Huntington Beach, CA
Huntington Beach Central Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #8 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Second oldest!

1    3/30/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was neat to play the "Second Oldest" disc golf course in the world after playing the oldest a couple days ago! And it has a very different feel indeed. I can see how pro player Paul McBeth honed his distance game here, as this course is very open, playing in a grassy area that has some scattered trees to shape the fairways.

Don't get me wrong - it's not wide open, a handful of holes are more technical with narrow gaps through the trees, but most holes have tree danger much later in the fairways, which means that you can often uncork some distance before you encounter the obstacles. My favorite holes were 3 & 4 as they offered the most trees and elevation on the course and made me "think" about shot execution.

The course is fairly flat, but sits on a bluff, so several holes are affected by this modest slope and the design utilizes it on about 6 holes. But it also affects a couple of the upper holes that have his drop off on their edge (6 & 7) which can make putting hell if you go to the bottom of that slope on your drive/approach.

Dual tee pads are on every hole (long and short) and most holes have multiple pin placements. Also there were 4 or 5 practice baskets with enough room for putts and approaches.

The park itself is beautiful with lush green grass and beautiful mature trees.

The locals were friendly and let me join their group (thank you!). Rich at the pro shop was very welcoming to me, the outta towner.
Cons: There could have been more shot variety here. I like options off the tee but not when It became apparent very early that this course was going to favor a RHBH throw - and indeed - 10 holes were left-turning. This got quite repetitive (how could it not?). I would feel the same way if there were 10 holes that were RHFH dominant. Also, I felt most of the shots didn't require a lot of thought preparation.

I played the long tees, but the distances seemed (for the most part) about the same - in the 320-370 ft range. I feel that distances need to vary to keep things interesting. I felt that even if I had that kind of consistent distance in my arsenal, that I would just be making the same shot over and over.

Safety factor: Holes are packed tightly together and errant shots easily put people in adjacent fairways in danger of being hit. I nearly hit a group on #8 when I was driving on #6 (it's a RHBH hyzer shot, my shot didn't hyzer and my disc missed those folks around the basket on #8 by inches.). There were many mandos here, but that didn't make things safer (there's just not enough trees to protect people from errant shots).
Other Thoughts: Okay, this place is supposed to be the second most crowded course in CA (next to Morley Field) There were many people playing when I arrived, but somehow the crowds magically thinned out as I went along (on a Sunday evening). I joined a group on the 5th hole to avoid playing through people all day, but we never had to wait - woohoo!

Just a slight question - why not have the discs in the pro shop handy so that people can actually look through them by hand?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, not great. California style crowds

5+    12/28/2013   2/4/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As there are not many courses along the PCH in SoCal, the convenience of this course is nice. Usually a pretty good group of people on the course. Decent variation of shots to take.
Cons: The crowds at this place are unbearable. In my experience, groups get really salty when you ask to play through, and everyone is in each others way. There are a few unique holes, but nothing punishing or anything amazing. Always annoying when you have to pay to play as well. Parking can be a nightmare.
Other Thoughts: I guess if you have already chosen to live in SoCal, you are ok with EVERYTHING being overcrowded and overpriced, but being from out of state, it took a lot of the fun out of the course. All in all, it is a solid course, and I continue to play it whenever I'm in town. I prefer the course in long beach.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 41  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: +grass is cut short like a golf course
+like the rubber pads
+pro shop and all that comes with it
Cons: -crowded
-heavily used
-very few challenging shots
-given amount of casual players, there is a lot of errant shots that play into other fairways

Other Thoughts: pancake flat, putter/mid course

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Huntington Beach

2-4    9/12/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the first part of the front 9 the most.

Front 9 had elevation change, and the beginning holes were dog legs from the tee.

Unfortunately, later part of the front 9 became straight holes with little challenge.

Enjoyed holes 10 and 11 on the back.

Liked having a pro shop on site. Shop provided discs, drinks, and map of course.

Course was clean of trash
Cons: Was not impressed with the majority of the back 9. Back 9 holes were mainly straight, and packed very close together. Anything but a straight throw would end up on another hole's fairway.

Course became very crowded very fast. Played on a weekday. Started at 9:30 am with only a few players on the course. By noon I was waiting to tee off on all holes, and saw that most holes had a wait.
Other Thoughts: Course was highly recommended by local players. Outside of the historical aspect, I don't understand the hype about the course.

Course seems typical for the area.


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 World's 2nd Course

1    8/29/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Huntington Beach is a 12-acre disc golf course located in a bustling city park. Most fairways consist of grassy park dotted with mature trees while a lightly-wooded ridge snakes between several holes, providing maybe 10-15 feet of elevation. One hole forces an anhyzer through trees up the ridge while a couple of others play atop it, with errant shots ending up at the bottom (often with tough recovery shots).
- Mostly longer, open holes favoring big guns, although several holes do require more technical, accurate throws.
- OB fence runs along a couple of holes, increasing the difficulty.
- Concession stand with discs, drinks, snacks, etc. Port-a-john on site.
Cons: - Inconsistent tees. Sidewalks marked with red tape, decent concrete pads, and rubber tees all are used. None are terrible, but the situation is far from ideal.
- $2 weekend/ $1 weekday pay-to-play.
- This course is tightly packed into a smallish park. Crowded course conditions can lead to hazardous situations. I witnessed two different incidents of players being struck by discs during my one round there, and understand from locals that it isn't an uncommon occurance.
- Some baskets are so closely grouped that confusion rises as to which is the correct one.
Other Thoughts: - Site of the world's 2nd disc golf course in the world.
- By far the most cramped, tightly packed 18-hole course I've encountered. Regular traffic exacerbates the problem.
- Nothing to go out of your way to play but a solid option if you're in the area. Especially desireable for bigger arms.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Don't care for it.

1    7/10/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a challenging and technical course not well suited for beginners. The course is solely a disc golf course, so there's not much to worry about while playing, other than making good shots.
Cons: The signs are old and not kept up, there are 3 to 4 tees for each hole, making it hard to determine which one to use, and some holes are really close to the street.
Other Thoughts: I didn't have much fun playing this course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzerton Beach

2-4    3/1/2005   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Historic, with some excellent pin placements that require precise drives or upshots. Decent mix of open and medium tight fairways. Not far from the beach, and the afternoon wind can come into play.
Cons: Too many righty Hyzers! Muscle memory a must if you want to deuce many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I need to check it out again, but with El Dorado and La Mirada the same 90 mile drive from my house I never find a reason to go here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

6/25/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 35  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Decent variety of terrain and a bit of different use of shots. Some danger, but still good chances at making the birds.
Cons: Lots of traffic, and very worn in. Many pads are directly next to each other, and there is a bit of crisscrossing.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.