Huntington Beach, CA 
Huntington Beach Central Park Share
Uploaded By: Apothecary Hole #11 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Don't care for it.

1    7/10/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: EricArii
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a challenging and technical course not well suited for beginners. The course is solely a disc golf course, so there's not much to worry about while playing, other than making good shots.
Cons: The signs are old and not kept up, there are 3 to 4 tees for each hole, making it hard to determine which one to use, and some holes are really close to the street.
Other Thoughts: I didn't have much fun playing this course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Coastal Course

5+    1/30/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Grippy rubber tees on every hole
Pro Shop onsite that offers advice, disc sales, and lessons. Great place to learn your forehand game!
Incredible local scene with lots of friendly people throughout the course. Unfortunately, too many friendly people at times.
Great use of elevation change
Plenty of trees and natural obstacles, with creative angles everywhere
Lots of long holes, with the majority playing 300+. A few over 400 as well.
Offers continued challenged for seasoned players, or repeat players of the course.
A few benches around the course, and plenty of trashcans
Course is well kept and has an onsite staff to assist with maintenance inquiries. You can borrow a broom from the pro shop as well!
2 tees on every hole to provide variety and challenge for all levels of players. Some safari holes are in place here as well, but are difficult to play because of the amount of people on the course.
Definitely a disc golf exclusive area, but a few holes play close to the edges of the park (Holes 2 and 4). Watch out for your upshot on 2, and your tee shot on 4.
Cons:
The crowds here get intense, especially on weekends. Lately, it has even bled over to the weekdays as well. It becomes difficult to play through and/or skip around because there are people on EVERY hole.
Wind comes into play, especially in the afternoons. It blows in hard off the ocean and can easily add 3 strokes by the time you are done.
Some alternate tee leave you scratching your head, like on 14 where the "short" tee is 15 feet closer to the basket.
Black Widows in the Port-A-Potty. Watch out!
More uphill holes than downhill holes (how is this possible?)
Other Thoughts:
Beautiful HB, where the prevailing tradewinds of the Pacific Ocean can make or break your game. Like surfing, it is better to get to this course before noon before it blows out, both with wind and crowds. This course offers possibly the most variety of any course within a 50 mile radius. Plenty of elevation change that is used creatively, and the scenic Central park provides a perfect backdrop for this coastal course.

This is a historic course, being the 2nd permanent course in the world after Oak Grove (Hahamongna) in Pasadena. The layout has definitely changed over the years, and there is some grumbling that the current layout has become stagnant. Most prefer the great variety of the front 9, only to find the back 9 playing mostly flat along a small peninsula among the trees. However, it is usually the Back 9 that ends up being the equalizer for a good or bad round - it is tougher and longer than the front.

The Pro Shop is a great ambassador to disc golf, and has a staff that is familiar with the game and more than happy to offer advice. They also have a pretty decent selection of discs and plenty of snacks and drinks to keep you going. Candy bars on ice are a specialty here! The "Higher Flyers" group is the local team here, and have monthlies the first Saturday of every month. They are also a great group of people.

This course is a mandatory play if you are visiting or traveling to the Orange/LA/San Diego county area. To fully enjoy it, try to hit it in the morning before 9am if possible. Weekdays provide even more opportunity to enjoy a round without having to wait at every hole. Even when you do have to wait, this beautiful park does not disappoint with its breathtaking scenery. Signature hole is without a doubt Hole # 1, off the "cliff" by the pro shop down to the basket 280 feet away. Always an ace run for experienced players, I think about 60 people aced it last year. They have an "Ace Board" at the Pro Shop.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Good but overcrowded

2-4    2/4/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offers a great variety of holes and a decent challenge. Most holes have multiple tee pads and pin placements to keep it interesting for beginners and the advanced. Tee pads and baskets are in great shape. The course is in great condition and is totally worth the 1 or 2 bucks you have to pay.
Cons: Way overcrowded. This course is a victim of it's own success. I expect it to be crowded on a weekend but even on a weekday you have to wait 5-10 minutes on every hole. But on the plus side that is my only major complaint.
Other Thoughts: This is a good challenge and a must see if you are in the area. However you need to approach this course with the idea that you will be waiting around on every hole, so you need to make sure you plan accordingly.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Descent park in OC

1    11/10/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good baskets.
-Marked tees, very friendly guys that run the shop and provide a map.
-Lots of wide open shots, some narrow ones too.
-Uses hills and trees the best it can, also has lots of nice open shots too.
-Everybody seemed to play quite quickly and were very friendly when it came to waiting to tee.
-3 practice baskets!
Cons: -The park holes got kind of repetitive, just going back and forward across a big field. The first few holes on both the front and back 9 were my favorite. The rest was kind of blah.
-Some areas have lots of tee pads and can be confusing and/or busy.
Other Thoughts: This is I believe the 2nd fixed hold DG course ever ever. Like Oak Grove, I feel the potential this place has can really make it a prime location.
While I have no real complaints, I can't say that it was awesome or anything I would go out of my way to play again. If I'm in the area, well for sure I would stop by.
$2 to play, and I am all for paying 2 bucks.
Park is basically DG exclusive however was really busy nonetheless. Maybe its because it was a weekend. Glad to know its here and would love to see a little more variety on the park shots.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 HB

2-4    11/30/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Newly installed tee pads are sweet
-Multiple tees and pins on every hole
-Some interesting shots that you don't see in a lot of places
-Pro shop
-4 practice baskets
-Requires you to throw a wide variety of shots, which is good. There are mid-rangers, average drivers and bombers. Lefties, righties, ups and...well one down. Good course to build an all around game which explains why they a lot of good players that come from there.
-Has some death putts, and in the wind they definately make you think.
Cons: -Usually lots of ppl
-Poor layout, but I think it's the best they could do with the area. They choose the shots over the flow, but with the limited space they have I think it's probably better that way.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, I just don't like how many ppl play it. Both times I've gone there I've finished 18, thought, "I want to play again" and then looked over the course and seen a lot of ppl and haven't wanted to wait on the tees just to play it again. I also feel like this course gets hated on more than it deserves. Yes the layout kind of sucks, yes there's usually a lot of ppl, but it is a good course to work on your game and offers something different from ELDO and LaMa. If it wasn't so busy I'd play it a lot more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    11/23/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: Smelvis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Easy Access, easy to find, good parking.
* Great Pro Shop, most courses have none. They even had little pencils for marking the scorecard.
* White board showing Ace records, apparently Hole 1 has the best chance for an ace. I came close.
* Long and short tees with multiple hole locations to keep course from getting boring.
* Excellent course map.
* Decent tee maps on each hole.
* Most holes had good obstacles. Some holes had elevation changes.
* Regular tourneys posted.
* Environment clean, nice location, easy parking, porta pottie next to pro shop had hand sanitizer (nice).
* Actually saw two pretty ladies playing (quite an oddity).
* Good variation for me, I threw both back hand and fore hand. The course is mostly right back hand.
Cons:
* Hole 1 short tee not marked. No rubber tee pad.
* At least 3 holes had missing rubber tee pads.
* Rubber tee pads slippery when shoes muddy. I like concrete.
* Sometimes hard to figure out which tee went to what hole.
* No holes go near the lake. That would be nice if a hole could be near the lake to swollow up some discs.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time on the course. I played on a Monday morning. I had a great time. I wish this were my home course. There were some bummy lookin dudes, who seemed well behaved. I would play again if I am near.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 4! practice baskets
- small pro shop where you can get maps/scorecards, buy discs, snacks & drinks, and pay the $2 course fee
- dual tees
- good terrain
- many challenging OB paths & fences
- convenient to play just the front or just the back because 9 & 18 both finish by the practice baskets
- trash cans conveniently placed around the park/course
Cons: - course fee
- the fly18 pads are in a state of disrepair
- old signs are sometimes hard to read
- can be overcrowded, but not nearly as bad as some of the other area courses
- a little hard to follow if you don't have the map
- no bathrooms
Other Thoughts: make sure you stop at the pro shop and pick up a map/scorecard. the course isn't that difficult to follow, but the map helps because some tees and baskets can be a little bit close together (ie: B6 & B8, T6 & T9)

Huntington is a fun course and worth a day trip to play in conjunction with ElDo. Because of the course fee, I recommend playing it twice so that you get your moneys worth. It's a fun, middle-of-the-road difficulty course that would make a simple addition to a road trip.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Huntington Beach: Course for the big dogs

5+    9/12/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2010
21 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Friendly locals with great taste in music and beverages

*Hilly terrain, offering a third dimension that many of the other local courses lack.

*Mix of open and technical shots...something for everyone

*Mostly mid to long range drives, very RHBH friendly

*Well-shaded with glorious ocean trade winds
Cons: *Half the course smells like horse poo on bad days

*Mosquitos

*Rubber t-pads get neglected in the sandy terrain...make sure to borrow a broom from the helpful disc golf shack!

*Since the addition of longer t-pads, the back 9 gets a significant amount of cross shots. This can get to be a real prob when all the weekender yahoos over there

*Course is generally a bit muddy/wet in the mornings, especially in the winter months

*Pay to play. Yes, I'm cheap. Wanna fight about it? :P
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I love it dearly. Since they added the pro tees, it has become one of the more challenging socal courses. A must-play for any golfer touring the area...just shoot for mid-day.

**UPDATE**
Huntington is getting insanely crowded. -.5 discs.

21 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

2-4    1/7/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a park with lots of small hills, and lots of large mature trees. The fairways that were grassy were well-mowed when I played, and the park seemed well-kept in general. There is a nice lake in the park, though it didn't come in to play on any holes.

The course has a number of challenging holes, and uses a great mixture of trees and elevation changes to keep these challenges interesting. Many holes punished poor tee shots, but still did not make it difficult to find these shots. There was not too much underbrush for most of the course, so beginners won't have to worry too much about losing discs.

The signs were mostly accurate, and when combined with the course map, there were no major navigation issues. The tees were a mixture of old concrete pads that were still in fine shape, and nice rubber pads that seemed fairly new. All the pads were level and provided good footing, and all had room behind for more of a run up.

There is a small pro shop where you pay for your round, and can buy discs or snacks. The people I've met at the shop have all been friendly and helpful, and the same goes for all the locals I've run into on the course.
Cons: Near the end of the course, there are a few holes that play right on top of one another, and this can make for some safety issues on a busy day. There are also a number of walking paths throughout the course, and though the other park users seemed very aware of disc golfers, it still meant a lot of waiting for people to move.

There are a number of places on the course where the grass has died, and it is very sandy. This means you have to watch the different surfaces throughout the course, as you will have very different skips on different holes.

I didn't mind the fee to play, as it was minimal, but if you have an issue with paying a couple bucks for a round, this course isn't for you. I would like to see the fees used for fixing up the course, and perhaps designing a layout with a little more variety. As others have said, there is a definite majority of holes that favor RHBH hyzer shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, with a lot of friendly players, and a ton of history. Definitely worth the trip if you are anywhere in the LA area, and worth the small fee. I've really enjoyed all the rounds I've played here, and the pros certainly outweigh the cons for me.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging!

2-4    5/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you've got a big arm, this course will make you wish you could hit windows. If you can hit windows, it'll make you wish you had more D. If it's not elevation changes that mess with your head, it's the wind. Or the OB lines. Or the dang trees!

All in all, this is an excellent course, imo much underrated when it comes to people recommending So Cal courses to visitors. This park of the park itself is well-known as a disc golf course so others who come around (dog-walkers, etc.) know to watch out for flying plastic. Throw in the pro shop and gobs of friendly locals and HB turns into an enjoyable experience all around, even if it does eat your lunch like it did mine.
Cons: Crowded on weekends, some fairways tightly adjacent to others (lots of people yelling "fore!" with good reason).
Other Thoughts: Some of the greens are nothing but hardpan, like DeLa Veaga's, and wickedly fast. Others are groomed grass all the way to the pin - all this means is that you've got to treat each hole individually: there's nothing "ordinary" or "usual" about this course.

Knocked off half a disc for some redundancy on the back 9.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.