Disc Golf Store
Fort Collins, CO
Boltz Middle School Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Enjoyable Little Middle School Course!

1    7/16/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, Boltz Jr. Hi. is now a Middle School. That means the students attending here this institution are probably slightly younger. The course features older concrete tees, baskets, some with the numbers and creek splitting the course in half. I'd call this course an easy recreational course. It's more than a pitch and putt. The creek itself adds to the difficulty. Holes are mostly in the 250'-300' length. There were no very short holes but neither was there anything I would consider a signature hole. 6,7 & 8 have neighbors yards along their fairway and I imagine they get a few discs invading their property.
Cons: The creek merits avoiding. Although not deep, it's dark, murky and finding your disc in it might prove problamatic. With more players using this course, the close proximity to the neighbors backyards would be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I was following two locals. On # 3, one of them grip-locked his drive and managed to launch his drive on top of the school. (This is no easy task, this was a terrible throw). They calmly walked over to the school, found a long ladder and proceeded to climb up on the roof and retrieve his disc. Then he played his lie from atop of the building. I don't believe he made par on the hole. I understand his need to retrieve his disc, he was only playing with two. I ended up giving him a couple I had found on my road trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Long and Strong for a School Course

1    7/1/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing this relatively low ranked junior high school course, I found myself surprised by the overall challenge and length. Set on a gigantic piece of land that could easily fit a 12-hole course, this nine hole course uses the foliage and creek to great advantage. The grounds are well kept and the grassed area would be easy to navigate with a family or push cart.

Water comes into play depending on the time of year on five of the nine holes, but #5 was the only one that looked like there could be some danger losing a disc. Navigation is better than in earlier reviews with adequate markers and concrete tees but bring the map anyway. This course is also in close vicinity to Edora Park, so you easily pair the two for a great day of golf. Plus, my guess is this place gets a lot less traffic than Edora Park, so if you hate the crowds, I would come here or to Cache La Poudre Jr. High DGC in La Porte is you don't mind the drive.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #8
Cons: The Mach III baskets are in average shape for their age and teeing from the grass was just as good as from the boxes. I think holes are longer than the map indicates, which is a pro for big arms, but can be misleading. Some of the lines they designed are also a bit silly - for example #9 basket has perfect window from #1 tee box, so be careful and go for the closest basket.

Holes #7 and #8 run close to the houses on the right side of the fairways, so be careful, and there aren't many bridges for the creek, which can be a real hassle when it has water in it. Being a school course you also have the obvious limitations of not being able to play during school hours and sharing the land with other sports practicing during the year, although #9 looks to be the only real one that might have you fighting for space.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a very strong 2.5 rating based on its length and use of foliage, and some could argue that it should get a full three disc rating. I just felt that given the condition of the baskets and boxes, and that there was just wasn't enough variety to warrant a full three discs. However, there is no arguing that this is one of the better school courses I have played, and wouldn't mind hitting it again when I'm in the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fair 9 hole in NoCo

1    4/16/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This medium length 9 hole course is good to play when the main course, Edora, gets too busy. Although flat and open, the Boltz set-up is arranged around just enough trees and hazards to provide a decent challenge. All of the holes fit in the range of 200'-400', so you can put some power behind your drives.
Cons: I don't play this course very often when I can play the more fun and challenging 18 hole course in town. The fairways have no terrain and are too open. The holes are too short and open for any pro to appreciate it. It can be hard to navigate the layout since there are no markers. A few holes play next to residential backyards, so watch where you drive. School hours limit playing time.
Other Thoughts: Good for quick, "lunch break" rounds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/28/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a good quick round course. Good for practice on mid range to short long range with one short technical hole(8). Can play 3 or 4 rounds in an hour or two
Cons: Not very difficult and can be busy at times
Other Thoughts: This is certainly a good learner course and is fun to play quick rounds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.