Springfield, IL 
UIS DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #4 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
NIce course

1    11/5/2016   11/6/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 150  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Very clean, well manicured course that maneuvers around the outskirts of a college campus.
Good blend of long and short holes, including an 830 footer....
Concrete tee pads with distance and direction on a sign flush on the corner of the pad.
Couple of the memorable holes:
#3 Tight fairway with solid pine protection on both sides.
#4 Basket tucked away about 250 ft in the tree line on the left.
#8 Huge tree and some type of transformer with limited space to get it through....
#15 Downhill shot from near the pond to a basket under the trees....
Enjoyed the variety of shots created on this course....
Cons: Needed the map to find the next hole in a few places....
Would have liked to see sign posts, would have helped navigate the course without the map.

Didn't like the 800 ft hole which was a straight 800 ft throw with no obstacles....

Other Thoughts: All the above said, was a fun way to wrap up a 4 course Springfield trip.... Played the 2 Lincoln's first, then Douglas, and concluded with UIS.
This was definitely a different feel from the other three Springfield courses, which was a positive thing...
It's solidly a "good" course, but not enough wow to move me to a 3.5 or above...

Impressed @ UIS

1    8/21/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 57  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Enjoyable for players of any skill level.
-Beautifully maintained course that was not very busy when I played.
-The arrows on the teebox pointing to general direction of the basket with distances.
-Pin placement is well thought out here to make approach shots and putts just a bit more challenging.
Cons:
-Single tee box and one basket per hole with plenty of room for additional tee boxes and baskets
-Navigation between holes can be a bit confusing especially 9-10 and 10-11. Use the pedestrian walkway crossing underneath the main roadway after hole 9. Some next hole signs would be a good improvement for this course.
-Could use some small bridges over the little creek on #8 and when walking from 17 to 18.
-Slightly non efficient layout: ex. hole #18 was quite a walk from where we parked to start the course. Also you can't really start on 10 because 9-10 is nowhere near the first hole or any parking for that matter.
Other Thoughts:
I was actually pretty impressed with UIS DGC. It's a quality course with a few quirks and a few really decent holes. A couple holes really stand out from the rest notably #3, #9, #12. This course is easy enough for the beginner to enjoy, also challenging enough for more experienced players. While this isn't the best course in the area I would enjoy coming back and playing this course again in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/28/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout, nice tees, nice baskets, very pretty surroundings.
- Easy to find the next tee on most holes since the next pad is usually in sight from the previous basket.
- No punishing forests along the fairways so you would have a hard time losing a disc. That makes it more enjoyable for non-die-hard players.
Cons: - Hole 8 and 10 were not easy to find at the time I played since this site had an outdated 9-hole map.
Other Thoughts: The current 18-hole map from the UIS site is now uploaded to this site and it makes navigation easy.

Lots of deer on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

3.3

1    5/31/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 122  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was very pleasantly surprised with my round at UIS. Prior to this review, UIS was rated 2.72, so upon my visit, I was expecting a rather bland, but beginner friendly 18 hole course.

Instead UIS delivered quality disc golf holes that were actually really fun to play. Here are the pros from my round:

*Awesome variety of distances. Plenty of holes that require a mid-range/putter but also a few chances for the bigger arms to strut their stuff (hole nine is over 800 feet long).

*Scenic views of the UIS campus and the surrounding area

*Low traffic. The course is strategically laid out to not interfere with campus pedestrians (I should qualify this by noting that I was around while students were on their summer break, so there wasn't much campus traffic at all. Might be worse at different times of the year)

*The course is a great place to bring someone who is new to the sport. No insanely punishing roughs, but plenty of shot variety

*Hole 3 was a great hole... 383 feet down a fairway lined on either side by evergreen trees with the pin tucked back to the right.
Cons: *Poor navigation. I actually never found hole 10, so this review is based on the assumption that hole 10 is not significantly better or worse than the other 17 holes

*Very short tee pads that do not allow for a good run-up

*With the exception of hole three, none of the holes blew my mind.
Other Thoughts: It seems that this course is a bit underrated on this site (looks like some of the ratings might be based on nine holes from back in the day)

I would definitely recommend UIS disc golf course for anyone who is with a beginner or looking for a practice round that demands a wide variety of shots off the tee without the hassle of punishing roughs.

Also, hole 9 is a great hole to throw 15 discs on :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

2-4    7/8/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Detheos
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Course has everything a new person to the sport could ask for. The first 5 hole are all unique. Hole 1 is open, with just a few trees to the right front of the hole. For RHBH you will avoid them. Hole 2 has a tree that is right in front of the hole, so RHBH its shows a first challenge to the hyzer to a disc, but after the tree it is open to the basket. Hole 3 is a long alley by trees forcing a straight throw. Hole 4 has a big left turn to get to the basket. If you go for it it is easy to get into the trees. The Hole 5 is a wide open 300 ft shot.

The course is not difficult and allows plenty of opportunities to try different throws. At some point in the course you will find where it is needed and can practice.
Cons: Some of the holes are difficult to find. There are no signs are where to go, so you have to guess if it is your first time on a couple holes. Hole 10 is kind of secluded to the north east of the basket for Hole 9. Then Hole 11 is just on the other side of the trees for Hole 10, just go to the street and walk east and you will see it.

  Well manicured quarter slice of Springfields pie

5+    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: DLL99082
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Rock solid 18 holes. Well taken care of, no bums or shady people in parking lots, also no used needles or condoms yet to be found, always a plus. Lots of challenges for beginners to more advanced players. One of the longer holes I've played is #9, clocking in at over 820+ feet.
Cons: None that I can think of, maybe a couple small wooden pedestrian bridges could be built over very wet ditch/gullys in a couple spots. No bathrooms, literally only saw one trash can entire course (by sidewalk across from #7 basket)
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is an incredible addition to the Springfield golf disc community. We are blessed with 72 holes in one town, get out and throw!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 UIS

1    10/7/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 134  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a course that is literally directly on campus, this was very fun.

The course is very nicely taken care of. The grass is mowed, no trash on the ground, the baskets are in great condition, the tees are concrete, signs are readable, etc... all of the maintenance here was top notch.

There are many birdie possibilities, but also multiple holes that are over 400 feet. The course is varied enough to the point that it doesn't favor right over left and that it doesn't get too repetitive.
Cons: Lots of crossing the street. Since I didn't have access to the 18-hole map, I was a little confused after hole 9...the trick is to go under the street!

The tees were a little short for my taste, but there's always room for a run up behind every tee.

The 18th hole is pretty far away from hole 1. The design could have been improved a bit here to make it more efficient.
Other Thoughts: The aggregate score of 2.1 or something largely reflects the score of this course before it was upgraded to 18 holes, but all past reviewers have been notified. I think that this course should definitely be 3.0+.

It was a very casual round. It's not very hilly or wooded, so it was a relaxing, fun round.

Coupled with the Lincoln Parks and Douglass Park, Springfield is a great place to spend the day disc golfing! :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 UIS now has 18 holes

5+    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 102  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UIS now has 18 holes! The new 9 add some length and challenge to the campus course, giving Springfield its fourth 18 hole course and one that is quite different from the other three. While the beauty of mature oaks won't be found here, it's a pretty setting among pines and young hardwoods. The concrete tee pads are nice, although a bit on the short side. Attractive signs are fastened flat on the tee pads and the baskets are new and numbered. There is only one tee and one pin placement per hole.

The layout is a basic loop design, but there are some long walks between holes, as I will outline below. The terrain is used fairly well. There are no woods or water holes and just a wee bit of elevation. The holes themselves have been designed well. There are interesting shapes, a few multi-line holes and plenty of trees to navigate. While the course looks clean and clear of nasty rough, the big pines can be wicked if your disc gets buried beneath them. I came out bleeding after one such mis-throw. The strength of the new nine is more length. The original nine were pretty short, with three of the first four holes under 300 feet. Most of the new holes are closer to 400 feet. The course is heavy on hyzer shots, but there are some spots that call for some right turns too. There's not much risk/reward on the course and bad shots aren't penalized much, unless you rifle one into the pines. No holes stand out as particularly impressive, so it's not easy to come up with a signature hole. My personal favorites are #6, #8 and #15, although the most memorable may be #3, a lane through the pines that is a difficult three. #15 and #16 are fun short holes that should yield their share of skip aces.
Cons: I was disappointed that course designers didn't make use of the campus lake or its elevated banks. The short tee pads had me thinking about my footwork more than I should. I hate #9, a wide-open 830 foot hole that has no challenge beyond its sheer length. There are no "next tee" signs or naviagational aids. I don't believe the distances on the tee signs are all accurate. For example, it says that #13 is over 500 feet when it can't be any more than 400. There's not much shade, no benches and you would have to go into a campus building for water or restrooms.
Other Thoughts: There are several places on the course where you can't really tell where the next tee is. The following navigational tips are the main reason I'm writing this reiview. (Note: When you play the long hole, notice #16 and #17 to your right.)

1) Tee #7 - As you approach basket #6, notice the road to the left. You need to cross this road and then walk to the left until you see tee boxes for #7 and #18 (remember #18 for later)
2) Tee #10 - There's a bike trail behind #9 basket. Take a left and go through the tunnel under the road to next tee.
3) Tee # 15 - Cross the road and walk toward the left and slightly uphill toward the northeast corner of the lake and you will see the tee.
4) Tee # 16 - Go back to the bike path and take a left. Tee is past the yellow posts across the path.
5) Tee #17 - Keep walking west after you finish #16 as if you were playing the long hole backwards.
6) Tee #18 - Remember seeing it back by #7 tee? Walk west toward the road

UIS isn't a spectacular course, but it's a fun, change-of-pace alternative to Springfield's park courses. And it's the only couse on the south end of town. While Lincoln Park South is worth a special trip to the Capitol City, UIS is one to play if you're already in town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/8/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set within the campus of this school, on a few various pieces of open land. Plays near some sidewalks, and a statue, but there shouldn't be much interference. Maybe a stray student here and there.
- Patches of forest and trees are used well to provide some interesting holes. #1 is a small RHBH anny around a bush, #2 is a bigger anny around a bunch of trees/rough, #3 is a tunnelish shot through two rows of pines, #4 is a blind hyzer into the pines, #5 is another blind hyzer into some pine trees. #7 has a few more trees, and a large statue to avoid in the fairway.
- There are a few small elevation changes here, which are used well. #2 has a slope behind the green, #7's basket is on a small hill, #9 slopes down to the left, and #8 has a decent elevated teepad. Nothing extreme, but noticeable.
- Good mix of hole lengths, there are three holes under 300', three around 300', and three more over 350' including an 830' bomber. Overall, a little on the short side, but there are chances to air a few out.
- Some tough basket placements, located near slopes or in/by trees and woods. Adds to the challenge and character.
- Good teepads, signs are OK, but some are missing. Crossing the road is necessary after some holes, the map is helpful for navigation.
Cons: - Some holes are more or less wide open, #5 for sure, and #9 too. The hyzer/anhyzer lines are wide open either way as well, as long as you stay out of the trees, it's easy to stay clean.
- Pretty much flat terrain, with a few exceptions. Even then, it is at the beginning or end of the hole, so it's a minor feature.
- Holes by very close to the road in spots, it's not really in play, but it's an eyesore.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, an enjoyable course that has a good mix of lines, with enough punishment to keep things interesting. There are well defined left, right, and straight shots, as well as others that have obstacles to avoid. Some short holes and long holes cater to any level of player as well. Still, definitely better suited to beginner or intermediate players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Champagne That Penguins Cry About

1    3/5/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1253  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety. Most holes have fairly open lines to hit with a variety of obstacles, mostly trees and the large sculpture that give an interesting look to hole 7. The wide open holes, especially hole 8 seemed a bit out of place for a beginner type campus course, but give you an opportunity to really let one rip, or it would be a perfect driving range if the course was empty.

Length. Ranges from 3-800 feet for a decent variety of distances.

Quiet. Speaking of the course being empty, it was very quiet while I was there and didn't seem like the course sees a whole lot of use, though I cannot comment on how busy it gets during/after a school day, I don't expect that this course draws huge crowds. And it didn't seem like random pedestrians would be a huge problem, though it is a college campus and I'm sure there's a variety of activity all over campus.

Beginner Friendly. This would be a great place to learn the game, work on specific lines without too much punishment, and work on open drives. Most of the holes aren't terribly long or frustrating.

Well Maintained. The campus looked very well kept, mowed grass, pruned/wood chipped trees, no trash to speak of. It is a very nice looking campus.

Access. Not far off the freeway for a quick 9.

Navigation. Mostly straightforward, the only place that was slightly confusing was after hole 6 you cross the road.

Tees. Very nice single set of concrete tees that are level and in good shape.

Signs. Each tee had a small metal plate directly on the tee pad showing a directional arrow, Hole #, and Distance.
Cons: Amenities. Ok, so there's a college. Personally I don't feel comfortable wandering around in the campus buildings looking for a bathroom (in an emergency I'm sure it is an option). I was there during spring break and nothing was open anyway, and no matter how much the campus signage looked like a porta potty, they weren't. No other amenities unless you need a degree.

Replayablity. Sure, for a campus local this could make a fine practice course. But the relatively uninteresting lines (a hyzer can get you most anywhere) don't bring much appeal to the course, I doubt I'll ever make the effort to go back.

Long Walk at the End. Hole 9 ends nowhere near hole 1, course is designed in such a way that a hole number change could at least alleviate some of the problem.
Other Thoughts: Not a "must play" by any means, but it was a worthwhile stop, if you're looking for a quick enjoyable round of golf, this course was a good play.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center