Columbus, GA 
Flat Rock Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #14 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Decent Course

1    4/21/2015   4/21/2015
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent use of the land(there's a lot of it)
Beautiful multi-use park
Tee Pads are pretty good some challenging holes.
Mostly forgiving holes
Cons: Poor signage.
Hard to follow when its your first time out there.
Tee signs are broken or inaccurate and do not tell you anything useful. At times confusing layout.
Other Thoughts: As an out of towner, I heavily rely on good signage and easy to follow layout. Luckily for me, there was a lot of people playing the course so I could follow behind them for general direction. Are are a couple of Mondo's, one in particular that's pretty interesting(between two trees) on a downhill tee shot.
The flat Rocks are pretty interesting throughout the course and he 18th hole at over 800 feet is quite a way to end your round. I would highly suggest bringing a map but from what I understand, it changes too often to actually follow it.

I feel this is a bit negative so let's look at some of the positive fun factors: Flat Rock park is a beautiful park with lots of things going on from runners, mountain bikers, water waders, and disc golfers. The holes are very forgiving luckily for me because there were a few blind tee shots that I guessed wrong on but was able to recover on the second shot.
On the safety factor, I would rate this park very high. I felt very safe throughout the park and with the plethora of DG'ers out there, it felt extremely safe.
It's a good walk, I covered over three miles in the 18 holes so pretty decent amount of space they were able to use.

I would return to Flat Rock if back in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Park, Meh Course

2-4    4/3/2015   4/7/2015
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 93  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 17.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome park. Very unique and scenic topography with exposed granite and streams, and plenty of other nice features beyond disc golf. The course has a very pleasant setting and is a great walk.

Despite inaccurate and broken signage, fairly easy to navigate.

A few very fun downhill holes. #14? playing back down a hill near a restroom is super fun, I emptied my bag throwing it.

The park and course is well maintained and there is little risk of losing discs.
Cons: Multiple (not most, but not far from most) holes with poor fairway design. Holes that lack any valid, reasonable route that are more "throw and hope" than risk/reward. The trees are generally widely spaced and there were plenty of fair and interesting routes to navigate them, but the routes on many of the holes left me wondering why they were used. This could be remedied with a chainsaw or by relocating tee pads. As it stands, there often isn't a good line to hit, so you just throw and hope you don't hit a tree. Bad shots often go unpunished.

The longer holes are tweener distance, tough par 3 but too short to be a true par 4.

Signage was mostly destroyed and/or inaccurate for current pin settings. The signs are thin sheet metal and nearly all were broken off above the screw level, meaning the top third of the sign was missing. Signs don't reflect what look like new pin placements.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course twice when passing through Columbus and will continue to play it when travelling through the area. It's a fantastic park, which I think is reflected in many of the higher rated reviews. The setting is awesome. The landscape has great potential for disc golf, but is underutilized. Many of the holes are uninteresting or have major design flaws in that they lack a reasonable fairway. That said, its still fun to play and highly recommend -- but I would not consider it to be among the best courses in Georgia.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flat is just the beginning

1    6/22/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 421  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It looks cool on a few holes. It's forgiving if you miss your lines.
Cons: Absolutely everything else....

Lay out is a bad use of space. The architecture of the course is simple and not very clever or challenging. The flow of the course is horrible. If you stumble upon this course without a local to guide you, give yourself an extra hour to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: Skip it. It's a great course if you're a local and you just need some golf. Otherwise this course isn't going to impress or entertain anyone.

You don't need a big arm to be successful on this course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in an old established park. The course design has a little bit of everything. With an overall length of 6370 feet and 10 holes over 300 feet the big arms will be very happy. There is plenty of elevation change available and large established pine trees to make you shape shots. While there are enough trees to provide challenge there is a discernable line on every hole with possible exception of hole #7. With that said I did not find 7 unreasonable. Many of the tee shots are blind, with the basket either behind trees or over a hill. There is enough risk reward to make you think your way around the course. Well executed shots can give you birdy putts and errors cause bogeys. Concrete tee pads and signs at every hole. There are benches at most holes and trash cans scattered around and a bathroom on the back nine. While this course seems older and well-worn in places I saw this as adding character rather than a negative. The locals were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The signs here give you only the length and hole number, some of those are hand written. I found navigation rather spotty. While 10 thru 17 have next tee signs I did not see any before that and had to ask where 7 was.
Other Thoughts: While there are some trails that coincided with the course I did not see any issues. If you live in Georgia you need to make the trip to play here. If you are traveling thru Georgia it will be worth going out of your way to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 71  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is within a great park offering unique terrain. The course as a whole has distances ranging from 200' to 800', which gives you ample opportunities to test out all of your throws. The course has concrete tee pads on every hole with distance signs and "next tee" signs. The course overall is fun and challenging with holes to test both beginners and seasoned players. The course has both open and moderately wooded holes that makes you work on both technical and distance shots. For the beginner there is a a pro in the fact that there are no water holes to lose discs. Thus, you want to play this course if you are in the Columbus area, plus there aren't any better courses for miles around.
Cons: Unfortunately there are some cons to this course that could possibly bump it up to a 4/5 rating, if corrected.
SIGNS: no signs around the park directing to towards the DG course and first hole. no pictures on signs to direct your throw towards the basket from each tee pad. not all "next tee" signs are up and a lot are very worn down. the distances on the signs seem to be a little inaccurate.
TEES/BASKETS: It would be nice to have secondary tee pads and pin locations for each hole to add depth and variation.
COURSE DESIGN: the design is good for the park layout but holes can feel sometimes a bit repetitive and it is just the distance that changes. It would add more to the course if a hazard (water) were in play. the course could also use some TLC in some areas as it looks a little run down.
Other Thoughts: In the end, this is a course you need to play if you are in the area. The few holes over the flat rocks are something you don't see on other DG courses. This would be a fun course if you are a local but being a first-timer is tough as finding some baskets is tough and I wasted a couple throws, not knowing the basket's direction from the tee. I most likely would play this course again if in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

1    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: Jumpmaster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varying levels of difficulty. Nice balance of longer par 4s and 5s, average length par 3s and a few shorter birdie holes to bring up your confidence. A nicely wooded course. Even with the large amount of trees, each hole has multiple routes to the pin, allowing you to use various types of shots. Hit your lines and your scorecard will be rewarded. The baskets and tee pads also looked like they were all in great shape.
Cons: This course runs through a family park, so watch out for picnickers and runners. Very crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: I've put this course off for awhile as I'm not a huge fan of the Columbus area. Man I've been missing out. This was a very fun course to play. I got to break out a lot of different shots, and practice with a few new discs I hadn't needed to use up until now. I will definitely play this one again on my return trips to the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    9/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: DrumMD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is technically challenging with many tree hazards, varying terrain, some short and some long holes. Signage is adequate. Pad and holes are in good condition. Fairways are usually mowed well though they can get tall in summer between mowings. Par seems to be set appropriately.Other than the occasional dog, it is a safe course with someone else almost always on the course.
Cons: Some signage is damaged and the course needs a sign showing tees and holes; it can be confusing your first time. Needs more trash cans as some uncultured folks don't police their trash. Can get muddy after significant rains. Women's/short tees are mostly missing now, but primary tees are still fine.
Other Thoughts: I learned on this course and play it often. Good for both beginners and pros, lots of challenging trees in the way! It is well worth your time if you are in the area. Send me a note and I might play it with you--or at least give you the layout.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Great Course

1    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really really enjoyed this course. The baskets and tees are great. The landscaping is good. The hole lengths are perfect, ranging from 200+ to 800+. Great mix of lightly wooded holes to open bomb shots. The terrain is absolutely beautiful as well. I highly recommend this course to anyone from beginners to pros.
Cons: Tee signs missing numbers. No hole diagrams. Sort of difficult to see the basket from the tee without a diagram.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play it!

5+    11/16/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course to learn on, because the difficulty level is not off-putting. But, the course offers a good challenge for more developed players.
The scenery surrounding the holes is amazing. Even without the awesome Disc golf course this would be an awesome walk. The fact that it holds such an amazing course is icing.
I can easily play this course 2 or 3 times in a day and be ready for the another go the next.
No holes overlap or really even interfere with others.
They are slowly but surely putting in new tee locations to open up opportunities for new players.
Cons: There is only 1 course!
There is a bike trail that runs throughout the park. However, I even played the course when they had a race and I never had to wait more than a minute or two.
Other Thoughts: This is the course on which I learned to play this awesome sport, so naturally I am biased, but I truly believe that if you have the opportunity to play Flat Rock and you don't, you are doing yourself a disservice.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Course in Columbus

1    8/10/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: the_matthew
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an incredible find that I happened upon while looking for a course near Auburn. It offers a wide variety of challenging holes, be it uphill or through the trees. The park itself is aptly named due to the rock beautifully scattered in rises all over the park. Nice availability for bathrooms and water throughout. The course has been well kept and plays very friendly, except the the double mando on #10. Overall a truly excellent course, and one you MUST play if you're in or around Columbus.
Cons: The signage was the only flaw here. A few times my buddies and I got lost trying to locate the next tee/hole until a local came around and helped us with the way. We also had to carry our empty bottles with us for a while because we couldn't find any trash bins. The distances didn't seem spot-on, but weren't off enough to be to large of a hassle.
Other Thoughts: By far the hardest holes are #10 due to the aforementioned double mando, and the 800 foot hole 18. The "next hole" markers did seem quite vague, and would probably be difficult to handle if it's the first time playing that course. Other than that, a truly remarkable and unforgettable course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.