Rutledge, GA 
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #7 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 162ft.   3 / 330ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Indian Creek

5+    6/9/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A hidden jewel in the country, this course is well worth the drive. This piece of property screams out for disc golf and if you like elevation change this is the place for you.
The course is well maintained with multiple pads at most holes, all are concrete. A nice touch is the hole sponsorships by local businesses on the pads. I would like to see more businesses get involved in the sport this way. There are signs at each pad with distances given. The course is very clean with nice bathrooms and playground up top for the kids. You will probably have the place to yourself as you are definitely out in the country. Navigating the course flows fairly well with just a couple of exceptions.
I really enjoy the design of this course, it has been well thought out with plenty of challenge for all players. Half the holes here will significantly play either longer or shorter than posted distance due to the hills. The other half is flat but will require you to work your disc around trees or the creek playing along three of the holes. There are lines available on all the holes, some will give you a choice hyzer or anhyzer, a couple will require some imagination. I especially like hole #15 with the basket on about a ten foot high hill and hole #7 that can be reached by a strong dive but you will have to challenge the trees and creek to do so. There are Ace opportunities and plenty of trouble to get into if you hit a tree. In my opinion a very good test of your disc golf skills.
Cons: A few "Next tee" signs would go a long way here. The pads seemed a little short but wide to me. While the sponsorship of holes by local businesses was great the signs on the pads got in the way occasionally. Benches and trash cans would be nice but this is one of the cleanest courses I have seen.
Other Thoughts: While this is a very fun course in my opinion I would not call this a beginner friendly course. The "red" tees help but I would recommend developing some skill and stamina before tackling this course. You will definitely want to bring water along with you and expect some real steep hill climbing. However if you are ready for physical demands, don't miss your opportunity to play here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Unique elevation through the Woods

5+    12/18/2011   12/18/2011
Review By: georgesummers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well maintained tees and baskets. Am and Pro layouts make a good course for beginners and advanced players.
At its best the course design blends huge elevation changes in a woods course thats truly unique. The downhill and uphill tunnel shots offered truly tesy your ability to throw straight shots.
Cons: At its worst the course seems the course design is senseless walk up the hill up and walk down the hill. A few holes have no clear defined line and are just throw and hope holes. A very tiring course. Not a great place to play 3+ rounds.
Other Thoughts: Some spectacular holes mixed with a lot of uphill trudging, but in the end the good holes are worth the effort.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking the hills

2-4    6/14/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was really nice. Fun to play with a group instead of play alone atleast you can take breaks in between tees.
Cons: Seems like I can bring up more fins about this course than pros,but there high weeds and not alot of trash cans.if you need water Bildungsroman enough till you get back to the top of the hill no water down near the front 9. 15 isn't that basket on that dirt mound a little ridiculous. I'll stick with my local courses here in Tennessee.
Other Thoughts: Will play again because my family lives in morgan county

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential not quite realized

1    4/21/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area of a large park, so there aren't conflicts with other park users. Half of the course plays on a steep wooded hillside, the other half plays in a flat meadow with mature trees and a creek. A couple holes have the creek as a nice obstacle that adds some risk. Most of the meadow holes have enough trees that you have to shape interesting lines to get to the pin. The hill holes have tight woods and harsh punishment for errant shots.

There's a decent variety of hole lengths here, with some ace runs and a couple long holes that will require multiple drives for many players. You'll need a pretty complete set of shots to score well, with a balanced set of right and left turning holes and some straight shots. The concrete pads were in great shape with brooms at every tee, and the signs at both long and short tees had the hole number and distance.
Cons: The up and down holes are great to add challenge and fun, but they get a little repetitive with lots of straight shots that feel very similar. There's room for some fun cross hill shots, and holes that would use the hill along with more creative lines. The flat area of the course is full of weeds and tall grasses that seem to grow quickly, and this area seems to hold water after a rain. There's a nice map at the beginning of the course, take a look as there are a few spots where navigation is a little odd. There are some erosion issues on the hilly holes, it's going to be tough to combat that on such steep slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had fun here, especially with some of the nice elevation holes. There are some areas where the course could be even more fun and interesting. Beginners might be a little daunted by the steep hills and thick woods, but several holes have shorter tees that make the lengths a little more manageable. More experienced players will find some challenges, though it can get a bit repetitive at times.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent New Course

1    1/27/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek Park is a really solid tightly wooded challenge which incorporates several of the park's best features including steep valleys and hills and the mixture of dense pines and more open areas. All of this sets the course up nicely in terms of the variety of shots required for hot rounds and has a punishing factor (in the tighter pockets of trees) which is adequate to cause significant concern after poor drives.

Amenities: Everything is brand spankin' new so all of the baskets, concrete tees, and maps available to assist with navigation.

Loop-de-loop: Because of the taxing nature of the hills here, it is pretty nice to have the course make 2x nine hole loops so you can visit the car during a round. I'd imagine on a hot Georgia summer day, you'd be sucking down water pretty quick on this course!

Exclusively disc golf: The section of the park that the disc golf course is located on is unlikely to be used by many non-discers. Fairways are mostly pretty dense woods and so other park users are likely to stay near the 'front' of the park and likely only the occasional dog-walker will pose a problem.
Cons: One of my main issues with this course is the unrealized potential for a couple of really nice multiple-shot par four (or even par five) holes. The land to make this happen appears to be available and the awesome wooded alleys could make for a few really nice drive-landing zone combinations. If I remember correctly, there were only two holes which I felt I would be unlikely to reach the putting green from my drive (hole 15 and 17 I think, very late in the course) and on one of them (15) the drive required to get an easy par was just too easy. Out of many rounds, I could imagine scoring a high number of threes on this hole, a very unlikely two every once in a while, and only a few fours. This sets up for a hole that just doesn't have the power to separate out scores effectively. Add a bit of distance (or subtract a bit of distance) and this hole would play better for the higher amateur and pro-level player.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Indian Creek Park is a great course and the designer has done an excellent job in showcasing the best aspects of this beautiful park. Newer players may get a bit frustrated with some of the tigher holes, especially on the back nine, but will likely survive without too much pain as there at least is not very much thick rough. Experienced players will find this course quite challenging and will have to test out lines and execute with precision to rack up birdies.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.