Columbus, GA 
Flat Rock Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #2 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in an old established park. The course design has a little bit of everything. With an overall length of 6370 feet and 10 holes over 300 feet the big arms will be very happy. There is plenty of elevation change available and large established pine trees to make you shape shots. While there are enough trees to provide challenge there is a discernable line on every hole with possible exception of hole #7. With that said I did not find 7 unreasonable. Many of the tee shots are blind, with the basket either behind trees or over a hill. There is enough risk reward to make you think your way around the course. Well executed shots can give you birdy putts and errors cause bogeys. Concrete tee pads and signs at every hole. There are benches at most holes and trash cans scattered around and a bathroom on the back nine. While this course seems older and well-worn in places I saw this as adding character rather than a negative. The locals were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The signs here give you only the length and hole number, some of those are hand written. I found navigation rather spotty. While 10 thru 17 have next tee signs I did not see any before that and had to ask where 7 was.
Other Thoughts: While there are some trails that coincided with the course I did not see any issues. If you live in Georgia you need to make the trip to play here. If you are traveling thru Georgia it will be worth going out of your way to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    9/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: DrumMD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is technically challenging with many tree hazards, varying terrain, some short and some long holes. Signage is adequate. Pad and holes are in good condition. Fairways are usually mowed well though they can get tall in summer between mowings. Par seems to be set appropriately.Other than the occasional dog, it is a safe course with someone else almost always on the course.
Cons: Some signage is damaged and the course needs a sign showing tees and holes; it can be confusing your first time. Needs more trash cans as some uncultured folks don't police their trash. Can get muddy after significant rains. Women's/short tees are mostly missing now, but primary tees are still fine.
Other Thoughts: I learned on this course and play it often. Good for both beginners and pros, lots of challenging trees in the way! It is well worth your time if you are in the area. Send me a note and I might play it with you--or at least give you the layout.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Course in Columbus

1    8/10/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: the_matthew
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an incredible find that I happened upon while looking for a course near Auburn. It offers a wide variety of challenging holes, be it uphill or through the trees. The park itself is aptly named due to the rock beautifully scattered in rises all over the park. Nice availability for bathrooms and water throughout. The course has been well kept and plays very friendly, except the the double mando on #10. Overall a truly excellent course, and one you MUST play if you're in or around Columbus.
Cons: The signage was the only flaw here. A few times my buddies and I got lost trying to locate the next tee/hole until a local came around and helped us with the way. We also had to carry our empty bottles with us for a while because we couldn't find any trash bins. The distances didn't seem spot-on, but weren't off enough to be to large of a hassle.
Other Thoughts: By far the hardest holes are #10 due to the aforementioned double mando, and the 800 foot hole 18. The "next hole" markers did seem quite vague, and would probably be difficult to handle if it's the first time playing that course. Other than that, a truly remarkable and unforgettable course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: akaczowka
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout, very open, good baskets, beautiful scenery, nice and clean with little underbrush.
Cons: Next tee markers are tiny, I was lucky to play the course with a couple of locals that showed me the course. Thanks Todd and Joe!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trees can be your friend or enemy!

5+    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: Usdrummer72
Played: 90  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of hole lengths and pars, up to 820 feet.
Very well keep park.
Lots of squirrels and birds.
Plenty of people in the area that present a feeling of a safe environment.
Scenic course.
Very wooded, but not overbearing.
People on the course were friendly and inviting.
Baskets were in good condition.
Convenient to my hotel.
Par seemed appropriate for length and difficulty of holes.
Variety of uphill and downhill shots
Cons: In south Georgia, so summer heat could get bad in afternoons.
Keep and eye out for a couple of Mandos on 6 and 10. I did not see the one on 10 until a local pointed it our after my drive.
Other Thoughts: Overall enjoyable atmosphere and a fun course to play.
One long downhill par 4 allowed me to be able to say I really have had a drive close to 400 feet!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Discovery by Columbus

1    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flat Rock DGC is a course to remember. The park entrance displays the outcropping that the course is named for. As the course takes you deeper into the park the changing terrain offers one great hole after another. Large trees and mostly grassy fairways cover the hillsides, providing lefts and rights mixed into elevation changes up and downhill. Even the short holes are made tricky by the elevation and trees dictating flight paths. A couple of mandos out there, I especially like number 10, using two trees about 25 feet apart, and 100 feet down hill from the tee. Also liked number 12, 420 feet downhill, where the right line can take you all the way down to the pin. There are decent tee pads and signs, cool neon green baskets, and arrows to direct you to the next hole. Bathrooms and trash cans are on site.
Cons: The tees are dirt, but mostly level and roomy. They all have signs with distances, but no map. This leaves room for improvement. Occasionally another park user may wander through your path, but nothing to inconvenient on our visit. Hole number 7 is a target heavily guarded by trees, good luck on that one.
Other Thoughts: Flat Rock DGC is one of the best in GA for sure. I repeat this in so many reviews, but after 18 holes I instantly wished I had more time for disc golfing here. The park is a perfect setting for a course, and the designers did a wonderful job laying it out. It is on my list of favorites now, and I would encourage you to check it out for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 flat rock ROCKS!

5+    2/27/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very large, beautiful park with hundreds of mature pines
-well thought out design, uses terrain very well
-tons of really fun and signature holes
-bright yellow baskets, easily visible and well-thought pin placements
-3 sets of tees: red and blue stakes, concrete for the whites in between
-nice tee signs with distances and "Next Tee" signs throughout
-great elevation changes, very well utilized
-distance variety (though on the smaller side) and great hole variety
-large parking area
-easy to find, close to route 80
-very friendly locals! sunday morning minis at 10am
Cons: Not much to say here, this place is well designed, well finished and gorgeous. My only complaint is that the 3 different par 4's are on the easier side but there are significant trees with which to contend. Oh, and also the two concrete pads I mention below.

Multiple basket locations would be great but another reviewer claims they are on the way. Concrete or some other upgrade to the other tees could really help too. Add another 9 holes with some legit par 4's and find a way to incorporate the lake and this course could be rated even higher. The land is there to do it, so it seems.
Other Thoughts: This course is set in a beautiful park with a unique atmosphere and some very cool rocks buried in the terrain, hence the name. Mature pines are everywhere and the course flows very well throughout several areas of the park. There are a couple tricky navigation spots but there are "Next Tee" signs throughout the course.

The front 9 has a number of more open shots before things start to get a bit tighter and quite dense on the back 9. The open shots tend to have great pin placements offering a bit of challenge for upshots and putts. There are a wide variety of elevation changes and four areas in particular that have drastic elevation changes: the short but sharp uphill shot on hole 1, the hillside with 9, 10 (downhill with a cool double-mando), 16, & 17, the totally awesome signature downhill bomb on 12 and the equally cool over-the-gap shot on 14.

There is also a wide variety in hole length and shape with a good balance of lefty v. righty holes and an equal number where left or right you just need to find a route through the trees! A turnover shot is well rewarded on 4, 7, 15 & 17 and a big hyzer is the order for 2 & 12. The vast number of trees means that even with 8 holes under 300' and 12 under 350', the shorter distances still make for some challenging par 3's if you don't hit your lines and/or hit a tree. There are also 4 over 400' and the final hole is a 820' monster that takes you right back to the parking lot.

As far as the trimmings go, the baskets are brightly colored, easy to see from the tee and in great condition. Three sets of tees and the middle tees are well-sized concrete, though numbers 6 and 18 in particular are not flat and a little short considering those are the 2 longest holes on the course. A rare oversight on this course. There are numerous benches, trash cans and "Next Tee" signs throughout, a couple little bridges and though I didn't check, it looked like there was a building with bathrooms on the way in the park.

I really enjoyed playing here and would definitely recommend it to anyone nearby or passing through the area. Worth going out of the way for this one. The course seems to be very well kept and the locals were quite friendly. Several different groups said hi and told me about the Sunday morning minis, random dubs.

As I said above, I really think this course could be a 4.5 with a few improvements. There are just a few quibbles and it is a little lacking in general distance. But that's just nitpicking: It's got a great atmosphere, a wonderful varied terrain and lots of challenging and signature holes. The land looks to have the potential to take this course to the next level and the local club seems to have the initiative or at least a strong start. I wish this was my home course!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT COURSE

1    12/19/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: MORE LIKE A 4.3 rating!

Concrete pads
BRIGHT yellow baskets
well thought out layout
a HUGE park
good flow to the course
room to improve it
great local club

This course was a lot of fun and a lot better then I anticipated it to be. The park is beautiful and the course is a lot of fun. I played with two loacals, one of the guys helped design the course. He said better signs and alternate anchors for baskets are on the way very soon. This park is great for disc golf and a lot of fun, good mix of longer shots, technical shots and elevation. great job guys.
Cons: Some of the shorter holes had throwing lanes that are not yet cleared out all the way.
Other Thoughts: Great course in a great town 2 hours SW of ATL!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.