Freeport, IL
Krape Park Share
Uploaded By: bisket1978 Hole #1
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Hilly and can be wet

5+    7/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: Pink69
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
Pros: A great challenge with the trees.Love the way the holes differ.Some uphill some downhill.Also a thru thru the trees.
Cons: A lot of walking,had a few issues finding a few holes.Sometimes hard to throw with a lot of traffic.
Other Thoughts: My personal best was par59

Home Field Advantage

5+    5/1/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: buggzbrown
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: LOVELY park that the course is set in. This is my home course even though we have two in town, this is the one I and and almost everyone i know prefer. lots of challenging tree lined shots, also some nice open shots for new players. all around great course. play it nearly every day.
Cons: WATER.... i know its a part of the game but two of the holes run directly next to the yellow creek. More than a few times wind has gotten under my disc and its gone for a swim.
Other Thoughts: Not much bad i can say about this course. when your done disc golfing take a boat out on the creek or go mini golfing or play tennis this park is full of fun activities for an entire day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: allonzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix and match of some wooded yet "fair" fairways and more open fairways. Grounds are well taken care of minus all of the dirt around the baskets, doesn't help that we are in a drought either. Some holes have 2/3 pin placements that help keep the course fresh each month.
Cons: Hole 5 has a very narrow "fairway" that most players do not like. The opening in the trees does not follow down to the basket. Even though they are making attempts to change things, there are still a few holes that are way to easy and are obvious ace runs.
Other Thoughts: This course has ALL concrete tees now and several of the baskets have new positions that many have not seen yet. We are in the process of adding in even more pin placements!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

If iI's Not Scottish It's Not Krap

1    6/16/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large kiosk with information on one side and a soda machine on the back side.
2) Nice large rectangular concrete tees are always appreciated.
3) DGA signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a Map are decent signs that help with figuring out where you are throwing.
4) Nice mix of open park like holes coupled with a handful of tight wooded holes.
5) Elevation in play on many holes including some faster greens (potential for roll-a-ways).
6) Excellent old park with mature Oaks and other trees.
7) There is a river in play but more than that it is a nice visual on the course. Couple that with the waterfall as you drive into the park and it is a beautiful property for disc golf.
8) Bathrooms are available at the 1st tee and 18th basket.
Cons: 1) Weedy thin turf throughout this course. Some areas are in decent shape, but many areas are thin.
2) There are some areas that are absolute jail . . . specifically left of #7 (a virtual cliff 45' to the left of the basket) and a few other areas near the woods with a lot of underbrush.
3) There are a couple places where the road is in play. You throw along the exit road on #1, over the exit road on #3, along the road on the big downhill #11, and along the road on #12.
4) They made some effort to indicate the next tee on the baskets but the signs were inconsistent and low quality. I appreciate the effort but wish it was perfect.
5) Compaction was evident in the woods from the limited fairways.
Other Thoughts: I was 5' from losing my Ace Disc (5 aces with this disc) Star Gator on an approach along the river. Fortunately it held up in the grass and I nailed the 45' putt for my 3. That might have affected my rating of this course . . . just kidding. It is a solid course with excellent variety and elevation change. It is challenging for multiple reasons. It was also a beautiful course, lots of mature trees, a river, some nice tight wooded shots etc. I played this in the rain because I was on a mission that day to play a bunch of new courses but I do not feel the rain negatively impacted my impression of this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gnarly Views and Possible Aces

1    4/7/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: juicebox
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Who doesn't like a shot, at say, 8-10 realistic Aces?!? Very nice scenery around the park as well. I like how open it plays yet does present a few challenges with the more enclosed holes like #5(i think). Its also not too daunting of a course to take a child out frolfing with you.
Cons: Not a fan of the wood chip tees. Bathrooms are a long ways away after the #11. Be aware if you're a "token" player, the Park Fuzz was well represented.
Other Thoughts: I really dig this course! Its very beautiful and well maintained. I look forward to rocking this one again!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    10/29/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a large park that has holes weaving in and out amongst the various park roads. There aren't any other things to interfere with the DG, really, but waiting for cars is a real possibility.
- Large majority of the holes have pretty open fairways, with a few bigger trees to contend with. These force a variety of lines, with a multitude of various RHBH hyzers of differing lengths, as well as some straight shots. Usually there are a lot of different lines available, yet there are enough trees to make things interesting. Minor elevation changes also present here and there.
- Other holes have some cool features that stand out. Some very dense forest on holes #4, #5, and #10 demand big accuracy to avoid getting knocked down into some nasty areas. Decent elevation changes are present on these holes too. Water is present as well; to the left of #13's fairway and in front of #15's teepad. A steep cliff by #8 and #9 is another hazard; I don't know what you'd have to do to get your disc back there! A lot of walking perhaps.
- Great variety in hole length, there are a lot of ace runs with ten holes at or under 250', and also five holes over 315' (three over 400'). Helps to keep things interesting from start to finish.
- Mix of teepads from dirt to woodchips to concrete, all were decent except for some loose woodchip ones. Signs and baskets were good, navigation was not a problem especially with the map.
Cons: - Overall, the course plays very short, and has a good amount of open shots. In other words, the difficulty isn't there for most of the round. If you can avoid the various hazards, be it jail, the water, or the cliff, it is very easy to score well here.
- A hefty amount of pavement here, to the point where it gets pretty annoying. Both an eyesore and a distraction, especially if there is any traffic at all.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a very fun course with some very cool shots. The elevated teepad over yellow creek on #15 is a fun bomber and highlights the round. Other holes with elevation changes and/or dense tree coverage help to provide some more fun and challenge. More experienced players won't be tested too greatly, and true beginners might lose a disc or two, otherwise it should be a good time for all!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  newbee

2-4    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: Pink-Discinator
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked the creativity of the course.I liked that alot of the course was short distance throws.
Cons: For now course needs a touch up from the recent flood.
Other Thoughts: Also like the fact that where the course is their are other options of entertainment.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, but not very challenging

1    6/19/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very pretty park, with a large creek, some steep elevation changes, and great mature trees throughout the course. There are a few holes that bring the elevation into play for some fun downhill shots, and the creek is in play on a couple holes for a little added risk. There is a nice mix of holes that call for a right to left or left to right shot, it felt pretty balanced for right and left handed players.

There are decent tee signs with distance and layout to both pin positions on each hole. The alternate placements could change up the course and add a little more variety. The baskets are a little older, but catch well. The park is nicely maintained, all the grassy areas were mowed and there was not much trash or vandalism here.
Cons: Way too many holes here bring park roads into play, it felt like more than half of them played along or over, and there was a good amount of traffic so we did a lot of waiting for cars. It could be a real safety issue if players aren't careful to look for cars, and the pavement can be hard on discs.

The course is pretty short, most of the holes are very reachable even for newer players, and the course is also a little short on challenge. I'm a low level intermediate player, and I easily shot under par here, more experienced players will find nearly all the holes birdieable. The course could have made much better use of the woods and the elevation changes, with only a couple taking advantage of either of these great park features.

There are a couple spots where navigation is not at all obvious, some next tee signs would be really helpful. I recommend printing the map before you go, it's accurate enough that it makes it much easier to follow the course. The tees are downright terrible, they have eroded quite a bit so most are muddy rutted pits, and many have tree roots sticking up through them. You don't need a runup very often on this course, but when you do, you might be better off throwing from next to or behind the actual tee to save your ankles.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun, quick round with lots of birdie runs, but it isn't worth a long trip by itself. Newer players will enjoy reasonable distances and few places to lose discs, but will be challenged to learn different shots to be successful here. More seasoned players won't find too many challenges here to keep it interesting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Intermediate Course

5+    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: joster83
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Krape is a good course that tests an intermediate players all-around game. The holes are mostly streamlined except for the long walk up a hill between 16 and 17. It demands quality shots on most holes, as the course is wooded on more than half of the course. It also forces you to utilize a controlled anhyzer on #5 and #17. A couple good elevation changes and 3 water hazard holes make it just tough enough to be fun. The park itself is one of the best in the region and really adds to the enjoyment of the course.
Cons: There are picnic/playground/fishing areas in close quarters on 4 holes. But if you have good control you are in no danger of shooting through a swing set or over any picnic tables. Occasionally, #18 might have a soccer game in progress in the fairway. The course itself could be a little longer, as it is fairly easy to shoot par. And, the tee boxes consist of wood chips and dirt. Much too often, you have to watch your footing or line up to the sides of puddles that accumulate because of the wear.
Other Thoughts: I do love Krape, as it is my home course and I have grown accustomed to the few cons. To a new player here, I believe you will find the technical part of the course and the ambiance great. But as you play more, you will start thinking about all the opportunities the park has to make it great.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park! Ok golf.

1    10/26/2004   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As I was driving into this park I started to go crazy. I couldn't believe how big & beautiful this park was. You have to drive quite a ways thru this winding road to get to the first tee. On the way in there is a river, ravines, woods, & some great elevation.

Some nice elevation in areas with uphill an downhill shots.

Baskets are in good shape.

Good beginner course. Works all shots of a mid range game.

There are 6 or so really good holes.

Water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Print a map and use it. This course can be hard to navigate in a few places.

The tee pads are uneven and muddy after rain.

This is a short course that lacks challenge. Measures around 4,500 feet. This is a par 54 course.
Other Thoughts: I was pretty disappointed with this course. The land avaliable could have an awesome course on it. I felt the design was average at best and did not maximize the potential this land offered.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.