Rutledge, GA 
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #12 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 336ft.   3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Home course

2-4    5/25/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well for me its less than 5 in from my house
-Great flowing layout (not a lot of tee boxes you have to look for) and the course starts and ends within 30 feet of the parking lot whoever layed out and ordered the holes put some thought into it
-Priviate sponsorship of each hole from different Churches businesses and individuals is a neat touch and another way to identify the holes (TK's tire and auto Hole for example)
-good mix of highly wooded and lightly wooded holes (one or two open holes)
-almost never played I have only seen another individual/group playing once all the times I've been out there
lots of walking distance to cover so a good workout
-Grass on the Fairways stays cut and the course seems to be maintained well.
lots of shade available and the grass and water tend to keep the temp down even on a hot day most of the course feels cool and covered
Cons: -tons of briers and thorny trees keep it on the fairways or wear pants. (don't hit the brush on 15 or 16 its all thorns)
-Floodplain on the front 9 (especially hole 8) can hold water
-quite a few sink holes from fallen trees on the wooded holes and such that can catch disc (and ankles) if your not careful.
-a few of the par ratings (most notable 12,5 and 9) seem a little low there are only 2 par 4s on the course 17 & 18 and several holes seem a lot harder than the last two. I'm not a pro or even a good player but I think making 12 a par 4 would make the scores a lot better
Other Thoughts: Its worth the trip to play this one if you haven't already a little more upkeep on the tee signs and maybe one or two longer holes (par 4/5) would make the course perfect.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A tale of 2 (maybe 2 1/2) courses

5+    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: damtroll
Played: 115  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is one of my favorites in greater Atlanta metro for several reasons. The course starts just off the parking lot for the park. Hole 1 is a fun downhill ace run with your putter that leads you down to the Indian Creek floodplain for holes 2-8. These holes are mostly open with strategically placed trees. Hole 9 takes you back uphill to the parking lot for refreshments or a pit stop. Hole 10 bombs back downhill, hole 11 is back in the floodplain, and the holes 12-14 go up, down, and back up the hill. (Hole 12 is one of the hardest par 3's i have played, with the steep upslope off the tee. Holes 15 and 16 are basically level, and the your are back down and up for 17 and 18.
Good tee pads and Disccatchers. Some people have commented about the signs on the actual teepads, but they don't bother me.
Nice course flow, with hole 9 heading back to the parking lot.
Some of the holes (3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, 17, and 18) have two tee pads. I like the concept of partial multiple tee pads. Not every hole needs two tee pads, but some holes give a different look off the short pad.
The course just seems to be a lot of fun. From the initial ace run on 1 to the epic uphill and downhill shots on the back 9, it is flat out fun.

Cons: The course is in the middle of nowhere. I am not sure if that is a plus or a minus, but the course doesn't seem to get much play from the times I have been out there.
The floodplain holes (2-8, 11) do have a tendency to hold water. The little stream in from of 8's basket is particularly annoying.
Holes 5 and 7 put the creek into play. If you do happen to throw an errant shot into the water, that slick Georgia clay on the steep creek banks is a real bear to climb in and out of.
Holes 15 and 16 were logged off last summer. There are very few trees on those holes, and subsequently, these holes are a lot easier than they used to be.
Some of the tee signs are either down or missing.
Other Thoughts: The course is really a forgotten gem in the Atlanta courses. (Maybe because of its rural location.) Of the Atlanta area course I have played, I would rank it in the top 3 of those I have played, along with Perkerson and NGCT.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Run to the hills!

2-4    2/21/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man this course has elevation. So much of it.

Seemingly infinite amounts of ups and downs come into play on almost every hole on the back 9.

The course starts off with a gentle downhill hole, and then 2-8 play along a mix of open and wooded holes located around a floodplain. It can get pretty mushy out here even after a relatively light rain but it's not unplayable by any means in those scenarios.

Nice teepads that are flush with the ground. A huge plus that seems so basic that so many courses manage to mess up.

I really love the balance of the front and back 9's. It keeps the course from feeling overbearing with the elevation on the back half.
Cons: I'm not quite sure what they were thinking with the teesign locations. Some of them are real stupid. Literally directly behind the teepad, maybe off to the side so you can slam your arm on it on the follow-thru. It's nothing I've had any troubles with but It's still extremely annoying and it's something you need to have in the back of your head a bit.

Speaking of teesigns, there's no map on them. This usually wouldn't be a huge deal but on a course with so much up and down, not being able to see the pin from the tee is really annoying. You have to run up the hill a pretty good ways to get an idea of where you're going on a couple of holes which is a huge pain in the ass.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course with a really fun layout. Nothing feels blatantly unfair or overly challenging.

You'll definitely want to try and snag a few birdies early on as some of the holes can get pretty tough, especially when fatigue may start to wear in.

I've played this course once in the summer and once in the winter. Playing out here in the summer can be pretty brutal, the sheer amount of hills along with the Georgia heat & humidity is no joke, so come prepared!

The park is beautiful and out of the two times I've been there, there has not been a single soul doing any other activities in it. This probably has to do with the fact that this course is truly in the middle of nowhere, but don't let that deter you from playing it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    11/29/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a variety of shots , easy to navigate and holes are visible from tees . Nicely maintained park .
Cons: Several holes will test your cardio - as they are extremely uphill .
Other Thoughts: Good location between ATL and AUG .

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Into Indian Creek

2-4    4/20/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 242  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek DGC is an excellent course that has the kind of variety and nice facilities to make it extremely enjoyable. Converging 9's start and end near the parking lot. All of the tee pads are concrete, two on some holes, with distance signs. Baskets are all in nice shape. Scorecards were available near the first hole. A couple of trash cans and brooms are on the course. A picnic pavilion, playground and restroom are near the parking lot.

The course itself is very well conceived, and lots of fun. Challenges include elevation change, water on a couple of holes, and a few long ones. Front nine starts with a steep downhill run that gives ace run possibilities. Holes two through eight are on flat grassy terrain with medium tree density. Some more open then others, with five, six, and seven being the closest to the water. Eight is the longest on the front, but fairly open, and nine takes you back uphill toward the parking area. The back nine is more challenging overall, but there are birdie chances sprinkled in. Ten is a long downhill drive with a beautiful fairway. Eleven plays on the flat, and twelve, thirteen and fourteen are up, down, and back up the hillside. Twelve is fairly steep and long. Thirteen is like one, but shorter and steeper. Fifteen is flatter, but lengthy, and the target sits atop an eight foot mound, which added three putts to my scorecard, regrettably. Sixteen is also flatter and reachable for a birdie. Seventeen is the longest hole down hill with a somewhat narrow fairway that bends right. Eighteen finishes up the hill for the last time, also a long one.

I think the blend is perfect on this course. Some flat shots that are not total filler holes, and I particularly like the elevation factor when its in play. The fairways have enough woods to force multiple shot shapes, but are still generous enough to make shots.
Cons: Some areas were muddy and soft or puddled from rain the day before, but not too bad considering. The tree on seven always kicks my disc over the creek, but it is still my favorite hole on the front nine. The up and down hiking is somewhat strenuous, if that is an issue. The uphill shots play long, and woods are almost ever-present obstacles, so lack of control may add frustration for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Liked Indian Creek DGC very much, played it for the third time last weekend, and hope to return again. Every part of your game will likely be tested, and the course is maintained quite nicely. Not crowded on the lovely April morning we visited.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Georgia Gem

2-4    11/22/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 20.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, well designed course in whic h the topography of the land is highlighted through disc golf.

18 quality baskets

Concrete tee pads, with several holes having both a pro and am teepad.

Benches to rest

Bathrooms

Figure 8 design that allows access back to the car after hole 9
Cons: I like the fact that the course displays its sponsors so prominetally on the baskets but I wish the sponsor signs were on the tee posts rather than the teepads. I found myself thinking about them during my run up on certain holes.

No trash cans except by the parking lot.

Other Thoughts: This course is a real treat. It is real fun to play and it features disc golf not usually seen in GA. If you find yourself going east bound on I-20 towards the IDGC-make a stop and play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of Nowhere Canopy Course

1    8/4/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: mouseclone
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: In GA the biggest pro during the summer time is the shade. This course will keep the sun from you 95% of the time.

The course is well kelp. The burn seems to have taking out the majority of the under brush which makes for a really clean course.

I'm a big fan of trees and this course is full of them. A great first time out experience.
Cons: Water and bathrooms are a hike away from if you are in the middle of playing the front or back 9.
Other Thoughts: The drive is well worth it.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A workout in the shade

1    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept grounds, beautiful course. As clean as I've seen. Plenty of shade from the tons of woods. Great for practicing up hill and down hill throws. Ownership is awesome! They really care for the land and for the players!
The front Nine ends at the parking lot aswell as the back nine. Making it the perfect course if your looking for a long or short game!
Cons: Prepair to work out on this one, folks! Lots of up and down hill play. And that's my only con, all except for this place being out in the middle of nowhere. Prepair to drive, but know that it'll be worth it!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've been to! Bring lots of water! They have a fountain there if you need!
Also this place is very well maintained. So let's all do our part to keep it that way! Its refreshing to step on the pin and not have to worry about picking glass out of my shoes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So much fun I played it in the Rain

1    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best maintained course I have ever seen. New, Crisp, and well funded. This course was built the community. Sponsors on each hole, Brooms on each poured concrete pad. The layout was pretty intuitive. I couldn't believe some of the spectacular shots that they had laid out. Really a prime course in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere. i didn't see any water to drink, and it holds water really well. Some places were nigh on swampy. Huge hills on the back 9 made it really treacherous in the rain. This is a physical chug-a-lug through the back 9.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 and back 9 both begin and end at the parking lot. I thought that was really convenient. This course blew my mind. Where did it come from? Who was inspired, and connected enough to make such a high quality course? He deserves a hug, because this is a Hidden Georgia Gem.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up and down...up and down...

1    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extreme elevation makes some short holes long and some long holes short.
Great tee pads and baskets.
Good map at the beginning of the course and on the back of the provided score cards.
Great fairways and seemingly perfectly placed trees which makes line shaping a must.
Short and long tees on several holes.
Cool elevated basket on 15.
Nice variety of shots required.
2 distinct 9 hole loops.
Cons: Some of the major uphills could probably have used a short tee but I understand it would be hard to place them.
The flatlands on 2-8 seem like they could easily flood.
The creek along 6 has mega steep banks, I know keep it on the fairway...but if you don't expect to pay.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent, well designed course. You start by throwing off the top of the world and then work yoru way through a very green, flat meadow with a lot of old trees to weave your way through. Most holes don't give you a straight line to throw, you have to throw a flex or slight turnover shot which makes the course a decent challenge.
When you get to 9 you get the pleasure of throwing back up the monster hill.
10-18 are the Hyde (or is it Jeckell? It's the evil one I am speaking of) of the course. You get another gorgeous downhill on 10 but with a lot more distance and a sweet dogleg. You then proceed up and down several times.
15 has a large mound that the basket is mounted on (I nailed a huge 35' putt on this one). 17 and 18 are the longest, one a massive right dogleg downhill and then 18 playing back up to the finish.

All in all a must play, worth the 1+hour drive. We will be back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.