Huntington Beach, CA 
Huntington Beach Central Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #2 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 365ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun and Challenging

1    12/10/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a bit partial to this course. This is the first course I played Disc Golf on. I'll try to keep it unbiased.

This is a multi-level course. It is a bit technical both in the wooded areas, distance, and dog-legs. The front nine play with the first pad on a bluff above the Basket. The basket is closer than you think because the disc will travel further because of the height. On the third and fourth pads have you throwing up to the basket. these two are challenging, especially the third, as the "B" pin takes a dog-leg right. If you don't hit it just right your disc rolls out of bounds.

The seventh basket is my nemesis. It plays right along the side of a bluff. any wind coming off the ocean will direct your drive OB. This basket is also heavily wooded so drive a bit to the right as a right handed backhand thrower to keep it from the abyss.

With the exception of ten and eleven, the back nine are moderately wooded with long drives. It is not as challenging as the front nine. Ten and eleven play right next to a horse trail on the left, which is OB, and heavily wooded on the right. It must be straight or you my be flirting with road-apples.
Cons: Some consider it a con to pay a course fee. For those people I warn you that there is a $1 fee for weekdays and $2 on the weekends.

I've lost a disc in the thick weeds off of the first basket drive. The city does hack it down a couple times a year. Right now its low enough that finding a disc is reasonable.

Bathroom is a port-a-potty.
Other Thoughts: Every Wednesday they coordinate a tournament with winnings of Pro-Shop credits. Entry fees are $8 for tourny.

All in all this is one of my favorite courses to date.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a must play!

2-4    10/9/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: dirtyc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very challenging shots. anything from dogleg lefts/rights to baskets on a hill. nice blind shots and some far bombing shots. evey time i have been there its always maintained well.
Cons: kind of a over lapping coarse and its very easy to confuse what basket your going to be throwing to. deffently get a map the first time you play. otherwise your going to be very lost

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Classic!

1    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice varied 18 holes. Clean park. Pro shop in site. DG portion of the park has little or no overlap (only holes 2, 4) with rest of park and other park users. Maps and score cards avail FREE at pro shop. Pro shop guy was nice and helpful. Chilled Nutty bars are a HUGE +
Cons: Signage is missing on many holes. Layout is packed pretty tight for a full 18 on a small space. Some hole overlap and some transition confusion on a few holes if you do not have the map. A few baskets are blind, again w/o a map, might be confusing.
Other Thoughts: Had to play here. Saw that it is over 30 years old and 2nd course on planet. A must-visit. A great look at how the game was prior to the wide rim, big arm game of today. Not a lot of hole variety. Virtually no annie shots to be found here... likely a throwback to the old days before disc stability control was what it is today. Front 9 play on and around the ridge line and use the elevation well. Back 9 use the upper plateau area and trees for a flatter course. 1 plays blind down the ridge. 2 plays to a basket on a slope with big penalty for a missed putt. 3 was one of my faves with the basket tucked back into the trees the day I was here. I saw alt basket spot and the current set up is preferred. Sloped fairway is a nice feature, too. 4 is a short up and over. 5 and 6 are simple slight hyzers at mid distance. 7 is a straight shot with good use of trees and BIG penalty for a wayward upshot as the basket area to the left falls off the steep ridge. been there, Done that. 8 is really the beginning of the "back 9" as it plays across the flat and uses some trees. Basket can be confusing on 9 as the practice baskets are all in the basket area. 10 plays a bit close to the road. An overshoot is to be in the street. 11 hugs the fence line. 11 and 12 use the trees well. 13 plays to the back corner and the trees and the slope away from the tee are both done well. Tees for 14 and 5 are all together. 14, 15, 16, 17 play pretty much straight forward. The BIG tree on 16 is just beautiful to play around. 18 is nicely tucked amongst the trees. Mandos are well marked and make sense where they are used. Overall this course gets a 2.5 and I am adding a full addtl point for its classic status. Not a big arm place, but a good course to understand the game and enjoy playing it. Locals were all quite nice as I was playing alone and played through a few parties. Course is free of trash. Kudos to the locals on this as well. If I had to pick a signature hole here it would be 3 or 13.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fun and sun course

5+    4/23/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great place to go play with friends and family.
-The holes are very well placed.
-great for the dogs to come with you and puppies will be put to work and always go ride home sleeping.
Cons: -It's a pretty bushy on holes 1-2 (use a brighter disc so its easier to follow/find your disc.
-hills can be a bit annoying but thats half the fun.
-can get a bit busy but not too players will usually let you play threw if you have a small group.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun, great to go with the guys and have a great time. The Staff and other players give it a good vibe and make you feel welcome, and the course is located at a wonderful park if you just feel like going for a hike.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This Is Where I Started

5+    3/19/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: stunts
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A nice course in a nice place. There are few challenging holes but no overly so - somewhat beginner friendly. Hole number 3 is the toughest hole for me. A small pro shop in the parking lot.
Cons: After a good rain, some holes will be in the middle of a pond and many holes will be very muddy. Some signs missing - grab a map from the pro shop. It does get crowded - get there early.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and the course that got me interested in disc golf. I drove by it for years, always wanting to give it a try. Now I'm hooked.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 decent park, great view

1    1/22/2011   1/27/2011
Review By: bisket1978
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, good use of provided space.
Like that there is a choice in long or short tee pads. Tee pads in fairly good conditions. Plenty of refuse containers, significantly reducing visible litter in park.
Cons: Because it is a fairly compact course, and quite a few tee signs are missing completely, it can be a challenge to navigate the course as a newcomber to the course.
A few of the holes put you in a crossfire with other holes, and with kids around that can be risky.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun, somewhat challenging course. There is a nice, albeit small disc shop, with drinks and snacks which is a big plus. They also provide maps, which you will most definately need. Scenery is very nice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

1    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Hawg
Played: 81  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A fun course with great people. Starting from the club-house, where I had a friendly intro, to the more than few friends I made on the course. Carl and his buddy were extra special and the TVs in the pick up trucks kept score on the NFL games. Disc Golf Gods are smiling on this course. Might not be the toughest, but is a must for all who appreciate Disc Golf history and keeping a good vibe. Loved the fact that I could buy a disc on the course (Vulcan)...
Cons: Lack of signs makes either the provided map or friendly patrons to help you along.
Other Thoughts: Probably need to move some tees or baskets to allow some terrain to recover. Especially after the torrential rains (not their fault)....

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Huntington Beach

2-4    9/12/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the first part of the front 9 the most.

Front 9 had elevation change, and the beginning holes were dog legs from the tee.

Unfortunately, later part of the front 9 became straight holes with little challenge.

Enjoyed holes 10 and 11 on the back.

Liked having a pro shop on site. Shop provided discs, drinks, and map of course.

Course was clean of trash
Cons: Was not impressed with the majority of the back 9. Back 9 holes were mainly straight, and packed very close together. Anything but a straight throw would end up on another hole's fairway.

Course became very crowded very fast. Played on a weekday. Started at 9:30 am with only a few players on the course. By noon I was waiting to tee off on all holes, and saw that most holes had a wait.
Other Thoughts: Course was highly recommended by local players. Outside of the historical aspect, I don't understand the hype about the course.

Course seems typical for the area.


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 World's 2nd Course

1    8/29/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Huntington Beach is a 12-acre disc golf course located in a bustling city park. Most fairways consist of grassy park dotted with mature trees while a lightly-wooded ridge snakes between several holes, providing maybe 10-15 feet of elevation. One hole forces an anhyzer through trees up the ridge while a couple of others play atop it, with errant shots ending up at the bottom (often with tough recovery shots).
- Mostly longer, open holes favoring big guns, although several holes do require more technical, accurate throws.
- OB fence runs along a couple of holes, increasing the difficulty.
- Concession stand with discs, drinks, snacks, etc. Port-a-john on site.
Cons: - Inconsistent tees. Sidewalks marked with red tape, decent concrete pads, and rubber tees all are used. None are terrible, but the situation is far from ideal.
- $2 weekend/ $1 weekday pay-to-play.
- This course is tightly packed into a smallish park. Crowded course conditions can lead to hazardous situations. I witnessed two different incidents of players being struck by discs during my one round there, and understand from locals that it isn't an uncommon occurance.
- Some baskets are so closely grouped that confusion rises as to which is the correct one.
Other Thoughts: - Site of the world's 2nd disc golf course in the world.
- By far the most cramped, tightly packed 18-hole course I've encountered. Regular traffic exacerbates the problem.
- Nothing to go out of your way to play but a solid option if you're in the area. Especially desireable for bigger arms.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A great course to play

1    8/20/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This place is historic, it might not be the best course around, however, it's the 2nd one in the world. This adds to the cool factor. There were lots of nice and helpful people playing. The course has a neat layout. Having a Pro Shop on site was cool.
Cons: It was very busy. The A vs B pads got a little bit confusing, There is a green fee, but it wasn't bad. Only a buck. There are lots of drop offs on the back 9 that make overthrowing your disc a hill climbing excursion.
Other Thoughts: This course was very neat. I was visiting from Oklahoma and had made plans to come visit this course. I loved the weather here and with no wind it made for some awesome drives. The people here are so nice except for a few (which I found out where the Innova Pro team guys.) They felt the need to criticize how bad I was when I threw my disk. But that was all good. Other than that I learned a new rule for us in Oklahoma. Counting down from 10 on a slugged throw. Very funny.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center