Little Rock (Mabelvale), AR 
Morehart Park Share
Uploaded By: jongoff09 Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

2-4    7/10/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: LL_NiO
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parking is good. Baskets are fine (not perfect but they do the trick). I like a lot of the shots out there and I think for the size of the park they did pretty good. I'm always a fan of 9 hole courses putting two tee pads for each because it's just much more fun to make 18 with 18 different shots instead of just playing the same 9 twice. Pretty decent variety and that includes distance and a few easy birdies as well. In all honesty, I don't understand one person that says hole 1 was hard to find. It's literally right next to where you park and it is the very first thing you see entering the park. I think finding your way around the park (except hole 3) is pretty easy. Sort of out of the way kind of course so you never run into much disc golf traffic so you can always get games in no problem. I've heard folks complaining about kids because there is a school right across the street but I have never had any issues what so ever in the 4-5 times I have played.
Cons: Lots of folks here say that the walk to 3 is ridiculous. It's a bit far but I don't mind the walk as much as I do the lack of direction it gives you to get there. Hole 4 and 13 (I think it's those two) are kind of annoying because there is always construction going and there are no tee pads or signs. My biggest beef with the course, and most golfers beef too, is that the course claims to be much higher par than it needs to be. Not one hole there has any justification at all being a par 4. The course should be a 54 par and nothing more. Lastly, but certainly not a deal breaker by any means, the course is in an odd spot. Not really convenient to get to from anywhere.
Other Thoughts: I personally really enjoy the course. The park is not very big and they did really well designing it with the room they had and it seems to not conflict with others who enjoy the park for things that aren't disc golf. I'd really like someone to come in and clarify (and change the signs) the ongoing debate about what the course par should be but besides that I love the course. I just play it as if it's 54 because it should be. Burns Blue has not one par 4 on it and Morehart is no where near as challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/24/2014   10/24/2014
Review By: mikeo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No trash, Grass was cut, I felt safe walking by myself through the pÓrk, Nice seating at most of the tee's, parking was good.
Cons: Down the pipeline, Hole # 4 same as hole # 13 were under construction, and not playable, needed yellow tape or a sign ( under construction ).

This course is very confusing, finding the next tee was impossible for the first time player...

Needs a bulletin board at the first tee.

Other Thoughts: I like this course, it's not for the beginner player, if you need to practice around trees this is the course for you, Trees, Trees and more tree's

Just as you turn in the park your passing hole # one on the right.

Mike in East End.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The real deal

5+    11/18/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: NPCTour
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course was designed for the advanced players who are ready for the challenge of longer holes that are hard to reach in just one throw, mainly on the back 9. The green areas are not surrounded by crouded limbs, trees, and brush that will not reward your great shot to the basket. When playing this course, you find yourself having to use multiple shots from backhand to forehand. Long drivers to midranges. The elevated green on #7/#16 is unique and has that risk reward putt.
Cons: This current land provided only gave 9 holes available into the park. The use of the land seemed to be maxed out. Trash is on the ground due to the general public. The grass isn't cut as often in most parks due to the low budget of the city.
Other Thoughts: There is another 9 hole design that is in the works to make this course a well played and well worth your time park. Once the circle is complete, you will be able to play 18 fantastic holes in Moreheart Park and this course will become one of Little Rocks best courses to play.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    10/11/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 185  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -18 concrete very long tee pads.
-There were trees on every hole to the point where there are big risk/reward type shots but there were not so many that it became overwhelming
-There are bathrooms and a cold water fountain right next to Hole 3/12
-The park does not seem busy or gets a lot of traffic so you basically will have the whole park to yourself.
-The locals are kind. I met a guy who offered to play with me and show me around
-Two holes, 4 and 13, were long straight aways that allows you to rip a big drive
Cons: -The course has nine baskets with 18 tee pads. It circles around the park twice. The back 9 are simply just longer front 9 so the shots became very repetitive. I realize that there was no way to fit 18 baskets in a park like this but the extra nine tee pads seems a bit over the top.
-Without a guide this course would be very confusing, I drove around the park looking for the first tee until I gave up and just started at the 3rd hole. There is a long walk from the second hole to the third hole that is very easy to miss if this is your first time playing here.
-The area around the park and some of the individuals in the park were on the shady side, it would not be a place I would like to hang out at night.
Other Thoughts: I was passing through Little Rock and decided to play here because it was right off i35. This course is very forgettable and as no wow factor. If I ever find myself in the Little Rock area this may be one I skip and go to the other courses that I hear are a lot better from the guy I was playing with.

Still the baskets are in the ground and 18 tee pads there really is not too much to complain about.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First impressions not good

1    4/14/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: Madmoojuice
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Not many places to loose a disc.
- Shaded
- Park for the kiddies to play
Cons: - 2 holes play one basket.
- Indication of where 1st hole is located is lacking
- Unkept grounds
Other Thoughts: We got to the park and our first impression right off the bat was the high grass throughout the entire park, even around the play areas. We drove to a few parking areas and made an (albeit small) effort to locate hole 1. Walking a few holes to determine the start indicated that there wasnt a very logical progression of holes. The general feel for the place, combined with no clear indication where the course started, as well as the lack of logic all led to a very quick determination to move to the next course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/30/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very generous on what you can shoot for par, signs for each hole, concrete tee pads, shady, few places to lose a disc, nice mix of fade and draw lanes.
Cons: Not well maintained grounds: trash and not mowed or cleared, 9 baskets for 18 holes, poison ivy, very long walk between a couple of holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Double Dipping

1    5/3/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some nice tall thin trees on most all of the holes allowing an opportunity to look for some multiple lines. There are a few clever basket placements and nice concrete tee pads. There is some slight elevation, but nothing too dramatic. The signs are the simple white and green colored metal signs that show the view of the hole and footage; they are in great shape. They also had a few arrow signs to help you find your way. This park has trashcans and restrooms. The park has great parking and a playground not in play of the course.
Cons: I'm not a fan of 2 tees (front and back 9 tee pads) sharing the same 9 baskets. It is however, not too bad here and it is nice that this was a way for this course to become 18 holes. Some of these holes did seem completely different and some were just plain longer for the back 9. It isn't too bad with the trees out there. It almost makes the disc selection change on every hole. So this is kind of a neutral thing in the long run. The walk from hole 2 to 3 was bit much, but it turned out to be needed to fit the course in here. There are quite a few walkers and people driving around the park. The walking areas between the holes could use a bit of clean up to get rid of the thorny vines and so forth. The only real navigation trouble I was having was actually finding holes 1 - 3 the rest is not too bad at all.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor at this course was not bad. There were enough holes where I had to work a disc on the hole and manipulate the disc around trees that made it fun, without the feeling like it was too tough. This is a decent place to play despite having to share baskets with the front and back 9 holes. I would play here again as it is a fair choice.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/11/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: arkansas_banjo
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the different tee pads on each hole changes the way you play each hole so you can play 18 fairly easily without getting bored. Fresh mulch is usually around each basket which is nice. Good change up in distances ranging from 200ft to 600 ft.
Cons: The walk from #2 to #3 is a little walk not bad just different from the rest of the holes. The parking area right before #3 is usually covered with condoms, beer cans, etc and shady vehicles are usually around there
Other Thoughts: Good course just needs cleaned up a little I usually pass this one up to go to Hindman Park

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of length variety...

5+    3/8/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays in an easy circle for the most part, with two pads per hole. Made to be played as 18 holes by playing the shorts and longs consecutively or just 9. Big variety of layouts and lengths from short shorties to very long. They keep fresh mulch around the baskets which is nice, and it is usually pretty dry due to a drainage creek in the middle. Nice, new tee pads and great signage with hole route and distance from both tees. The holes range from sub 200ft to a whopping 600ft on hole 9's long tee. Overall, it is a fun, quick course which I found easy to navigate even the first time playing.
Cons: Lots of baby stumps to trip over and holes in the ground here and there. Small creek has no bridge and can be muddy post-rain. Briar, briar and more briar, so wear pants you don't like. Quite a bit of large sticks, limbs about as well. Bottles, trash, cans, and quite a few condoms litter the ground, especially near the always locked restroom and parking lot. A local told me this was a very dangerous park used for drug dealing and worse before they cleaned it up recently. I have on occasion seen some "seedy" people digging through the trash or parked around. Hole 4 borders a giant briar patch and homes on the right, so play carefully, especially from the super long tee on this one. Lastly, as you are leaving 4, the tree with a sign for hole 5 on it is pointing the wrong direction. 5 is actually straight and slightly left of the tree not right as it shows.
Other Thoughts: When you pull into the park, your first right is a little parking area. When you park, you will be within 10 feet of the long tee for hole 1.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't waste your time

2-4    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: Hjmitchell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not a lot of rough to worry about except for hole 4. The signs and new tee pads are also really nice and make it easier to locate the holes.
Cons: Where to start? The layout isn't in the least logical. After you get done with a hole, you start heading to the next logical one only to find that it's not the next one. For example, hole 15 is where 5 should be. You then have to search for a few minutes. Very confusing. Parts of the park are pretty swampy and remain wet regardless of recent rainfall. Broken shards of glass can be found everywhere, especially on the fairways, so watch your step. Some holes are only 195 feet and play way too easily and then all of a sudden there is a 500 ft par 5. If you like getting frustrated, try playing this course.
Other Thoughts: The brush on the course needs to be cleaned up. Since the course is new, the pathways aren't well defined and you find yourself tripping over branches and all sorts of stuff on the ground. One cause of concern I saw are the large piles of wood stacked up. These definitely need to be cleaned up before the snakes come out!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.