Slippery Rock, PA
Slippery Rock University Share
Uploaded By: discteacher Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
5 / 588ft.   5 / 714ft.   5 / 822ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Big arm course

2-4    8/18/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course if you are a fan of big throws. Holes 2, 5, 6, and 8 really offer a chance to unload a big throw. The course uses water on two holes which adds a nice little change up from most other places. There are also some shorter holes where you need to be accurate to avoid getting stuck in some uncomfortable bushes. Overall, the signage for the course is pretty good. Each hole is marked well, but there are a couple of spots where the next hole is tricky to find.
Cons: The biggest con is trying to find hole 3 and hole 6. The signs aren't great to get to these two holes and they are the only ones that really require a bit of a walk to get to.
Other Thoughts: The tees sort of fall in between pro and con for me. They are natural tees so it is just the ground beside the sign. I personally would rather see this than trying to do something with gravel or wood chips. If you aren't going to pour concrete or lay down nice mats it is good to let foot traffic wear down the ground and make a spot for you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open 9

2-4    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had a bunch of long hole to throw it far. The baskets were great. I liked the natural tee pads rather than having wood chips or gravel. A fun 9 with a bunch of elevation changes and some par 4s and 5s. It had 2 holes near water but the water does not come into play really. It just makes the holes look cooler and more scenic.
Cons: If we did not have an iPhone to look up the course map we would never of found holes 3 and 4. Other than that there were not many cons.
Other Thoughts: A great course right in the heart of the living area for Slippery Rock University. If you went to Slippery Rock I highly reccommend playing this course. I think they might extend it to 18 which would make this course one a great course at least a 3.5 if it is a good back 9.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

For students majoring in distance driving

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Slippery Rock is the newest PASSHE university to get a disc golf on its campus and it's not your typical college course. It stands alongside Prince Gallitzin and Two Mile Extension of being one of the top 9-hole courses in the state, IMO.

There's a couple of things that make it a very nice 9-hole course:

1.) Utilization of elevation. Shots definitely go down (#2, 9) and they sure go up (#1,6). In fact, they're so steep that careful consideration of nose angle, release, and wind must be given.
2.) Water hazard in play on holes #3-4. It's not impossible, but adds an element of intrigue and suspense.
3.) Great signage, which apparently was just installed. Can't wait for the teepads next!
4.) MONSTER throws! They aren't kidding on the signs when they are showing gold-rated tees; they're certainly rated in the high-900's. These aren't sissy shots and require your strongest drive for success. Great course to practice your big-air distance.
5.) Good obstacle on hole #6 with the fenced-in enclosure. It's definitely something to avoid.
6.) Well-manicured campus and nice views of the university from the higher-elevation holes.
Cons: - Tee pads are just grass for now with no identification where to tee off from the gold, blue and white tees. Some holes have a blue marker in the ground, but that's it.

- Distance between holes is tremendous. It's a 9 hole course, but you feel like you walked 18; this is especially true between #2-3 and #5-6. I felt like Moses wandering through the desert! I do understand this limitation, as it is a college campus and there are logistical and safety considerations.

- No real wooded or technical element to the course. The only exception, I suppose, is hole #4. The course is 85% open-air bombs and could use some more balance.
Other Thoughts: I played this course (like I always do with campus courses) in the summer, so as to avoid parking and crowding issues. Aside from some athletic camps and such, it was a ghost town here and I didn't have to worry about sunbathers, pedestrians, joggers, etc. I can imagine this being different from late August to early May.

This place is going to be a heck of a course upon its completion as an 18-holer (the ski slope hole will be a mini-Seven Springs shot!), although the 9 current holes definitely isn't anything to scoff at either. It's a wonderful asset for SRU students and the general public--you know, those lucky bums who are spoiled with a ton of stellar courses in Northwest PA.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  eh....60/40

1    11/30/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: paples540
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great distances.... loved the baskets and deifferences of each hole... good challenges.
Cons: tees are terribly marked. you cant tell if its open tees or if theres a designated spots or not. tees need marked better and to be able to be found for every hole. As well, better designating directions of the course layout would help.
Other Thoughts: could be a great course. better tees and directions in the course and would shoot up in ratings

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Mixed feelings

1    9/25/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: scully213
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice open course to throw on. Very challenging course with various obstacles to deal with.
Cons: No tee pads,tee markers or next hole markers. Holes 1 and 2 are to close to a building with a lot of windows . Finding the first hole was an adventure. There should be a sign out on the road pointing out where to go,we had to go to the rec center to get a map of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is fairly close to home but I don't know if I'll return.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Urban mix

2-4    7/10/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: bigdogtoo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice holes good mix of tech, open and turning shots. fun to play in the snow. challenge is here for this course.
Cons: No tee markers yet, Two long hikes from basket to next tees 2-3 and 5-6. need really good directions

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Slippery ROCKS !!

1    9/14/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We played this beast of a DGC as a warm up to Moraine. And left with a good feeling of playing one of the better 9 hole DGC's in the USA.

designed by J. Gary Dropcho

two sets of tees (white and blue)

holes # 3 plays along a pond with a sweet basket position

# 6 is one of the best holes in the Pittsburgh area (from blue tees). Shoot your drive around the corner of the fence line and then shoot to the moon or the heavens as the fairway go up up up and further up a giant hill.
Cons: need to stop at campus police station to get parking pass (no big deal) to park.

Dirt tees

no next tee signs

Left wondering why # 7 blue tee wasn't at top of hill instead of on the downslope.

a few long walks betweens holes (but not a big deal as this DGC is on campus and the holes that one has to walk a little ways to get to is worth every bit of the long walk, AKA.. basket # 2 to T # 3 and basket # 5 to T # 6)

not enough trees in some fairways (but even without trees the DGC is very challenging with the fast greens and a well laid out DGC)
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see 100 ft. markers (especially on hole # 6) around the DGC. some fairways play close to the dorms so please behave yourself.

We used a garmin to get to the campus, so we might not of taken the easiest way to the college, but better directions are needed to find hole # 1 (past football field and up by ski area)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tick tock...it's almost time for Slippery Rock!

2-4    7/15/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 17.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is more of a report of a course *in the early stages of installation* than a review, but hopefully it's helpful nevertheless. (Ignore the rating for now, it's arbitrary and will change.) So here it goes...

Slippery Rock looks to be coming along as a very fun and exciting championship-caliber course. It's not far from Moraine State Park, but it has the exact opposite personality...wide open, big hills, and the potential for windy conditions. But I think you'll be dreaming of the tee shots for many nights after you play the Par 32 front 9. Here's a hole-by-hole description (distances are guesses and from blue tees):
1) Par 3. 350' open and slight uphill to basket on the side of hill. Not real exciting...yet.
2) Par 4. 600' slight downhill wide sloping hillside to land on. Dense woods on left and dorms on right. Very fun tee shot seemingly made for Nukes and Katanas.
3) Par 3. 250' technical shot to basket on grass alongside campus pond. Future pin positions could get devilish.
4) Par 3. 350' along OB water, contending with a couple trees.
5) Par 4. 550' sharp dogleg right around OB fenced off athletic field.
6) Par 5. 750'. Go 250', turn right 90 degrees and then head another 500' up a very steep hill with basket perched on a knob on top of hill. Very cool looking from the bottom. Wide fairway but OB fence on right and dense woods on left. Risk/reward with how much of the corner you are willing to cut off on tee shot.
7) Par 3. 300' signature hole "King of the Hill". Throw from on top of the hill along the hill's ridge line with a precipitous drop left, right, and behind the basket. Great view of the surrounding countryside.
8) Par 4. 550' flat drive with OB field on left and OB road on right. Dogleg left for approach shot. Not very exciting yet also.
9) Par 3. 350' slight downhill dive shot at the basket with pockets of high grass to avoid.

I hope the same thoughtfulness goes into the design of this course as Moraine and Deer Lakes. Three tees and greens with three pin positions that don't change par are a worthy goal. Each hole will be closely watched and re-evaluated to try to get a good mix of birdies and bogies. Even though the Par 4's and Par 5's favor longer arms, I think the five Par 3's should allow shorter arms to stay competitive on the front 9.
Cons: To-do and wish list for the course:
Signs and tee pads.
Plant lots of trees and landscape to make some of the holes and their greens more interesting. Right now it's pretty much a "big arm" course.
Plan and install B and C pins.
Other Thoughts: The course is very long and hilly with little shade, so it's a much more strenuous than your average walk in the park (and the final design even drastically reduced the basket-to-tee walking distance from earlier designs). The back 9 will be scouted this winter and feature the good old-fashioned Pennsylvania woods golf that we all have come to know and love.

I hope this course achieves a very difficult combination of attracting casual college students, giving ams some fantastic and challenging golf shots, and giving the top pros a run for their money. Check back for more information over the coming months. Feel free to post any thoughts about the course to the Slippery Rock thread in the Courses in Development folder.

See the course map to help find your way initially as signs are put in place.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.