Estacada, OR 
Milo McIver State Park (Riverbend DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 455ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Best in the Portland Area

1    10/5/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: Longfellow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Played through Milo for the first time yesterday and it definitely won't be the last! Incredible views of snow capped Mt. Hood along Springwater Rd. on the way to course. The crystal clear Clackamas river runs along edge of park and there are plenty of giant trees and healthy native groundcover plants throughout the course.

What I liked
-The grounds are very well kept.
-4-5 Clean restroom buildings spaced perfectly throughout the course.
-The Pro and Am tees are all concrete and a generous size. Some of the pro tees actually add additional challenges (trees, 45 - 90 degree turns, +150') to the hole. At several courses I've played, the pro tees are basically the same shot but simply 50-100' further from the pin.
-There is a decent variety of shots, straight on with a few tall trees, long with patches of mixed foliage, short but heavily treed; all holes have obstacles despite some being 250-400' down an open field then ducking into the woods to approach the pin.
-There are two epic drives from the top of an ~30 ft. hill down into a field which are a lot of fun. Great ego booster to throw your disc an extra 100+ ft.
Cons: -The layout is extremely confusing due to the staff trying to re-number the course into two separate 18 (east) and 9 hole (west) courses. It appeared the pro/am tees for #10E weren't clearly labeled and the some of the pins have 1-27 layout numbers while others don't have any marking.
-Litter wasn't a huge issue but there was some lying around.
-Strange lady at the picnic shelter was not friendly.
Other Thoughts: I feel like it wouldn't take much time for someone to at least try and make things clearer on the course map... then maybe work on labeling the pins and / or clarifying all the pro/am tees with directional guidance for which way to go once you get to the pin.

All in all an excellent mix of long (2 full blast drives to pin), mid distance moderately technical shots, short very technical shots and wide open field drives with more challenging pin approaches. The course makes use of almost every method you could possibly use to throw. I will definitely return to Milo in the future and highly recommend it to experienced players. It could be very frustrating for beginners and getting a par on any of the holes from the amateur tees would be a feat for newer players.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Run & Gun

5+    9/16/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 68  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has it all with many mature trees and a river runs through it (the water does not come into play unless your shot is errant). The fairways are wide, but if you end up in the woods it's all over. You need either a huge arm or accuracy with rollers. All tee boxes are cement, but it's 10K ft. from the short tees and 12K ft. from the long tees. As it should be, the second shot is often the make or break shot. Some of the short holes are easy and some are guarded by an army of small trees. I loved #9 and #27 shooting off the perch as precision is still needed. This was a PDGA tour stop recently. I have been playing since 2002 and could not shoot par from the short tees. The distance and the trees make this one of the most challenging courses I have ever played. If you are a beginner don't be discouraged if you shoot +27, it is that hard.
Cons: I knocked this course down a smidge because there is a lot of elevation and woods in the park that are not utilized. The pictures on this site are old, but demonstrate the difficulty of the many blind shots. I ran with my buddy and he knew where to go, but without him I would have been lost. Whoever decided to make McIver two courses, chose poorly. The signs were still confusing as some of them are by the long tees. The park is in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: I have seen deer during dusk several times. The course is so long it is a great workout. I played it twice to beat my first score. It's worth a trip.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 92  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.3 Years
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Pro and amateur teepads, and multiple pin placements
- Mowed fairways, and the rough isn't too rough
- Beautiful park setting along the Clackamas River, with many amenities
- Excellent flow (with the exception of the recent split into east & west layouts)
Cons:
- Too many wide-open fairways
- Very long (I realize this is not a "con" to everyone)
- Goofy split layout; many locals play the original 27 holes in order, which can lead to confusion
- Crowded on weekends; litter can be a problem
Other Thoughts:
McIver is a tricky course for me to review. I acknowledge that it's an excellent disc golf course, and it looks beautiful. In fact, it looks a lot like a ball golf course (which it originally was intended to be, decades ago). The fact that most holes have both short and long teepads -- which often make a significant difference in how the hole plays -- is a huge plus. (It's surprising, really, how FEW courses have two sets of pads.) And Milo McIver State Park has tons of amenities: picnic areas, camping, fishing, etc. All that stuff is an advantage for sure, and it helps make this a "destination" course.

But... personally, I often don't have all that much FUN at McIver. When I finish 27 holes here, I feel exhausted; I've never said, "hey, let's go around again," which I always do when playing at, for example, Timber Park. Too many holes at McIver follow the same pattern: try to throw a very long drive out into a wide-open fairway, then throw a long approach shot at a basket which is right at the edge of the woods. My favorite holes at McIver are the 3 or 4 completely forested ones in the middle, and I wish there were more of those.

Overall, I agree that, if only because of the physical setting, this is one of the must-play courses for people visiting the Portland area. And I think it's probably a 5-star course for pros and other golfers with big arms. But from the perspective of a Portlander who only throws about 300', I know there are other places I can play around here where I won't feel like I'm blowing out my arm on every hole, and where I'll have a chance at a few more birdies.

I guess what it comes down to is this: McIver is a tough disc golf course. Whether that's good or bad depends on your expectations, your style of play, even your mood on any given day. Plan accordingly!

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 It doesn't get any better!

5+    8/11/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: ~ Long Holes and Short Holes
~ Technical Holes and Open Field Shots
~ Always in GREAT condition
~ Great use of Elevation and Obstacles
~ Two pads on most holes
~ Multiple pin locations keeps things fresh.
~ Map/Score Card provided at the Ranger Station
Cons: ~ My score on this course!
~ Difficult to navigate w/o a map (don't use the map on this site as it is out of date. Go to the Ranger Station, they have a new map/score card)
~ $3.00 State Park Day Use Fee (per vehicle)
Other Thoughts: Beware the SCA! These ppl bring in a couple hundred members and camp out on top of 2-3 holes which makes for navigating the course a pain. This summer I've run into them twice. They're good ppl, but I wish they were't obstucting my course :)

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 27 Holes of Bliss.....

2-4    7/21/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For those who truly want to get away from it all - and find it all! 27 holes that primarily roll through a massive terrain of fields bordered by forest and then a few that put you into incredibly tight woods to throw you off. The folks who like to air it out will have a hey day here - but watch out for the rough that will add strokes to poor shots! You will have a variety of shots (some with elevation) to keep you busy here. My favorite holes played from the hill that contains holes 2, 3, 6 & 9 - two of them short and very woody, and 2 that launch off the hill into fields. The Clackamas river borders the east end of the park and is a gooood cooldown on a summer day.

The red DiscCatcher baskets with red flags on them are a nice addition - they are VERY visible from a distance.
Cons: Some of the holes are pretty silly long. I don't mind so much, but hole #4 and #8 on the West course are probably the biggest yawners on the course, as they are open and with barely any trees in the fairway.

Navigation can be tricky - absolutely print a map. There are two maps on this site - use the one that has says "18 hole layout". It lists the 9 hole West course and the 18 hole East course. The other "Course Map/Scorecard" shows the OLD 27 hole layout, but you will be totally confused by the numbers as most don't match. I recommend playing the East 18, then driving to the far West Parking lot and playing that East 9 if you are a first timer.


Other Thoughts: I wish the flow would be 1-27 that included the front 9 and then just finished through 27. Those that want to play just a few holes will have their 9, and the people who want to play "fat" can finish out the other 18. It would improve flow, make navigation easier, and still allow a parking spot to accommodate the entire loop.

Camping is available at the park for both tents and RV's. We once found good camping 4 miles down the road at Metzler Park (but had to pay the fee again at Milo the next day).

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging! Even for Pros

5+    8/16/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 42  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent variation in hole distances, some where less than 200 and some were greater than 1000.
- Great variation in hole placement. The course had multiple holes that were long and open, as well as multiple that were short and heavily wooded. As well as holes that were in between.
- The baskets and teepads, as well as signage, were all well maintained.
- I loved that the pro-tees made the holes harder than the ammature teepads, sometimes, courses with am and pro tees only differentiate then by adding distance, but the course designer took that into consideration as well as changing angles and in some cases even raising them and putting them on a hill.
- Very little foot traffic. I was there on a Saturday and a Sunday and I only ran into one or two people that I had to let play through and that was because they were playing the 27 hole layout and caught up to me that way.
Cons: - I played the course as the west 9 and the east 18 as that was what was printed on the course map on hole 1, and it was kind of confusing. After every hole I had to look at the map to see where I was going next. Some signs with arrows would go a long way in adding to the functionality of this course for first timers.
Other Thoughts: This is an absolutely fantastic course and I would recommend it to anyone that hasn't just started playing the game. The long holes might discourage them from wanting to play anymore, but more advanced players will have an amazing time looking at the scenary and marveling at the the wonderfully terrifying long holes.

*Update: after playing the Beaver State Fling layout, this course earned it's last half of a disc to make it a 5 star course. The "Genius Hole" alone makes this course worth visiting.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Love Milo

2-4    5/15/2006   7/27/2009
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Choice of courses, combination of long and open and tight and short, beautiful landscape, great parking!!!
Cons: Public park and people are clueless as to that they are walking in a fairway when you are trying to tee-off.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course I've Ever Played

2-4    5/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 80  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: I can't say enough about this course, by far the best I've played. Excellent shot variety, good mix of length and technicality. Awesome design, well maintained, challenging yet rewarding.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If I had to choose one course to play every day for the rest of my life, this would be the one. Super challenging, but allows for scoring. I've only played it twice, and it was right before the Beaver State Fling, so I don't know if it's always so well maintained, but I was super impressed with the condition of the course. Must-play course, worth traveling for.

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses ever made.

1    5/18/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 228  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a challenge for even pro players with the massive length, dog legs and technical holes. Very well maintained course and very beautiful along the river there. Mostly flat but there is a couple of hills that the course uses to tee of from on a couple of holes. Excellent signs and giant tee pads to accomodate even you players that use a complete turn around or multiple step run up. There is so much room here you could have another hole from the last hole to the next tee pad or from the pro tee to the amateur tee! I love mowed fairways and water hazards, that is here with just about everything else you could want from a course.
Cons: There are twenty seven holes here but they have divided it into a nine hole and an eighteen hole course and some people still play it the twenty seven hole way and with multiple tees you can't be sure where people are playing too. It is a little tough to navigate for a first time and anyone less than an advanced player will be frustrated by the length and difficulty.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most diffucult and fun courses I have ever played. Bring lots of water and a snack or two if you are planning to play all 27. new players might get frustrated here so beware. This maybe the best course in Oregon.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Milo McIver (Riverbend) State Park

5+    5/22/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 195  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 15.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated along the scenic Clackamas River, Milo McIver State Park is only 45 minutes away from downtown Portland. This beautiful park provides a variety of outstanding recreational opportunities including a pro caliber disc golf course featuring an incredible diversity of holes. You'll find holes ranging from tight wooded fairways to 800+ foot monsters. This course will test even the best touring pro golfer. Course maintenance provided by Stumptown Disc Golf and the Oregon State Parks staff at Milo McIver.

With so many pros to this course here are just some worth coming for:

•Overall beauty of the course, mountains, and river making the experience absolutely breathtaking
•Challenging holes ranging from 175-1196 feet
•Includes several par 3,4 and even an incredible par 5
•Pro and Am (cement) tee pads w/ the exception of a few rubber pads that are to be replaced, as well as DISCatchers that are in good shape
•Multiple layouts including 9 west, 18 east, local 27 (starting on hole one of the west course) and the most epic of them all the duel 18 hole layout for the Beaver State Fling.
•Camping for only $17.00 a night
•Restrooms, benches, trash cans, overall maintenance
•Parking, parking, and more parking
•Very friendly locals and great local DG clubs
•Amazing tournaments that are world class
•Timber Park DGC only 1 mile away
Cons: This course truly is one of the best if not the best in the Northwest and with that being said it is very difficult to find many flaws with this course. As others have stated, at times it can be somewhat difficult to navigate without a map (can be printed out from course links) so unless you are a local or are quite familiar with the course I would highly recommend coming prepared or it will be a long day. I hope that one day there will be signs that come up from the ground and are easy to locate but for now we must make do with what we have. It is well worth such a minor pain to play a course that brings so much happiness to all.
Other Thoughts: This is a State Park and requires a daily parking permit. Permits are available at the park entrance for $3.00 a day. It is the player's responsibility to have and display a park permit. Day passes are strictly enforced. Parking permit is included with your camping fee. Wood can be purchased when camping for $6.00 a bundle on site. Commemorative discs can be purchased at the ranger station so just look for the signs.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.