Columbus, GA 
Flat Rock Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
4 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 White Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Great Course

1    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really really enjoyed this course. The baskets and tees are great. The landscaping is good. The hole lengths are perfect, ranging from 200+ to 800+. Great mix of lightly wooded holes to open bomb shots. The terrain is absolutely beautiful as well. I highly recommend this course to anyone from beginners to pros.
Cons: Tee signs missing numbers. No hole diagrams. Sort of difficult to see the basket from the tee without a diagram.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Play it!

5+    11/16/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Bencybul
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course to learn on, because the difficulty level is not off-putting. But, the course offers a good challenge for more developed players.
The scenery surrounding the holes is amazing. Even without the awesome Disc golf course this would be an awesome walk. The fact that it holds such an amazing course is icing.
I can easily play this course 2 or 3 times in a day and be ready for the another go the next.
No holes overlap or really even interfere with others.
They are slowly but surely putting in new tee locations to open up opportunities for new players.
Cons: There is only 1 course!
There is a bike trail that runs throughout the park. However, I even played the course when they had a race and I never had to wait more than a minute or two.
Other Thoughts: This is the course on which I learned to play this awesome sport, so naturally I am biased, but I truly believe that if you have the opportunity to play Flat Rock and you don't, you are doing yourself a disservice.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best!

5+    11/4/2011   7/11/2012
Review By: xZxCORE
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most difficult courses I have played yet and also one of the best. Beautiful area and never to crowded. If you like to get together with some new DG players when you play usually on Sunday mornings between 9 and 10 some of us locals get together and do double tournaments for fun. It is a great way to meet people in the area. This course is technical with a good mix of open and natural obstacles. You can really get the hang of your discs here if your new, or, if your experianced get a good challenge on trying to get a low score. There are two mando holes and the 18th is awesome for throwing bombs down range to set you up for an eagle.
Cons: Some of the signs are confusing when your trying to get to the next tee but it all honesty once you play it you will never forget.

The only complaint I have (and this really dose not affect me rating this specific course) is the area has only two DG courses and the other is a very short easy 9 on Ft Benning. Its kind of a drag to not have a variety in the area but hey... I like road trips :)
Other Thoughts: A must play if your in the area for a good challenge!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Mary G
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My husband and I are older dg players. Love the game, though we aren't very good! We felt this course was well marked and offered a lot of variety.
Lots of benches
Bathrooms available at the beginning, and on the back nine
Cons: Crowded when we were there
820' for Hole 18 - really???

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I miss this course

5+    1/12/2012   2/14/2012
Review By: barneco
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great diversity - some open holes, wooded holes...lots of flavor and you'll use every disc in your bag
Almost every hole has a variety of lines
Good variety of length
Good variety of directional shots
Bathrooms and water available
Beautiful surroundings
Great local community
Plenty of parking
Not crowded
Cons: Additional amenities would be nice: garbage cans, better signs with more accurate distances
A handful of pads need to be levelled
Plenty of room for additional tees
Not super close to other "destination" courses...out of towners haev to travel specifically for this course - but it's worth it!
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for over a year, when I first started playing the game. I held off on reviewing the course as a local. Now that I've moved and am no longer local, and now that I've had the opportunity to experience some other courses, I feel like I'm able to give a more unbiased opinion.

In short, the more courses I play, the more I realize how lucky Columbus is to have such a great course. This course isn't just great for the location, it's a fantastic course in its own right.

As it stands, the course has enough distance and variety to satisfy any player. I have 3 courses available to me now, and while each of them presents their own set of challenges, I quickly get bored with each of them individually. I have to vary where I play frequently or I get really bored with each of them. I played Flat Rock at least 5 times a week for over a year and I NEVER got bored with it.

The course shares some land with local MTB trails, but this is never an issue. Visibility is fine and DGers and MTBers get along fine. The sport is picking up and more and more newbies and families are on the course, but so far there is still plenty of room for everyone and rarely does it back up.

The local club(and some select locals...you know who you are!) is beginning to really take hold and bring some exposure to this course.

I currently live 2.5 hours away, but look for every opportunity to travel back and play Flat Rock. I've been gone for 4 months and still haven't quite gotten over the fact that I can't play this course any time I want. I cannot express how depressing this is.

If you're thinking about making a trip for this course, it's definitely worth it!

Some hole highlights:

#10 - double-mando, downhill ceiling shot - use a straight disc with some skip to get you through the mando and under the branches, and slide up to the basket
#5 - FH or flip a long blind righthand downhill shot around an small thicket. Flexing something in an S curve works as well.
#14 - short shot from hill to hill over a depression through some foliage. the basket taunts you through the gap. thread the needle and it can be an ace run...miss and it's often a tough up-and-down.
#18 - 800ft par 5 long drive and perfect approach(haven't gotten it yet!) will put you in position to eagle, but err slightly and you're working hard to get back on track and par

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wish I lived closer

1    12/13/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: New2Disc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FRP is what a disc golf coarse should be !!! Even though I'm a born again DG player ( started at the old Chastain Park Coarse in the late 70's ) My experience at FRP was nothing short of amazing. Starting with concrete T pads, well thought out fairways, and finishing with what has to be the best baskets I've ever heard !!! God had DG in mind when he made this piece of property, it's just perfect !!! This would be a great coarse to introduce a newbie to the game, because it's fair, and short, and long, and beautiful, and clean, and well thought out, and .......... well you get my point !!! I see this coarse as an all day coarse, meaning bring a picnik, and the family. There are laerge park grills that would make a great " home base " for the day !!! Personally I wouldn't touch a thing on this coarse, any new money and energy in the future, should go to a different coarse ( there seems to be plenty of land ) Maybe another 9 down by the lake ??? Anyway, if you live within 3 hours of this coarse, and haven't played it yet, Your missing a real jewel in the great state of Georgia !!!
Cons: The only cons I can think of would be no flight path signs at the tee pads, they would be a big help for first time players. And at some tee pads, a player can see more than one basket, maybe a few well placed and planted leyland cypress trees to block the view of the baskets not in play would help ??? Short of those improvements, I say leave it alone, it's almost perfect !!!
Other Thoughts: This coarse could host, ( if it hasn't already ) world class tournaments !!! Especially, if another 9 or 18 were to be added, with the same standards of the org coarse !!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Georgia's Hidden Gem

5+    9/9/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: BGlenn
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I absolutely love playing this course. It's replay value is insanely high. It seems to me like the more that I play it the more I want to come back to play it. I would definitely put this course in the top five in Georgia, perhaps even in second coming in after Flyboy.

Another big pro to me are the baskets. I LOVE these baskets. For starters, they're neon green, which makes them very easy to see, especially since the tee signs don't give much information. And secondly, they catch very well, much better than discatchers in my opinion.

This course will utilize every shot in your bag. And when I say every shot, I mean it. Most holes have multiple lines you can take depending on whether you want to throw a FH or a BH.

Another big pro to me is the fact that it makes great use of the natural elevation in the park. This one factor to can sometimes make or break a course for me.
Cons: Not too many cons, but I can list a few.

- Navigation could be a bit iffy for non-locals, but there are always nexTee signs to point you in the direction.
- Also, the tee signs definitely need replaced, which hopefully is going to happen soon.
- Hole 7 - Seems to me to be a pure luck hole. Definitely no specific line that you're supposed to hit, just have to get lucky and weave through the trees.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played when I first started playing. It definitely tore me up, but it wasn't the course's fault. It made me want to keep playing to the point where I could hit the lines that were there, and feel accomplished when I got done. This is my personal favorite course that I've played besides Flyboy, and it is definitely worth a drive if you live within a few hours of the area. It will be worth your time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Who does #2 work for?

1    9/17/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.5 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous terrain, you probably couldn't do much better if you spent the month searching out land specifically for a course.
Nice baskets, easy to see which is good because the signs don't tell you anything.
Nice vareity of holes, this is not a course where everything is "up there to the left". The course also plays through 3-4 different types of land so not only do you have different kinds of holes but you have different kinds of challenges to go with it.
Decent tee pads, not huge but I didn't find them lacking.
Several bathrooms along the way.
Next Tee signs point you in the right direction.
Cons: Signs are kind of generic and it seems like the distance might have been measured in various ways because some seem long, others maybe a little short.
Mountain bike trails in the fairways of a couple holes. I didn't notice them and they weren't an issue when we played but you could seriously clock a dude if the stars aligned right.
Hole 7 is a little poke and prayish
Other Thoughts: This is easily the 2nd best course in GA next to Flyboy in my opinion. It has these characteristics that solidify that in my mind:

1) The scenery is ridiculously beautiful
2) The park is clean even though it is a very old park
3) The course has a bit of everything from tricky birdie runs to holes you are happy to 4.
4) It is the kind of course that will make you get better and teach you strategy.

This is the kind of park that will make me drive through Atlanta and down the most boring stretch of road on earth to play. This is the kind of park that I will visit the inlaws to play...do I need to say more?

If you are looking for a fun, 95% fair, interesting, beautiful, fulfilling round in a large park with a lot of elevation that won't wear you out then the FRP should be your choice if you are within 150mi of the joint.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful

5+    9/10/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2012
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome scenic area with a very unique setting.
Very visible baskets,always a plus when you're going in the woods.
One of the bigger pros to me is,this course has a couple punishing ones,but both times(for my personal toughies) they are followed with a chance for a birdie,which is a great morale booster,but is by no means easy.

Cons: It's hard to think of any really big cons,but certainly a few that come to mind are a lack of shorter,technical type holes and the fact that there is a lake,but it doesn't come into play,this probably has to do with something city related and what they said was okay or not,but hopefully if they do add more holes(which has been rumored)it will include a couple water holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course honestly,if you're ever in the area,come out,and if you'd like someone to take you through,pm me,i've played it many times,and although i'm not very good,i feel like this is the perfect course for me to learn on.

Also for me,the high's & lows as far as holes go,are as follows;

Two - I love this hole,because it incorporate what makes this park unique,really huge flat rocks,duh.

Six - The first par four on the course,and you start off with a nice and simple drive through an open field, around a couple of large pine trees with branches that sweep over the fairway,and then an approach across a field that has a basket perched right before a slight drop off,it can be tough because even a little extra glide can shoot you an extra 20 feet past.

Twelve - My personal favorite hole,a 400+ foot par three,that starts off on top of a decline,and you have a path that cuts through the trees all the way down to the bottom where a basket sits on level land,maybe 150 feet or so from the lake,it's probably the most scenic shot,and I love it.

As far as holes I dislike,only one comes to mind immediately,seven,now I guess this hole wouldn't be bad,but I really feel like it's just kind of toss and pray.


7/20/11

This will be the last time I update this probably,but let me just say,I've played a lot more courses at this point,and honestly this one is still incredible,they've really used the land to the fullest,and they've added some more benches out here,also on at least one hole I can think of,small pegs to hang your bags on. Come play this course,you will not
regret it. I have easily played this course 300 times in under a year that it's been here,and I'm still not tired of it.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.