Disc Golf Store
Buies Creek, NC 
Campbell University Share
Uploaded By: OrangeCamel Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 115ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Orange Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    6/7/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course, very natural, but not unduly hard for beginners. Baskets in good shape. Hard to lose your disc here. Uncrowded.
Cons: Footbridge entrance needs repairs. Tees could use a little attention. A little better signage to next holes could be a little helpful, some are missing.
Other Thoughts: A enjoyable course that is worth a visit !

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a fairly tight, wooded course that's fairly common in this part of the state. It's on the shorter end distance-wise but it does provide two tees which represent different challenge levels. As this course is far from any other decent courses, it's smart that it caters to different skill levels and allows the course to be played in varied ways for those who end up playing it often. Often, the "far" pad takes a different angle to the basket, rather than just adding distance and it does a nice job of providing a different look. Though there are a few trees that could be taken down, I didn't think that there were too many plinko spots, at least from the "long" pads.

There is not much elevation here but there are some baskets placed nicely on small uprisings which makes for some fun finishes. The best holes are the ones that feature the creek. 8 and 9 finish near a swiftly bubbling creek and 10 tees off from the bank and finishes up a slope to the right. The creek doesn't add too much to the difficulty but it does add a lot to the atmosphere.
Cons: There aren't too many problems here as long as you keep in mind what it is not. It's not a destination course. It's not an extremely challenging course. It's a standard Carolina woods course aimed at intermediate players. Not one to go out of your way to play, but one that locals could play a lot without getting bored. There isn't much length: even the long pads are frequently shorter than two-hundred feet from tee to basket. And there isn't much that will make any of the holes memorable.

It also would be tough to follow in places without a map. There are no tee signs, simply colored rocks indicating the tee area and those can't be seen from far away. The natural tees work well enough but finding them isn't the easiest if you don't know exactly which spot to look. The trails between holes are mostly well-constructed but the occasions on which the path between holes uses the dirt road, it would be difficult without that map.
Other Thoughts: This is probably a 3.0 course with tee signs, so once you are familiar with the course, it would play like one. It's solid but unspectacular. Nothing wrong with that type of course. It's the kind of everyday course that most players will find eminently playable and likely enjoyable.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Can I Bring My Chainsaw?

1    4/26/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: Happyhacker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great setting, with the creek and cross country trails, undulation in fairways, etc.
I played with my son and the two sets of tees made it competitive.
Cons: Too many trees! At times I really felt like the course layout wasn't fair. I might get better playing more rounds, but my first time through was frustrating. It really seemed like they weren't allowed to do as much clearing as needed.
Gravel or cement tee boxes would be great.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Camel Time

2-4    4/16/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Two layouts drawn out in a heavily wooded section of Campbell campus. The main theme is tight fairways with creative lines and heavy rough if you get to far off line.

The two layouts either give you a completely different fairway or it changes the angle of the fairway while giving you a different length.

The orange and easier layout is suited for beginners. Mostly short shots down straighter and more ample fairways. The orange layout finishes right and/or bends right in the fairway so it suits LHBH or RHFH players more.

The black layout is more for more experienced players who can hit tight gaps while getting decent distance on a disc. It's more balanced than the orange layout by giving you fairways that move in more directions. Makes you get creative with lines and disc selection.

Solid elevation change on the course; nothing drastic but the terrain is rugged with lots of short drastic movement in parts and some rocky areas.

Well designed greens here, guards the basket well on holes where distance isn't that big of a deal to deliver more challenge.

A creek runs through a few holes that offers a bit of OB risk.

The fairways and immediate rough are nice cleared out and broken in for how wooded the area is. No huge lost disc danger.

Overall I really like the design of most of the course, it gives make-able tight lines and matches them with just the right distance to make it doable yet challenging.

Equipment - Course map at the start. Color coded rocks mark tees. Course directional signs show you the next tee in most places. Nice relatively new baskets.

Atmosphere - It's in a more remote part of campus and it's pretty heavily wooded. Great looking rocky landscape in parts near the creek. Some really nice looking wooded holes. It's got a good feeling to the place.

Relatively low traffic from my experience out there it usually gives you a quiet and pleasant round.
Cons: Layout - The orange layout is to heavily L to R or just straight. It's for beginners but could of been more creative like the black layout is.

The black layout has a few holes where the gap is probably to tight or moves vertically and horizontally in a way that it's very tough to get on the green.

The course does get crammed together in parts with fairways not far from each other. While at the same time forcing you to go on some awkward transitions. It's almost like the course has different sections you traverse to; in a way it's good but for those who don't know the layout it could be confusing. That gets amplified by the fact that some of those transitions don't have directional signs.

There's not a lot of variety in overall hole type. It's all about the same length and tight.

Once you get off the fairways it's super viney and thick underbrush, especially behind baskets. I'd like to see the area near some of the baskets cleared out more because you want to take that ace run and not get punished like that.

Equipment - Natural tees that are already starting to get sketchy due to erosion. No tee signs showing hole layout or distance and some baskets are blind.

No benches, cans, bag holders or any of that fluff.

Atmosphere - Super dense vegetation in parts. The area is also used by cross country, they're not on the fairways but some transitions are their course.

It gets buggy out there.

Other Thoughts: I like the course, I'd play it more if it were closer and near anything else that I frequent.

I think it's a great campus course and good for the community. It offers beginners and students looking for more casual fun a great course to learn on; while also giving more serious players a challenge.

It's worth stopping at if you're ever in the area. It has a real homegrown NC feel to it more so than most public courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  GREAT, FUN COURSE

5+    3/19/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: The Coach
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Great course, and is improving everyday
- Wonderful layout for those who like wooded courses and the challenge to get through trees
- Beautiful walk through the entire 18 with old Buies Creek running through the middle
- basically is a total of 36 holes with the Orange and Black tees
- Very fun course to bring friends out to and teach them the game
Cons: - Could use cemented tee boxes
- Clear up some brush here and there
- To clear up any confusion walking the course for the first time, might need to replace some of the stolen signs around the course
Other Thoughts: Hometown course, love it, try to play everyday.

Would like to have more around the area!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging course

1    12/28/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is more fun then it would seem to appear. Great balance of holes. Good use of the land its on. Great new baskets. Two teepads for every hole; black is more difficult then the orange teepads. Even though most holes are under 250 feet, they still have a decent challenging factor. Not too many easy birdies.
Cons: The teepads are earth based. On several of the holes they are uneven and it makes it very difficult to have a confident tee shot. Until you get to the last 5 holes or so this course is short. It could have better signage, currently painted rocks mark most of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is better than the university stigma that may or may not be attached to it. I am a stickler when it comes to natural teepads but this courses fun flow kept me going. Even though overall its a short course you still have to excute to shoot under here if your an intermediate/advanced level player. Bogeys can still happen here even with it being so short. I would easily go to a 3.5 if they were able to upgrade to a better teepad. I have played three of these college courses now, and this one is probably my favorite.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Itís easier to get a camel through the eye of a needle

2-4    5/10/2011   12/21/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Design:
*Two layouts; Orange and Black- 2 sets of tees on 14 holes
*Nice fairway shape variety- Black layout has 7 Lt/ 4 Rt/ 7 St. Pretty well balanced
*Elevation variety- most holes have some elevation change, even if most are slight to moderate. Black layout has 12 Up/ 3 Down/ 3 Flat
*Water on 4 holes, especially in play by the hole 8 green.

Basics:
*Baskets- excellent new Chainstars! I love these baskets.
*Ease of navigation- there are excellent marked paths and with the map it's very easy to find your way around.

Amenities:
*Scorecards- excellent, with colored hole maps. Available online.
*Map- very clear and colorful. Available online.
Cons:
Basics:
-Tees: dirt and some are not level. Eventually I hope they'll get something permanent.
-Signs need improvement. Currently the tee markers are only white stones with a colored marker. They're adequate but could be improved.

Design:
-Blind tee shots: on each layout there are 6 holes with blind tee shots to baskets you can't see. The hole maps give you the direction and fairway shape, though.
-(A small quibble) one navigation point.-- on hole 6 the Black tee is very close to Black tee 8, so it was just a wee bit confusing which tee to use.
Other Thoughts:
Black Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)
Orange Course Level: Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 850)

~Terrain variety: basically all woods holes with a few holes having a bit wider more open fairways. The fairways are mostly cleared and well defined, but they are usually tight, so accuracy is essential. It's a pretty piece of property.
~Length variety: by design this is a short course to get college students hooked on disc golf; therefore most of the holes are rather short. Black layout has 10 of 125-199/ 7 of 200-299/ 1 of 330
~The Orange layout is short, but great for beginners.

This is a really good course for a college campus and a great way to introduce new players to the sport. The two layouts provide good variety, even though more experienced players will probably find both layouts to be short. Still, I'd walk a mile to play this course!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews
----------
I'm always trying to improve my reviews, so if you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a Personal Message to tell me what is wrong with it. I'll be grateful for the feedback.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My humps, my humps...

1    7/12/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very wooded, natural course with defined fairways, critters, a delightful creek, and 2 sets of tees. Next tee signs keep you on track and the course flows really well considering it's a college course. Bright orange trash bags dot the course here and there for waste makers.

Tees are designated by orange rocks for the novices, and black for the "experts." Orange layout is basically short, straight, and to the point. Black has more line shaping to do, a little longer, a little more elevation in play, and some early trouble and tight fairways to deal with.

The Black layout is great for developing your wooded finesse game and needle-threading with a putter/mid abilities. Really all you need is a putter, your favorite line-shaping mid (if you're not proficient with a putter) and maybe something to FH/OH if you're really looking to score well. While that usually denotes a ho-hum pitch-and-putt, this course is tight and technical enough to provide enough challenge to most disc golfers and keep them entertained, at least those with crappy approach games.

I was really surprised how pretty it is, while it's not rustic or verdant, it's full of wildlife, has quirky elevation, and plays cleverly enough around a creek to give you that "back to nature" feel.
Cons: Trash. Really disappointing how many bottles/cans I saw considering the trashbags available and the natural feel of the course. It would behoove the locals to organize a trash day.

Natural tees: Not the worst but not great either, typical natural tees. The tees are a little crowded by trees so if you're a big run-up guy you won't like them. At least you don't need much of a run-up really, which leads me to...

Poor distance variety: Very easy to get your arm dialed into that 150-200' range so distance wise it can get repetitive. Fortunately, the last 3-4 holes from the Blacks throw some sneaky distance at you so it finishes strong.

Watch out for snakes. I spotted a black snake sneaking away from my lie. Also saw a fat green caterpillar hanging around so watch your step.
Other Thoughts: Fave/Signature Hole: #7 has some rolling elevation and a little dam/finger of land to throw over. I kind of reminds me of really old earthworks of an old battlefield. Solid, fun hole. Very befitting of the "Fighting Camels."

Hole # 16 is sneaky long compared to the rest, you actually have to consider how you want to navigate the fairway to get your par as opposed to the first 15 holes or so where you just hit the gap and pick up the pieces for either a deuce or undramatic par.

I gave this a 3 b/c for a pitch-and-putt I was pretty entertained. If it was more of park-style course I'd hit it with a 2.5 but the two layouts, nice baskets, pretty woods, and line variety was enough to justify a 3 for me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    3/1/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good for students, being that the course is on Campus. Nice elevation changes and incorporating the creek in to play on the middle holes. 2 sets of tees, make for an almost 36 hole set-up.
Cons: Short, thin fairways, LOTS OF TREES, will lose blood if disc is thrown off of fairway due to briar beds and dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: Nice work guys on building a course and starting a club at CU !

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An Immature Cornwallis

2-4    2/22/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: aggreen
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The middle holes were very picturesque as a creek runs through the center of the course. Provides a tranquil and serene experience.
The fairways are cleared and well defined on most holes, as the underbrush is cleared.
While the course has no tee pads, they were flat with no real root or uneven tee area issues.
Each pathway was bordered by tree limbs - a nice appeal to the natural feel of the course - as much as a guide to the next tee.
It is brand new, so baskets are in excellent condition.
Cons: No signs - no tee signs, no next hole signs, no signs stating that the course is there. It is fairly easy to navigate if you have the map, but still would improve the experience much more.
There is a cross country path that goes around the course - some errant throws (long or tree hits) might interfere with runners on the trail, but seems like that would be a rare occurrence.
Some of the creek crossings are a little treacherous (#3 for example) - looks like a log bridge might be in the works there though. You have your typical NC hazards - briers, ticks and possibly some snakes, due to the creek holes.
The course is still maturing, so foot traffic and ceiling cutaways will help with it's development, but it does have that raw feel and some throws will be affected by low ceilings.
Other Thoughts: Charles did an absolutely great job with the amount of land and terrain he had to work with and the layout of the holes.
The course is short. I didn't find this a con, but it is a variable that keeps it from a high rating as well. This is billed as a short wooded course and fits that designation.
This is a dense forest, so there are many tight fairways and a few blind dog legs.
Orange pads are, basically, a green-level course. Black pads are, seemingly, for intermediate players - not tough, but offers some tight shots, especially in the final holes. Tees are defined with black or orange squares on white rocks. Signs (tee, next hole and that a course exists on Campbell) would move this up to a 3 disc rating.
From a Raleigh perspective, this is a fun round for some ace runs or to work on your woods game. If you are on the south or east side of Raleigh, and Cornwallis is farther away, then this is your woods option. No other decent courses in the area (Jack Marley Park is a joke) hurts this course's usage - although that might be a positive for locals.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.