Princeton, MN 
Riebe Park Share
Uploaded By: Animal_Muther Hole #3
3 / 203ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Potential

1    8/10/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Animal_Muther
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
Pros: Nice potential for course with a lot of short fun holes that pose a decent challenge for everyone. There are a few blind holes that you may want to spot for others.
Cons: First and foremost, is the tee signs. They are way too close and/or high and had to pull my shots or throw from behind the pad to refrain from slicing my arm in my follow through. The pads are dirt which is fine but not all of them face the correct fairway.
Other Thoughts: Decent location with tons of potential for a great 9 hole course. Also don't mess with the woodchuck.... he's a nice guy and doesn't bother anyone.

 P-Town

2-4    7/20/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Axx3d
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.3 Years
Pros: Technical shots and tight fairways. I know a lot of people don't like the dog legs and the hard bank shots but i do. It adds a lot to a course when it isn't straight shot after straight shot.
Cons: The signs were to close and the signs were way off in a lot of the cases. It looks lke they were printed before the course was made.

 Improving

1    8/29/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: Steve West
Played: 189  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 40.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
New tee signs, nice baskets and interesting shots. Variety of lengths. Fairway widths are reasonable. Course map on the new course sign.
Cons: Unsafe tee sign locations. You will whack your hand, and possibly cut it badly if you tee off from the marked board.

Too many pitch-outs from the tee. Yes, I said pitch-outs from the tee.

Bugs, bugs and more bugs.
Other Thoughts: The metal tee signs are adjacent to the right side of the tee marker - the worst possible location. This could be fixed by moving the tee signs back 25 feet, or to the side 8 feet, or simply re-bolting the signs to the same pole, just a few inches above the ground, and then cutting off the pole above the sign.

I'm not of the school that says every tee shot should be a long drive. However, I am of the school that says most (or at least some) of them should be. This course feels like a different game. "First, toss your disc somewhere over there, and that'll be the tee." I suppose it saves wear on the marked tees, because no one ever makes a long drive from the same spot.

Or perhaps the designer found a nice set of ideal tee locations, but someone came along and scored too low, so the tees were all move back around a corner to make it harder.

At least add some short tees where the first shot should land. These would be nicely designed holes.

I don't normally mention bugs. I don't even own bug spray - they usually don't bother me. However, this course is mostly built on the type of mud where mosquitoes can live, so they will always be there in summer, and there will always be a lot of them. The local hardware store sells bug suits - buy one if you want to have the patience to look for your lost discs.

Perhaps that's why it only seems to be played in winter.

They are still working on this course, so if you are reading this months after it was written, go give the course a chance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ice Bowl, anyone?

1    3/27/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: Fat Samson
Played: 93  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Given the amount of dry land available there are some pretty interesting shots. The course is set along a river that clearly overflows the banks at times. Gives me the feeling that early spring could turn this into a real bayou disc course!
Cons: I was clearly the only person that had played this course in many snows. Since there are absolutely zero tee signs, and an equal number of signs denoting that this is actually part of a park and not the back yard of some gator skinner, it wasn't easy to find or necessarily navigate. The hidden upside to this was making up my OWN tees/lanes.
Other Thoughts: I will find time to play this course every year around this time for one reason: ICE BOWL! The river had clearly topped the banks then receded, and a majority of the course was covered in full bore ice. This led to situations where any sane person would have lost this disc and not risked going through into the water. But it was uncanilly similar to some of the shots on the PS3 disc golf game, and that is just not a situation you can easily duplicate!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    11/25/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: slash87
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a much needed course for the area. It is real easy to find, a nice walk in the woods along the Rum River, and was nice to play on Thanksgiving day in the snow. It has a variety of open shots as well as some tight fairway shots.
Cons: Where to start, Markers for the tee boxes are terrible for holes one and two. After that it was pretty easy to see where they had stacks with orange flags. Holes 2 fairway and hole 9 fairway intersect which may cause a problem if there are many groups.
Other Thoughts: I am only going to give it a 1.5 because it would of been nicer to see it with out snow all over the course. The potential is there to be a decent course. Add better tee boxes and signs and the course would be a nice quick stop for anyone driving through Princeton

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.