Columbus, GA
Flat Rock Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #7 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: Nailscars
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 12/5/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice combination of open and wooded holes. The setting is unlike most disc golf courses with huge rock "lakes" on a few holes. The concrete tee pads are nice and the course is very well maintained.
After running around in the woods for several holes you finish on 18 with 820ft to the basket. It is a combination of a couple of nice open holes that throw over the big flat rock and a semi-guarded basket at the end. It is a fun way to end a round, and it brings you right back to your car.

UPDATE: Lots of work has been done on this course recently. A few trees have been removed which opens up some more natural flight lines. The addition of lots of new benches and a few new bridges just add to my enjoyment of playing this course.
Cons: There are no numbers on the baskets which led to some confusion the first time around. There are a couple of tees where multiple baskets are visible. Normally the distance helped clue us in on where to throw, but some basket numbers would help too.

UPDATE: They added numbers on the baskets inside the chains. Should make it much easier for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: I am by no means a disc golf pro, but I have played a few parks and I think this one is my favorite. I didn't shoot all that well, but I felt like the higher score was my fault and not the course.
The park is very pretty, and the course is mostly set off alone so there isn't much overlap with other people in the park (There were some hikers and bikers, but no families and such).
Most of the holes feel "fair" if you understand what I mean with only a couple that seem to be disc golf pinball. I think as the course is played and people clear out some flight lines this will only improve.

12/4/2010 Lots of new improvements to the course.

Benches and bridges have been added in several places

Some of the MANDOs were changed up which makes holes 4 and 7 better, but hole 10 now is the bane of my existence. The two MANDOs on 10 create a tunnel that must be thrown through at the bottom of the hill. It is still a very fair hole, but for some reason I can't seem to hit it.

There are "pro" tees on several holes now too which add to the variety.

I have been playing a few other courses lately and they just make this place look better and better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Terrain

1    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: kdianich
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Landscape - like playing on the lower part of Stone Mtn, Arabia Mtn or Panola Mtn; incredible huge, mostly flat, granite outcroppings scattered throughout the course, coming into play on holes # 2, 3 & 18 especially. Can't wait to play this course after a good rain! Rolling, mostly grassy hills scattered with tall loblolly pines. Fairways are sometimes just hallucinated; finding a path is part of the challenge.

Good Mix of Left and Right Playing Holes
Good Mix of Open and Wooded Holes
Good Distance on Several Holes

Easy to Find Errant discs - not much schule here, except for the wildest shots. Nice open areas around the trees.

Excellent Neon Yellow Baskets-really helped with visibility, and should be a good color for fall and winter too.

Concrete Teepads - good length, except #1, which was shorter, probably due to the rocks so close to it.

"Precision" NexTee Signs - always right near the basket in bright yellow & white. When I played, the teepad signs were in, so far, only for holes 1-10. Given that the holes are fairly wooded and hilly at times, the "precision" nextee signs were a saving grace for finding the holes 11-18. They are so accurate, that if you keep walking in an exact straight line from them, you will eventually find the next tee pad.

Good TeePad Signs - with distance and par

Very Friendly & Helpful Locals - happy to help you get around the course and talk about it

Plenty of Family Activities - picnicking (quaint stone picnic shelters to keep you cool), exploring the rocks and stream, mountain biking on 3 levels of trails, plus street biking on the beautiful drive that winds one way through the park. Next time I go, I'm gonna throw in my mtn bike and hit the trails before I play a round!

Minimal Overlap of Park Activities - just keep your eyes peeled for mtn bikes, cause they have to watch the trail.

Plenty of Water & Restrooms - one of the most civilized DGCs in this regard. The restrooms are in several small stone buildings throughout the park. The water faucets you see near picnic areas are working.
Cons: Not really a con, cause it should be finished soon:
Unmarked Holes # 11-18 - Generally, the teepad points you straight down the fairway and the basket may be just off to one side of the fairway. The hole distances should get experienced players there.

The only time we had trouble on unmarked holes 11-18, was being unable to see a basket in either direction off the teepad, and no red tees to help point the way. There was red spray paint on the ground with the hole# and an arrow, which was apparently to tell the teepad sign installers which way to face it, which is the opposite of which way you throw. Knowing that should help keep you in the flow of the game.

We also ended up looking online at the hole distances for the back nine, to help figure where we should see the baskets. All this should hopefully be cleared up pretty quickly, as the rest of the back nine teepad signs should be in the ground soon, according to local players.

More Fairway - a little more of a path of flight, not straight to the basket, would make this course more interesting. As it stands now, most holes have a little bit of fairway, usually straight ahead from the tee, then not so much of any path but a crapshoot whether the approach can get through anywhere. Probably after playing a number of times, the locals have found some wider paths to shoot through. A very conservative removal of selected trees could require you to hit a certain path, making it more challenging, but also more rewarding. This would make this course a 4 in my mind.

Single teepads, Single pins - A brand new course, so this is expected. The course is great just like it is, but I would love to play more than one round, so multiple tees would be a great future addition! This would make this course a 4+ in my opinion.

Other Thoughts: The parking lot is in a cutaway area of rock that looks like a miniature quarry. There is a brand new kiosk there that looks like it will have DG info. There were half a dozen cars there and space to warm up with a few 150 footers.

Some suggestions (probably already on the local club's to do list, cause they appear to have thought of everything) -
Practice basket near the pkg lot
Map in the kiosk and online
Already mentioned multiple tees
Numbers on the baskets would be welcome, since several are visible from some teepads, and the teepad signs do not have a drawing of each hole, to show a dogleg.

Notes on some holes:
Hole#1: Just out of parking lot to the right, basket is up the hill.
Hole #4 plays up along the dirt road.
Hole #6 plays straight through the gap between the large trees. Basket is straight ahead, below the horizon, on a decline.
Holes #11-15 are across the road.
Hole #11 teepad is part way up the hill & plays toward the edge of the woods on the right.
Hole #12 plays from the top of the hill down toward the lake, just left before the restrooms.
Hole #13 plays from the top of the next hill to the edge of the woods.
Hole #14 Fun down and up!
Hole #15 plays along the road to the right, with the basket guarded by trees on the right, just before the hill.
Holes #16-18 are back across the road.
Hole #16 plays just across the road to a basket surrounded by 2 purposeful ditches a few feet to either side.
Hole #17 plays up to the top of the hill, to the right. You can see the basket by walking out to the left of the teepad & looking behing trees with vines.
Hole # 18 is straight from the teepad, open and long. The basket is past the flat rocks, in a grove of small trees. Leave the medium fir tree to your left.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful

5+    9/10/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2012
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome scenic area with a very unique setting.
Very visible baskets,always a plus when you're going in the woods.
One of the bigger pros to me is,this course has a couple punishing ones,but both times(for my personal toughies) they are followed with a chance for a birdie,which is a great morale booster,but is by no means easy.

Cons: It's hard to think of any really big cons,but certainly a few that come to mind are a lack of shorter,technical type holes and the fact that there is a lake,but it doesn't come into play,this probably has to do with something city related and what they said was okay or not,but hopefully if they do add more holes(which has been rumored)it will include a couple water holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course honestly,if you're ever in the area,come out,and if you'd like someone to take you through,pm me,i've played it many times,and although i'm not very good,i feel like this is the perfect course for me to learn on.

Also for me,the high's & lows as far as holes go,are as follows;

Two - I love this hole,because it incorporate what makes this park unique,really huge flat rocks,duh.

Six - The first par four on the course,and you start off with a nice and simple drive through an open field, around a couple of large pine trees with branches that sweep over the fairway,and then an approach across a field that has a basket perched right before a slight drop off,it can be tough because even a little extra glide can shoot you an extra 20 feet past.

Twelve - My personal favorite hole,a 400+ foot par three,that starts off on top of a decline,and you have a path that cuts through the trees all the way down to the bottom where a basket sits on level land,maybe 150 feet or so from the lake,it's probably the most scenic shot,and I love it.

As far as holes I dislike,only one comes to mind immediately,seven,now I guess this hole wouldn't be bad,but I really feel like it's just kind of toss and pray.


7/20/11

This will be the last time I update this probably,but let me just say,I've played a lot more courses at this point,and honestly this one is still incredible,they've really used the land to the fullest,and they've added some more benches out here,also on at least one hole I can think of,small pegs to hang your bags on. Come play this course,you will not
regret it. I have easily played this course 300 times in under a year that it's been here,and I'm still not tired of it.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.