Layout Extinct

Andrews, NC 
Heritage Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: elreyfowler Hole #17 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 White Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  The course it is a changin

5+    11/2/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: bascombvaught15
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a very good course that combines some long open throws with shorter more technical shots. There are many ways to go about this course as far as different styles for approach. The course has a very easy layout to follow and is a excellent newer course.
Cons: There a few areas of really thick vegetation on #'s 12-18 but if you are diligent you can find your disc just don't throw disc that blend in with leaves.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful place that is great for everyone.There is no more corn or soybeans so it is easier to find disc on the back nine. Oh i almost forgot there are bees on #11, hives of honeybees so if you are allergic bring your medicine.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another reason to hate soy

1    9/4/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and long tees, shorts are great for kids and our daughter played the entire course though we did let her throw from the bridge on 3.
Easy to follow once you start it follows a decent pattern.
Front 9 is great, fun, short and technical.
The Burger Basket up the street has some awesome burgers for very little cash.
Nice park, older but quiet and clean.
Mostly fair lines, there is always a path to take.
Cons: The back 9 is just a long walk around what is now a bean field (the corn field in photos.
The back 9 is repetitive.
Other Thoughts: If we come back we have decided to play 2 loops of the front 9. The back 9 is just too repetitive, since the bean field is in the middle it is the same thing over and over, long straight shot, bean field on the left, basket somewhere on the right. The bigger issue is complete lack of shade on the back 9, and it is a pretty healthy hike around the field too.
The highlight of the back 9 is the river that the course butts up to. It is gorgeous and the sound is nice to hear.
I really enjoyed the front 9 of this course, enough to make the 35mi detour from Meeks again at some point, probably this fall when it is cooler. If it was my home course I would not hate my life, it is fun and not as easy as it looks either.

Beware the bean field, we lost 2 discs in there so locals...get a free pro gazelle and pro sidewinder since we had not even inked them yet!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course w/Small Town Charm!

5+    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: FunkSkunk
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for any ability level, beautiful surroundings, interesting holes, and easy to navigate. This course has a certain charm to it that you don't find anywhere else. There are maps available to the left of the swimming pool building at the kiosk. If you skate there is even a small skatepark that you could play around at near the practice basket and tee 1. The course is extremely well maintained by the Andrews Parks & Rec. department (thanks Ray) and has great potential. The wooded front 9 make for a quick round of golf with some slight elevation changes and are easy to access without getting to far away from your vehicle. The flatter back 9 offer a different bit of scenery and allow players to really rip some shots especially off of #10, 11, and 15 (the longest at 423'). Watch out for #18 as it has a large drainage dich for the field so that area doesn't get mowed as much as the others. Discs tend to easily get lost in that area or sucked into the corn. Overall this course is surprisingly well done considering what a small town it is located in. It is well worth the drive to come check out this gem located in WNC.
Cons: As others have said be warned the corn has a certain gravitational pull to it, but finding a disc is pretty easy compared to the brush/river. All you have to do is look down the rows and you'll see it.
Other Thoughts: Since I'm a local I'd love to see some weekly/montly tournaments. Also there will be tee pads eventually, but the course designer is letting them develop naturally so that they will be positioned in the most user friendly spot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful valley course

5+    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: elreyfowler
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 10/20/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The views are incredible! As you work your way around the course, three different mountain ranges are in sight. The course also offers up a variety of shot selection with some interesting design. Even though the walk is relatively flat and easy, there are elevated greens, elevated tee pads, blind shots, and other interesting use of terrain. Several of the greens are guarded by trees, and others have a creek or river nearby. I particualry like #7. Red tees were installed with true beginners and children in mind. Great course for all abilities.
Cons: This course is new and still in the developmental phase. Tee boxes are being defined and improvements are continually happening. The corn will no longer be a presence after this year (2010) and will be replaced by a hay field until funds are secured for a park.
Other Thoughts: As the park developes, plans have already been made for blue tees creating a third and longer option for playing the course! Curiosity Adventures located inside the Daily Grind Coffee Shop on Main Street sells discs and equipment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unique course around cornfield in WNC

2-4    9/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: MellowRob
Played: 79  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an interesting mixture of wooded shorter holes on the Front 9, with longer more open holes playing counterclockwise around the perimeter of a large cornfield for the Back 9. The scenery is beautiful in this mountain valley between 2 ridges, and the course adds another solid option in extreme Western NC. Overall the course has a mixture of left, straight, and right turning holes, with challenging roughs and trees. A creek borders 2-3 holes on the back 9, and a small stream winds through many holes on the front 9. DiscCatcher baskets provide a familiar and quality target.
Cons: Teepads are natural, though I am guessing this will be upgraded in the future. City park setting makes for some potential interaction with other users, but traffic was light on a Sat afternoon. The design could have been different/longer in some areas IMO, but the effort is solid and unique, with room for improvement and stretching. The roughs on the back 9 get significantly harder, with the cornfield to the left and overgrown fenceline or creek to the right. Use a spotter on 18, as there is alot of rough on both sides, along with a couple condos near the fairway. Winter should make this course play easier.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a solid effort for an area with few disc golf options. This course compliments Fontana Village and Meeks Park well IMO. Relatively close to Nantahala Gorge as well. If you are in the area, definitely worth playing. I went in the cornfield once on 10, and it was not too difficult to locate my disc, since the ground was clear. The overgrown weed rough areas are far more dangerous, as I lost a disc on 18, took a drop, and finished with a 54 on the day. Get your birdies on the front, because there is some damage potential on the Back 9. Overall white tees(long) course length is 4644' .

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.