee signs do not have the distances listed.

Cons: There is an unbelievable amount of mosquito's out there. Make sure you bring bug spray, its just as important as your discs.

There are no tee pads. There was a couple of holes where I was not sure exactly where to throw from.

A couple of holes run together. It actually it not that big of a deal. It will not affect normal play but any tournament play I could possibly see problems coming up.

Hole 18 is kind of a inconvenience because you have to walk all the way around part of the lake. It is a good 5min walk. Plus you are walking through holes 7, 5, 4, and 3. It would be great for them to put a long bridge/fishing bridges so it could cut down walking time.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It is quite challenging. It has a really good combo of short and long holes.

I think if some holes were tweaked and some tee pads were thrown down, this would become a very sought after course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/3/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, what a gorgeous lake to play around. A variety of holes and as one who is not a distance thrower quite a challenge. Had to fish out two discs. One bounced and went down an embankment, the other bounced and flipped down a steep embankment and splash. I loved the course and can't wait to play it with good pads.
Cons: As with a few other locals I met I feel some trimming of underbrush would be great. The tee markers on the ground were little golf balls with small red flags and most were already missing. Good pads will solve the problem.
Other Thoughts: The gates were closed. It is a walk to the first hole straight down the walking trail to hole one. Don't count on locals fishing. They never heard of disc golf and did not know the course was there. On hole 5 and 18 you can take the alternate tee post and not throw over the lake. Hole 18 over the water tee to basket is at least 175 feet of water. I am not a distance throwing and with a gale wind in my face I walked around the end of the lake and played 18A.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great new course in Wilson

5+    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: marty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of relatively short holes requiring serious accuracy, moderate length holes requiring accuracy and distance, and five hundred foot plus holes requiring serious power and accuracy. Good variety of holes requiring string-straight throws, as well as throws that require both right- and left-bending flight patterns. Enough water and trees to offer a challenge but not so much as to over emphasize the element of luck. Beautiful setting with every hole providing a view of the lake. The projected par of 57 should be a challenge for even good players to break.
Cons: Holes 12 and 14 are excessively weedy. Even accurate throws can get lost in the weeds. A couple of hours with a lawn tractor could easily alleviate this problem. No warm-up area near the first tee. Nearest area for long water-free warm-up throws are 6th and 8th tees. The course is less than a month old and tee pads, distance markers and par designations have yet to be installed. The course is difficult to play alone because the best drives on holes 14, 15 and 16 require a blind landing.
Other Thoughts: The wildlife on this course is the best I have seen on any course, including geese, ducks, egrets, herons, ospreys and at least one bald eagle. With proper maintenance and installation of the finishing touches this course has the potential to rise to a rating of a 4 to 4.5 discs and thus become a "destination course". In less than ten rounds I have already encountered players from Morganton, High Point and Greensboro. The addition of a shelter, seating and tables near the first tee would make the course more family and tournament friendly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent lakeside course

1    9/21/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: egdavis
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of short/long and wooded/open holes. Course plays around half of Lake Wilson and back again.
Cons: Only two holes actually require a throw over the water and they are short, but many holes play close to the edge of the lake and have potential to eat a disc if a throw slips or kicks off a tree. Once you hit the thicker wooded areas on holes 12-15 there's quite a bit of undergrowth that can hide a disc, but this will hopefully be taken care of in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This course will undoubtedly be a 4-4.5 once signs and concrete tees are in place. The pin on hole 8 is up and running now and has a nice hill behind it to catch discs that may have been overthrown. Holes 11, 12, and 16 are very long (450+) and will hopefully be par 4's once the signs go up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a real gem

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: sonny
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course with lake views on nearly every hole. First few holes are nice short, manicured warm-up holes, with some long holes on the back nine.
Cons: No teepads. Posts with signs for the hole but no distances on the sign..

Other Thoughts: This course is still new. If teepads are installed this could be a sweet course.

Water runs along the left side of the fairway on the first few holes and along the right side of the fairway on a few of the back nine holes. Two water carries - neither very long. Danger of trees kicking a disc into the water, so be careful.

Definitely worth a trip to play this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.