Estacada, OR 
Milo McIver State Park (Riverbend DGC) Share
Uploaded By: JR Stengele  
Avery Jenkins putting for birdie on the lead card



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Milo

5+    10/20/2010   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 642  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 16.2 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, this place is just plain georgeous - the combination of well kept parkland and short grass with the natural beauty of the river and pines is spectacular. This is definitely on my top 10 list for most beautiful courses. Oh yeah, the golf is pretty good too :) While mostly in the open, McIver fills out *fairly well in terms of variety with a few tight wooded holes and some ample shaping shots in-between field areas. Some of the more interesting holes have defined layup zones and rewards for long, but controlled drives. Frequently players also have options to play for safe pars by withdrawing a bit from tree lines and keeping options open for the upshot. Besides the bomber par 4's and 5's, there are several fantastic par three holes which utilize elevation, effective out-of-bounds areas, and well-placed trees to keep players honest. Another huge bonus of having such a huge park is the ability to make several layouts, including the epic Beaver State Fling tournament layouts. While it doesn't quite make my 'best of' list, this course without a doubt lives up to the hype surrounding it and is worth a trip for any traveling golfer.
Cons: The two main drawbacks at Milo are the inability to effectively punish poor shots (relative to other 'cream of the crop' courses) and some of the variety off the tee. Because of the open nature of much of the course, players have ample ability to uncork distance hyzers one after the other. On many of the shots which have low ceilings, a well placed roller makes for an effective attack and I always find myself throwing 5-6 rollers off the tee per round which isn't a 'bad' thing but it seems that these holes just don't offer multiple options for making birdie.

The final con and kind of a confusing one are a couple of the tweener holes out here; those ranging from about 480-550'. In the open, nearly all players will find the hole unreachable for a birdie/eagle '2' but will be able to consistently card an easy three. Low scoring separation on these holes sometimes makes for uninteresting golf but there are certainly enough other well-designed holes to separate the wheat from the chaff.
Other Thoughts: While other players have mentioned that the course is a bit confusing to follow, which is true, I have never found it difficult to locate all of the holes and baskets. Playing the course in order though is another story!

With camping onsite and the solid Timber course just down the road, Milo makes for a great weekend.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The Great Outdoors

1    9/8/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 154  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An absolute gem in the great pacific northwest. Milo is located a beautifully manicured state park. The course offers 27 challenging holes that is split up into two parts in the park. My advice would be to park in the parking lot of the East course. There is a map there with the layout of both the 18 hole east part and 9 hole west part. Play the first 18 than either walk or drive to the other 9 (use the map, easy to figure out).

This challenging course offers a variety of holes with distances ranging from 120-1200ft. Technical and open holes offer an array of shots required to play each hole. This is a very challenging course which will test the best of players. Luckily if you do not feel comfortable playing from the long tees there is also the amateur tees available. Most of the tees are cement with an exception of a few rubber tees. There are two holes that are shot from a well elevated wooded area which are very fun and with one shooting towards the river. The baskets are highly visible with flags on top and newer signs. The overall challenge of this course is about a 4.25/5. It is a tough and challenging course, but it is also a lot of fun and a can't miss to play.

What also adds to this amazing course is the scenic beauty. The Oregon outdoors offers one of the best sceneries you can get for disc golf anywhere. The Clackamas River runs along some of the course to add to the beauty along with a view of Mt. Hood when driving in.
Again this is a state park so it is maintained very well. The course is mowed frequently as well as tree maintenance throughout. Restrooms, running water, benches, trash bins are all available.
Cons: Sometimes it pains me to write cons for courses, but there is always something you can find wrong about a course. The big thing for me would be the navigation of the course. Some of the signs were confusing to navigate as well as the two parts of the course. Make sure to have a map of you will get confused.
Other Thoughts: A MUST PLAY if you are in Oregon. It is about an 40 minutes from Portland, but well worth every minute. This course offers it all beauty, challenge, and fun all rolled into one. There is camping located within the state park which have very nice camping grounds. The locals were extremely friendly helping us navigate a few holes which allowed us to help a group behind us later in our round. The park staff was friendly showing us were to go to dg, eat, etc. There is a parking fee ($3) which is included if you choose to camp at the park ($18 I believe). Overall this course to me is a mix of Pier Park and Hornets Hideout in terms of challenge and fun and a must play

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Week With Milo

5+    9/14/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: Uhlman
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained
9, 18, or 27 holes (and at times 36)
Pro and Am tees on most holes
Beautiful old growth setting
Camping nearby
Pro, Advanced, intermediate, and Beginner friendly options
Cons: Remote (almost an hour from downtown Portland)
Can be crowded on weekends
The layout may be confusing to people who do not have a map or guide
$5 OR State Park Parking Fee
Some holes may intimidate some Beginners (i believe that there are some holes here that even intimidate pros too)
Other Thoughts: Well maintained and cared for by tenacious volunteers this course is truly one of the great courses in Oregon. The combination of long holes with wide fairways, Short technical holes, elevation changes, and all the permeations in between leaves one tired at the end of 9, 18, or 27 holes but fulfilled. The fact that there are so many ways to play the course makes spending a week a Milo worh every penny. Living far from Portland (200+ miles), I try to get to this course at least once a year however, if I lived closer I would be there more.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challenging Course

1    9/11/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: jdinteg
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Huge course, Challenging layout with some holes difficult to thread, and others requiring long shots with all your milk to arrive at par. Great tee pads with Pro pads brushed concrete, and Amateur pads diamond pattern concrete.
Cons: difficult layout to follow if your not a regular at the course. Many tee pads have posts and signs labeling which hole and the layout, but some do not, can easily get turned around. Running event got in our way yesterday with no warning we could find until we arrived on the course and paid our $5 fee. But still worth the inconvenience.
Other Thoughts: I would agree with many other reviewers, you have to play this course once if you live within a 1-2 hour drive, it is well worth it. I came confident in my skill, and left humbled. I will definitely be coming back.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great for big arms

2-4    8/16/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: zombie41
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: *well maintained hard to lose a disc because the under brush is non existant
*Lots of benches
*Trash cans
*Bathrooms(sometimes maintained)
*Big arms welcomed. Holes almost always require a bomb
*Awesome Discatcher baskets
*hole 6e is prolly the best hole i've seen yet. However I haven't been to whistlers bend yet:)
*map and score cards available for the east west divide, not for the 27 hole coarse.
*nice big concrete tee pads(pro and AM)
*beautiful big native trees, yet wide open fairways.
Cons: *Rediculous layout. 27 holes, or East and west, or 2 18 hole? you will have people cutting in front of you and ending up behind you. I think the preferred way to play it is 18 East, and 9 west. But you will have to drive to the opposite parking lot between games. cause hole 1 east is on the opposite side of the coarse from hole 1 west.
*Tee pads are confusing, most have the signage backwards making you think you are throwing the opposite direction.
*be prepaired to wait, confusing coarse layout, causes back ups.
*not that much elevation
*holes are too far for average players to begginers. Your score will suck.
*long ways away from civilization. Portlands traffic can cause people like me who live in vancouver to play at Rooster or Dabney.
*water doesn't play a hazzard
*State park fee $5/day or $30/year.
Other Thoughts: I liked this coarse a lot. I have been playing for over 6 months now and I still don't have the arm to pay this coarse. begginers will get frusterated with a terrible score. And pros will have a great challenge.
It is a wonderfully maintained coarse along the Clackamas River, with huge fairways. The signage is frusterating and the layout is even more dreadful, but you won't lose discs that easy, so the coarse doesn't usually jam up. I would advise everyone to play it once, however if you don't usually trow 350 feet off the drive you may wanna go to hornings, dabney, or leverich. I will give it 4 stars when the layout is turned back into a 27 hole coarse. The park officials made a mistake making it an east west coarse.

4 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    8/1/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Ghost in the Darknes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that runs along the river. There is a great mix of technical shots and enough room to air out a big throw. I wish I lived closer because this would be a fun one to play more often. The locals were more than helpful in pointing me in the correct direction..which brings me to....
Cons: I got very confused by the 27 hole lay out. Granted I didn't do my homework before I left. But I printed out the map, and found Tee #1, thinking that after I played the 18 East, that it would run right into the 9 West. This was not the case.
Other Thoughts: What a wonderful course. I would advise everyone I knew to play this atleast once in their life, if not many more times.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: dscglf4
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -the park alone is worth the drive,its big and very beautiful
-27/36 DISCatcher's,many with alt pin settings,most of the pins are are tucked into a pocket or a clump of trees,a few parking lot-island green's, and 1 in a stump
-large concrete tee's,Pro and Am
-short,medium,long,and extra long throws, from 175' upto 850'...then the super-sized extra long 1196'
-great layout and use of what elevation there is,many of the fairways do have some slope to them and there are quite a few shots with elevated tee's.
-no boring or repeating holes
-signs,benches,trash/recycle cans and 3 clean bathroom buildings
-usually not much of a crowd,but even if there is alot of people, its a BIG course
-all the old growth fir,pine and cedars, ferns and vines,deer,bald eagles and even saw a coyote on hole #W8
-3 miles from timber park
-and finally, home of the Beaver State Fling, a National Tour event that brings in some of top men and women players from all over the country,including many top players from all over Oregon
Cons: the only thing for me is that its not 36 holes year round
Other Thoughts: ive always loved this park even when it just had 18 holes,you could look around and imagine shots everywhere.

this is a championship park with 2 championship courses.a majority of the holes are 400-600' range,plus a 700,850 and 1196',but there are quite a few 300' and some in the 200' range.
this is a big-arm course, but alot of it is about placement too.

Milo McIver is truely one of the top five courses in the world!

tied with Meadowridge as my favorite course

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2009   5/23/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice grass that is mowed and big tee pads and good baskets. 27 holes is a nice big long day of playing and good for picnick with the kids. good throws from the hill for downhill fun and near the river
Cons: its really long and hard so its frustrating to try and get good score. its hard to find your wya around so its good to play with people who know the course or ask some one who knows. it costs a lot of money to play it because its in a state park that charges money to play.
Other Thoughts: really great course but its too far from town so its a long drive but worth it

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 World Class DG Course

5+    5/17/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: Avery Jenkins
Played: 663  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 30.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2010
28 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: This amazing two course complex is host to the Beaver State Fling Disc Golf National Tour Event every year in May. It has an incredible mix of open and wooded holes throughout both the West and East courses, with multiple par3's, 4's and 5's to challenge every shot in your game. It is by far my favorite courses in the country because of the demanding course layout and amazing manicured fairways.

There are several holes where you have throw a huge drive to a sizable landing area, then throw another drive or good length upshot in order to birdie or eagle the hole. Its a definitely strategy to shot execution and placement to score well on these course.

The course is located beautiful river valley just south of Mt. Hood with lots of old growth Douglas Fir and Pines, the Clackamas River running along side both of the courses. There are little to no distractions for the fact that you are out in the woods unless you are flustered by the tranquil sounds of the river and the birds.

The course is just that, as I describe to many players, its several teepads and baskets with a river, trees, birds and some of the nicest Disc Golf Fairways that you have ever seen. Its something just that simple that makes the course that much more amazing.

Its a definite must-play if you are ever in the area!!!
Cons: Location - I wish that it was a little closer to the city of Portland in order to draw more spectators and sponsors to their events. It is about 20 miles outside of Portland but well worth the drive. But what also makes this course great is the fact that there are minimal distractions due to the course being a distance from the city.

More Courses on the Property - I would only hope that they install another course (or 2) on the property because they have access to so much prime Disc Golf land. With the addition of a few more courses this would become the best DG complex in the game and a great possibility to host a World Championships.
Other Thoughts: I could only hope that more people get the chance to play these courses and get influenced by such course and realize that this type of golf is the future of our sport. It combines the open fairways of ball-golf with some tighter, wooded fairways with sharp angles that only a disc can manipulate, much like we are all accustom to seeing with Disc Golf. Its the best of both worlds and has something for everyone that plays it.

That maybe the reason that the Beaver State Fling National Tour Event sells out every year months in advance on both the Am and Pro weekends with over 500 players in attendance.

A True World-Class Disc Golf Course all made possible by the Hard Work of the Portland Rocs DG Club and thanks to everyone that contributes to the preparation for the Beaver State Fling every year.

28 of 49 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and so much fun

2-4    3/26/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: rybob42
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of shots required. Never felt repetitive, even playing through twice back-to-back.
- No punishing holes (except for length, perhaps). I felt there was a line that would work on each hole if I had the skill.
- Room to air it out fairly often.
- Great teepads and signs. Both amateur and pro tees (we played am).
- Maps available at the start of the course (look in the mailbox-looking thing).
- Stunning! Really, really beautiful surroundings and a joy to just walk around.
- Great facilities, clean bathrooms, drinking water, picnic tables, camping...
- Not too many places to lose a disc.
Cons:
- Sometimes hard to find the next teepad or the pin. The map really helps, but it can still be tricky.
- Pretty open and long, which some may not like.
- People are still playing the multiple course "layouts," which is a pain in the rear. We followed the park-suggested layout (18 east and 9 west), and it was fine, but locals don't always go to the next hole on the map we used.
Other Thoughts: This was the most fun I've had on a disc golf course in my life. I'm still fairly new, but at this point I've played in five western states and a variety of course types (parks, desert, wooded, open fields), and not a single experience was as varied and fun as this.

This is a long course, and it takes forever to get through all 27. Be prepared.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.