Layout Extinct

Trussville, AL 
Greg Carter Memorial DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: aussieinva Hole #12 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 324ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course, good mix of holes

1    9/2/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1: It is right across the street from another course so you can hit up two courses in one morning
2: The course is challenging enough for seasoned players but is not too intimidating for beginners. The fairways are well defined on all holes and will reward good shots. Bad shots will be punished like any well designed course.
3: There is a good mixture of holes. Much of it was in the woods but there were also some that were in the open so it should suit everyone. Some holes were technical and require you to carefully place your shot to avoid the deep woods and others are in the open and allow your drivers to come out and play.
4: Great use of natural obstacles: The designer had a lot to play with when designing the course, boulders, creeks, changes of elevation etc and used it to their full advantage. Each hole was an adventure and I looked forward to seeing what was coming up next. Not a lot of courses can do that for me.
3: The course is well marked. The course has signs at each tee and has markers near the basket to show you where the next tee is. The course was very first time friendly as I had little trouble navigating the course.
4: Course is mostly shaded: Alabama can get hot during the warmer months so a course that keeps you out of the direct sunlight for the majority of the time is always a bonus.
5: Only a 20 minute drive from downtown Birmingham so its close enough to access from the Birmingham area and well worth the drive
6: Finding parking was easy as the parking lot was marked for disc golf.
7: Was not crowded, there were only a handful of cars in the parking lot even though it was a holiday weekend.
Cons: Not a lot of cons as I was very impressed with the course. The two things were very minor.
1: I had a little trouble finding the tees to Hole 4 and 9. It was probably due to me not reading the signs properly and only took a few minutes to find them
2: The basket for hole 10 was missing for some reason.
Other Thoughts: I had a few days to spare in the Birmingham area over Labor Day weekend and I decided to check this course in Trussville out. Its about 15 miles from downtown Birmingham but was well worth the drive. The course was a fantastic experience and I was glad I made the effort to come out to play this course. It definitely ranks as one of my favourites. If you are in the Birmingham area and have time for a round I would highly recommend you check this one out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, rustic course

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course isn't the most challenging, but it is very picturesque. The rocky terrain makes for a pretty, fun walk and provides some unique shots.

The holes are separate from each other and all have their own flavor. The course is fun for beginners and pros alike.

One of the many good places to play in the Birmingham area.
Cons: The course needs cement tees.

I almost hit a mountain biker that came cruising down a path that I hadn't noticed.
Other Thoughts: Hit me up if you're visiting B-ham and want a tour guide!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Carter is now bigger and BETTER

5+    1/29/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: Jebb
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -technical, wooded course
-NEW 19th hole added between 15/16
-NEW directional arrows for next tee on each hole as of Jan 2012.
-Tee signs at each hole
-Beautiful scenery along Cahaba River on front holes
-plenty of parking in multiple areas
-killer bulletin board (same as at Civitan)
Cons: -dirt tee pads
-no course map
-mountain biking/walking trails interspersed
Other Thoughts: Disc Golf Birmingham (local club) has been putting in a LOT of work on this course and it shows. A new 19th hole was added and is considered a tribute to the course's namesake Greg Carter, as his home course in Athens, AL is a 19-holer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great place

5+    12/12/2011   1/12/2012
Review By: frogtown_corey
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challanging shots and plenty of ego boosters. Fresh pads and signage. Lots of elevation changes. On a great piece of public land with bathrooms and trash cans.
Cons: Pretty easy to lose a disc here as most of the holes are in some deep woods. other than that i cannot say anything bad about this place.
Other Thoughts: If the civitan course is a little too challanging for you just hop across the street and play here. WIth the two courses here together, Trussville is a must for disc golfers in Alabama.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Out of towner

1    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Bigdonkey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very cool terain... I love the location...Wish I had more time to play this course a few times. It 's very challanging...
Cons: I didn't have any Idea where to go on a few holes.. Could be marked better at each hole... I m sure if you know where your going it would be more fun...
Other Thoughts: Mark the holes better... Remove some of the trees on some holes... A little to much luck for my taste... This course could be a 3.5 -or 4 if it was maintained as well as some of the other feilds they have...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 DGB finally has a 3rd Course

5+    1/17/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a much needed course for the Birmingham Disc Golf scene. Excellent variety of shots require nearly every type of shot necessary to make you a solid golfer. Set in a beautiful sports complex the natural terrain makes for some good changes of elevation and natural obstacles. Water comes into play on a couple of holes adding to difficulty on otherwise short "deuce" holes.
Other technical aspects of the course:
- good flow from hole to hole without much backtracking.
- public restrooms available by the softball and soccer complexes as well as water fountains
-biking/walking trails + tennis courts and other amenities for the rest of family if they don't enjoy golfing
Cons: Very short course in general. Even with new longer position and a couple of altered tee pads the course does not require a disc any faster than a midrange for the most part. There are also still some cluster trees dotting the occasional fairway or green that requires a little too much luck for my taste for good scoring.

As mentioned in earlier reviews the course is located in a public park with mountain bike and walking trails traversing various holes and roads with not infrequent traffic marking OB on a couple others.

I don't typically care about tee pads for shorter wooded courses but some do so I'll mention them. All natural for the time being but well marked and maintained
Other Thoughts: This course is not my favorite wooded course by any measure but provides exactly what we've needed in the DGB area, short wooded holes that demand accuracy from the tee and more than just a hyzer flip to be successful.

The other major plus of this course is that it is literally right next to another course, arguably the best in the area in John LeMaster (aka Civitan) allowing for a great day of disc golf with rounds at both courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Fun, But Not Too Easy

1    10/14/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I liked this course. It's pretty and fun. It is largely made up of short-to-medium shots with narrow fairways in the woods, but it also has some open shots entering, exiting, and skirting the edge of the woods. It has some quirky shots with well-placed baskets as well as a few longer shots. The course makes significant use of natural obstacles and elevation changes, and features a few risk/reward decisions.

Despite the near-absence of signs, it was very easy to navigate. (The maps at hole 1 helped.) Many fairways were tight and surrounded by trees, but the underbrush was minimal. So we were never in danger of losing discs. The course wraps around other park facilites which provide water, restrooms, and other amenities.
Cons: The tees are dirt, but mostly-flat and well marked. There might be a few too many short, wooded shots for some. A few wooded holes require throwing across walking paths. One hole abutts a chain-link fence topped with razor wire. (I like hazards, but that was a bit much.) The course requires some long walks across parking lots and roadways, and wraps around other park facilities. I had several opportunities to hit passing cars and/or people.
Other Thoughts: The course direction is mainly indicated by arrows spray-painted on the ground. When the paint wears off, navigation will be more difficult.

Wear rugged shoes. The trip hazards are ubiquitous and the hills are steep.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.