Huntington Beach, CA 
Huntington Beach Central Park Share
Uploaded By: stessier17   (Taken 4/2009)
They're *very* cool with disc golfers here



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
HB Love

5+    4/26/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best maintained in SoCal. It's usually busy but flows very well. There are a decent variety of shots requiring accurate lines in order to shoot competitive scores.

If you've got an arm this course will really let you open up as quite a few holes are fairly deep. If you start to get out here more often in the mornings you'll likely run into some locals who play a modified super course that sports holes as long as 1000' I think. All the locals I've come across have been really great people.

Also, this course is a designated disc golf area which means you don't run into park goers.
Cons: Can't really think of any.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the top SoCal courses. If you're making your trip this way I'd say it's a must play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/12/2012   5/12/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well cut lawns,signage ,and a feel of a real ball golf course, pro shop, three practice baskets.
Cons: Didn't have any maybe the buck they charge to play, but they have to pay for the gas to cut the grass so it a no biggie to me ,
Other Thoughts: This place rocks second oldest permanent course,this place really makes you feel like ur on a real golf course.the fairways are cut just like a real golf course. Its not really a park with picnic tables out in the course so peeps don't walk around to get in your way. At least it didn't seem that way. It has a cool vibe. We played at 645 am and we were first on the course. By the 2nd hole peeps were already behind us , so I can see why it gets backed up quick. Had a great time and payed after our round was over even tho we could have bailed without paying. Definately a must if ur in the Huntington beach area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

1    12/10/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a bit partial to this course. This is the first course I played Disc Golf on. I'll try to keep it unbiased.

This is a multi-level course. It is a bit technical both in the wooded areas, distance, and dog-legs. The front nine play with the first pad on a bluff above the Basket. The basket is closer than you think because the disc will travel further because of the height. On the third and fourth pads have you throwing up to the basket. these two are challenging, especially the third, as the "B" pin takes a dog-leg right. If you don't hit it just right your disc rolls out of bounds.

The seventh basket is my nemesis. It plays right along the side of a bluff. any wind coming off the ocean will direct your drive OB. This basket is also heavily wooded so drive a bit to the right as a right handed backhand thrower to keep it from the abyss.

With the exception of ten and eleven, the back nine are moderately wooded with long drives. It is not as challenging as the front nine. Ten and eleven play right next to a horse trail on the left, which is OB, and heavily wooded on the right. It must be straight or you my be flirting with road-apples.
Cons: Some consider it a con to pay a course fee. For those people I warn you that there is a $1 fee for weekdays and $2 on the weekends.

I've lost a disc in the thick weeds off of the first basket drive. The city does hack it down a couple times a year. Right now its low enough that finding a disc is reasonable.

Bathroom is a port-a-potty.
Other Thoughts: Every Wednesday they coordinate a tournament with winnings of Pro-Shop credits. Entry fees are $8 for tourny.

All in all this is one of my favorite courses to date.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fun and sun course

5+    4/23/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great place to go play with friends and family.
-The holes are very well placed.
-great for the dogs to come with you and puppies will be put to work and always go ride home sleeping.
Cons: -It's a pretty bushy on holes 1-2 (use a brighter disc so its easier to follow/find your disc.
-hills can be a bit annoying but thats half the fun.
-can get a bit busy but not too players will usually let you play threw if you have a small group.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun, great to go with the guys and have a great time. The Staff and other players give it a good vibe and make you feel welcome, and the course is located at a wonderful park if you just feel like going for a hike.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This is history

5+    7/11/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: davearcher76
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Everyone should play this course to see what a historic course is like. Good terrain variation. Good length.
Cons: Could be better maintained. Not enough technical.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.