New Brighton, PA
Stop N Toss Share
Uploaded By: ProFiction Hole #3 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I do not know what this was

2-4    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It had some signs... and had baskets? I guess you could call them baskets. We walked past the pay area and no one asked us to pay for their "disc golf course". Also there was a huge disc golf dude figurine at the beginning which was interesting.
Cons: First off there is noooo way that you should have to pay $5.00 to play this course. It was not even worth playing for free. The baskets were falling apart and literally homemade and the discs could fall through the bottom of the basket becuase the hole in the bottom was big enough.The holes were very very short and just straight. Some holes were uphil or downhill or flat, but all were very straight with no trees in the way. The pars were insane becuaes there were far to many par 4s and there was a par 2 and the baskets were so bad that if you threw at them and hit chains there was only a 30% chance of it sticking.
Other Thoughts: Do not go here. Do not drive more than 1 minute to play this course because you will be mad.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not a real course

2-4    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There really werent any pros to this course. They say it is a pay to play hole, but nobody tried to charge us. I guess that would be considered a pro. Maybe. The holes were all short so it was easy to park it near the baskets.
Cons: Where to start... No real obstacles other than the occasional elevation changes. The baskets looked like they were constructed by a blind 7 year old. No, thats rude. A blind 4 year old, with no thumbs. The pars aare a bit insane. There is a par 2. Who makes a hole a par 2? Seriously? To ask someone to pay to play is insanity. Complete, utter, insanity. They should pay you to play the course for them. I love disc golf, I have been playing for a long time now, and I can honestly say this is the worst course I have ever seen.
Other Thoughts: Don't play here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 lots of potential at this course

1    6/25/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Stained Glass Disc Golf figure up on top of hill. Can see "it" from down by the driving range.

A couple really good challenging holes # 5, # 7 (I wonder if # 7 green could be moved back even further up the hill??, it would really be a great hole if they did push it back from it's current location

lots of potential, just needs a few changes here and there.
Cons: Homemade (single chain) baskets (they do catch discs well, but they are what they are and should be replaced.

Long walk from homebase/ parking lot to 1st and last tee area/ baskets.

Some Tee signs are leaning towards the ground and needs repositioned more securely in the ground.

All Tee signs footage are in yards and not feet.

Some holes are to short and some lack the proper design for the room that this place has to offer (with a little tinkering with longer tee pads or 2 tee pads and some redesigning of the layout of the DGC, I think this place has a huge upside. But not in it's current state) for the price of admission

Other Thoughts: Talked with a couple people who are involved with this buisness today and gave them a few ideas of how to make this DGC prosper. like some subtle re-designing of the holes (like getting rid of the pitch and putt "GOLF" course and installing several new holes< have hole # 1 start at the other side of the putt putt course and having the last basket (hopefully # 18) end over by the 2 ponds, newer baskets, 2 tee areas, colored duct tape in basket well to show the direction of the next teeing area, getting the EDGE program going at one of their local schools.

This buisness also has a challenging Putt Putt course, Ice Cream stand and driving range. I wonder who would be the champion if they had a tournament that all their golf courses we're used in addittion to their driving range. Sounds like an unique tournament.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Choice For Families

2-4    9/15/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: ProFiction
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can grab a scorecard from the club house before you head up the hill to the DGC. It has a map that should help you figure out which basket to throw at for the first few holes. Once you're done with 4, it's pretty obvious where to go next but the map is a good touch even if it is a bit simple.

The first thing that struck me about the course is that it is so wide open. That's because it used to be a par 3 ball golf course. Any trees in play are way off to the side off the fairways and should be easily avoided. This would be a great course to bring any newcomers to, especially if they don't have a strong arm or are very young.

The tees are all marked with hand made signs that include the distance and par information.

Not many people frequent this course so you will likely have free reign over the entire course while you are playing. This can be a great positive due to the size of the course and the possibility of throws impacting other holes.

If you have friends you are trying to introduce to the sport, they don't need to commit to buying any discs or borrow yours, they have a decent selection at the clubhouse that you can take out and play with. I saw a Leopard, an Aviar, some Innova disc in Champion plastic whose name is unreadable now, and several others. You really won't need any fast plastic here.

Solid practice for more experienced players as far as throwing straight and well-placed approach shots and putts. I played the entire round with my Soft Magnet except for the longest hole where I brought out my Roc. You could literally try different throws on each hole without having to worry too much about obstacles. I imagine this would be a good place just to work on your form, consistency, and accuracy. No trick shots required.

Lots of elevation changes make for some mildly challenging drives. Hole 9 in particular brings this to my mind as an uphill throw. Hole 7 was a blast. A big downhill... just watch your disc glide down. Most of the greens are actual greens and are also elevated with steep drops surrounding them. Aim for the green or face a nasty, blind uphill approach or putt.

Very well maintained. Even though it is rarely used, the crew keeps the course clean, cut, trimmed, and ready for anyone who wants to play.

The pars are pretty fair - there is even a par 2 on hole 4 (126 feet).

A very relaxing game of disc golf.
Cons: Very easy. Many players who are already familiar and comfortable with other disc golf courses in the area which all play in the woods may find that there is little to keep them interested in this course due to its simplicity.

Rules inside of the scorecard mention OB penalty but OB is never defined anywhere.

I can't imagine it being much of a problem, but if you end up in the rough way outside of the fairway, it's very thick and unforgiving. Looks like it anyway - never ended up there :)

There is a house in play on hole 5. It is a downhill drive and if you busted out a fast driver and really blew it, you could shoot past the basket and end up smacking into the back of the house.

The baskets are home-made which is kind of fun but they only have one set of chains. It is a lot easier to tickle the chains here and still have another putt to make afterward. The basket itself also leaves much to be desired. There isn't enough space in the bottom for a disc to fit through, but there definitely is on the sides. It isn't uncommon to throw your disc in the basket and simply have it roll out the other side. What to do in this situation is also not mentioned in the rules.

There are no tees and no tee markings on the ground. The scorecard mentions yellow blocks as defining the tees but there were no yellow blocks. This basically means that you guess where the tee is based on the sign for each hole.

Hole 9 could easily be improved and made more difficult by using the existing ball golf tee area further down the hill. It would be flat, it would be further from the basket, and it would put the trees on both sides of the fairway into play a bit more.

Nine was the only hole I really had to make any kind of decision on as I ended up with a tall bush between me and the basket. Most holes did not have any kind of peril like that.

The map provided on the scorecard is kind of odd and doesn't necessarily help that much as far as figuring out the first few tees and baskets.

At the moment, it is pay to play. $5 for 9 holes of disc golf is not a good investment when there are many free 18 hole courses of higher quality in the area.

I fell on my face driving on hole 7 because it's downhill and all it is is grass. Lost my footing. It is pretty awkward to have to drive while on a slope.

All distances are given in yards on the scorecard and tee signs. I converted them all to feet for this site.
Other Thoughts: This course could be improved by planting some trees and shrubs, installing some tees (anything, please!), and making use of the other free land that is nearby for a complete 18 holes. Even adding some mandos would be beneficial. Perhaps only put the mandos in play with 'pro scoring', leaving the holes open to beginners to play how they please.

Improving the baskets would be another huge benefit to the course. Another set of chains closer to the pole would do wonders. As would new baskets to catch the discs.

No pay to play, please!

Until mid-October, disc golf is free here from 5-8pm on week nights. I would recommend going to check it out if you're nearby. You might find some worth here, especially if having a whole open course to yourself sounds appealing. You can do every hole 3 times if you want. You can invent hole layouts and play around.

Also, as I said before, if you have any young children or would like to introduce someone new to the game, this would be a wonderful place for them to play.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.