Disc Golf Store
Fort Collins, CO 
Boltz Middle School Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pleasant Little Course

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very pleasant well-taken care of school campus
-Baskets are in great shape and catch well
-Concrete tee-pads for each hole
-Creek comes into play on 3 or for holes
-Course is easy to navigate, it is always pretty easy to know which tee-pad is next even though they aren't marked.
-They made good use of the available obstacles they had to make some fun holes. Hole 7 is the best hole, it plays straight with a row of trees straight down the fairway, with the basket behind them.
-For a middle school course, this course features a decent amount of distance (no holes really over 300, but it's still good for a school course).
Cons: -Course is unplayable during school hours
-The concrete tee-pads are too small and really short
-No tee-signs
-While they did a good job of incorporating available obstacles into the design, most of the holes are straight shots, so the course doesn't force you to use a variety of shots.
-A couple of holes play a little close to each other
-The outhouse is uncomfortably close to the first tee-pad. It is literally less than a foot from the tee-pad, it would be nice if they moved it back a little bit.
-There is an opportunity to throw a disc in a neighbors backyard on 6, 7, or 8, and you could lose a disc in the overgrown creek area.
-Not a super challenging course for more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course on a nice school campus. Don't go out of your way to play but if you are in the area, give it a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Little Middle School Course!

1    7/16/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, Boltz Jr. Hi. is now a Middle School. That means the students attending here this institution are probably slightly younger. The course features older concrete tees, baskets, some with the numbers and creek splitting the course in half. I'd call this course an easy recreational course. It's more than a pitch and putt. The creek itself adds to the difficulty. Holes are mostly in the 250'-300' length. There were no very short holes but neither was there anything I would consider a signature hole. 6,7 & 8 have neighbors yards along their fairway and I imagine they get a few discs invading their property.
Cons: The creek merits avoiding. Although not deep, it's dark, murky and finding your disc in it might prove problamatic. With more players using this course, the close proximity to the neighbors backyards would be a problem.
Other Thoughts: I was following two locals. On # 3, one of them grip-locked his drive and managed to launch his drive on top of the school. (This is no easy task, this was a terrible throw). They calmly walked over to the school, found a long ladder and proceeded to climb up on the roof and retrieve his disc. Then he played his lie from atop of the building. I don't believe he made par on the hole. I understand his need to retrieve his disc, he was only playing with two. I ended up giving him a couple I had found on my road trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 School Course

1    7/19/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement tees
-Nice baskets which are all labeled.
-Reasonable amount of challenge for a Jr. High School. It is at a good level to learn the game and to still challenge intermediate players.
-Good distance variety. No super short holes and no super long holes. A few possible aces but not any guarantees.
-Shouldn't ever be too busy with Edora close by.
-Some blind shots to keep it interesting.
-You should be able to whip through a round quickly here.
-This course probably introduces kids to disc golf through gym class.
-It is a school so it should always be maintained.
Cons: -The flow isn't the greatest, it helps that the baskets are labeled so you will know when you get closer if you are shooting at the right basket. On the first hole I threw at the 9 basket only to walk up there and see the 1 basket closer to the tee.
-It was very dry when I played but I imagine it could be quite buggy and possibly dirty in the creek when wet.
-The creek could take your disc if it is wet but right now you shouldn't lose one.
-The layout isn't super challenging. It is flat and fairly open with only 1 or two obstacles per hole.
-They used a fence as an obstacle, a discing pet peeve of mine.
-No signage at all.
-You probably aren't supposed to play here during the school day.
Other Thoughts: Stop in and play this course right now and you won't be too disappointed. It is an alright play and you won't lose a disc due to the dryness. It isn't as good as Edora but it is still a fun little course. Get a map and some discs at Wright Life in Old Town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Course

5+    2/19/2012   2/20/2012
Review By: SpikeJunkie00
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Boltz should be used for beginners to develop their skills or for seasoned players to tweak their skills due to it's simple layout. The course is really flat and most of the holes are pretty short. There are many obstacles to look out for, mostly trees. The biggest, and more challenging, obstacle is a ditch/creek that runs through the middle of the course, on hole #5 you throw over it from the tee.
Cons: The biggest problem that occurs on this course is in the ditch/creek between holes #8 and #9 is infested with small shrubs and tall grass. These shrubs will literally eat your disc and it is usually a rough of finding them in the grass.
Other Thoughts: Recently there was a huge snow storm that destroyed a few of the trees on the course. Example: Hole 2, when you are at the tee there is a huge tree just to the left of the tee that has this huge branch that is now just a huge obstacle that right-handed sidearm/ left-handed backhand have to avoid.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Using half your bag

2-4    4/28/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 130  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes the most of the trees, fences, mini creek, and neighbors houses. This is not wide open disc golf, there is some sort of challenge on most of the holes. Hole #1 has a nice dog leg around the locked up tennis courts. Hole # 2 has a tree and tennis court in the way. Play the parking lot as OB on #3 and theres a mild thrill to be had. Hole #5 crosses the creek. Hole #6 crosses the creek if you are sloppy. All the holes have concrete tee pads and most of the baskets have the hole number on them.
Cons: The tee pads are short. No tee signs or length information. No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This course was much more exciting than I expected. There are lots of things in the way that make you have to think out your game. I really don't understand how Edora park up the road gets twice as high marks because they both seem pretty similar to me. Download the blurry map and start at the west side of the tennis courts and go counter clockwise and you'll get the flow. This place is a bit rag tag but once you figure it out it's a decent workout. I think you could even play this course while school is in session. With all the PE budget cuts what are the odds that any kids will be outside next to a drainage ditch?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Long and Strong for a School Course

1    7/1/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing this relatively low ranked junior high school course, I found myself surprised by the overall challenge and length. Set on a gigantic piece of land that could easily fit a 12-hole course, this nine hole course uses the foliage and creek to great advantage. The grounds are well kept and the grassed area would be easy to navigate with a family or push cart.

Water comes into play depending on the time of year on five of the nine holes, but #5 was the only one that looked like there could be some danger losing a disc. Navigation is better than in earlier reviews with adequate markers and concrete tees but bring the map anyway. This course is also in close vicinity to Edora Park, so you easily pair the two for a great day of golf. Plus, my guess is this place gets a lot less traffic than Edora Park, so if you hate the crowds, I would come here or to Cache La Poudre Jr. High DGC in La Porte is you don't mind the drive.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #8
Cons: The Mach III baskets are in average shape for their age and teeing from the grass was just as good as from the boxes. I think holes are longer than the map indicates, which is a pro for big arms, but can be misleading. Some of the lines they designed are also a bit silly - for example #9 basket has perfect window from #1 tee box, so be careful and go for the closest basket.

Holes #7 and #8 run close to the houses on the right side of the fairways, so be careful, and there aren't many bridges for the creek, which can be a real hassle when it has water in it. Being a school course you also have the obvious limitations of not being able to play during school hours and sharing the land with other sports practicing during the year, although #9 looks to be the only real one that might have you fighting for space.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a very strong 2.5 rating based on its length and use of foliage, and some could argue that it should get a full three disc rating. I just felt that given the condition of the baskets and boxes, and that there was just wasn't enough variety to warrant a full three discs. However, there is no arguing that this is one of the better school courses I have played, and wouldn't mind hitting it again when I'm in the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/29/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots for a pretty open 9 hole course. Good use of land. Good for casual rounds and practicing shorter game.
Best beginner course in town.
Cons: Very little risk reward. Only one placement for each hole.
Can only be played during non-school hours.
Other Thoughts: Navigation the first time though is tough. No markings at tee pads.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 In a pinch

1    7/26/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: dosahl
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was playable. It has tee areas and baskets. Shots are allo basically straght with no real hinderances
Cons: Basket to tee was not always an easy trip. No trees to speak of so course will be hot in the summer.
Other Thoughts: It is a school course so many of the problems of the course can be because of the school. course is pretty much a down and back. It is not as playable as many other simple courses

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fair 9 hole in NoCo

1    4/16/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This medium length 9 hole course is good to play when the main course, Edora, gets too busy. Although flat and open, the Boltz set-up is arranged around just enough trees and hazards to provide a decent challenge. All of the holes fit in the range of 200'-400', so you can put some power behind your drives.
Cons: I don't play this course very often when I can play the more fun and challenging 18 hole course in town. The fairways have no terrain and are too open. The holes are too short and open for any pro to appreciate it. It can be hard to navigate the layout since there are no markers. A few holes play next to residential backyards, so watch where you drive. School hours limit playing time.
Other Thoughts: Good for quick, "lunch break" rounds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/28/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a good quick round course. Good for practice on mid range to short long range with one short technical hole(8). Can play 3 or 4 rounds in an hour or two
Cons: Not very difficult and can be busy at times
Other Thoughts: This is certainly a good learner course and is fun to play quick rounds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.