Estacada, OR
Milo McIver State Park (Riverbend DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #24
3 / 410ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love Milo

2-4    5/15/2006   7/27/2009
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Choice of courses, combination of long and open and tight and short, beautiful landscape, great parking!!!
Cons: Public park and people are clueless as to that they are walking in a fairway when you are trying to tee-off.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've Ever Played

2-4    5/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.9 Years
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: I can't say enough about this course, by far the best I've played. Excellent shot variety, good mix of length and technicality. Awesome design, well maintained, challenging yet rewarding.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If I had to choose one course to play every day for the rest of my life, this would be the one. Super challenging, but allows for scoring. I've only played it twice, and it was right before the Beaver State Fling, so I don't know if it's always so well maintained, but I was super impressed with the condition of the course. Must-play course, worth traveling for.

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses ever made.

1    5/18/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a challenge for even pro players with the massive length, dog legs and technical holes. Very well maintained course and very beautiful along the river there. Mostly flat but there is a couple of hills that the course uses to tee of from on a couple of holes. Excellent signs and giant tee pads to accomodate even you players that use a complete turn around or multiple step run up. There is so much room here you could have another hole from the last hole to the next tee pad or from the pro tee to the amateur tee! I love mowed fairways and water hazards, that is here with just about everything else you could want from a course.
Cons: There are twenty seven holes here but they have divided it into a nine hole and an eighteen hole course and some people still play it the twenty seven hole way and with multiple tees you can't be sure where people are playing too. It is a little tough to navigate for a first time and anyone less than an advanced player will be frustrated by the length and difficulty.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most diffucult and fun courses I have ever played. Bring lots of water and a snack or two if you are planning to play all 27. new players might get frustrated here so beware. This maybe the best course in Oregon.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Milo McIver (Riverbend) State Park

5+    5/22/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated along the scenic Clackamas River, Milo McIver State Park is only 45 minutes away from downtown Portland. This beautiful park provides a variety of outstanding recreational opportunities including a pro caliber disc golf course featuring an incredible diversity of holes. You'll find holes ranging from tight wooded fairways to 800+ foot monsters. This course will test even the best touring pro golfer. Course maintenance provided by Stumptown Disc Golf and the Oregon State Parks staff at Milo McIver.

With so many pros to this course here are just some worth coming for:

•Overall beauty of the course, mountains, and river making the experience absolutely breathtaking
•Challenging holes ranging from 175-1196 feet
•Includes several par 3,4 and even an incredible par 5
•Pro and Am (cement) tee pads w/ the exception of a few rubber pads that are to be replaced, as well as DISCatchers that are in good shape
•Multiple layouts including 9 west, 18 east, local 27 (starting on hole one of the west course) and the most epic of them all the duel 18 hole layout for the Beaver State Fling.
•Camping for only $17.00 a night
•Restrooms, benches, trash cans, overall maintenance
•Parking, parking, and more parking
•Very friendly locals and great local DG clubs
•Amazing tournaments that are world class
•Timber Park DGC only 1 mile away
Cons: This course truly is one of the best if not the best in the Northwest and with that being said it is very difficult to find many flaws with this course. As others have stated, at times it can be somewhat difficult to navigate without a map (can be printed out from course links) so unless you are a local or are quite familiar with the course I would highly recommend coming prepared or it will be a long day. I hope that one day there will be signs that come up from the ground and are easy to locate but for now we must make do with what we have. It is well worth such a minor pain to play a course that brings so much happiness to all.
Other Thoughts: This is a State Park and requires a daily parking permit. Permits are available at the park entrance for $3.00 a day. It is the player's responsibility to have and display a park permit. Day passes are strictly enforced. Parking permit is included with your camping fee. Wood can be purchased when camping for $6.00 a bundle on site. Commemorative discs can be purchased at the ranger station so just look for the signs.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Good but not perfect

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: MrThortan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Lots of Parking. Alternate pads for pro/am players. Recently put in recycling cans to decrease litter. Good variety of shots from short skill shots to big distance, anhyzer and hyzer shots. Can play 18/9/27 holes depending upon how much time you have. Lots of people dedicating their time to this course to make it better.
Cons: Too many course layouts create chaos on the course. Between those that play the 27 layout, the 18east and the 9 west, throw in the bsf course and the safaris who just can't figure out where to go next, alternate pad locations; just a recipe for chaos and frustration. Course layout could be much better for the space. Some pads are poorly placed or are not finished which gives it an "unfinished" feel. Bottles and litter. I pick this up all the time, and even with the new cans, people still lack the respect and consideration to use the cans that are scattered throughout the park.
Other Thoughts: I live 4 miles from the park and play it quite regularly. I've been playing it for several years and can recall when it was just an 18 hole course. I thought it had layout problems back then and I still think it does. It has the potential to be one of the best courses on the west coast, if not the best. I personally think the whole course needs to be restructured, and even 2 courses of 18 established. There are just too many layouts and on busy days this gets pretty chaotic. Basket locations get changed on a whim, sometimes from week to week. At times, the locations are even changed so that one of the alt t-pads is facing the wrong direction. I love this course and recommend it, but I personally think it is in dire need of new, or better management.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice scenery!

1    5/15/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first trip to Oregon, and I absolutely love the state. Driving to the park is a treat, with great views of Mt Hood from the road.

The entrance to the disc golf course is well marked, and there is plenty of parking available. A bulletin board by hole #1 has a course map, and score cards with the printed maps.

Every hole has multiple tee pad positions. On some holes the pro pad adds another 100+ feet. The fairways were well defined and often lined with cedar trees. Several holes play along the edge of a beautiful river.
Cons: Confusing layout. Even with the maps by the first teepad, the layout is incredibly confusing. After playing hole #1, the second basket said #24. Pretty sure I played the right one, but who knows? Also, the grass seemed to get fairly tall here and it could be easy to be lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: The average hole is probably around 350 feet, with one over 1,000 feet. This course compares favorably to many of the other top tier courses I have played. This course is not as pristine or challenging as Idlewild, but it is still tremendous. Great scenic beauty and enough length to challenge even the pro players. I would love to give this course a 5, but I feel the maintenance could be better, and the layout is a bit confusing. I hope to come back and play this one again!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise Golf, Minus the Baskets

5+    4/17/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Oregon Southpaw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Amazingly laid out.

Long and fair. Forgiving in spots - Doesn't even feel overtly punitive unless far off course.

Great differentiation between pro and amateur positions. Both that the option exists and that each are pretty easy and pretty hard respectively.

Some targets are so beautifully positioned amongst the majesty of Estacada you want to cry.

"So Dang Far From Portland"? Uhh, no. Its like 45 minutes. And 100% worth it. Which is a better use of time - gorgeous drive past paradise-y digs or waiting for ten groups in front of you every hole at Pier?



Cons: Baskets suck. I'm sorry, they are terrible and need to be taken out. Makes you putt better, obviously, but takes away from such an otherwise (mostly) flawless course.

Lots of douchebags on the weekends and holidays you may as well just stay away (unless you are a serious morning person). Many families, and casuals, too, which are generally respectful but clueless. Again, douchebags drinking and littering the place up bothers me but its only minimal.

Also the layout is horribly confusing - I still get lost out there. Can't they throw up a "->" here and there? I've had deja-vu multiple times replaying holes mistakenly.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Make the trip if you're in Portland.

But I don't know if I'd say best in the Pacific Northwest necessarily.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Pacific NW

5+    8/21/2008   3/21/2009
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.9 Years
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course has something for everyone! You won't find a course that has the variety, scenery, challenge, isolation, or facilities like Riverbend. Working with acres of land makes this course unique in its own right. Fron holes that run along the river to holes that climb the hills and pass through the forests this course has it all!
Cons: So dang far from downtown Portland, but definitely worth the trip!
Other Thoughts: Fitting that the PDGA sanctions a National Tour event here!

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: Bullseye
Played: 93  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Epic size (Words really don't so this place justice.)
* 27 holes totaling over 11000ft.
* Great Teepads (except for the 3-4 rubber ones that are due to be replaced shortly).
* Beautiful scenery
* Benches
* Plenty of parking
* Reasonable rates ($3 per day per car)
* Great facilities
* Camping (Except winter)
* Dog friendly (on leash)
** The tournament layout consisting of (2) 18 hole courses is simply amazing.

Cons: Occasional litter problems, but dedicated local players are often seen carrying trashbags during rounds.
Signage is not at the same level as the course.
Other Thoughts: This is truly an epic disc golf course. The grueling 27 hole course will test every throw in your arsenal and put your stamina to the test as well.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch

5+    2/23/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: Eric O
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Located well outside the city in an enormous state park, and running along a river, this is an ideal setting for a world class disc golf course.

Rarely do you run into anyone besides other golfers on the course.

Challenging and varied. All your disc skills will come into play.

36 hole tournament layout.
Cons: Anything I list as a negative would be nitpicking pretty hard.

It would be nice if the teesigns hadn't been renumbered for a 9 hole and an 18 hole layout, instead of the 27 hole layout most people use anyway. It would be nice if the additional tournament holes were in the ground more often. It would be nice if it was 5 minutes from my front door.
Other Thoughts: This is undoubtedly the finest course Oregon has to offer, and arguably the most difficult.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.