Disc Golf Store
Monroe, WI 
Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Kezzran Hole #6 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    8/9/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: allonzy
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Decent elevation changes and pin placements.
-Baskets are crisp and new since the course is not that old.
-Grounds are well taken care of, very few places where you can realistically loose a disc!
Cons: -Dirt tee pads and no distances or maps found on the tee posts.
-Hole 5 was a signature left handed shot where a right handed thrower would need a sidearm, turnover or roller shot to regularly reach the basket. Trees have been removed on the right side which opens up a basic hyzer route and takes away the difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Back 9 will most likely be put in the ground early next year and we are pushing for proper tee signs with footage available.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice small town course

1    6/16/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: 1) Nice property for a disc golf course. It is a huge park and the area the course sits on is virtually dedicated to disc golf. You might get some walkers but no other activities, shelters or anything else where people would congregate.
2) 4x4 posts with the Hole # on them to help in navigation and mark the tees.
3) Mach baskets with orange tape on the poles for visibility.
4) Excellent rolling terrain here. Some go up some go down and it is n enjoyable round through this rolling terrain.
5) Check out the fighter jet when you get to the top of the hill. I love seeing things like this in parks. I have seen trains, fighter jets and other cool old things in my travels.
6) Excellent use of the trees on this property. There are enough trees to make you think out your shots but not so many that I becomes too challenging.
7) Very beginner friendly course in my opinion because there is nowhere to lose a disc and the distance is not overwhelming.
Routing is pretty self explanatory and you can see the next tee posts from the previous basket usually.
8) Nice trees creating some tough tunnels to bring your disc in near the basket. This will help emphasize control and height of your throws!
Cons: 1) There isn't enough distance variation on holes. Too many are in that 225-300' range to feel like you are getting a lot of different shots.
2) Grass tees are virtually all dirt now . . . its good there is a lot of play in this small town park but it is bad that the grass has been worn down to dirt.
3) Shot selection here is primarily a hyzer line. I can't think of one shot where I needed an anhyzer.
4) No tee signs or maps just the posts to indicate where you are, so no distances are listed.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed myself on this course even though it wasn't the most flashy. It was challenging in a few spots but open enough to have fun making a few birdies too. The highlight of my day was a bomb down #3 with a Blizzard disc (brand new to my bag) couple with a 45' putt to birdie a long hole. I dislike the tees and the fact there are no signs but that does not take away from the disc golf. There is nice variety in a nice park with rolling terrain and mature trees. What more can you ask for?

 Monroe Disc Golf

2-4    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: dwbaker
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course that was reasonably easy to find each hole without signs, distances or map. Challenging holes with a couple interesting baskets protected by trees, especially #2 and #4. Hole lengths were medium range, between 150 ft and 250 ft. Hole #6 and #9 have relatively few trees and allow for airing out your arm. Look for hole #6 to the left of the basket for hole #5.
Cons: The course begins along the park's road which means you must be careful crossing from the #1 basket to #2 tee. Holes #4 and #6 are near the walking path so be aware of other park users.
Other Thoughts: I played this course twice the first time there and shot +5 the first 9 and +3 the second time. Looks like there is room for another 9 holes, hopefully this happens in the near future. Basic playground equipment if you have kids.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, but lacks a few touches

1    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Attractive course with mature trees and gently rolling terrain
* New baskets
* Good mix of shot opportunities
* Appropriate for novice and intermediate players
* Park has other activities for kids or non-players in your group
Cons: * Tee posts simply list hole number ... no maps or distances (the course has just enough dips and rises to make hole lengths difficult to judge, especially for first-time players)
* Only one tee per hole
* Natural tees will likely become worn out and uneven with more play
* Not enough length to challenge advanced players
Other Thoughts: (NOTE June 2014: This review was written for the original nine-hole course. I intend to update it after playing the new additional nine holes.)

This course has a nice layout and can be played fairly quickly. Tee signs with distances and improved teepads would add a little "polish". There does seem to be room to add alternate tees or pins, or add more holes. All-in-all, it's a good start, so hopefully the locals will support the course and encourage upgrades to be made.

FYI, I edited the lat / long and directions to more accurately depict the location of the start of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: LmidgitD
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful course.
-Decent elevation change for a multi-use park.
-Baskets are new, double chains.
-Requires a wide variety of shots if you want birdies.
-Grass tees are in good condition.
-Local community is very friendly.
Cons: -Not a fan of grass teens.
-Instead of brown tee markers (the color of the tree trunks are everywhere) lets see signs with distances.
-Some baskets are 30' away from benches and walking paths.

Other Thoughts: -I loved this course. It is new, it is clean, and hopefully it stays that way. The shots have a great variety. Annys, hyzers, tunnels, and even a roller hole. The roller could be a huge, high hyzer though. The marking posts threw me off, but after playing once navigation was easy. Final note, if this course gets turned into an 18 hole course with concrete teepads and signs it would be one of the top courses around.

-If you enter the GPS latitude/longitude into your GPS please be advised, the numbers are off. It will take you to a gas company, lol. Use the intersection instead.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 kiwanis dgc

5+    9/5/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: AAB37
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well this course is brand new its baskets are very nice with some good elevation change. Not a lot of trees but enough to get in the way. It is located in a very nice clean park with plenty of other attractions but none come in to play.
Cons: Grass tees get muddy and slippery. No distances on the sign's.
Other Thoughts: We just put this course in. And it is a good 9 hole course and if it is rely popular we mite get 18 next year. So get out here and play this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.