Pine City, MN
Voyageur Park Share
Uploaded By: camb198 Hole #8
3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
open field

2-4    7/20/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Axx3d
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: They had baskets. hole 1 was the only one in the woods.. rest were straight shots. Design was poor with holes crossing each other and tee's in the line of fire of baskets.
Cons: Short, no variances and no real challenges, we played it all par 2.
Other Thoughts: Do not drive out to just play this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt galore

2-4    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good little pitch and putt course. Can be played with nothing longer than a driving putter or a slow mid. (I played with just a buzzz SS and a putter and I have a bit of a noodle arm). Nice play structure on site for the little ones to play at that is always visible from the course. Pretty spot right on the river.
Cons: Short. Longest hole is about 220. Winds in on itself a bit, but it's wide open so you know what is coming and when.
Other Thoughts: Was surprisingly busy for a small town course on a Sunday evening. 9 holes. Homemade baskets, not bad. A bit easier to spit out on, cost me at least one putt, but since the course is pretty short and open that adds a bit of difficulty.

Course designer is a nice guy. Met him while playing, and chatted for a bit. He is working very hard to set up the course for locals to play and get exposure to the game. For the limited space he had to work with the course is pretty good. Reminds me a lot of Wabun picnic area at Minnehaha falls. Good little pitch and putt, close to 35 so as you head up north for Lake Superior, stop in play a quick 18 and see how low you can shoot (-9 is very doable here) and then hit the A and W on the way out of town for some fresh root beer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

5+    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: camb198
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Awesome for beginners like me!
-Holes are placed very well
-Very well built baskets
-most holes have very good use of either trees and also one water hazard(apart from 2 wide open holes)
-Gazebo with grills and picnic tables
-Playground for your children to play on
Cons: -No long holes, Longest is 238' I believe
-Pesky mosquitoes on the first couple holes(bring bug spray!)
Other Thoughts: To me this is a great course to learn the amazing game of Disc Golf on. This course is fast paced and fun for all ages. The Designer, Rob, is playing at the course almost everyday and is very friendly. The signature Hole, #7 is a very tricky shot under trees and over the river. I can't stop playing ever since I started here! Stop by and give it a try!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play It to Ace It!

2-4    10/18/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: hedfan1
Played: 83  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played this course 2 times.

I won't go into to much detail because the last two reviews are just about spot on. It's a short course I think the longest hole is 238' feet. If your just starting out and you need to learn the basics of DG, this course will be a great course to learn on. If you've been playing for 10 years and you want a course that challenges you to finish at par this course is probably not for you.

It's great to work on any type of shot you need to, except long bomber drives.

Cons: As it stands now, I like the lay out, your not into too much danger of hitting others or getting hit. The risk is there but just keep an eye open for other near by players.

Nice to have another course in MN but I can see this 9 holes being grown out of even by beginners in a summers time.

If I'm not back before, I will probably come after to check out the back nine if it gets the green light.
Other Thoughts: If your driving North or South on I-35 stop on by, it will take about 20 minutes to play all nine and you can stretch the legs for a quick Chain Bang. Before or after, grab a bite to eat, have a beer and enjoy the day!

Nice Job Rob!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent pitch & putt open park course

1    10/3/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: dispatch1313
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Typical pitch and putt park course. You can use your midrange disc on most of the holes. The holes are placed really well. The baskets are strategically placed around trees which make it more of a challenge than other small park courses I've played. Water does come in play on one hole where you have to hyzer over the river to park it next to the basket (if you're RHBH)
Cons: No real variation on most of the holes. They're all pretty similar to each other. Watch out for little kids using the playground and running around the park. I had to nicely ask a couple people if they could get off one of the "fairways". I didn't want to stick my Buzzz in their back.
Other Thoughts: I met the designer (Rob I think?) who was really nice. He took our picture to use on his facebook page to promote the course.

I don't live that far away from this course so I'll probably play it again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great small park course

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 67  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course isn't much to look at when you first pull up but it is surprisingly challanging for an open park course. It is located in a very small park but the space is used very well. I got to play 9 with the designer Rob who is a Disc golf veteran that started playing in the early 80's. His knowledge of the game is evident by the design of the course. The basket placement is amazing on most of the nine holes only a few are wide open with no obsticals in the way. This is a great course for players of all levels and awesome for beginners. The way the course is layed out you have to think about your shot eather the tee is obstructed by trees and braches or the basket is. The other really challanging part about this course that makes it fun is the baskets are all designed by Rob. They have stiff chains and there is no such thing as a gimmy on this course. You really have to make good putts to get them to stay in. I think the baskects may be the best part about this course. Sorry Rob for forgetting the name of your basket company! Hole number 3 is the signature here its a hyzer under a tree branch and over the river, it is a very tricky shot and hard to keep dry.
Cons: There are no pads yet but the park is well mantained and mowed. The holes are short but still fun. There is no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The park and town have lots to offer. Good fishing near by. Lots of small shops, bars and restaurants in town. The park is very well maintaind and has a B.B.Q. Pit and pavilion. Rob told me that there are thoughts of puting in an 18 hole course next year and if he is the designer and has more room to work with this will be great. This is a good spot to bring the whole family or get new players into the game. If your driving through stop and give it a try!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.