Springfield, IL
UIS DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #7 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 300ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Well manicured quarter slice of Springfields pie

5+    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: DLL99082
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Rock solid 18 holes. Well taken care of, no bums or shady people in parking lots, also no used needles or condoms yet to be found, always a plus. Lots of challenges for beginners to more advanced players. One of the longer holes I've played is #9, clocking in at over 820+ feet.
Cons: None that I can think of, maybe a couple small wooden pedestrian bridges could be built over very wet ditch/gullys in a couple spots. No bathrooms, literally only saw one trash can entire course (by sidewalk across from #7 basket)
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is an incredible addition to the Springfield golf disc community. We are blessed with 72 holes in one town, get out and throw!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

UIS

1    10/7/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a course that is literally directly on campus, this was very fun.

The course is very nicely taken care of. The grass is mowed, no trash on the ground, the baskets are in great condition, the tees are concrete, signs are readable, etc... all of the maintenance here was top notch.

There are many birdie possibilities, but also multiple holes that are over 400 feet. The course is varied enough to the point that it doesn't favor right over left and that it doesn't get too repetitive.
Cons: Lots of crossing the street. Since I didn't have access to the 18-hole map, I was a little confused after hole 9...the trick is to go under the street!

The tees were a little short for my taste, but there's always room for a run up behind every tee.

The 18th hole is pretty far away from hole 1. The design could have been improved a bit here to make it more efficient.
Other Thoughts: The aggregate score of 2.1 or something largely reflects the score of this course before it was upgraded to 18 holes, but all past reviewers have been notified. I think that this course should definitely be 3.0+.

It was a very casual round. It's not very hilly or wooded, so it was a relaxing, fun round.

Coupled with the Lincoln Parks and Douglass Park, Springfield is a great place to spend the day disc golfing! :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

UIS now has 18 holes

5+    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 88  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UIS now has 18 holes! The new 9 add some length and challenge to the campus course, giving Springfield its fourth 18 hole course and one that is quite different from the other three. While the beauty of mature oaks won't be found here, it's a pretty setting among pines and young hardwoods. The concrete tee pads are nice, although a bit on the short side. Attractive signs are fastened flat on the tee pads and the baskets are new and numbered. There is only one tee and one pin placement per hole.

The layout is a basic loop design, but there are some long walks between holes, as I will outline below. The terrain is used fairly well. There are no woods or water holes and just a wee bit of elevation. The holes themselves have been designed well. There are interesting shapes, a few multi-line holes and plenty of trees to navigate. While the course looks clean and clear of nasty rough, the big pines can be wicked if your disc gets buried beneath them. I came out bleeding after one such mis-throw. The strength of the new nine is more length. The original nine were pretty short, with three of the first four holes under 300 feet. Most of the new holes are closer to 400 feet. The course is heavy on hyzer shots, but there are some spots that call for some right turns too. There's not much risk/reward on the course and bad shots aren't penalized much, unless you rifle one into the pines. No holes stand out as particularly impressive, so it's not easy to come up with a signature hole. My personal favorites are #6, #8 and #15, although the most memorable may be #3, a lane through the pines that is a difficult three. #15 and #16 are fun short holes that should yield their share of skip aces.
Cons: I was disappointed that course designers didn't make use of the campus lake or its elevated banks. The short tee pads had me thinking about my footwork more than I should. I hate #9, a wide-open 830 foot hole that has no challenge beyond its sheer length. There are no "next tee" signs or naviagational aids. I don't believe the distances on the tee signs are all accurate. For example, it says that #13 is over 500 feet when it can't be any more than 400. There's not much shade, no benches and you would have to go into a campus building for water or restrooms.
Other Thoughts: There are several places on the course where you can't really tell where the next tee is. The following navigational tips are the main reason I'm writing this reiview. (Note: When you play the long hole, notice #16 and #17 to your right.)

1) Tee #7 - As you approach basket #6, notice the road to the left. You need to cross this road and then walk to the left until you see tee boxes for #7 and #18 (remember #18 for later)
2) Tee #10 - There's a bike trail behind #9 basket. Take a left and go through the tunnel under the road to next tee.
3) Tee # 15 - Cross the road and walk toward the left and slightly uphill toward the northeast corner of the lake and you will see the tee.
4) Tee # 16 - Go back to the bike path and take a left. Tee is past the yellow posts across the path.
5) Tee #17 - Keep walking west after you finish #16 as if you were playing the long hole backwards.
6) Tee #18 - Remember seeing it back by #7 tee? Walk west toward the road

UIS isn't a spectacular course, but it's a fun, change-of-pace alternative to Springfield's park courses. And it's the only couse on the south end of town. While Lincoln Park South is worth a special trip to the Capitol City, UIS is one to play if you're already in town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/8/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within the campus of this school, on a few various pieces of open land. Plays near some sidewalks, and a statue, but there shouldn't be much interference. Maybe a stray student here and there.
- Patches of forest and trees are used well to provide some interesting holes. #1 is a small RHBH anny around a bush, #2 is a bigger anny around a bunch of trees/rough, #3 is a tunnelish shot through two rows of pines, #4 is a blind hyzer into the pines, #5 is another blind hyzer into some pine trees. #7 has a few more trees, and a large statue to avoid in the fairway.
- There are a few small elevation changes here, which are used well. #2 has a slope behind the green, #7's basket is on a small hill, #9 slopes down to the left, and #8 has a decent elevated teepad. Nothing extreme, but noticeable.
- Good mix of hole lengths, there are three holes under 300', three around 300', and three more over 350' including an 830' bomber. Overall, a little on the short side, but there are chances to air a few out.
- Some tough basket placements, located near slopes or in/by trees and woods. Adds to the challenge and character.
- Good teepads, signs are OK, but some are missing. Crossing the road is necessary after some holes, the map is helpful for navigation.
Cons: - Some holes are more or less wide open, #5 for sure, and #9 too. The hyzer/anhyzer lines are wide open either way as well, as long as you stay out of the trees, it's easy to stay clean.
- Pretty much flat terrain, with a few exceptions. Even then, it is at the beginning or end of the hole, so it's a minor feature.
- Holes by very close to the road in spots, it's not really in play, but it's an eyesore.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, an enjoyable course that has a good mix of lines, with enough punishment to keep things interesting. There are well defined left, right, and straight shots, as well as others that have obstacles to avoid. Some short holes and long holes cater to any level of player as well. Still, definitely better suited to beginner or intermediate players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Champagne That Penguins Cry About

1    3/5/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1128  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety. Most holes have fairly open lines to hit with a variety of obstacles, mostly trees and the large sculpture that give an interesting look to hole 7. The wide open holes, especially hole 8 seemed a bit out of place for a beginner type campus course, but give you an opportunity to really let one rip, or it would be a perfect driving range if the course was empty.

Length. Ranges from 3-800 feet for a decent variety of distances.

Quiet. Speaking of the course being empty, it was very quiet while I was there and didn't seem like the course sees a whole lot of use, though I cannot comment on how busy it gets during/after a school day, I don't expect that this course draws huge crowds. And it didn't seem like random pedestrians would be a huge problem, though it is a college campus and I'm sure there's a variety of activity all over campus.

Beginner Friendly. This would be a great place to learn the game, work on specific lines without too much punishment, and work on open drives. Most of the holes aren't terribly long or frustrating.

Well Maintained. The campus looked very well kept, mowed grass, pruned/wood chipped trees, no trash to speak of. It is a very nice looking campus.

Access. Not far off the freeway for a quick 9.

Navigation. Mostly straightforward, the only place that was slightly confusing was after hole 6 you cross the road.

Tees. Very nice single set of concrete tees that are level and in good shape.

Signs. Each tee had a small metal plate directly on the tee pad showing a directional arrow, Hole #, and Distance.
Cons: Amenities. Ok, so there's a college. Personally I don't feel comfortable wandering around in the campus buildings looking for a bathroom (in an emergency I'm sure it is an option). I was there during spring break and nothing was open anyway, and no matter how much the campus signage looked like a porta potty, they weren't. No other amenities unless you need a degree.

Replayablity. Sure, for a campus local this could make a fine practice course. But the relatively uninteresting lines (a hyzer can get you most anywhere) don't bring much appeal to the course, I doubt I'll ever make the effort to go back.

Long Walk at the End. Hole 9 ends nowhere near hole 1, course is designed in such a way that a hole number change could at least alleviate some of the problem.
Other Thoughts: Not a "must play" by any means, but it was a worthwhile stop, if you're looking for a quick enjoyable round of golf, this course was a good play.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent campus course

1    2/26/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy area of the campus with no real interference from other uses. Many holes bring mature trees into play, including some nice large evergreens that make for great obstacles that really punish an errant shot. One hole plays down a long corridor of pines, great hole that catches any shot that leaves the fairway even a little.

There is surprising variety for how open the course is, with a couple easy ace runs, some holes with moderate distance, and a couple that let you open up a little (including an 800'+ hole with a fun elevated tee). There are some different lines to hit here, which is nice to see on a course that is intended to introduce new players to the sport. There are good concrete tees with basic signs bolted down on the concrete. The baskets are in nice shape and catch well.
Cons: Several of the holes are appropriate for newer players, but hole 8 really doesn't fit with the character of the course. It's way too much length for beginners, and it has no obstacles so it's not that interesting even for more experienced players. A few other shots are wide open and could have been a little more creative with tee and pin placement to keep it a little more interesting.

8 out of 9 holes have easy straight or hyzer lines for a right handed player, so it doesn't encourage players to try different shots. The tees are a little short, especially on the longer holes where most players would want to run up. The signs are a nice idea, and seemed accurate, but when they're flush with the tee it can be difficult to find the tees under snow and ice. There are some tricky spots for navigation, and some long unmarked walks. Some next tee markers or a course map would make a big difference.
Other Thoughts: I love seeing campus courses that can expose new players to the sport. This one is a little tough for a lot of brand new players, but isn't so punitive that it would be too frustrating. Hole 8 should definitely have a short tee or be broken up into a couple holes to fit in better with the rest of the course. More experienced players will find a few fun holes, but not enough challenge or variety to make it worth many return trips.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another OK University Course

1    1/6/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees with a little UIS sign in the back corner. These signs had Hole #, Distance and an arrow indicating general direction of the hole.

2) Hole distances vary a little bit on the intial holes but then they throw an 830' hole at you too.

3) Mach V baskets in good condition and installed correctly, but no # plates which would be useful on 4, 5, 6 where you can see all three baskets from the other tees.

4) Very beginner friendly because it is fairly open, however #8 might get frustrating. It gave me a chance to try and learn a roller . . . and it worked ok.

5) I am not sure what came first . . . Hole #7 or the large concrete structure, but I think it was a cool way to force you to think about the shot. Normally I like obstacles to simply be natural but in this instance it reall alters the shot. You definitely don't want to hit the concrete with your disc or it will have a large gash!

6) Turf and grounds are in great shape. The trees are mature and healthy and the campus looks well taken care of. Its always nice to play through courses that have visual appeal too!
Cons: 1) Hole Signs on the teepads only had an arrow and not a fairway shape. The arrow helps but a layout of the hole would be better.

2) I do not like the concrete sewer rings around the basket filled with stone. These will leave gashes on your discs but they also act inconsistantly when throwing approaches. In general I would just like to see mulch surrounding the baskets.

3) This course is mostly open and doesn't provide much challenge other than distance. I like a little more variety

4) While I enjoyed trying to throw rollers on #8, I just do not understand the appeal of an 830' hole with little to no elevation and little to no obstacles. Throw a couple new trees out there to give something to throw around!

5) Navigation is tough in a couple spots, and the walk from Hole #8 to Hole #9 seems excessive. Then the walk from Hole #9 back to the beginning or to your car is a long walk.The course is broken up into3 different areas. #1 is on an island of its own surrounded by roads. #2-6 are on another section of the campus, then cross the street (with nowhere good to cross without trampling through shrubs) to play #7-9. Directionals might be best in those transition areas.
Other Thoughts: This wasn't a bad course, but it wasn't very good. It had some shots that needed execution, but then there were a few with no real interest or design.

Throw a few trees into the mix on the long hole, and shorten it by a hundred or two hundred feet and Hole #8 would be better. Add a tree or two on #5 to force an anhyzer shot to add some more shot variety in shot shaping and this would be a better course. I can't imagine the open areas

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on the campus of University of Illinois Springfield. It is a very nice campus and the course is very well kept. The course is flat and has a ton of mature trees and pines. This is a beginner friendly course and has enough distance and shots to keep it interesting for more skilled players.

The cement tee pads are flat.

The tee signs are located on the back left hand side of the tee pad. They have the distance and an arrow pointing in the direction of the hole.

The baskets are brand new Mach 5's. They have a nice circular base of bricks filled with rocks. It adds a nice touch.

The course has a variety of holes and distances.

Hole #3 is a sweet tunnel shot thru a row of pine trees.

A huge sculpture comes into play on #7. It looks pretty cool.
Cons: There tee signs are not visible. It's difficult to find the next tee in a few areas.

Navigation is tough in a couple of places. See below for help. Print the map.

The finish to the course is very frustrating. Hole #8 is a long par 4. It's well over 800 feet. That is not the problem. After you play #8 you walk back down the fairway 400 feet to play #9. After #9 you have a half mile walk back to the parking lot.

The land is flat but has some interesting areas. There was potential for a very good course. I don't think they utilized the land very good.
Other Thoughts: Use the coordinates on your gps. It will take you directly across from the 1st tee. The 1st hole is located between the parking lot and one of the dorms. I parked in the lot to the west of hole #1.

After hole #1 cross the street to hole #2. 2 thru 6 flow pretty good. After #6 cross the street to #7.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.