Huntington Beach, CA 
Huntington Beach Central Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj   (Taken 9/2004)
Course Sign



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Surprised

2-4    5/13/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a good challenge of a course that really rewarded good throws and punished bad ones. Each hole had its own unique challenge. Most of the tee pads were a very nice rubber that were by far the best rubber tee pads that I have seen so far. They used the land that they were on very well for some good elevation change and good used of bushes and trees to create the challenge. There was also a good deal of length with a good number of 400+ ft holes. There is a pro shop that sells snaks and discs and is also where you pay for your daily pass. I also thought that they had a really nice practice putting area with one basket that had a few marked out distances as part of a practice system. There was not much foot traffic and I did not run into many other players though I was playing at 8am on a weekday. I was impressed with the foot traffic that I did run into as they seemed to know what was going on and yeilded to play on all occasions. The holes that have new signs have amazing signs. There seems to be a good local vibe here and a lot of locals that love their course.
Cons: You have to pay to play this course which is actually a big negative to me. The up side is that your pass turns into a raffle ticket for a disc. The local bathroom was a portable potty. The layout is not the most logical and was really confusing for playing the first round here on my own. On several holes I had to walk the hole before playing it. The holes that did not have a new sign had really bad make shift signs. My discs ended up being just covered in a thin layer of dirt at the end of the day, which means I will have to wash them or throw them on wet grass somewhere else. There are just a few holes that feel right on top of each other.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasently surprised at how much I enjoyed playing this course. There really is a lot of challenge. I was not overly impressed with the maintenance on the course considering that I paid to play. I played my third and final round there today with a guy named John who has been playing there for 30 years, so he said. He mentioned the old layout and how it used the lake and had holes that were less on top of eachother. I really enjoyed the layout just how it was though. I would guess that crowds can get bad here and I began to see signs of it by the time that I left. I would say that this course is well worth playing and I plan to come back if the opportunity presents itself.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Convienent and cool

2-4    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: *Good direction and variation
*Able to get sum nice satisfying birdies
*Long Drive fairways
Cons: *Sandy haha
*a little bit open but otherwise good
Other Thoughts: I liked it, nothing too special, but good use of the land and nice shots uphill and along the lake to relax your brain. You may even spot a lucky white horse while teein off. I also saw a guy with his kid in a stroller while playin and that made me very happy for my future haha

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  My HomeTown Course.....

5+    3/19/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am partial to this course, due to the fact I am 3rd Generation H.B. native, have played it since I was 14 (23 years)....., learned/ loved the game on the course (thanks to Wayne Shurts son, Cliff for the introduction to the game and to Mr. Shurts for the affordable discs)...

Decent pro shop. Has refreshment and the rest of the gear

Some nice concrete teepads, others are rubber. Teesign a pretty cool and accurate. Porta potty I have never used. Real bathrooms to the right of tee #3/ hole #2.

*****Long and short tee positions. Each layout has its own uniqueness. The short is really tight on many holes, with different routes, and takes a lot of technique. The long is more wide open or with one obvious route. More of a grip and rip, but fun nontheless. I updated my review and my rating (+1 disc) due to the fact that the short tees added an extra challenge and a technical factor to the course, but also allows new players to be introduced to the games (although some of the shots are tough)*****


IF YOU HAVE NEVER PLAYED THIS COURSE, MAKE SURE YOU DO AT LEAST ONCE!!! The historical factor of being the 2nd Target Course is enough....
Cons: On the long course, 1 Right Hyzer....errrrr, left Anhyzer, after another (I'm a Lefty). A complete waste of a lot of great park, the layout needs a lot of help. If you get bored, roll 14 of the holes, the course is perfect for rolling. I have played the layout every way it has ever been, and the current one is completely unimaginetive. The old summer course was even better

To pay for a course that is ill maintained, makes it even worse. Mud holes in front of the tee pads so you can't follow through correctly, crappy pot-a-potty....The old concrete pads are still there and not even used!!

Also, it gets pretty crowded there with golfers. So, that can be unnerving waiting around to tee up or shoot. Too many people playing just 2 persons per group. If people made 4somes, it would probably help the situation
Other Thoughts: I will give a compliment to the quality of people you meet there. Their weekly and monthly competitions are the best in SoCal. The handicap system they use elliminates "sandbaggers" and make the whole competion relaxing and fun.

The "High Flyers" Club rocks and has been around practically since I started playing. These guys represent the sport well!!! Again, another BIG THANK YOU to Mr. Shurts for helping the club get started for this course

Before the equestrian competitions changed the course (15+ yrs ago), the lay out was much better. The lake was in use, accuracy was more of a premium (although the short tees provide it). That, I believe, is where the deterioration of this course started.

Favorite Holes:

(current course): #4, Short but accuracy is a premium. Uphill through trees with 2 decently tight windows.

(original course): #17, I think it was about 270' tee off over the open meadow with trees on the right, the hole was pretty well guarded . The tee was just left of (existing)10 fairway and next to the putting area. The hole was next to (existing) 17 tee pad in the lil nook that is surrounded by asphalt paths. Took a decent throw with control. Seen a few awesome skip aces back in the day off the path in front of the hole and a roller ace has been accomplished as well

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/17/2010   2/2/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunities for big drives without fear of hitting trees off the tee. Reasonable length holes (250'-400') with short grass and/or dirt (Holes 1-3).

Has elevation changes on some holes (4, 5, 6). Hole 6 is a highlight, with a steep short cliff to the left of and past the basket, punishing errant RHBH throws, with a nice view from the basket.

Hole 15 is notable, with an open drive across a field to a protected basket underneath a tree.

Decent signs and good baskets. A small Pro Shop with snacks and drinks.

Some holes have multiple rubber tee pads.

Near a terrific beach, perfect after a hot day (lots of sun, not much shade here).
Cons: Fairly hard to follow without a map, and quite busy.

Criss-crossing and confusing paths that make you have to wait for groups on neighboring holes.

Rubber tee pads seem out of place for a pay-to-play course, but are still a lot better than dirt or grass tees.

Could use a few more benches.

Hole 11 area can be quite muddy after rain.
Other Thoughts: Though not the highest rated course, this is the course in the area I play most often, and remains entertaining and challenging after repeated rounds.

Not sure how possible this is, but it would be great to plant a few trees here and there. This would create some natural fairways that would eliminate crossing paths and make the course more scenic, as well as creating some much-needed shady rest areas.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzerton Beach

2-4    3/1/2005   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Historic, with some excellent pin placements that require precise drives or upshots. Decent mix of open and medium tight fairways. Not far from the beach, and the afternoon wind can come into play.
Cons: Too many righty Hyzers! Muscle memory a must if you want to deuce many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I need to check it out again, but with El Dorado and La Mirada the same 90 mile drive from my house I never find a reason to go here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is history

5+    7/11/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: davearcher76
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Everyone should play this course to see what a historic course is like. Good terrain variation. Good length.
Cons: Could be better maintained. Not enough technical.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

6/25/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Decent variety of terrain and a bit of different use of shots. Some danger, but still good chances at making the birds.
Cons: Lots of traffic, and very worn in. Many pads are directly next to each other, and there is a bit of crisscrossing.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love the front nine, tolerate the back nine

5/15/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - front nine shoot up and down a hill through trees and are really fun
- not a fan of the back nine (see "Cons"), but hole #12 shoots into a thicket of trees and #13 is blind down a little rise
- tees are well marked, course layout is easy to follow
- light to moderate wind most afternoons
- active, friendly local DG community
- pro shop
Cons: - back nine shoots back and forth across a flat field, with trees mostly dividing the fairways instead of presenting obstacles
- hole 11 runs alongside a bridle path with stables behind it, the aroma here is ripe especially on a hot summer day
- crossing holes toward the end of the course
Other Thoughts: - This is one of the oldest disc golf courses in Southern Calfiornia, I knew people who played here in the late 1970's. The front nine are terrific -- favorite holes #1 (off the edge of a hill, blind) and #3 (up a hill to the right under a tree tunnel, blind)
- the back nine shoot back and forth across a big field, dusty and hot in the summer and not very interesting to play. Some folks play the front nine twice and skip the back nine, though holes 12 and 13 are fun
- great location in a beautiful park, plus it's only about a mile up GoldenWest Street from Huntington Beach: go to the beach after your game!
- $1/person to play during the week, $2 on weekends

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

4/9/2008   4/10/2008
Review By: Takeichi
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: course has a wide variety of shots, a few holes are based on a cliff and it could mean a few extra strokes. they're always a wind, and plenty of locals to show you around the course. the pro shop is a simple easy access pro shop.
Cons: too many smokers for my liking. in the back a few holes have crossing fairways. short and righty dominant. need to be pretty balanced in order to handle the cliff sides. slow play on crowded days.
Other Thoughts: Great variety of shots, but again a little too many smokers out there for my liking. i guess it's better than drunk players.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Well maintained
-Decent course design
-Pro Shop
-Friendly Pro Shop staff
-Decent use of given elevation
-Good risk/reward factor for many holes
-OB makes the course more challenging (fun)
-SoCal weather
-Plenty of events to participate in
-Big shots mixed with shorter tech shots
Cons: -Very righty biased
-Can get crowded
-Nasty stinky port-o-pottys
-Overall mediocrity of course design
Other Thoughts: HB can be a fun place to play. It can get pretty crowded, but the flow isn't too bad.

My one issue with HB is that the course is probably the most righty biased course I've ever played. Almost all of the holes are righty hyzers, and many of those are simple righty hyzers with the lefty anhyzer being fairly technical. It's pretty ridiculous. If a lefty and a righty of equal skill were to play the course together, the righty would easily win by 6-8 strokes on average.

It probably sounds like I'm complaining, and that's fine, but I've never felt as left out during a tournament regarding a course as the tourney rounds I've played at HB, except maybe at Mt Solitude, but Mt Solitude is more fair than HB.

All in all, I enjoy playing HB, it's a fun course when it's not too crowded, and anyone visiting the LA area should make the drive and play the course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.