Wilson, NC 
Lake Wilson Share
Uploaded By: dhall   (Taken 10/2010)



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Lotsa Lake

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful lake setting! Most of the holes follow around the lake and back. There is a great satellite map at hole #1 with a mailbox for scorecards. This course is much better than the former course in Wilson, in my opinion.

Other Pros:
- clean and well maintained
- risk/reward
- distance varieties
- open and wooded holes
- not crowded
- 2 water throw overs!
Cons: Well, I put a disc in the water on #5. The water looks clean so my friend and I wade in to retrieve it. A fisherman comes up and takes our picture and says he's calling the sherriff. After trying to reason with him, we give up. He pointed out where it says no swimming /wading but it wasn't very noticable.
He didn't call the sherriff when we asked if he had a fishing license! I was just irratated because he wasn't friendly at all.

Other Cons:
- very windy
- very basic tee signs
- fairways close to each other
- tee areas are just somewhere near the tee sign
- many fishermen near the baskets

These cons weren't a big deal because we didn't see any other players on the course and having a big lake means there is going to be wind. I still had a great time playing some disc golf.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course just beware of the water and the fishermen. There are plenty of garbage cans so please keep it beautiful!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A good course - just some limits due to the land.

1    12/19/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: aggreen
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has a nice variance of hole length. Great scorecards and map.
Very scenic - large homes on other side of lake and is surrounded by a cotton farm - kind of a mix of new south and old south.
Cons: This course is designed on a small strip of land, which contributes to crossing fairways, close fairways and holes. While the hole lengths were a positive, the layouts were not. There is just not much variety - pretty much straight on.
There are some drainage issues. We played a couple of days after precipitation, but there were still large pools of water on holes 7 through 11 and 16.
While signs are typically a Pro, these signs lack any real information that is pertinent to the hole/course (no distance, no obstacle layouts) - just didn't find them helpful at all. I normally wouldn't list that as a Con, but there was an investment in making quality signs.
The tee areas were difficult to determine, which could be due to the "newness" of the course. We found flags on the later holes, but it was inconsistent to determine the correct "tee pad" - sometimes ahead of the hole marker and sometimes aligned next to it.
There are goose droppings everywhere and, while this cannot be controlled, it's still not a positive.
The initial 4 holes are placed in a common walking area for other park goers, so when the park is busy, this can be a real issue. My friend and I, on a 40 degree December day, were the only ones playing on the course and still had to wait on a number of occasions for other park patrons due to the walking path being on the fairways.
I debated placing this in the Con section, but the lake, seemingly, becomes more of a nuisance than a part of the course design. 9 of 18 holes parallel the lake. Errant throws and slight tree hits have a very realistic chance of ricocheting into water. This course is fairly flat and the ground is covered in grass/pine needles, which results in long skips (not a con). While it can be used to your advantage, slight line misses (hitting trees) or slightly long missed throws (long skips) can easily result in discs hitting the lake. I have no problem with water holes (#5 and #18 are fine) and Buckhorn is very fair and one of my favorites - it's just that these 9 holes can result in water hits due more to chance than actual skill to avoid it (Note: I didn't put any in the water).
Other Thoughts: About a quarter-mile walk from the parking lot to the #1 tee area through the gate.
As I stated in the con, the water is in play - MUCH more then stated in this course description - on 11 of 18 holes (including the two water throw-overs).
I am not convinced that #18 is the stated 315 ft. Threw a Roc easily over to the hole #3 tee area. It's more like 215.
The pars listed on the course review are more accurate then those listed at the course.
If the a rating system had a 1/4 disc option, I would rate this a 2.75, with some additional improvement chances as the course matures.
From a Raleigh perspective, it's one to try if you are hitting Zebulon or passing through, but not a jewel - yet.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/3/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, what a gorgeous lake to play around. A variety of holes and as one who is not a distance thrower quite a challenge. Had to fish out two discs. One bounced and went down an embankment, the other bounced and flipped down a steep embankment and splash. I loved the course and can't wait to play it with good pads.
Cons: As with a few other locals I met I feel some trimming of underbrush would be great. The tee markers on the ground were little golf balls with small red flags and most were already missing. Good pads will solve the problem.
Other Thoughts: The gates were closed. It is a walk to the first hole straight down the walking trail to hole one. Don't count on locals fishing. They never heard of disc golf and did not know the course was there. On hole 5 and 18 you can take the alternate tee post and not throw over the lake. Hole 18 over the water tee to basket is at least 175 feet of water. I am not a distance throwing and with a gale wind in my face I walked around the end of the lake and played 18A.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  wilson

2-4    10/26/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: stankee1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome park/lake setting, beautiful scenery, and landscape, some fun holes.
Cons: Where to start, i kno its new, but the planning on course flow and tourney flow are out the window..mulitiple crossing of holes, conflicting with other groups, hole 18 after you throw, u walk back threw, hole 8, 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1???..how is that safe??..need a bridge build over the water at hole 18, and would resolve issue. mulitiple long walks as well..post for marking holes are rite were the "good" tee area would be, no consideration of making a good teebox, on a 600 ft hole that have u lined up directely into a tree, with no run-up.??,,madd-wack...lots of briars...please get help or knowledge from a seasoned pro b4 installing concrete please!!!
Other Thoughts: Its new..major kinks on teepads and crossing others fairways..safety issues for sure if lots of people on course!!..oh ya i took a few pictures of map they have posted by hole 1, so i could get around the course..suggest u do so as well if u have a cell phone..confusing for 1st timers..they had a scorecard mailbox, but of course all were gone.lol..enjoy

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: beautiful view all around the wholr course great mix of short, long and insane holes! alot of water in the mix 1-5 plays all the way down the side of the lake. everytime ive played ive seen atleast 2 disc lost in the water. so be careful an accurate. get your birdies while you can bc the back 9 will devour your score. idk if anyone has even pared this course. plenty of trash cans and benches to take a breather on.;
Cons: major grass cutting needed 10-18 and lost of misqutoes so bring spray. can be pretty confusing bc signs arent up yet and multiple view of other baskets so be careful and make sure you throw to the right one. iam sure alot of these quirks will be worked out once this course is up and running good. shes brand new so respect her!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great new course in Wilson

5+    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: marty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of relatively short holes requiring serious accuracy, moderate length holes requiring accuracy and distance, and five hundred foot plus holes requiring serious power and accuracy. Good variety of holes requiring string-straight throws, as well as throws that require both right- and left-bending flight patterns. Enough water and trees to offer a challenge but not so much as to over emphasize the element of luck. Beautiful setting with every hole providing a view of the lake. The projected par of 57 should be a challenge for even good players to break.
Cons: Holes 12 and 14 are excessively weedy. Even accurate throws can get lost in the weeds. A couple of hours with a lawn tractor could easily alleviate this problem. No warm-up area near the first tee. Nearest area for long water-free warm-up throws are 6th and 8th tees. The course is less than a month old and tee pads, distance markers and par designations have yet to be installed. The course is difficult to play alone because the best drives on holes 14, 15 and 16 require a blind landing.
Other Thoughts: The wildlife on this course is the best I have seen on any course, including geese, ducks, egrets, herons, ospreys and at least one bald eagle. With proper maintenance and installation of the finishing touches this course has the potential to rise to a rating of a 4 to 4.5 discs and thus become a "destination course". In less than ten rounds I have already encountered players from Morganton, High Point and Greensboro. The addition of a shelter, seating and tables near the first tee would make the course more family and tournament friendly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent lakeside course

1    9/21/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: egdavis
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of short/long and wooded/open holes. Course plays around half of Lake Wilson and back again.
Cons: Only two holes actually require a throw over the water and they are short, but many holes play close to the edge of the lake and have potential to eat a disc if a throw slips or kicks off a tree. Once you hit the thicker wooded areas on holes 12-15 there's quite a bit of undergrowth that can hide a disc, but this will hopefully be taken care of in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This course will undoubtedly be a 4-4.5 once signs and concrete tees are in place. The pin on hole 8 is up and running now and has a nice hill behind it to catch discs that may have been overthrown. Holes 11, 12, and 16 are very long (450+) and will hopefully be par 4's once the signs go up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a real gem

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: sonny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course with lake views on nearly every hole. First few holes are nice short, manicured warm-up holes, with some long holes on the back nine.
Cons: No teepads. Posts with signs for the hole but no distances on the sign..

Other Thoughts: This course is still new. If teepads are installed this could be a sweet course.

Water runs along the left side of the fairway on the first few holes and along the right side of the fairway on a few of the back nine holes. Two water carries - neither very long. Danger of trees kicking a disc into the water, so be careful.

Definitely worth a trip to play this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center