Columbus, GA 
Flat Rock Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Flat is just the beginning

1    6/22/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It looks cool on a few holes. It's forgiving if you miss your lines.
Cons: Absolutely everything else....

Lay out is a bad use of space. The architecture of the course is simple and not very clever or challenging. The flow of the course is horrible. If you stumble upon this course without a local to guide you, give yourself an extra hour to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: Skip it. It's a great course if you're a local and you just need some golf. Otherwise this course isn't going to impress or entertain anyone.

You don't need a big arm to be successful on this course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in an old established park. The course design has a little bit of everything. With an overall length of 6370 feet and 10 holes over 300 feet the big arms will be very happy. There is plenty of elevation change available and large established pine trees to make you shape shots. While there are enough trees to provide challenge there is a discernable line on every hole with possible exception of hole #7. With that said I did not find 7 unreasonable. Many of the tee shots are blind, with the basket either behind trees or over a hill. There is enough risk reward to make you think your way around the course. Well executed shots can give you birdy putts and errors cause bogeys. Concrete tee pads and signs at every hole. There are benches at most holes and trash cans scattered around and a bathroom on the back nine. While this course seems older and well-worn in places I saw this as adding character rather than a negative. The locals were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The signs here give you only the length and hole number, some of those are hand written. I found navigation rather spotty. While 10 thru 17 have next tee signs I did not see any before that and had to ask where 7 was.
Other Thoughts: While there are some trails that coincided with the course I did not see any issues. If you live in Georgia you need to make the trip to play here. If you are traveling thru Georgia it will be worth going out of your way to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is within a great park offering unique terrain. The course as a whole has distances ranging from 200' to 800', which gives you ample opportunities to test out all of your throws. The course has concrete tee pads on every hole with distance signs and "next tee" signs. The course overall is fun and challenging with holes to test both beginners and seasoned players. The course has both open and moderately wooded holes that makes you work on both technical and distance shots. For the beginner there is a a pro in the fact that there are no water holes to lose discs. Thus, you want to play this course if you are in the Columbus area, plus there aren't any better courses for miles around.
Cons: Unfortunately there are some cons to this course that could possibly bump it up to a 4/5 rating, if corrected.
SIGNS: no signs around the park directing to towards the DG course and first hole. no pictures on signs to direct your throw towards the basket from each tee pad. not all "next tee" signs are up and a lot are very worn down. the distances on the signs seem to be a little inaccurate.
TEES/BASKETS: It would be nice to have secondary tee pads and pin locations for each hole to add depth and variation.
COURSE DESIGN: the design is good for the park layout but holes can feel sometimes a bit repetitive and it is just the distance that changes. It would add more to the course if a hazard (water) were in play. the course could also use some TLC in some areas as it looks a little run down.
Other Thoughts: In the end, this is a course you need to play if you are in the area. The few holes over the flat rocks are something you don't see on other DG courses. This would be a fun course if you are a local but being a first-timer is tough as finding some baskets is tough and I wasted a couple throws, not knowing the basket's direction from the tee. I most likely would play this course again if in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

1    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: Jumpmaster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varying levels of difficulty. Nice balance of longer par 4s and 5s, average length par 3s and a few shorter birdie holes to bring up your confidence. A nicely wooded course. Even with the large amount of trees, each hole has multiple routes to the pin, allowing you to use various types of shots. Hit your lines and your scorecard will be rewarded. The baskets and tee pads also looked like they were all in great shape.
Cons: This course runs through a family park, so watch out for picnickers and runners. Very crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: I've put this course off for awhile as I'm not a huge fan of the Columbus area. Man I've been missing out. This was a very fun course to play. I got to break out a lot of different shots, and practice with a few new discs I hadn't needed to use up until now. I will definitely play this one again on my return trips to the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    9/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: DrumMD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is technically challenging with many tree hazards, varying terrain, some short and some long holes. Signage is adequate. Pad and holes are in good condition. Fairways are usually mowed well though they can get tall in summer between mowings. Par seems to be set appropriately.Other than the occasional dog, it is a safe course with someone else almost always on the course.
Cons: Some signage is damaged and the course needs a sign showing tees and holes; it can be confusing your first time. Needs more trash cans as some uncultured folks don't police their trash. Can get muddy after significant rains. Women's/short tees are mostly missing now, but primary tees are still fine.
Other Thoughts: I learned on this course and play it often. Good for both beginners and pros, lots of challenging trees in the way! It is well worth your time if you are in the area. Send me a note and I might play it with you--or at least give you the layout.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Great Course

1    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really really enjoyed this course. The baskets and tees are great. The landscaping is good. The hole lengths are perfect, ranging from 200+ to 800+. Great mix of lightly wooded holes to open bomb shots. The terrain is absolutely beautiful as well. I highly recommend this course to anyone from beginners to pros.
Cons: Tee signs missing numbers. No hole diagrams. Sort of difficult to see the basket from the tee without a diagram.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Play it!

5+    11/16/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course to learn on, because the difficulty level is not off-putting. But, the course offers a good challenge for more developed players.
The scenery surrounding the holes is amazing. Even without the awesome Disc golf course this would be an awesome walk. The fact that it holds such an amazing course is icing.
I can easily play this course 2 or 3 times in a day and be ready for the another go the next.
No holes overlap or really even interfere with others.
They are slowly but surely putting in new tee locations to open up opportunities for new players.
Cons: There is only 1 course!
There is a bike trail that runs throughout the park. However, I even played the course when they had a race and I never had to wait more than a minute or two.
Other Thoughts: This is the course on which I learned to play this awesome sport, so naturally I am biased, but I truly believe that if you have the opportunity to play Flat Rock and you don't, you are doing yourself a disservice.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Course in Columbus

1    8/10/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: the_matthew
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an incredible find that I happened upon while looking for a course near Auburn. It offers a wide variety of challenging holes, be it uphill or through the trees. The park itself is aptly named due to the rock beautifully scattered in rises all over the park. Nice availability for bathrooms and water throughout. The course has been well kept and plays very friendly, except the the double mando on #10. Overall a truly excellent course, and one you MUST play if you're in or around Columbus.
Cons: The signage was the only flaw here. A few times my buddies and I got lost trying to locate the next tee/hole until a local came around and helped us with the way. We also had to carry our empty bottles with us for a while because we couldn't find any trash bins. The distances didn't seem spot-on, but weren't off enough to be to large of a hassle.
Other Thoughts: By far the hardest holes are #10 due to the aforementioned double mando, and the 800 foot hole 18. The "next hole" markers did seem quite vague, and would probably be difficult to handle if it's the first time playing that course. Other than that, a truly remarkable and unforgettable course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best!

5+    11/4/2011   7/11/2012
Review By: xZxCORE
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most difficult courses I have played yet and also one of the best. Beautiful area and never to crowded. If you like to get together with some new DG players when you play usually on Sunday mornings between 9 and 10 some of us locals get together and do double tournaments for fun. It is a great way to meet people in the area. This course is technical with a good mix of open and natural obstacles. You can really get the hang of your discs here if your new, or, if your experianced get a good challenge on trying to get a low score. There are two mando holes and the 18th is awesome for throwing bombs down range to set you up for an eagle.
Cons: Some of the signs are confusing when your trying to get to the next tee but it all honesty once you play it you will never forget.

The only complaint I have (and this really dose not affect me rating this specific course) is the area has only two DG courses and the other is a very short easy 9 on Ft Benning. Its kind of a drag to not have a variety in the area but hey... I like road trips :)
Other Thoughts: A must play if your in the area for a good challenge!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: akaczowka
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout, very open, good baskets, beautiful scenery, nice and clean with little underbrush.
Cons: Next tee markers are tiny, I was lucky to play the course with a couple of locals that showed me the course. Thanks Todd and Joe!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.