Disc Golf Center
Estacada, OR 
Milo McIver State Park (Riverbend DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 225ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee

Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Paradise found

5+    7/27/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: pdx-disc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
* Challenging course with wide variety of shots across 27 holes with Pro and Amateur tees. You will want to come back again and again. This course should be on your bucket list.

* Holes usually have multiple angles of approach, and reward a variety of play styles. Quite a few risk/reward shots to take. Nice mix of long/short, open/trees, and elevation/flat shots.

* Beautiful scenery along the Clackamas River - wildflowers, wild berries, trees, meadows, bald eagles, blue herons, etc. This is everything disc golf should be.

* Concrete tees, good signage, good benches, nice facilities.

* Ample parking, restrooms and water fountains near some tees for pit stops.

* Well maintained grass, OB, facilities (that's what your fees pay for).

* Paper maps available at the entrance, very helpful.

* Really helpful staff at the front desk and campground. Don't be afraid to ask questions about the facilities or where to go.

* Camping and day-use facilities available at this enormous state park. Clackamas river has a boat launch and an old (but operating) hydroelectric dam to check out. Lots of hiking trails and good picnicking.

* Short drive to another great course, Timber Park.
Cons: / Thoughts:

* Some water fountains don't work at present and need to be repaired.

* Watch out for people crossing your path on the way to the river who don't know there is a disc golf course there.

* Watch out for poison oak and blackberries. They are minimal but they do exist on a couple holes. There is a hornet's nest (marked with signs) on #17 right now as well.

* Due to the awesomeness of this course, if you are playing on a nice-weather weekend day get here early, say 10am or earlier.

* Some shots are very long. I recommend playing the amateur tees the first time you play, or you may find your arm too exhausted to finish all 18 / 27 holes. The pro tees really are for pros at this course - they will wear you out.
Other Thoughts:
Good course for: people with a half day to full day to play disc golf. Good for pretty much any reasonably experienced player, although even the amateur tees may still be too much for new players.

Bad course for: absolute beginners, green-colored discs, people who don't look before they throw

King for a day: I would fix the drinking fountains and get some crews to eradicate the occasional poison oak and blackberries, but otherwise, it's great.

Definitely a 5/5 - "best of the best"

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The tops. Nothing more to say.

1    7/6/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: davidrboy
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Everything except the signage. Gorgeous natural beauty. Good mix of shots. History. Location. Views on the drive out and back. Truly world class.

there is a reason (there are lots of reasons) why it is a top course for anyone who has ever played it, and a favorite among many top pros.
Cons: Needs better signage and next tee markers for visitors.
Other Thoughts: As good a course as I've played anywhere. Ever.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/25/2014   6/26/2015
Review By: dgyp
Played: 36  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2015
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Incredible course. Played twice and loved both rounds. Challenging and long (both good things). If I lived in the area it would be my goto course.
Cons: A bit of a drive to get there. Can be tough to follow some layouts.
Other Thoughts: This is a world class course. No question.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/5/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Huge tee pads
-Pro and AM pads
-Multiple pin locatoins
-Garbage cans through out
-Shots of all kinds, bring your whole bag for this course!
-Scenic course!
-Great baskets
-Flows nice.
Cons: Not sure of many cons. May be a little long for beginners. Other than that I can't think of any other issues.
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely amazing. It is well kept. Lots of volunteer hours go into making this one of the best courses in the world. Take a lunch. You'll be wanting a nice meal after a round at this monster.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    10/17/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: MciverDog
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: has some of the best shots around, tests every aspect of your game............................
Cons: gotta have a big arm to make par..........................................
Other Thoughts: leave the tournament pins in year round plz............................

2 of 22 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Course...

2-4    9/19/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Amazing layout: green grass + huge trees
- Concrete teepads
- Different elevation looks
- Variety of open/flat to tight wooded holes
- 27 holes (spring/summer)
- Bright red rimmed baskets with huge red flags (awesome)
- Recycle bins every couple holes
- Great use of park space
- EMPTY during the week
- Good signage
Cons: - Signage is confusing if you don't have a map.
- The course flow can be confusing at certain points (Hole 9e to 10e; Hole 15e to 16e) if you have no idea where your going, again bring a map the first couple times.
- Someone (Stumptown DGC) should make one map that includes both the 9w/18e layout with the 27 hole flow labeled as well. That would be sweet.
Other Thoughts: Picture a course with wide green fairways, the occasional giant Douglas Fir in the middle, combined with tight forested holes every now and then, over a huge expanse of area on a bend of the Clackamas River.. If someone asked me to imagine "What would be your ideal course in the Pacific Northwest", it would be this course. There's a reason there's a national tour event here.

There is enough space to have two 18 hole courses here (which happens during the Beaver State Fling), but the seasonal recreational layout is 27 holes (9 west, 18 east) during summer/fall and 18 holes on the east side of the course during winter. It should be said that the 18 east winter holes include holes not used during the 18 east summer/fall layout. This is due to alternate park use in some areas during summer.

For the 27 holes used in summer/fall, locals use a 27 hole layout (the Stumptown DGC map is included here), which numbers many of the holes differently than what's on the signage. Before you go, do yourself a favor: print out both the 18 hole and 27 hole layout (NOT THE WINTER) maps and write in the 27 hole layout numbers on the 18 hole layout map and use that map to play the 27.

Confused? It's really the only "complaint" I would have for this course. After playing it now in all seasons, I totally get it, but I will always use a map. Always. If it is your first time here, ask or bring a guide.

I've played 63 holes of golf here over 8 hours, which makes it about 8 cents a hole for the $5.00 you pay to get into the park. This is for the most beautiful layout I've ever seen. There were few people there with me.

The course is big, with two lovely par 5's :1w is my favorite on the course; 2e is both pretty and ridiculously long. Combined with the fair amount of par 4s, it is a course for big arms, which I love, but not might be for everyone. They do have Am tees to ameliorate this, but I wouldn't necessarily call this a course for beginners or newbies.

I think the perfect scenario would be to camp here for a couple of days in the middle of a week during the summer fall. You'd totally get the most out it, then.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Week With Milo

5+    9/14/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: Uhlman
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained
9, 18, or 27 holes (and at times 36)
Pro and Am tees on most holes
Beautiful old growth setting
Camping nearby
Pro, Advanced, intermediate, and Beginner friendly options
Cons: Remote (almost an hour from downtown Portland)
Can be crowded on weekends
The layout may be confusing to people who do not have a map or guide
$5 OR State Park Parking Fee
Some holes may intimidate some Beginners (i believe that there are some holes here that even intimidate pros too)
Other Thoughts: Well maintained and cared for by tenacious volunteers this course is truly one of the great courses in Oregon. The combination of long holes with wide fairways, Short technical holes, elevation changes, and all the permeations in between leaves one tired at the end of 9, 18, or 27 holes but fulfilled. The fact that there are so many ways to play the course makes spending a week a Milo worh every penny. Living far from Portland (200+ miles), I try to get to this course at least once a year however, if I lived closer I would be there more.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/3/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: dscglf4
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -the park alone is worth the drive,its big and very beautiful
-27/36 DISCatcher's,many with alt pin settings,most of the pins are are tucked into a pocket or a clump of trees,a few parking lot-island green's, and 1 in a stump
-large concrete tee's,Pro and Am
-short,medium,long,and extra long throws, from 175' upto 850'...then the super-sized extra long 1196'
-great layout and use of what elevation there is,many of the fairways do have some slope to them and there are quite a few shots with elevated tee's.
-no boring or repeating holes
-signs,benches,trash/recycle cans and 3 clean bathroom buildings
-usually not much of a crowd,but even if there is alot of people, its a BIG course
-all the old growth fir,pine and cedars, ferns and vines,deer,bald eagles and even saw a coyote on hole #W8
-3 miles from timber park
-and finally, home of the Beaver State Fling, a National Tour event that brings in some of top men and women players from all over the country,including many top players from all over Oregon
Cons: the only thing for me is that its not 36 holes year round
Other Thoughts: ive always loved this park even when it just had 18 holes,you could look around and imagine shots everywhere.

this is a championship park with 2 championship courses.a majority of the holes are 400-600' range,plus a 700,850 and 1196',but there are quite a few 300' and some in the 200' range.
this is a big-arm course, but alot of it is about placement too.

Milo McIver is truely one of the top five courses in the world!

tied with Meadowridge as my favorite course

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    12/5/2009   5/23/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice grass that is mowed and big tee pads and good baskets. 27 holes is a nice big long day of playing and good for picnick with the kids. good throws from the hill for downhill fun and near the river
Cons: its really long and hard so its frustrating to try and get good score. its hard to find your wya around so its good to play with people who know the course or ask some one who knows. it costs a lot of money to play it because its in a state park that charges money to play.
Other Thoughts: really great course but its too far from town so its a long drive but worth it

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 World Class DG Course

5+    5/17/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: Avery Jenkins
Played: 706  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 30.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2010
28 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: This amazing two course complex is host to the Beaver State Fling Disc Golf National Tour Event every year in May. It has an incredible mix of open and wooded holes throughout both the West and East courses, with multiple par3's, 4's and 5's to challenge every shot in your game. It is by far my favorite courses in the country because of the demanding course layout and amazing manicured fairways.

There are several holes where you have throw a huge drive to a sizable landing area, then throw another drive or good length upshot in order to birdie or eagle the hole. Its a definitely strategy to shot execution and placement to score well on these course.

The course is located beautiful river valley just south of Mt. Hood with lots of old growth Douglas Fir and Pines, the Clackamas River running along side both of the courses. There are little to no distractions for the fact that you are out in the woods unless you are flustered by the tranquil sounds of the river and the birds.

The course is just that, as I describe to many players, its several teepads and baskets with a river, trees, birds and some of the nicest Disc Golf Fairways that you have ever seen. Its something just that simple that makes the course that much more amazing.

Its a definite must-play if you are ever in the area!!!
Cons: Location - I wish that it was a little closer to the city of Portland in order to draw more spectators and sponsors to their events. It is about 20 miles outside of Portland but well worth the drive. But what also makes this course great is the fact that there are minimal distractions due to the course being a distance from the city.

More Courses on the Property - I would only hope that they install another course (or 2) on the property because they have access to so much prime Disc Golf land. With the addition of a few more courses this would become the best DG complex in the game and a great possibility to host a World Championships.
Other Thoughts: I could only hope that more people get the chance to play these courses and get influenced by such course and realize that this type of golf is the future of our sport. It combines the open fairways of ball-golf with some tighter, wooded fairways with sharp angles that only a disc can manipulate, much like we are all accustom to seeing with Disc Golf. Its the best of both worlds and has something for everyone that plays it.

That maybe the reason that the Beaver State Fling National Tour Event sells out every year months in advance on both the Am and Pro weekends with over 500 players in attendance.

A True World-Class Disc Golf Course all made possible by the Hard Work of the Portland Rocs DG Club and thanks to everyone that contributes to the preparation for the Beaver State Fling every year.

28 of 49 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.