Stevens Point, WI 
McDill Pond DGC Share



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad.

5+    5/4/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: Nambrik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Ace and birdie runs
-New tees
-In town
-Free
Cons: -Sandy and dirty.
-Vandalized often.
-Pond isn't filled in, making it look bad. Pond will be filled in soon.
-Most of the signs are missing.
-Almost NO grass in the entire course. All of it is mostly sand.
-Lots of chuffs and potsmokers, watch out.
Other Thoughts: More of a stoner course than anything. Easy birdies on every hole and I have aced here on hole 8. Don't wear sandals, your shoes will be filled with sand and your feet will be dirty. The stoners act very weird and might steal your discs if you throw them into the woods or the huge ditch on the left of hole 1. Otherwise, it's good for a quick game and when the pond is filled in, watch out for water hazards.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

1    8/11/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice rubber pads which are a trademark of the point area
-Nice baskets with one exception
-A place for tee signs
-Good elevation changes on a few holes give the course variety and challenge. A few fast greens.
-Many ace and birdie runs
-Parking
-Wooded but not to the point that you might lose a disc or get too frustrated.
-This course is actually in the city unlike the other courses around. It is good for quick round.
-Good flow, even with the missing signs navigation was pretty easy.
Cons: -It appears as though vandals have affected this course even more than Yulga. There are posts which appear to have tee signs but no signage at all. Hole 5's basket was pretty battered. There was some trash on the course.
-It is sandy all over and that gets on your discs and in your shoes. It could also cause traction problems and erosion problems on the hills. There is literally no grass on this course.
-It is overall not too challenging, fairly short.
Other Thoughts: There isn't too much to say about this course. I think it is a good alternative to Yulga and Standing Rocks which take a bit of driving to get to if you live within the city. It is a fun pitch and putt. Hopefully the vandals will stay away and the club here can keep it maintained. It is a very quick round and I would recommend a stop. I would play here if I lived in Point. It is a beginners course for sure but you can learn a bit about hitting lines and elevation throws here. Another thanks to Randy for the design and hard work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 McDill "POND"erings

1    8/28/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with Hole # distance, map of the hole.

2) Nice elevation change used on this course on 4 or 5 of the holes.

3) Garbage cans (5 gallon pails) at the tees which seems to be a local trend.

4) Rubber tees are better than dirt or grass but not perfect.

5) Nice shot shaping needed on the wooded holes of 5-8.

6) Fun course because every hole is birdiable for an average disc golfer. These courses are always fun for me, because it is always fun to park holes.

7) Nice balance of foliage density with a couple wide open holes, a couple tight wooded holes and a couple with a few obstacles to work around. I love balance even though I prefer tunnel and tighter wooded holes.

8) Beginner friendly for the most part, but it will still present a challenge to the new disc golfer. The wooded holes might be a little tough for beginners because they wouldn't be used to throwing with such elevation change.

9) Nice shot shaping required and a nice variety in shots needed. You will need to throw a few different shots but overall the course is very hyzer friendly.
Cons: 1) Tee pads do have some issues with the gravel underneath mostly. Any sand or soil that gets on the rubber also becomes a hazard.

2) Compaction and erosion are evident and could lead to issues when the course is wet. There are a lot of bare spots on the course especially on the wooded holes.

3) Course is relatively short meaning there is not much chance to just rip some drives.

4) The turf on the flatter open holes is spotty at best, lots of weeds, some ruts from poor or no grading, and can lead to a lot of poor footing on your upshots or putts.

5) Vandalism seems to be prevalent here or maybe thats just how dirty the course feels.

6) Distance variety is a little lacking with 7 of the 9 holes playing within about 50' of each other and only two outliers at 190' and 330'. I know it is due to property constraints but I definitely like to see more variety to force people to throw different shots and use different discs.
Other Thoughts: McDIll Pond DGC is named after what body of water? I didn't see any water . . . at least not "on the course".

It was a fun course on a unique property for sure. Those holes with the elevation change in the woods were fun to throw for sure.

It lacks the beauty of a naturally good course but it presents a challenge on each hole that makes all the holes play differently. This would make me return again someday if I was nearby.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 McDill Pond

2-4    9/28/2010   5/17/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) there is some good foliage as obsticals.
2) for being 9 holes has good mix of open and wooded holes.
3) holes are well spaced.
4) some well protected pins.
5) has some good elevation changes.
Cons: 1) some fairways are fairly overgrown.
2) hole 9 plays on the gravel access road and can really tear up discs.
Other Thoughts: the only reason i played this corse is because it was literally a discs throw from my step-sisters house where i was visiting. and to be honest i was impressed by the course. from what it looked on hole 1 it didnt look good. but as i played i realized the potential the course could have, with some better matenince the course could be pretty darn good. i ended up playing the course 3 times that day. overall a fun little course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Patch St./McDill Resurrection

5+    5/14/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: VoodooDangerbird
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has re-opened and offers a good mix of what some of the other 18-hole courses in the area have to offer on a smaller, central location. A few holes have some up and down elevation that enriches the McDill course experience greatly.
Cons: The course is only nine-holes and doesn't take very long to play.
The short pin placement on hole #6 is an easy deuce, but the long placement is a hard par shot.
Other Thoughts: This course has undergone a 'renovation' and some of the holes are different then in the past. I really like the current layout of the course and it is the course that I frequent most often in the area since it re-opened in August of 2010.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nine Hole Ace/Birdie Run

5+    4/16/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is a chance for RHBH throwers to park their favorite putter or make an ace run. Good place to play a superfast round of golf. Scenic holes near the pond. Black tee mats have good footing. Two hills uphill and two downhill, with a few other more subtle elevation changes on the course.
Cons: You can throw virtually the same throw on every hole. After the first hole it only gets easier, almost too easy. Signs seem extra prone to vandals. Only 9 holes, one set of tees, and difficulty is very low.
Other Thoughts: It's nice having another course in the Stevens Point area. This one shut down in 2003 and has finally reopened. We should try to keep the course nice this time around.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Decent course in the center of the city

5+    9/24/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: Thebangtrain
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A 9-hole course that re-opened after being gone for a few years or so. The first hole is a dogleg left and you do not want to go left as there is a gully that you will have a very tough time getting out of. Besides that hole, the holes are fairly straightforward with a couple being behind a few trees.
Cons: More wooded than most courses, and the trails/fairways have not been groomed in some time. Holes are not very challenging besides the plethora of trees in the course.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners to go to if they do not live near Mead Park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 McDill Pond DGC

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: Dr Derek
Played: 139  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginning players, the distances are short but the course design keeps play interesting and fun.

The course has a good overall flow, and has some room for a few temp holes.

Also a great place for a one-disc round.

Cons: A couple holes are a little plain, really just connector holes for overall flow.

During the summer months the city of Stevens Point harvests weeds from McDill Pond, and heavy city equipment is permanently parked on the landing.
Other Thoughts: Stevens Point has waited 8 years for the reopening of this course, and the time has finally come thanks to much volunteer labor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.