Estacada, OR 
Milo McIver State Park (Riverbend DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
4 / 625ft.   4 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Good but not perfect

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: MrThortan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Lots of Parking. Alternate pads for pro/am players. Recently put in recycling cans to decrease litter. Good variety of shots from short skill shots to big distance, anhyzer and hyzer shots. Can play 18/9/27 holes depending upon how much time you have. Lots of people dedicating their time to this course to make it better.
Cons: Too many course layouts create chaos on the course. Between those that play the 27 layout, the 18east and the 9 west, throw in the bsf course and the safaris who just can't figure out where to go next, alternate pad locations; just a recipe for chaos and frustration. Course layout could be much better for the space. Some pads are poorly placed or are not finished which gives it an "unfinished" feel. Bottles and litter. I pick this up all the time, and even with the new cans, people still lack the respect and consideration to use the cans that are scattered throughout the park.
Other Thoughts: I live 4 miles from the park and play it quite regularly. I've been playing it for several years and can recall when it was just an 18 hole course. I thought it had layout problems back then and I still think it does. It has the potential to be one of the best courses on the west coast, if not the best. I personally think the whole course needs to be restructured, and even 2 courses of 18 established. There are just too many layouts and on busy days this gets pretty chaotic. Basket locations get changed on a whim, sometimes from week to week. At times, the locations are even changed so that one of the alt t-pads is facing the wrong direction. I love this course and recommend it, but I personally think it is in dire need of new, or better management.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice scenery!

1    5/15/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first trip to Oregon, and I absolutely love the state. Driving to the park is a treat, with great views of Mt Hood from the road.

The entrance to the disc golf course is well marked, and there is plenty of parking available. A bulletin board by hole #1 has a course map, and score cards with the printed maps.

Every hole has multiple tee pad positions. On some holes the pro pad adds another 100+ feet. The fairways were well defined and often lined with cedar trees. Several holes play along the edge of a beautiful river.
Cons: Confusing layout. Even with the maps by the first teepad, the layout is incredibly confusing. After playing hole #1, the second basket said #24. Pretty sure I played the right one, but who knows? Also, the grass seemed to get fairly tall here and it could be easy to be lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: The average hole is probably around 350 feet, with one over 1,000 feet. This course compares favorably to many of the other top tier courses I have played. This course is not as pristine or challenging as Idlewild, but it is still tremendous. Great scenic beauty and enough length to challenge even the pro players. I would love to give this course a 5, but I feel the maintenance could be better, and the layout is a bit confusing. I hope to come back and play this one again!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise Golf, Minus the Baskets

5+    4/17/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Oregon Southpaw
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Amazingly laid out.

Long and fair. Forgiving in spots - Doesn't even feel overtly punitive unless far off course.

Great differentiation between pro and amateur positions. Both that the option exists and that each are pretty easy and pretty hard respectively.

Some targets are so beautifully positioned amongst the majesty of Estacada you want to cry.

"So Dang Far From Portland"? Uhh, no. Its like 45 minutes. And 100% worth it. Which is a better use of time - gorgeous drive past paradise-y digs or waiting for ten groups in front of you every hole at Pier?



Cons: Baskets suck. I'm sorry, they are terrible and need to be taken out. Makes you putt better, obviously, but takes away from such an otherwise (mostly) flawless course.

Lots of douchebags on the weekends and holidays you may as well just stay away (unless you are a serious morning person). Many families, and casuals, too, which are generally respectful but clueless. Again, douchebags drinking and littering the place up bothers me but its only minimal.

Also the layout is horribly confusing - I still get lost out there. Can't they throw up a "->" here and there? I've had deja-vu multiple times replaying holes mistakenly.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Make the trip if you're in Portland.

But I don't know if I'd say best in the Pacific Northwest necessarily.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Pacific NW

5+    8/21/2008   3/21/2009
Review By: Discwog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.2 Years
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course has something for everyone! You won't find a course that has the variety, scenery, challenge, isolation, or facilities like Riverbend. Working with acres of land makes this course unique in its own right. Fron holes that run along the river to holes that climb the hills and pass through the forests this course has it all!
Cons: So dang far from downtown Portland, but definitely worth the trip!
Other Thoughts: Fitting that the PDGA sanctions a National Tour event here!

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: Bullseye
Played: 104  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Epic size (Words really don't so this place justice.)
* 27 holes totaling over 11000ft.
* Great Teepads (except for the 3-4 rubber ones that are due to be replaced shortly).
* Beautiful scenery
* Benches
* Plenty of parking
* Reasonable rates ($3 per day per car)
* Great facilities
* Camping (Except winter)
* Dog friendly (on leash)
** The tournament layout consisting of (2) 18 hole courses is simply amazing.

Cons: Occasional litter problems, but dedicated local players are often seen carrying trashbags during rounds.
Signage is not at the same level as the course.
Other Thoughts: This is truly an epic disc golf course. The grueling 27 hole course will test every throw in your arsenal and put your stamina to the test as well.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch

5+    2/23/2009   2/28/2009
Review By: Eric O
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Located well outside the city in an enormous state park, and running along a river, this is an ideal setting for a world class disc golf course.

Rarely do you run into anyone besides other golfers on the course.

Challenging and varied. All your disc skills will come into play.

36 hole tournament layout.
Cons: Anything I list as a negative would be nitpicking pretty hard.

It would be nice if the teesigns hadn't been renumbered for a 9 hole and an 18 hole layout, instead of the 27 hole layout most people use anyway. It would be nice if the additional tournament holes were in the ground more often. It would be nice if it was 5 minutes from my front door.
Other Thoughts: This is undoubtedly the finest course Oregon has to offer, and arguably the most difficult.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Long

2-4    2/15/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Multiple Pin locations
-Both Pro and Am tee box's
-Both tight tech holes and long bombs to test your whole game
-Good use of the little elevation on the site
Cons: -Some of the tee box's don't aim in the right direction
-Some Tee box's are very small
-Some Tee signs are missing
Other Thoughts: This is a course that I Like to go and play to see how I am doing. It can test all parts of your game and tell you how you are doing. It is also a long walk but that is part of the game.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Milo

1    2/15/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: I really tuff course with long drives. Its probaly the tuffest course in the area. Lots of trees and lots of angles and corners. Nice layout and be ready to do some hiking. A really scenic course on the Clackamas river.
Cons: Cans and bottles thrown up in the trees.
Other Thoughts: It a course that will really challenge every aspect of your game.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  World class course

5+    2/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: tennessee
Played: 78  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great challenge
-Beautiful area
-Baskets are in good shape
-Nice and clean bathrooms
-Well maintained
-Not crowded (yet)
-Awesome mixture of shots
-Great for tournys
-Multiple pin placements
-Pro and am pads
-27+ holes
Cons: -Some of the tee pads are still rubber and slick when wet
-Layout can be confusing
Other Thoughts: Its a place where you can relax and play golf.
A golfers golf course
A place where you can see bald eagles (seriously).
Well worth the trip and the three dollars for parking.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 BEAUTIFULAWESOMENESS!!!

2-4    9/26/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2009
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful course. Extremely fun and challenging. Super long drives in mostly wide open fields that change up at the last second to reveal guarded/hidden baskets that change locations periodically. Another great feature I liked about the park was the fact that there is a plateau type setting w/ holes in heavily wooded areas and the cliffs of the plateau are at either side making a very challenging drive. Two of the holes offer the "A" tee boxes that allow you to drive off of the cliffs down into the flat areas which is very fun and rewarding. The whole time playing you are surrounded by beautiful scenery.

Baskets are in good condition along w/ the tee boxes. Benches and trash cans that are provided is a nice addition along w/ a restroom area somewhere in the middle of the 2 combined courses. ( I can't recall the # of the hole its located at... I think its around the area of #26 or #9's tee box if you look at the RIVER BEND course map ). Camping is provided in the park located in a separate area.
Cons: Course has long walking if you play all 27 holes. Easy to loose discs off of the plateau area. If you are not a skilled player I can see it wearing you down both physically and mentally. Hard to navigate w/out a map. Trash laying around. CROWDED!!!
Other Thoughts: I do drink beer and I don't care if others do too... but I found lots of beer cans that people tie together on string etc and fling them up in the tree branches so they dangle from them. Which is a turn off in my opinion. Please try and keep our Oregon courses green and clean.

The camping spots are well kept and reasonably priced located to a different side about a 3 minute drive to the park from the course(s). I live in Beaverton and the drive to the park was about 25 minutes and I recommend doing the drive during the day sunlight hours as it is hard to find the campsite at night time.

Other than that this is my favorite course... truly beautiful and a blast to play. I recommend it for novice to advance players as a MUST HIT!!!

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center