Suffield, CT 
Sunrise Park Share
Uploaded By: philvil   (Taken 7/2012)
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good practice and heavy snow course

2-4    2/12/2014   2/13/2014
Review By: Duke CT
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I played yesterday in heavy snow (@6+"). With ribbon duct taped to the disc, I didn't have to worry about losing it. Also, because it's a fairly level field, I didn't have to worry about a misstep and tweaking my ankle or knee (my knees are in rough shape). The only other tracks I saw there belonged to deer.
Cons: No tee pads. Very short. However, heavy snow and no cleared out launching areas are good equalizers.
Other Thoughts: A fine place for beginners and for trying out shots you may not yet be confident enough to attempt on a full size course. Good to play in heavy show. Everything is a par three. However, if you're more advanced and want to challenge yourself, holes 1, 2, 4 and 8 you can call par 2's (& maybe 3 and 6).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and interesting little course

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: S. Flavius Mercurius
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: 9 holes and 4 baskets shows some creativity, and sure looks a lot easier than it is. Fun to play and a great one to bring beginners. Good place to try out new discs and see what you have.
Cons: Pricker rough is thick and brutal, and will punish the errant toss. Spent a lot of time looking for bad shots, with scratches and ivy to prove it. Technically only for town residents, but we weren't hassled.
Other Thoughts: An expansion would be great, but I was in the Hartford area and intrigued by the novelty of this course's 4 basket design.

 Good for what it is !

5+    10/11/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: dclogic
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Fun course. Easy to play good to learn on.
Cons: Could be bigger. It looks like the opportunity is there to expand. An expanded course could follow the layout of the park
Other Thoughts: yes it is small, but it is close to me and fun

 Good "Starter" Course

5+    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: edfaits
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty park, mostly wide open and friendly 9 holes for beginners, though some elevation changes and hole placement will give the experts some birdie challenges.
Cons: Technically "for town residents only", but I think that applies mostly to the nearby swimming hole and pavillion. Never heard of anyone having any problems on the course.
Other Thoughts: Four baskets (not 5), 1st plays as 1, 6, & 9, 2nd as 2 & 5, 3rd as 3 & 8, the 4th as 4 & 7.

Longest hole is #7, 444 feet slightly uphill, shortest is #8, 120 feet, though a dogleg with no line-of-site to the hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sunrise Park Short but sweet

5+    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: skizilla
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of small area. Course well maintained. Local
Cons: Small Course
Pricker patch that is not to be messed with.
Park and course technically for town residents only rarely enforced
Other Thoughts: Could be a really great course with a few more baskets and clearer public access

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.