Rutledge, GA 
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #2 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Run to the hills!

2-4    2/21/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man this course has elevation. So much of it.

Seemingly infinite amounts of ups and downs come into play on almost every hole on the back 9.

The course starts off with a gentle downhill hole, and then 2-8 play along a mix of open and wooded holes located around a floodplain. It can get pretty mushy out here even after a relatively light rain but it's not unplayable by any means in those scenarios.

Nice teepads that are flush with the ground. A huge plus that seems so basic that so many courses manage to mess up.

I really love the balance of the front and back 9's. It keeps the course from feeling overbearing with the elevation on the back half.
Cons: I'm not quite sure what they were thinking with the teesign locations. Some of them are real stupid. Literally directly behind the teepad, maybe off to the side so you can slam your arm on it on the follow-thru. It's nothing I've had any troubles with but It's still extremely annoying and it's something you need to have in the back of your head a bit.

Speaking of teesigns, there's no map on them. This usually wouldn't be a huge deal but on a course with so much up and down, not being able to see the pin from the tee is really annoying. You have to run up the hill a pretty good ways to get an idea of where you're going on a couple of holes which is a huge pain in the ass.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course with a really fun layout. Nothing feels blatantly unfair or overly challenging.

You'll definitely want to try and snag a few birdies early on as some of the holes can get pretty tough, especially when fatigue may start to wear in.

I've played this course once in the summer and once in the winter. Playing out here in the summer can be pretty brutal, the sheer amount of hills along with the Georgia heat & humidity is no joke, so come prepared!

The park is beautiful and out of the two times I've been there, there has not been a single soul doing any other activities in it. This probably has to do with the fact that this course is truly in the middle of nowhere, but don't let that deter you from playing it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    11/29/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a variety of shots , easy to navigate and holes are visible from tees . Nicely maintained park .
Cons: Several holes will test your cardio - as they are extremely uphill .
Other Thoughts: Good location between ATL and AUG .

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Into Indian Creek

2-4    4/20/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 237  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek DGC is an excellent course that has the kind of variety and nice facilities to make it extremely enjoyable. Converging 9's start and end near the parking lot. All of the tee pads are concrete, two on some holes, with distance signs. Baskets are all in nice shape. Scorecards were available near the first hole. A couple of trash cans and brooms are on the course. A picnic pavilion, playground and restroom are near the parking lot.

The course itself is very well conceived, and lots of fun. Challenges include elevation change, water on a couple of holes, and a few long ones. Front nine starts with a steep downhill run that gives ace run possibilities. Holes two through eight are on flat grassy terrain with medium tree density. Some more open then others, with five, six, and seven being the closest to the water. Eight is the longest on the front, but fairly open, and nine takes you back uphill toward the parking area. The back nine is more challenging overall, but there are birdie chances sprinkled in. Ten is a long downhill drive with a beautiful fairway. Eleven plays on the flat, and twelve, thirteen and fourteen are up, down, and back up the hillside. Twelve is fairly steep and long. Thirteen is like one, but shorter and steeper. Fifteen is flatter, but lengthy, and the target sits atop an eight foot mound, which added three putts to my scorecard, regrettably. Sixteen is also flatter and reachable for a birdie. Seventeen is the longest hole down hill with a somewhat narrow fairway that bends right. Eighteen finishes up the hill for the last time, also a long one.

I think the blend is perfect on this course. Some flat shots that are not total filler holes, and I particularly like the elevation factor when its in play. The fairways have enough woods to force multiple shot shapes, but are still generous enough to make shots.
Cons: Some areas were muddy and soft or puddled from rain the day before, but not too bad considering. The tree on seven always kicks my disc over the creek, but it is still my favorite hole on the front nine. The up and down hiking is somewhat strenuous, if that is an issue. The uphill shots play long, and woods are almost ever-present obstacles, so lack of control may add frustration for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Liked Indian Creek DGC very much, played it for the third time last weekend, and hope to return again. Every part of your game will likely be tested, and the course is maintained quite nicely. Not crowded on the lovely April morning we visited.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Georgia Gem

2-4    11/22/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, well designed course in whic h the topography of the land is highlighted through disc golf.

18 quality baskets

Concrete tee pads, with several holes having both a pro and am teepad.

Benches to rest

Bathrooms

Figure 8 design that allows access back to the car after hole 9
Cons: I like the fact that the course displays its sponsors so prominetally on the baskets but I wish the sponsor signs were on the tee posts rather than the teepads. I found myself thinking about them during my run up on certain holes.

No trash cans except by the parking lot.

Other Thoughts: This course is a real treat. It is real fun to play and it features disc golf not usually seen in GA. If you find yourself going east bound on I-20 towards the IDGC-make a stop and play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of Nowhere Canopy Course

1    8/4/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: mouseclone
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: In GA the biggest pro during the summer time is the shade. This course will keep the sun from you 95% of the time.

The course is well kelp. The burn seems to have taking out the majority of the under brush which makes for a really clean course.

I'm a big fan of trees and this course is full of them. A great first time out experience.
Cons: Water and bathrooms are a hike away from if you are in the middle of playing the front or back 9.
Other Thoughts: The drive is well worth it.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A workout in the shade

1    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept grounds, beautiful course. As clean as I've seen. Plenty of shade from the tons of woods. Great for practicing up hill and down hill throws. Ownership is awesome! They really care for the land and for the players!
The front Nine ends at the parking lot aswell as the back nine. Making it the perfect course if your looking for a long or short game!
Cons: Prepair to work out on this one, folks! Lots of up and down hill play. And that's my only con, all except for this place being out in the middle of nowhere. Prepair to drive, but know that it'll be worth it!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've been to! Bring lots of water! They have a fountain there if you need!
Also this place is very well maintained. So let's all do our part to keep it that way! Its refreshing to step on the pin and not have to worry about picking glass out of my shoes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So much fun I played it in the Rain

1    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best maintained course I have ever seen. New, Crisp, and well funded. This course was built the community. Sponsors on each hole, Brooms on each poured concrete pad. The layout was pretty intuitive. I couldn't believe some of the spectacular shots that they had laid out. Really a prime course in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere. i didn't see any water to drink, and it holds water really well. Some places were nigh on swampy. Huge hills on the back 9 made it really treacherous in the rain. This is a physical chug-a-lug through the back 9.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 and back 9 both begin and end at the parking lot. I thought that was really convenient. This course blew my mind. Where did it come from? Who was inspired, and connected enough to make such a high quality course? He deserves a hug, because this is a Hidden Georgia Gem.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up and down...up and down...

1    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extreme elevation makes some short holes long and some long holes short.
Great tee pads and baskets.
Good map at the beginning of the course and on the back of the provided score cards.
Great fairways and seemingly perfectly placed trees which makes line shaping a must.
Short and long tees on several holes.
Cool elevated basket on 15.
Nice variety of shots required.
2 distinct 9 hole loops.
Cons: Some of the major uphills could probably have used a short tee but I understand it would be hard to place them.
The flatlands on 2-8 seem like they could easily flood.
The creek along 6 has mega steep banks, I know keep it on the fairway...but if you don't expect to pay.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent, well designed course. You start by throwing off the top of the world and then work yoru way through a very green, flat meadow with a lot of old trees to weave your way through. Most holes don't give you a straight line to throw, you have to throw a flex or slight turnover shot which makes the course a decent challenge.
When you get to 9 you get the pleasure of throwing back up the monster hill.
10-18 are the Hyde (or is it Jeckell? It's the evil one I am speaking of) of the course. You get another gorgeous downhill on 10 but with a lot more distance and a sweet dogleg. You then proceed up and down several times.
15 has a large mound that the basket is mounted on (I nailed a huge 35' putt on this one). 17 and 18 are the longest, one a massive right dogleg downhill and then 18 playing back up to the finish.

All in all a must play, worth the 1+hour drive. We will be back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well done design

1    1/1/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This brand new course looks like its been in the ground a lot longer than it has, so I can't wait to see what it will look like once its fully broken in. New courses in heavily wooded areas will often be very rough for a couple of years after opening, but this one is a great example of how to install a course. Seemingly every fairway was completely cleared of trees, stumps ground out and the ground tilled up and flattened -- so there are great fairways on every hole.

Nice concrete teepads and excellent signage. Easy to navigate; almost all baskets & lines visible from the teepads. Dual teepads on some holes. Great flow: Two loops of 9 holes that start and finish in the same area. Outstanding amenities: brand new pavillion, grilling & picnic area and playground and indoor restroom all in the "hub" of the course -- you could bring your family and they would be entertained while you play.

Good variety of shots required, need a strong backhand and forehand shot. Excellent disc golf terrain: it's a surprisingly hilly area and the design takes advantage of the varied terrain with uphill and downhill shots.

The course is challenging for beginners and advanced players. The 1st 9 hole loop is definitely easier, but gets increasingly harder towards the end. Most holes play fair -- only 1 or 2 with somewhat ill-legit lines.

Lastly, this is a really fun course to play in a beautiful wooded setting. The 1st 9 holes play through a flood plain along a nice creek in an area that was overgrown with privet, but has been cleared back to large hardwood trees. The 2nd 9 plays up and down sometimes very steep hills; I actually felt like i was getting exercise!
Cons: Still a few trees and branches that need to come out, but not very many -- I imagine this will be remedied very quickly judging by how much work has been put into clearing the course in the short time it's been open. This was cut out of a VERY rough area with 20' high privet, but you wouldn't know it.

Some tee signs are annoyingly close to the teepads.

No practice basket

Other Thoughts: This is a great, brand new course that ranks right up there with the Atlanta area's finest courses. It seems like its way out there, but is very close to I-20 and took me approximately 45 minutes from downtown Atlanta. Quick to play -- a round takes 2 hours or less. A 3rd loop of holes would be nice and they certainly have the room; only disappointment was not seeing more multi-shot holes .... the front 9 holes were fun and short, too bad there isn't a 3rd with longer, more challenging holes that mirror the 2nd 9.



7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Creek

1    10/23/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a surprisingly fun yet challenging eighteen hole course set in the beautiful Indian Creek Park. Mature trees with a mix of hardwoods and pines set the tone for the course and offer a very peaceful setting. To score well you'll most certainly have to adapt your game to the woods and prepare yourself for a hike. Overall, this course is a pleasure to play.

The course begins with hole one's wooded 246' downhill shot and it's a perfect introduction to what lies ahead. Although the next seven holes have little to no elevation changes, you have lots of obstacles to keep yourself challenged. You'll find yourself needing a variety of shots but also find plenty of choices as far as lines go. While tight, most of the holes do have a definite line for most shot types but accuracy is required. Five, six, and seven have a creek to the right of the fairway that could come into play but it's far enough away that most will avoid getting wet. Nine through eighteen wouldn't be much different from the last seven holes but this is where the big elevation changes come into play. While there are a few level fairways on the back there are some drastic uphill and downhill shots that really stand out, some of which are quite steep. It's a great mix of ups and downs and it makes this otherwise flat wooded course much more diverse. There's an elevated basket on hole fifteen for a change of pace as well. Hole one, the hole nine and ten transition, and hole eighteen all loop around back to the parking lot which most will agree is an ideal layout for a course.

There are nice concrete tee pads on every hole including the duel pads on the 10 holes that have a shorter amateur pad as well. Tee signs are also on every hole and give distances and map out the fairway pretty well. The DISCatcher baskets are new and are in perfect shape. There's a few benches scattered around the course for a quick rest too. The areas off the fairways were pretty clean for a new course and evidently they are consistently working to continue the cleaning effort.

The park itself is really nice too. There's ample parking near the course and a very clean restroom. There's also a nice pavilion that would work well for "tournament central" if the course is hosting events. Even on a great fall day the course only had one other person playing so for now anyway, it seems that overcrowding will not be a problem.
Cons: I really have to dig pretty deep to find any major cons here. Although not completely necessary, a next tee sign would have been nice on a hole or two. As mentioned, the flow is pretty easy to follow but I did have to look around and reference the course map a few times to find the next tee.

If you are not a wooded course fan you might find the holes a tad bit repetitive. There is enough variety out here but I know a few golfers who can get "tree fatigued". In other words, there are really no "open" holes to air it out on.
Other Thoughts: Besides the course, there are other activities at the park that non-disc golf family members can do while you play so it makes it a very family friendly park. I always like that because my wife and daughter get tired of playing after a few holes and it keeps them occupied. Also just 5 minutes away is Hard Labor Creek State Park. It's a nice park to give you something else to do if you make a drive out to the area. We checked out the campsites and cabins and they were great if camping is an option for your visit.

I really liked the way they attached the hole sponsor signs to the tee pad and named the sponsor on the baskets as well. I think other courses should consider doing this too if they're looking for funds for course improvements. It would be fairly cheap advertisement for the companies and it really gets there name out there in a way other than small print on a tee sign.

Many thanks to The Morgan County Parks & Recreation Department and The Rotary Club of Morgan County for what they have done, this is a great course and a nice park. It's definitely one that will likely have you wanting to come out and play multiple times. The course is sure to be a challenging and enjoyable experience for anybody regardless of skill level. Enjoy!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.