Disc Golf Store
Bascom, OH 
Meadowbrook DGC Share
Uploaded By: andrewkh Hole #2
3 / 267ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Throwing good money after bad

1    5/29/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 96  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent signage and course map kiosk
2) Concrete pads
3) Some elevation changes
4) Pool off of 16,18 for nice scenery during warmer months
5) Highlight holes: 1, 2, 3, 16
Cons: 1) Small tee pads
2) Poor hole design
3) Some tee sign distances are wrong
3) No pro pads
4) Some holes endanger public (16-18)
Other Thoughts: When I stepped up to hole 1 and saw the fairly wooded area and raised mound with a target on it, the professional looking tees signs and concrete tees, I thought I was in for a treat. Not so much.

The first glaring thing that I noticed is that a lot of the distances on the tee signs are wrong. I don't know what measuring system they used, but they clearly were not using feet to measure with. Some signs appeared to be right, but others were way off. You'll see what I mean when you play it.

The front 9 plays amongst a fairly wooded area with a few elevation changes, but most of the holes are under 250'. This wouldn't be so bad, but it felt cramped. In fact, hole 2's basket sits on the side of a hill about 60' directly behind hole 3's tee and the fairway takes your disc right over hole 3's tee! I've never seen a worse blunder in hole design as this hole. Luckily, it appears that this course doesn't get used very often, so you won't have to worry about hitting someone on the next tee most likely.

The back 9 turns into an open lackluster design that is monotonous and boring. It finally picks back up with hole 16 (elevation change, basket on other side of a creek), but 16-18 are right next to a children's playground and pool with all kinds of people milling around. Again, another glaring design flaw.

I realize that they had limited space, but they would've been better served by making a fantastic 9 hole course with generous man-sized tees, than trying to cram an 18 holer into this limited space with these kiddie tees.

Even though I blasted this course, it does have some redeeming qualities. The signage is second to none. They clearly spared no expense. The land on the front 9 is beautiful and pleasant to the eye. Very peaceful. And some of the holes were fun to shoot (holes 1, 2, 3, 16 come to mind). It appears to be designed for campers/families and for that reason, it isn't as horrible as it would be had it been designed for hardcore disc golf use.

I might be back, but I'll wait until fall, once all the campers are gone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Terrible

1    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Nice Course Sign along with nice tee signs
2. Clean Park and well maintained

that's about all the nice things I can say...
Cons: 1. This course has many many holes that overlap eachother, very dangerous situation on several holes. You basically throw directly at the next tee pad
2. Course plays/weaves directly through a havily used area of the park, weaving in & out of shelter houses, picnic areas, pool-goers you name it. Several holes were simply unplayable due to people parking on fairways, playing cornhole on fairways and much more.
3. Several holes play dangerously close to shelterhouses and this is not very smart at all. Even the best of players are in danger of an errant shot taking out a kid or something.
Other Thoughts: I always welcome a new course and the hard work the people did to get it in the ground but this course is a disaster waiting to happen. Park goers are going to get smoked along with other golfers making for a very bad round indeed.
This course needs serious re-design work in my opinion before someone gets seriously injured.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Would of been better as a nine hole course

2-4    12/26/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-7 and 15-18 Are great ,fun and offer lots of risk rewards
Nice cement tees and nice signs
Holes 5-6,7 has the river as a huge water hazard
Holes 15-18 uses a little creek as a hazard without much chance of losing a disc
Cons: Holes 1-4 are in a flood plain and are flooded most of the year ,the tees are close to the other fairways of these holes and could put people throwing at risk of being hit .

after hole (6) I think ,there needs to be a next tee sign ,also after 15 i had trouble and 18's tee was tricky also

holes 8-14 are just awful seems like some one else designed them ,holes overlap each other and are a serious safety issue

the course would of fared much better to me
as a nine hole without 8-14 which felt tacked on

Most holes are short and not super challenging

Tee signs distances seemed way off on several holes











*-







Other Thoughts: OK course don't drive out of your way to play it ,hedges boyer is a much better course and is only a short drive away

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "Are they married yet?"

1    10/21/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course layout takes advantage of all different types of shots. 1-3 through heavy woods, 4 & 5 are wooded tunnel shots with water hazards, 6 & 7 play through the heart of the rec area under some trees. course then opens up until #15, bombs away over wide fields and around the baseball diamond. #16-18 are about as solid as it gets for ending a round - very challenging with two separate water hazards in play.

really easy to navigate and great signage on every hole. concrete tees were a little short in my opinion (maybe an OH thing?) bright yellow innova baskets make your lines easy to pick out.

no crowd whatsoever. of course, we played in late October after a week of torrential downpours, so...
Cons: First 3 holes are on a flood plain, so with all the rain this past week it was sloppy to say the least. The fairway on #2 was completely underwater and we had to drive over the hill to reach the pin (great pin placement though my god!)

the first 2 holes require a lot of luck to weave through the overcrowded fairways.. a lot of skinny tree trunks to avoid but no clear path through.

got a lil' confusing once you head out into the open - we drove at the wrong basket more than once. wind a big factor out here as well.

not very challenging persay, but very fun to play.
Other Thoughts: Great campground with tons of activities in addition to the DG - huge clubhouse area where some people were getting married, life-size chess board with massive pieces, baseball diamond, horseshoe pits, shuffleboard, bmx trail, jungle gym, huge pool with diving board...the list goes on.

overall a really fun round on a course not meant for competitive/professional play. pairing this with nearby Hedges provides a nice 1-2 punch. recommended.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meadowbrook

1    5/29/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: jchlody
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park with plenty to do other than disc golf
-some good holes
-a few holes i think 7-14 are wide open and a few offer longer throws
-holes 1-6 are very technical and good practice on threading the needle
-innova baskets
Cons: -holes 1-6 hug the creek so there is possibility of losing a disc
-was difficult to navigate for the 1 time i played
-hole-to-hole navigation is tough and not marked well
-natural tee pads
-some holes play close to the playgrounds where the kids are playing alot
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course once and it might take some consideration to go back. I realize this course is just starting out, but the combination of the water risk, mosquitos, and some of the holes playing close to the playground I may no go back. The main reason i would possibly play again is because it is a nice alternative to Hedges Boyer Park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Confidence Booster

2-4    10/23/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~ Great use of the available land
~ Variety of holes / settings
~ Decent flow, easy to navigate
~ Nice park with plenty of other activities on hand
~ Plenty of shelters, restrooms, trash cans for use
~ Good baskets
~ Holes 1 thru 6 & 16 thru 18 are great
Cons:
~ Loosely defined tee areas, natural pads
~ Most holes are fairly short and quite a few do not offer much of a challenge
~ Free flow could be difficult during the peak season due to the surrounding facilities
~ Holes 7 thru 15 are uneventful
Other Thoughts: Situated between Tiffin and Fostoria this course is ideal for my visits to the area as we tend to spend equal amounts of time in both towns. It's great to have another option close by and Meadowbrook is a wonderful compliment to the course at Hedges-Boyer Park in Tiffin. The course starts out threading it's way in a heavily wooded area. Holes 1 through 6 are tight and challenging and by far the best section of the course especially with the basket placement. Holes 7 through 15 are primarily wide open straight shots with minimal obstacles. It's nice to be able to air out some drives, and this section can be birdie central if you are throwing well. Based on the current park use, these holes are about as good as can be expected and there's not much more that can be done to improve upon them. The last three holes are very fun and get back to the initial challenge that the course started with. Some more permanent signage and better identified tee pads will increase the quality of this course significantly. It's a good new course for all levels of play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just Decent

2-4    9/26/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 165  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Innova Targets
Easy to Navigate
Some pretty cool holes
Something for all skill levels
Cons: Tee and Fairways conflict on 1,2,and 3

Holes 9-14 are just plain open.....no real obstructions and no real challenge at all.

Hole 14 has you throwing over a softball field...It was fun to do but not very conventional especially is the field is used. If you play around the field on this hole you are shooting straight for 13s fairway.

There is plenty of woods to use to fix a couple of the plain open holes and add some fun to the course but it doesn't look like it will be used(possible flood plain) however just because it floods every once in a while doesn't make it a bad spot for holes.

Non looping 9's...meanining you can't play 1-9 and quit right back near your car.
Other Thoughts: This course is overall fun to play but its tournament potential is somewhere between 0 and 2 on a scale to 10. There are lots of holes where players could be throwing right at each other with no obstructions. I'm sure the group involved will see this through out the course of play and make some modifications before tee pads are installed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 meadowbrook dgc

1    9/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice community park with lots of amenities
-great new baskets
-good flow from one hole to the next
-good mix of wooded and open holes
-good mix of distances and shot selections
-several holes with nice rolling hills in play
-lots of parking
Cons: -a couple of the flyways play close to each other
-a couple holes play near heavily used shelters
-lots of pedestrian foot traffic

Other Thoughts: this course is currently "in progress", baskets and temporary signs have been installed. cement tees with be install in spring 2011. this course has a ton of potential but lots of work still needs to be done to get it to where it needs to be. hopefully, by early 2011 it will be good to go.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.