Elkton, FL 
Moccasin Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: NashuaSolstice Hole #1 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  New course, old views

2-4    12/10/2011   12/11/2011
Review By: cmgustine
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After reading some reviews about this course and playing it recently It has gone through some upgrades. The designer has put a lot of effort in to this course and it shows. Every tee is concrete, although a small teebox all of them are level and can be easily run up to from being with the level ground surrounding them. Tee signs and bag holders are present at every hole now and benches are at just about all of them as well.
Cons: The course is jammed in to the space that was available. To many holes to close together. First time through I threw my disc at the wrong basket 2 or 3 times, then I decided to identify the correct basket from then on out. Multiple overlapping fairways can cause confusion and be dangerous if there are other people on the course. With the land that was available I think a really good 18 holes could be created vice 25.
Other Thoughts: I shot +2 and -4 on two rounds. Knowing the course helps a lot. It is a well kept course with lots of low hanging branches around. Maybe a few more trees need cutting here or there. Don't think I would make the trip back down there (45 miles) just for the course but would play again if I was in the area for more reasons than to just play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Place in the Sun

1    7/29/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Moccasin Creek DGC offers 25 holes in a quite area surrounding the county fairgrounds. All holes are equipped with concrete tee boxes and nice new Discatcher targets. Tee signs are present and decent quality. There are bag holders at many holes, and many benches and trash cans spread around. The first twelve holes are on recently filled and leveled land, and the grass has come in nicely. The layout is not too hard to follow. There is some wind to deal with and add challenge to a few holes. There are also holes adjacent to fences with OB on the other side. No water to be found on the course.
Cons: Some holes are in close proximity to others, creating some confusion about which basket to aim at, and could cause waiting if the other nearby holes are being played. The flat and open layout means there will be some holes with mostly open lines all the way to the basket. Over the course of 25 holes, they can become somewhat redundant. The tee boxes are good quality, but too small in my opinion. There were a lot of gnats bugging out the course.
Other Thoughts: Moccasin Creek DGC is a course that offers a relaxed round on a nice course that is easy to traverse. It is not a high degree of difficulty, but I am sure it is a welcome addition for all of the area disc golfers. Very few memorable holes, but not a bad course if you happen to be in the St. Augustine area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!!

1    7/16/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: aajpity
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Beginner Friendly
*Many open shots
*Signs telling you exactly where to go (Holes 1-12
*Not at all crowded
*Nice people (when there)
*Some nice shaded holes
*Decent amount of benches
Cons: *Spiders (in woods)
*Signs got worse on holes 13-25
*Many bugs out (you will get bitten)
Other Thoughts: It is a perfect course for beginners and avid players alike. The course is huge and took me and my grandfather an hour and 45 minutes to complete so bring lots of water, bug spray, and sun tan lotion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  What a relief to have a course in St Augustine

5+    5/13/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: NashuaSolstice
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has brand new Discatchers, benches, clearly marked signs, and utilizes the lack of obstructions and lack of elevation changes nicely. The front 12 has a bit of a different feel than the more groomed back 13. There is a nice mix of a handful of long holes and a handful of ace-run holes. Hole 25 can be used as a practice basket and is marked 0 (zero). It has a red/white/blue band and is from the 2005 USDGC. Hole 8 is the only Par 4 on the course at over 500 feet, and there are two ways to approach the pin. Located in the St Johns County Fairgrounds, this course is conveniently located about five miles west from Interstate 95 about halfway between Daytona and Jacksonville. Right now the course is new so there are not many people and not ever a wait.
Cons: From May to October, there are dog-pecker gnats abound, so bring bugspray if youre into that type of thing. There are not yet multiple pin-placements and pad positions but the first set of pads were only poured a couple months ago and more options will become available over time. Holes 13 and 25 cannot be played when there are special events due to RV parking. There are a few tee pads that are close to the preceding baskets but this is generally ok for two reasons: 1) There are not many people out on the course because it is still pretty new and
2) In the case of tournaments (we just had the first one about a month ago), as long as the foursomes are scattered every other hole--which allows for 50-75 people to comfortably play--everything works out fine.
Other Thoughts: As is the case with many courses on county land, it is hard to get everything perfect. It is still a work in progress, but everything is really starting to shape up. The money for the baskets came out of pocket so hole sponsorship is a great way to promote your business and give back a little to the local community.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, if you like wide-open ace runs

1    5/11/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has brand-new Innova Discatchers and cement tee pads. Many tees have bagholders and benches. There are plenty of trashcans on the course.

There is almost no schule and virtually no chance of losing a disc.

The layout provides a good opportunity for intermediate-level players to work on their distance and roller shots.
Cons: It is true that, as other reviewers have mentioned, the piece of land is not great for a disc golf course. It is huge, flat, and doesn't have a lot of trees to design around. Having said that, the design has many significant flaws.

Many of the tees are too close to the preceding basket. There are many opportunities to throw a decent shot and end up on the next tee or another hole's tee. There are many opportunities for shots to end up in the adjacent hole's fairway. There is PLENTY of room on this property for an 18 hole disc golf course with adequate safety buffer between holes.

The cement tee pads are small (4X8). If there were only 18 holes instead of 25, the pads could have been 5X10 for just about the same amount of money.

This is a huge piece of property, but there's only one true multi-shot hole, #25 and that's 870 ft. wide-open across the field to a basket that can't be seen from the tee.

Many of the holes are non-descript with a tee pointing into an open field with multiple baskets visible. Many of the holes don't have tee signs yet and it's quite possible to throw at the wrong basket.

If there's ever a full course here for a tournament or otherwise, it will be extremely dangerous and annoying with all the overlapping holes.
Other Thoughts: For travelers: skip this course and play Fore Palms in Jacksonville and/or Tuscawilla in Daytona Beach instead.

Bring your bugspray.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Other Reviews Correct

1    4/7/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Disc_Coastie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked, clean, manicured ...easy to follow. Nice layout and great use of the land! Not busy when I played.
Cons: No water available on course...or I couldn't find it. County workers had vehicles parked in the shade on the first hole of the "North" side. Several baskets hidden with no direction signs, so I had to "dead head" to find the basket, then walk back to throw.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation in Florida and this was well worth fitting into my schedule and I recommend this course highly. I will play it again!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work In Progress

1    2/20/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: sasquach
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We met the course designer and after the list of obstructions he had to overcome I must commend him. There were bag holders at each hole and the course was well marked with signs. Benches are being installed and many holes have them. The course has it's own space and doesn't have to share with pick-nickers, bikers, ect unless there is an event on at the fairgrounds.
Cons: The course is new and lacks signature holes because of a lack of obstructions. Hole 24 ends way out from the parking area and it is a long hike back.
Other Thoughts: Good for your ego. I shot 77, 78, and 78 when my best score on 24 holes had been a 78 at home in Ocala. I think this course will get better with each passing year if the county allows it and I will play it again when Uncle Jack and I go road trippin.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course...

5+    12/8/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: sidearmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 12/8/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, it's sort of off the beaten path, but I applaud St. Johns County for their efforts to offer a course to local players, and the NE Florida community. It has the potential to be a special course; I like that efforts are already under way on the front 12 holes. I would encourage the locals to continue building obstacles, and the parks department to continue planting native trees. The back 12 is great, with the addition of a true Hole 23. Like how Hole 25 brings you back toward the vehicle parking area. Overall, I love this course...good work. Good benches and bag holders!
Cons: None for me...it is not world class, but it offers a tough round. I would hope that at least two pin positions happen in the future. Also, the teepads should have been 2-3 ft longer. Lastly, safe watering spots should be offered.
Other Thoughts: Many thanks to those who worked hard to make this course happen.

Too awesome: Went out today, in 15-20 mph wind, and shot a -10, bogie free round...5/5 front and back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Moccasin Creek DGC

1    12/21/2010   12/22/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a newer 24 hole course set on the roomy St. Johns County Fairgrounds. Ample parking is available and unless you find yourself on the course when an event is happening on the fairgrounds you'll virtually have the place to yourself. The course itself gives you the feeling you're actually playing two different courses, the front 12 and the back 12. They almost have two different personalities and it adds a little variety to the overall experience. There are virtually brand new Discatcher baskets on all 24 holes. Between the divide of the front back 12 you'll find a pretty cool custom color practice basket. There's plenty of room quick warm up. All of the baskets are still in great/new condition.

Based on the land available there is a generous mix of lengths and shot types. Other than the later mentioned flow, the designers did a pretty good job with the land available. An elevated basket on hole one adds a bit of variety although it's too bad it wasn't saved for later. A couple of pronounced doglegs and few blind shots are mixed in as well. There are at least one or two holes that push towards a par four.

While the front twelve is still a work in progress, it appears that the back twelve, which actually feels like a mature course, is maintained well. Everything on that side was clean and in tip top shape.
Cons: Even though there's a fair mix of hole lengths, the course still feels very repetitive. Basic flat holes with lightly to moderately peppered mature pines, palms, and hardwood trees are fun but you can grow tired of them after a while. Beyond a few standout holes, there's just not a lot of variety.

The first twelve holes play across a newly soil filled flood plain and it has a "playing across a landfill" feel to it. There is no ground cover and the grade is not as smooth as you'd expect a course to be. Overall the course including the back 12 just has a very industrial feel to it. The highway, dirt roads, fences, and other distractions take away from an otherwise relaxing round.

The flow of the course is less than perfect. Ideally, the last hole and the first hole should be at least somewhere close. The last hole leaves you with either a long walk back to the car or creatively finding a way to make up a few safari holes that make the walk more enjoyable.

Finally, there are many amenities missing from the course. The tee pads, being natural, are not bad on the back twelve but the first twelve still need work. No tee signs, no benches, and other missing amenities will all be noticed as well.

The practice basket is far enough away from any parking and hole one that I doubt it will ever be used for its intended purpose. It probably gets used more a 25th or 26th hole as you make up a couple of holes to bring yourself back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the designer and course installer. I'm told he came out of pocket for the baskets. That's a pretty remarkable contribution to the disc golf community. I'm sure the course will continue to grow and improve as time goes on. I can't wait to see it in a few years after the first twelve are broken in and some disc golf love from the locals starts to show. After I proofread this review I wondered if I made this course sound worse than it actually is. It's really not too bad. I actually had a pretty fun time out there. I drove about 30 minutes from where we were staying and I didn't regret the drive at all. If you're in the area give it a shot for sure. Enjoy!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Use of Poor Land

2-4    5/7/2011   12/22/2010
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 88  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets were brand new Discatchers, and there are 24 of them plus one practice basket. The layout was decent, with some varying hole lengths and routes. It was nice having a couple longer holes that couldn't be parked with a midrange, and holes which required some different shot shapes.

All of the pads are concrete, and benches and bag holders abound. Some of the holes have good tee-signs, and as of writing this the rest are yet to be installed (as opposed to missing or vandalized).
Cons: A number of teepads are facing the wrong direction, which can cause some confusion if you aren't familiar with the layout. And some of them aren't flush with the ground, which can become an issue on some of the longer holes if you have a long run-up.

With the exception of 13 and the green on 1, the course was completely flat. The whole area of the course was strewn about with clumps of trees, resulting in a repetitive experience. After a point it feels like you're playing the same holes over and over again.

Also, the pin for hole 24 is also the point on the course farthest from hole 1 and the parking lot. This leaves about a 500 meter walk back to your car. Making a guerilla hole or two is recommended.
Other Thoughts: The underlying problem here is that the land has very little potential for disc golf. It is all flat and featureless. That said, this course squeezes out any interesting shots that are there, and I applaud whoever worked to get this course put in. With some design tweaks, and some form of teepads and signs, this course can be decent.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.