Elkton, FL 
Moccasin Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: NashuaSolstice Hole #1 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Quick break from St Augustine

1    7/2/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: willsmithfinland
Played: 24  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Convenient location and signage for holes. The course is also well marked, e.g. yellow poles and approach signs. The scenery and design make the course good for those who like or sometimes want to jog and throw through a course.
Cons: Holes are too close to one another, and there is not a parking lot or pavilion next to information board. Bugs and players with allergies will be concerns.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is decent and worth a drive if you are visiting the area or need a break from shopping at the St Augustine Outlets. The first 12 holes start at the end of the road, and be prepared for bugs. For example, the course has a lot of ant hills, so think twice about carrying a bag. I would also recommend bug spray even in the hottest conditions. If you have allergies, specifically grass, then bring a pair of knee-high or soccer socks. About half of the holes are too close to one another, so the course is good for exercise and a decent round. For example, the first 12 holes could be cut back to 9 with hole #10 being the end of the first leg. The course definitely has the opportunity to improve.

More is Less

1    12/21/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, although a bit small. Solid DISCatcher baskets, but covered in mildew. Well manicured. Most holes have clear flight lines. Decent balance of left & rights and informative tee signs. Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Nearly EVERY tee, pin or fairway shares a proximity issue with another tee, pin or fairway. Which makes one wonder why the designer felt it necessary to cram that many holes into the area. At least 2 tee pads are WITHIN the putting circle of the previous pin… which makes navigation fairly easy. Several other tees are only a few feet outside of the circle.

A fantastic opportunity for a multi-choice fairway was overlooked on #24, because fairway #23 was jammed up against it. The 800+ foot fairway #25 has to curve around a cluster of portable buildings.

This course just eeks by as passable for casual play, but for tournament play, I would fully expect casual-ties.
Other Thoughts: This is a 25-hole course with the front 12 holes in a grassy grove of trees, mostly oaks, west of the fairgrounds, and 13 more holes on the south and east areas of the fairgrounds. Roughly 2/3 of the actual fairways fall within the realm of reason…Although many more exciting possibilities become evident with a simple turn of the neck or by sidestepping a few feet.
Clearly, More is LESS when it comes to cramming too many holes into limited spaces.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Stop

2-4    8/1/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 178  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played this course twice, both times while driving from Savannah to Orlando. For that purpose, it's absolutely perfect. Open spaces with no brush mean you don't spend any time looking for a disc. Easy navigation and relatively short holes mean the first 18 play quickly, and you can get back on the road. If you have more time on your hands, there are an extra seven holes, including the the final, 870-foot hole. Personally, I like playing twenty-one. That's eighteen, plus the three that head back towards the parking area. So depending on your time, you have options.

I've also seen two different looks on this course. In winter, it's very easy. The fairways are mostly open looks at the basket. There are trees on the course(at least in the first 12 holes), but a well placed shot can put you in birdie range most of the time. In the heat of summer, those trees sprout foliage that narrow a lot of those fairways considerably. On the shorter holes in particular, the gaps that you will need to fit your disc through can be quite challenging then.

In either case, its a great learning course. The trees will teach new players a ton about where they want their throw to turn, in either direction. It's a clean course on mowed grass where the obstacles to your score aren't just thick brush that couldn't be removed. The trees are not only nice-looking, but impact the course in an extremely positive way.
Cons: After twelve though, you cross the parking area and enter the fairgrounds proper. The holes are a lot less challenging, and a less interesting after that point.

Even in the first twelve, its a little cramped, with holes traversing the same meadow in different ways. It uses the available space well, but there are definitely multiple points in which tees and fairways are in the path of other throwers.

Other Thoughts: The next tee is often just a few steps from the previous basket, which is nice if you want to lay quickly,(except for five, which is near the fourth tee, and twelve? which I might not have found if I didn't remember walking by it on the ninth fairway.

There aren't any signature holes, and its completely flat, but there are few bad holes and I'll probably stop here the majority of the times that I'm making a similar drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Day Out

1    5/29/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: brspiritus
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out with the first half of the holes on one side of the road and the last ones on the fairgrounds side. Nice wide open spaces with sporadic trees really lets you develop your distance game.
Cons: Long, long, long course. Bring your walking shoes.
Other Thoughts: We made a day of it and brought lunch. Took a break after finishing the first set of holes. My wife gave up after 18 holes but my friend and I finished the course. Couldn't really get big D on the last hole because of a stiff headwind but it made for a challenging finish and I only bogeyed the hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course

1    1/26/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: KnightsDG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course was awesome, I went with my little brother who had never played Disc Golf before and this was the perfect course because I found it very forgiving. I am also a fairly new player so I cant comment to much on the technical side of shots but I found there to be many fun holes. Right off the bat hole #1 is surrounded by a bunker and elevated which was a great way to start things off. Overall this is a fun course
Cons: Not much to look at as the course is on a big open lot with sporadic trees so there inst that usual sense of adventure that most courses have but other than that I liked this course.
Other Thoughts: I will defiantly be coming back as there were hardly any other players on a beautiful Saturday, if I was local I would play here weekly just for the pure fun factor.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Better place for beginner

5+    9/1/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: MaxUFC
Played: 74  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great for long distance practicing
- 25 baskets
- plenty parking on either sides



Cons: - bugs & fireants
- out of bound over a fence where thick palm bushes and plenty orb spiders there
- distance from stores
Other Thoughts: - Good place for beginner to learn a disc golf

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 FunTime

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: chuckrcp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open for new players.
Long holes to practice drives.
Harvey did a great job for what the county would let him do.
There is an around the world putting at 25 basket. Lots of fun and good practice.
Cons: Lots of bugs.
Other Thoughts: Why do people have to complain about no bathrooms when there are some on fairgrounds side. As well as water. The tee pads were not designed by Harvey it's what the county calculated for one load of concrete. As far as more basket placements, if you want them then put up some money like Harvey did out of his own pocket for all the baskets.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    4/10/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: Oldskool45
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was fortunate to show up to play while the course designer Harvey was playing and he invited me to join. It was nice to hear about the history of the course while I played.
This is a 25 hole flatland course with concrete pads that are a bit small. All Discatcher baskets. Every hole has bag holders, benches and markers and there are garbage cans throughout.
The layout of the park has the front 12 on the north side of the road. These are longer and more challenging holes. Good use of what natural obstacles that are available in a lightly wooded park.
The back side is more forgiving with many wide open fairways. Great for beginners to tune their drives. Most holes are good for rollers as that is Harvey's preferred style. Hole 23 is 6' from a perimeter fence. It's fun because you want to be aggressive with your approach but a slight mistake can see you out by the highway.
Hole 25 is nicknamed "Air It Out". A blind tee shot at 870' with a late dog leg right. It is the builder's response to early complaints about no monster drive holes. Wish granted: this hole is fun for the sheer grip it and rip it factor. Third shot will require slightly more finesse but still needs power to get the bird.
Cons: The pads are well built but too small for a big run-up. There is no source of water on site so bring bottles with you. There is not much shade so you'll need the extra water on hot days.
Other Thoughts: This course is due to a major effort on the part of its founder Harvey Barnes. He wanted a local course in St. Johns county and started making it happen a few years ago. He has fronted nearly all of the money for construction including 25 discatcher baskets. If you want to sponser a hole and help keep this course nice, find Harvey and help him out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I drew blood at Moccasin Creek

1    2/11/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tees with the Hole # stenciled on the paver inlay in the corner of the concrete tees. This is both attractive and functional.

2) Nice signs have all the information needed . . .Hole #, Distance, Par, a map of the hole, and sponsors. The holes were also named which is something I have seen a lot lately and I think that is a really good idea and something that can set this sport apart from golf. Instead of remembering #17 at Sawgrass they will remember something like "The Bear Den" or "Rattlesnake Rock" or something to that effect. Sure not all courses need to have their holes named, but I think it could become something that is important in the course design.

3) Benches, bag holders, and garbage cans are at every tee.

4) #1 green is a sandbag bunker (but elevated above the ground rather than below ground. This is something I have never seen before and is a unique thing you will remember on this course.

5) Nice directionals to get you around the course . . . always helpful for a travelling disc golfer such as myself.

6) Nice newer discatchers in great shape.

7) The turf seems to be decent condition throughout the park. Sure it is still the sandy soil that you see in much of Florida but the grounds seem to be well kept.

8) Excellent use of distance variation on this course with holes ranging from 100's up to 400's and one 800' to end the round. Lots of different discs needed out here.

9) There are plenty of birdie opportunities and there are plenty of holes that will challenge you to make par. There seemed to be just the appropriate amount of fun to challenge ratio.

10) Distance was used more so on the bask 13 holes, but there also seemed to be more birdie opportunities here so it never got repetitive or boring.

11) Another cool feature is the use of one of the USDGC (or other major tournament) baskets on their 25th hole.
Cons: 1) I would assume this course is not playable during activities on the fairgrounds despite the course being removed from all the other activities. I do not know this for sure but something to definitely consider checking .

2) Front 12 holes are on a really tight property . . .there might be a few places where fairways get near each other and tees that could be hit by errant shots.

3) Flat Flat Flat . . . the only elevation change was the septic hill on #13 and the sandbag elevated bunker. Typical of Florida.

4) I birdied 4 holes in a row on the back 13 holes and it seemed like a little bit more of a mixup could have been better. Those were all the shorter more open holes on the back 13, but I suppose they had to layout the course the way they did to take advantage of the land and the few key trees back there.

5) A few of the tees do not seem to be aligned perfectly at the baskets . . . not sure if maybe there are alternate basket locatons, which would make sense but they did not seem to line up to where I was playing on a few holes.

6) Teepads are on the small end of the spectrum for a longer course which you might want to use a full runup.
Other Thoughts: I had a really good time playing this course. It is not the most challenging, it isn't the prettiest, but it has a pretty nice variety of shot required. You can throw a lot of different shots including rollers, anhyzers, hyzers, spike shots. You need to keep some shots low under the ceiling and others you can take as high as you want. The only thing lacking on this course was a true tight hole . . . a couple of the shorter holes on the front 12 had tighter windows and then again on #24 but overall I would always like to see some slightly tighter holes too. I suppose this property did not allow for it . . . but I do like balance.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 St. John's Fairground

2-4    12/28/2011   1/16/2012
Review By: debuck03
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great open 25 hole course. The course is split into two sections. 1-12 then walk across the road to 13-25. Hole #25 also has different spots to practice putting. The course has many benchs and bag rests throughout the course.
Cons: No bathrooms or water fountains.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.