Columbus, GA 
Flat Rock Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #7 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Enjoyable Course

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is within a great park offering unique terrain. The course as a whole has distances ranging from 200' to 800', which gives you ample opportunities to test out all of your throws. The course has concrete tee pads on every hole with distance signs and "next tee" signs. The course overall is fun and challenging with holes to test both beginners and seasoned players. The course has both open and moderately wooded holes that makes you work on both technical and distance shots. For the beginner there is a a pro in the fact that there are no water holes to lose discs. Thus, you want to play this course if you are in the Columbus area, plus there aren't any better courses for miles around.
Cons: Unfortunately there are some cons to this course that could possibly bump it up to a 4/5 rating, if corrected.
SIGNS: no signs around the park directing to towards the DG course and first hole. no pictures on signs to direct your throw towards the basket from each tee pad. not all "next tee" signs are up and a lot are very worn down. the distances on the signs seem to be a little inaccurate.
TEES/BASKETS: It would be nice to have secondary tee pads and pin locations for each hole to add depth and variation.
COURSE DESIGN: the design is good for the park layout but holes can feel sometimes a bit repetitive and it is just the distance that changes. It would add more to the course if a hazard (water) were in play. the course could also use some TLC in some areas as it looks a little run down.
Other Thoughts: In the end, this is a course you need to play if you are in the area. The few holes over the flat rocks are something you don't see on other DG courses. This would be a fun course if you are a local but being a first-timer is tough as finding some baskets is tough and I wasted a couple throws, not knowing the basket's direction from the tee. I most likely would play this course again if in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

1    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: Jumpmaster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varying levels of difficulty. Nice balance of longer par 4s and 5s, average length par 3s and a few shorter birdie holes to bring up your confidence. A nicely wooded course. Even with the large amount of trees, each hole has multiple routes to the pin, allowing you to use various types of shots. Hit your lines and your scorecard will be rewarded. The baskets and tee pads also looked like they were all in great shape.
Cons: This course runs through a family park, so watch out for picnickers and runners. Very crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: I've put this course off for awhile as I'm not a huge fan of the Columbus area. Man I've been missing out. This was a very fun course to play. I got to break out a lot of different shots, and practice with a few new discs I hadn't needed to use up until now. I will definitely play this one again on my return trips to the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/20/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of different shots and uses every bit of the terrain. I would consider this a pretty long course and there's something for everyone from long bomber shots to technical hyzers through the trees.

The course is fairly well marked with next tee signs and directional arrows along with distances on every tee sign. I used a map the first time I played there and only got confused with hole placement once on the front 9. Lots of tucked baskets on the par 4's and 5's which makes you have to be accurate as well as risky sometimes if you want a chance at birdie.

The course is very well maintained and I would recommend it to anyone. It's not super beginner friendly just because you need to have control in order to score well, but if you are just going to have fun it's a great course to learn the game.

Cons: Every time I played there weren't very many people on the course which is nice, saw a lot of mountain bikers though and they tend to ride trails that are right in the fairway. Just look before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I really dig the design of this course, mainly because you're not playing the same shot hole after hole. The layout is much closer to a ball golf course in terms of mostly gettable par 3's, scattered short par 3's for birdie opportunities, and some par 4's and 5's for the big guns. I've played most of the courses in GA and I would rank this one up there with some of the better courses as far as layout and difficulty. The only thing that's really missing is better signage, mainly on the front 9 since it double backs at hole 5. Other than that I'd give this course a much higher ranking.

I love the use of terrain and that 80% of the course is in the shade so even on hot days you're not getting zapped by the sun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: Nailscars
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 12/5/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice combination of open and wooded holes. The setting is unlike most disc golf courses with huge rock "lakes" on a few holes. The concrete tee pads are nice and the course is very well maintained.
After running around in the woods for several holes you finish on 18 with 820ft to the basket. It is a combination of a couple of nice open holes that throw over the big flat rock and a semi-guarded basket at the end. It is a fun way to end a round, and it brings you right back to your car.

UPDATE: Lots of work has been done on this course recently. A few trees have been removed which opens up some more natural flight lines. The addition of lots of new benches and a few new bridges just add to my enjoyment of playing this course.
Cons: There are no numbers on the baskets which led to some confusion the first time around. There are a couple of tees where multiple baskets are visible. Normally the distance helped clue us in on where to throw, but some basket numbers would help too.

UPDATE: They added numbers on the baskets inside the chains. Should make it much easier for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: I am by no means a disc golf pro, but I have played a few parks and I think this one is my favorite. I didn't shoot all that well, but I felt like the higher score was my fault and not the course.
The park is very pretty, and the course is mostly set off alone so there isn't much overlap with other people in the park (There were some hikers and bikers, but no families and such).
Most of the holes feel "fair" if you understand what I mean with only a couple that seem to be disc golf pinball. I think as the course is played and people clear out some flight lines this will only improve.

12/4/2010 Lots of new improvements to the course.

Benches and bridges have been added in several places

Some of the MANDOs were changed up which makes holes 4 and 7 better, but hole 10 now is the bane of my existence. The two MANDOs on 10 create a tunnel that must be thrown through at the bottom of the hill. It is still a very fair hole, but for some reason I can't seem to hit it.

There are "pro" tees on several holes now too which add to the variety.

I have been playing a few other courses lately and they just make this place look better and better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Terrain

1    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: kdianich
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Landscape - like playing on the lower part of Stone Mtn, Arabia Mtn or Panola Mtn; incredible huge, mostly flat, granite outcroppings scattered throughout the course, coming into play on holes # 2, 3 & 18 especially. Can't wait to play this course after a good rain! Rolling, mostly grassy hills scattered with tall loblolly pines. Fairways are sometimes just hallucinated; finding a path is part of the challenge.

Good Mix of Left and Right Playing Holes
Good Mix of Open and Wooded Holes
Good Distance on Several Holes

Easy to Find Errant discs - not much schule here, except for the wildest shots. Nice open areas around the trees.

Excellent Neon Yellow Baskets-really helped with visibility, and should be a good color for fall and winter too.

Concrete Teepads - good length, except #1, which was shorter, probably due to the rocks so close to it.

"Precision" NexTee Signs - always right near the basket in bright yellow & white. When I played, the teepad signs were in, so far, only for holes 1-10. Given that the holes are fairly wooded and hilly at times, the "precision" nextee signs were a saving grace for finding the holes 11-18. They are so accurate, that if you keep walking in an exact straight line from them, you will eventually find the next tee pad.

Good TeePad Signs - with distance and par

Very Friendly & Helpful Locals - happy to help you get around the course and talk about it

Plenty of Family Activities - picnicking (quaint stone picnic shelters to keep you cool), exploring the rocks and stream, mountain biking on 3 levels of trails, plus street biking on the beautiful drive that winds one way through the park. Next time I go, I'm gonna throw in my mtn bike and hit the trails before I play a round!

Minimal Overlap of Park Activities - just keep your eyes peeled for mtn bikes, cause they have to watch the trail.

Plenty of Water & Restrooms - one of the most civilized DGCs in this regard. The restrooms are in several small stone buildings throughout the park. The water faucets you see near picnic areas are working.
Cons: Not really a con, cause it should be finished soon:
Unmarked Holes # 11-18 - Generally, the teepad points you straight down the fairway and the basket may be just off to one side of the fairway. The hole distances should get experienced players there.

The only time we had trouble on unmarked holes 11-18, was being unable to see a basket in either direction off the teepad, and no red tees to help point the way. There was red spray paint on the ground with the hole# and an arrow, which was apparently to tell the teepad sign installers which way to face it, which is the opposite of which way you throw. Knowing that should help keep you in the flow of the game.

We also ended up looking online at the hole distances for the back nine, to help figure where we should see the baskets. All this should hopefully be cleared up pretty quickly, as the rest of the back nine teepad signs should be in the ground soon, according to local players.

More Fairway - a little more of a path of flight, not straight to the basket, would make this course more interesting. As it stands now, most holes have a little bit of fairway, usually straight ahead from the tee, then not so much of any path but a crapshoot whether the approach can get through anywhere. Probably after playing a number of times, the locals have found some wider paths to shoot through. A very conservative removal of selected trees could require you to hit a certain path, making it more challenging, but also more rewarding. This would make this course a 4 in my mind.

Single teepads, Single pins - A brand new course, so this is expected. The course is great just like it is, but I would love to play more than one round, so multiple tees would be a great future addition! This would make this course a 4+ in my opinion.

Other Thoughts: The parking lot is in a cutaway area of rock that looks like a miniature quarry. There is a brand new kiosk there that looks like it will have DG info. There were half a dozen cars there and space to warm up with a few 150 footers.

Some suggestions (probably already on the local club's to do list, cause they appear to have thought of everything) -
Practice basket near the pkg lot
Map in the kiosk and online
Already mentioned multiple tees
Numbers on the baskets would be welcome, since several are visible from some teepads, and the teepad signs do not have a drawing of each hole, to show a dogleg.

Notes on some holes:
Hole#1: Just out of parking lot to the right, basket is up the hill.
Hole #4 plays up along the dirt road.
Hole #6 plays straight through the gap between the large trees. Basket is straight ahead, below the horizon, on a decline.
Holes #11-15 are across the road.
Hole #11 teepad is part way up the hill & plays toward the edge of the woods on the right.
Hole #12 plays from the top of the hill down toward the lake, just left before the restrooms.
Hole #13 plays from the top of the next hill to the edge of the woods.
Hole #14 Fun down and up!
Hole #15 plays along the road to the right, with the basket guarded by trees on the right, just before the hill.
Holes #16-18 are back across the road.
Hole #16 plays just across the road to a basket surrounded by 2 purposeful ditches a few feet to either side.
Hole #17 plays up to the top of the hill, to the right. You can see the basket by walking out to the left of the teepad & looking behing trees with vines.
Hole # 18 is straight from the teepad, open and long. The basket is past the flat rocks, in a grove of small trees. Leave the medium fir tree to your left.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.