Estacada, OR 
Milo McIver State Park (Riverbend DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #22
4 / 690ft.   4 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Oregon

2-4    1/5/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Huge tee pads
-Pro and AM pads
-Multiple pin locatoins
-Garbage cans through out
-Shots of all kinds, bring your whole bag for this course!
-Scenic course!
-Great baskets
-Flows nice.
Cons: Not sure of many cons. May be a little long for beginners. Other than that I can't think of any other issues.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely amazing. It is well kept. Lots of volunteer hours go into making this one of the best courses in the world. Take a lunch. You'll be wanting a nice meal after a round at this monster.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    10/17/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: MciverDog
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: has some of the best shots around, tests every aspect of your game............................
Cons: gotta have a big arm to make par..........................................
Other Thoughts: leave the tournament pins in year round plz............................

2 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course...

2-4    9/19/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Amazing layout: green grass + huge trees
- Concrete teepads
- Different elevation looks
- Variety of open/flat to tight wooded holes
- 27 holes (spring/summer)
- Bright red rimmed baskets with huge red flags (awesome)
- Recycle bins every couple holes
- Great use of park space
- EMPTY during the week
- Good signage
Cons: - Signage is confusing if you don't have a map.
- The course flow can be confusing at certain points (Hole 9e to 10e; Hole 15e to 16e) if you have no idea where your going, again bring a map the first couple times.
- Someone (Stumptown DGC) should make one map that includes both the 9w/18e layout with the 27 hole flow labeled as well. That would be sweet.
Other Thoughts: Picture a course with wide green fairways, the occasional giant Douglas Fir in the middle, combined with tight forested holes every now and then, over a huge expanse of area on a bend of the Clackamas River.. If someone asked me to imagine "What would be your ideal course in the Pacific Northwest", it would be this course. There's a reason there's a national tour event here.

There is enough space to have two 18 hole courses here (which happens during the Beaver State Fling), but the seasonal recreational layout is 27 holes (9 west, 18 east) during summer/fall and 18 holes on the east side of the course during winter. It should be said that the 18 east winter holes include holes not used during the 18 east summer/fall layout. This is due to alternate park use in some areas during summer.

For the 27 holes used in summer/fall, locals use a 27 hole layout (the Stumptown DGC map is included here), which numbers many of the holes differently than what's on the signage. Before you go, do yourself a favor: print out both the 18 hole and 27 hole layout (NOT THE WINTER) maps and write in the 27 hole layout numbers on the 18 hole layout map and use that map to play the 27.

Confused? It's really the only "complaint" I would have for this course. After playing it now in all seasons, I totally get it, but I will always use a map. Always. If it is your first time here, ask or bring a guide.

I've played 63 holes of golf here over 8 hours, which makes it about 8 cents a hole for the $5.00 you pay to get into the park. This is for the most beautiful layout I've ever seen. There were few people there with me.

The course is big, with two lovely par 5's :1w is my favorite on the course; 2e is both pretty and ridiculously long. Combined with the fair amount of par 4s, it is a course for big arms, which I love, but not might be for everyone. They do have Am tees to ameliorate this, but I wouldn't necessarily call this a course for beginners or newbies.

I think the perfect scenario would be to camp here for a couple of days in the middle of a week during the summer fall. You'd totally get the most out it, then.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Week With Milo

5+    9/14/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: Uhlman
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained
9, 18, or 27 holes (and at times 36)
Pro and Am tees on most holes
Beautiful old growth setting
Camping nearby
Pro, Advanced, intermediate, and Beginner friendly options
Cons: Remote (almost an hour from downtown Portland)
Can be crowded on weekends
The layout may be confusing to people who do not have a map or guide
$5 OR State Park Parking Fee
Some holes may intimidate some Beginners (i believe that there are some holes here that even intimidate pros too)
Other Thoughts: Well maintained and cared for by tenacious volunteers this course is truly one of the great courses in Oregon. The combination of long holes with wide fairways, Short technical holes, elevation changes, and all the permeations in between leaves one tired at the end of 9, 18, or 27 holes but fulfilled. The fact that there are so many ways to play the course makes spending a week a Milo worh every penny. Living far from Portland (200+ miles), I try to get to this course at least once a year however, if I lived closer I would be there more.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: dscglf4
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -the park alone is worth the drive,its big and very beautiful
-27/36 DISCatcher's,many with alt pin settings,most of the pins are are tucked into a pocket or a clump of trees,a few parking lot-island green's, and 1 in a stump
-large concrete tee's,Pro and Am
-short,medium,long,and extra long throws, from 175' upto 850'...then the super-sized extra long 1196'
-great layout and use of what elevation there is,many of the fairways do have some slope to them and there are quite a few shots with elevated tee's.
-no boring or repeating holes
-signs,benches,trash/recycle cans and 3 clean bathroom buildings
-usually not much of a crowd,but even if there is alot of people, its a BIG course
-all the old growth fir,pine and cedars, ferns and vines,deer,bald eagles and even saw a coyote on hole #W8
-3 miles from timber park
-and finally, home of the Beaver State Fling, a National Tour event that brings in some of top men and women players from all over the country,including many top players from all over Oregon
Cons: the only thing for me is that its not 36 holes year round
Other Thoughts: ive always loved this park even when it just had 18 holes,you could look around and imagine shots everywhere.

this is a championship park with 2 championship courses.a majority of the holes are 400-600' range,plus a 700,850 and 1196',but there are quite a few 300' and some in the 200' range.
this is a big-arm course, but alot of it is about placement too.

Milo McIver is truely one of the top five courses in the world!

tied with Meadowridge as my favorite course

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2009   5/23/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice grass that is mowed and big tee pads and good baskets. 27 holes is a nice big long day of playing and good for picnick with the kids. good throws from the hill for downhill fun and near the river
Cons: its really long and hard so its frustrating to try and get good score. its hard to find your wya around so its good to play with people who know the course or ask some one who knows. it costs a lot of money to play it because its in a state park that charges money to play.
Other Thoughts: really great course but its too far from town so its a long drive but worth it

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 World Class DG Course

5+    5/17/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: Avery Jenkins
Played: 617  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2010
28 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: This amazing two course complex is host to the Beaver State Fling Disc Golf National Tour Event every year in May. It has an incredible mix of open and wooded holes throughout both the West and East courses, with multiple par3's, 4's and 5's to challenge every shot in your game. It is by far my favorite courses in the country because of the demanding course layout and amazing manicured fairways.

There are several holes where you have throw a huge drive to a sizable landing area, then throw another drive or good length upshot in order to birdie or eagle the hole. Its a definitely strategy to shot execution and placement to score well on these course.

The course is located beautiful river valley just south of Mt. Hood with lots of old growth Douglas Fir and Pines, the Clackamas River running along side both of the courses. There are little to no distractions for the fact that you are out in the woods unless you are flustered by the tranquil sounds of the river and the birds.

The course is just that, as I describe to many players, its several teepads and baskets with a river, trees, birds and some of the nicest Disc Golf Fairways that you have ever seen. Its something just that simple that makes the course that much more amazing.

Its a definite must-play if you are ever in the area!!!
Cons: Location - I wish that it was a little closer to the city of Portland in order to draw more spectators and sponsors to their events. It is about 20 miles outside of Portland but well worth the drive. But what also makes this course great is the fact that there are minimal distractions due to the course being a distance from the city.

More Courses on the Property - I would only hope that they install another course (or 2) on the property because they have access to so much prime Disc Golf land. With the addition of a few more courses this would become the best DG complex in the game and a great possibility to host a World Championships.
Other Thoughts: I could only hope that more people get the chance to play these courses and get influenced by such course and realize that this type of golf is the future of our sport. It combines the open fairways of ball-golf with some tighter, wooded fairways with sharp angles that only a disc can manipulate, much like we are all accustom to seeing with Disc Golf. Its the best of both worlds and has something for everyone that plays it.

That maybe the reason that the Beaver State Fling National Tour Event sells out every year months in advance on both the Am and Pro weekends with over 500 players in attendance.

A True World-Class Disc Golf Course all made possible by the Hard Work of the Portland Rocs DG Club and thanks to everyone that contributes to the preparation for the Beaver State Fling every year.

28 of 49 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and so much fun

2-4    3/26/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: rybob42
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of shots required. Never felt repetitive, even playing through twice back-to-back.
- No punishing holes (except for length, perhaps). I felt there was a line that would work on each hole if I had the skill.
- Room to air it out fairly often.
- Great teepads and signs. Both amateur and pro tees (we played am).
- Maps available at the start of the course (look in the mailbox-looking thing).
- Stunning! Really, really beautiful surroundings and a joy to just walk around.
- Great facilities, clean bathrooms, drinking water, picnic tables, camping...
- Not too many places to lose a disc.
Cons:
- Sometimes hard to find the next teepad or the pin. The map really helps, but it can still be tricky.
- Pretty open and long, which some may not like.
- People are still playing the multiple course "layouts," which is a pain in the rear. We followed the park-suggested layout (18 east and 9 west), and it was fine, but locals don't always go to the next hole on the map we used.
Other Thoughts: This was the most fun I've had on a disc golf course in my life. I'm still fairly new, but at this point I've played in five western states and a variety of course types (parks, desert, wooded, open fields), and not a single experience was as varied and fun as this.

This is a long course, and it takes forever to get through all 27. Be prepared.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It doesn't get any better!

5+    8/11/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: ~ Long Holes and Short Holes
~ Technical Holes and Open Field Shots
~ Always in GREAT condition
~ Great use of Elevation and Obstacles
~ Two pads on most holes
~ Multiple pin locations keeps things fresh.
~ Map/Score Card provided at the Ranger Station
Cons: ~ My score on this course!
~ Difficult to navigate w/o a map (don't use the map on this site as it is out of date. Go to the Ranger Station, they have a new map/score card)
~ $3.00 State Park Day Use Fee (per vehicle)
Other Thoughts: Beware the SCA! These ppl bring in a couple hundred members and camp out on top of 2-3 holes which makes for navigating the course a pain. This summer I've run into them twice. They're good ppl, but I wish they were't obstucting my course :)

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging! Even for Pros

5+    8/16/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent variation in hole distances, some where less than 200 and some were greater than 1000.
- Great variation in hole placement. The course had multiple holes that were long and open, as well as multiple that were short and heavily wooded. As well as holes that were in between.
- The baskets and teepads, as well as signage, were all well maintained.
- I loved that the pro-tees made the holes harder than the ammature teepads, sometimes, courses with am and pro tees only differentiate then by adding distance, but the course designer took that into consideration as well as changing angles and in some cases even raising them and putting them on a hill.
- Very little foot traffic. I was there on a Saturday and a Sunday and I only ran into one or two people that I had to let play through and that was because they were playing the 27 hole layout and caught up to me that way.
Cons: - I played the course as the west 9 and the east 18 as that was what was printed on the course map on hole 1, and it was kind of confusing. After every hole I had to look at the map to see where I was going next. Some signs with arrows would go a long way in adding to the functionality of this course for first timers.
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely fantastic course and I would recommend it to anyone that hasn't just started playing the game. The long holes might discourage them from wanting to play anymore, but more advanced players will have an amazing time looking at the scenary and marveling at the the wonderfully terrifying long holes.

*Update: after playing the Beaver State Fling layout, this course earned it's last half of a disc to make it a 5 star course. The "Genius Hole" alone makes this course worth visiting.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.