Disc Golf Store
Farmerville, LA 
Lake D'arbonne State Park Share
Uploaded By: MikeK Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 319ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lake D'arbonne

1    6/21/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Nice tee signs
-Big elevation changes
-Well kept State Park
-Plenty of parking
-Only $1 per person (worth it)
Cons: -Holes #2-#6 are long and repetitive
-No convenient restrooms
-No benches
-Few trashcans
-Long walks between:
Holes #9, #10
Holes #16, #17
Holes #18, Parking
Other Thoughts: This DGC is a nice little wooded, 18 hole course near Lake D'arbonne outside of Farmerville, LA. Holes #2-#6 are down a 'pipeline' and are very similar. You tee off on one side and the tee is down the 'alley' on the left or right, not much variety. There are a couple of long walks between holes, just make sure you print a map or get one at the park, and follow the red signs with the black arrows.
Easy to find and a must play, if you are already in the area. <I wouldn't go out of my way for this one, if you're looking for a hidden gem>

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

beautiful course with some design issues

1    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: baldguy
Played: 95  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The place is stunningly beautiful. The tall pines and well-preserved woods contain the course entirely, providing the best in shade and scenery that one could ask for. Some of the holes are a lot of fun, and the elevation is used well.
Cons: The hole layout is confusing. Not just hard to follow, but in some cases it doesn't make any sense. For instance, holes 1-9 flow very well, but there's no clear way to get to hole 10. What you do is walk up to, then through the parking lot, past #12's tee and #11's basket, finding hole #10's tee just off the right side of the road (walking away from the parking lot). Hole 18 finishes nowhere near hole 1 which isn't itself bad, but a better layout could easily have been accomplished. Also, many of the front 9 are simply following an existing trail, with at least a couple throwing along a wide telephone pole easement. 600+ foot shots straight down a wide fairway seem like a waste when there are thick woods on either side that could have been used much more creatively
Other Thoughts: Again, this park is beautiful. The camping areas are top-notch. I would definitely travel back to camp and will absolutely play the course again if I'm camping there. I don't think I'll make the drive again just to play, though. I'm giving 3 stars because the course *is* worth playing, but the land it's on provides a canvas for what could have been a masterpiece.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun And For Shure Challenging

1    6/2/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was Awesome! It was very fun but also very challenging. I loved the Tee boxes because they were Concrete just like i like them. The baskets were new and were in great condition. The course had a few places where you ended up at the parking lot even if it wasnt hole 18 (i had to leave after 12). This was very helpful. The woods were very quiet and it was awesome to get to hear the birds chirping and all of the nature sounds. The tee signs are brand new and are mostly accurate. Also, there was a great mix of holes. The course itself is brand new and it is a very challenging course.
Cons: Like all new woods courses, it takes a long time to break in. When i mean break in, i mean like paths for people to follow, the ground having less leaves, a more carved out fairway, etc. I would say that in about a year or so, this problem will be fixed. The course is way out of the way of anything. I was staying in Monroe and it was a hour drive. This means you should probably carve out at least 3 1/2 to 4 hours to go up and play this one. There were about 5 or 6 holes that were exactly the same where they ran along the phone lines and those holes were kind of boring. Also, if you go out of the fairway, it can be pretty hard to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: You have to pay a 1 dollar fee to play this course which is extremely reasonabe. This course will be a 4.5 in about a year after it has had time to break in. This course has lots of potentional to be the best in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Off the Beaten Path But Worth It

1    9/14/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 194  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 19.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, quite hilly, tight, challenging, lots of shade, double 9 loop style, only light brush off the fairways.
Cons: Only one set of tees. Pretty far from a decent-size city, about 45 minutes from Monroe or 30 minutes from Ruston. Hole 1 is poorly designed but the rest are great. Hole 18 has a bottleneck in the fairway that makes it more luck than skill.

Kinda challenging to navigate if you don't have a map, ask for one when you enter.
Other Thoughts: If Disc Golf Course Review allowed us to rate with quarter points, I'd give this 4.25, but since we can only rate 4.0 or 4.5 I'm giving this one 4.5 because Lake D'Arbonne is much closer to 4.5 than 4.0.

Starting on Hole 1, which is a 90 degree turn about halfway down the fairway, you might be worried that you drove a long way to play a really dumb course, but fortunately Hole 1 is the only dumb hole on this course.

Hole 2 is a nice anhyzer that descends as you turn towards the hole.

Hole 3 and 5, while almost the same, made me feel like I was playing on a ball golf course, where you have to control your shot to stay in the fairway or pay the price for trying to get greedy and throwing it as hard as you can. At about 600 feet each with a 40-foot wide fairway, threes are achievable on these two holes but fours are a good score. I really enjoyed these two holes because I like par 4 and par 5 holes.

Hole 4 is a birdie-able shot up a hill and to the right.

Holes 6-9 are a good stretch of birdie holes, but they will make you pay if you stray from the fairway. One of the best features of Lake D'Arbonne is that if you miss the fairway, you'll have a tough time making par because of all the small pine trees, but there isn't a lot of "scratchy" thorn-like rough that can really make you mad.

After Hole 9 there is a one or two minute hike up a hill back to the parking lot. I always enjoy being able to stop at my car after 9 holes to re-load the adult beverages or grab an extra disc.

Hole 10 is a nice downhill birdie run but it's a tight fairway. Hole 11 plays back up the same hillside about the same length as 10, but it's a lot harder going up.

Hole 12 is a cool downhill tight tight anhyzer, Hole 13 is a short uphill birdie run, and 14-16 are all tight but birdieable as well with elevation change.

After 16 it was kinda tough to find 17 even with the map, but once you do, it's a real tough 420 foot uphill battle. The rough is really rough on this hole, unlike the rest of the course if you get off the fairway here you might have to pitch back into the fairway it is so rough.

Hole 18 is a long hyzer shot to finish, that doesn't have the best fairway. It's a luck hole since you have to hit one of two gaps about 6-9 feet wide about 250-275 feet down the fairway.

After 18 it's another two-three minute hike back to the parking lot, but it's all worth it. I really enjoyed this course and wish there were tournaments played here.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 D'arbonne

5+    8/3/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All baskets in perfect condition,
Concrete Tees
Course circles around to restroom, picnic area in between hole 8 and 9.
Signs are fairly accurate
Great mix of shots
Risk/reward shots
Mix of long and short holes
Cons: Miss the fairway on some of the longer holes and you may have a really hard time finding your disc.
Lots of loose leaves to lose a disc under.
Some holes have long walks in between but that is unavoidable.
Only 1 set of tees.
Other Thoughts: Long course. Took about three hours with 2 guys and 2 intermediate women. Lots of easy places to slip or twist an ankle. Pay close attention to where your disc lands because once you go into these woods, everything looks the same. Lots of fun to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    12/23/2010   2/25/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly forested area that's dedicated to disc golf. There didn't seem to be much interference from other activities, a walking trail follows part of the course but it seemed fairly unused. Many holes have nice elevation changes, especially on the back 9. There are some fun downhill shots, and some nice tough uphill holes. Some ravines come into play, I like shooting valley type shots where an errant drive can leave you at the bottom with a tough upshot.

There is a nice variety of hole lengths, with some longer holes especially along the power lines, mixed in with some fun ace runs through the woods. There's good punishment for poor drives with dense woods and enough brush to make you really work if you're off the fairway. A couple small creeks are in play, and can add a fun ob to avoid without risk of losing your disc.

The course is pretty new, so all the course equipment is in good shape. The concrete tees are a decent size and have some decent texture. The baskets are in great shape and catch well. The park entrance has maps that are accurate and helpful, and the course signage is basic but adequate to know where to throw.
Cons: Some of my cons are things that just come with a new course in the woods, so they'll improve over time, and I would love to come back and see the course break in. This paragraph of cons didn't affect my rating much, as I think they're temporary and will definitely be different in a year or so. It's a little rough still, so there are some holes that are still a little pinball style with no good line to the hole. There are some areas where brush is still encroaching on the fairways.

In terms of design, this is a fun course to play but there are some places where it gets repetitive. It felt a little hyzer friendly (RHBH) overall, a little more diversity in hole shapes would bump up the challenge and fun factor quite a bit for me. There is a section of the back 9 where you throw up and down the same hill a few times, some cross hill shots and fewer parallel fairways would make it feel less repetitive here. There are some really long walks between holes and back to the car after the 18th hole, if we didn't have the map it would have been pretty difficult to follow.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun new course that's got a lot of potential. It's a great piece of land, and the holes along the power line mix in some wider fairways that still have the rough in play. I had a lot of fun here, and I would definitely come back if I were in the area. The $1 to play is a really reasonable fee, hopefully some of it is going back into the course.

Beginners are going to find this one a little tough and punitive, especially as it's new and hasn't seen much traffic to beat down the underbrush along the fairways. More experienced players will find some really fun holes here, it's not going to really test the top pros, but it will challenge the rest of us to hit tight lines and work the elevation changes.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.