Rutledge, GA 
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #12 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 336ft.   3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Unique elevation through the Woods

5+    12/18/2011   12/18/2011
Review By: georgesummers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well maintained tees and baskets. Am and Pro layouts make a good course for beginners and advanced players.
At its best the course design blends huge elevation changes in a woods course thats truly unique. The downhill and uphill tunnel shots offered truly tesy your ability to throw straight shots.
Cons: At its worst the course seems the course design is senseless walk up the hill up and walk down the hill. A few holes have no clear defined line and are just throw and hope holes. A very tiring course. Not a great place to play 3+ rounds.
Other Thoughts: Some spectacular holes mixed with a lot of uphill trudging, but in the end the good holes are worth the effort.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where to from here?

1    12/1/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: johndhjr71
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really liked the size of the Tee Pads. They were clearly marked as to what number each pad is once you got close enough. Liked choice of Am and Pro. We played Pro. Great layout. Excellent Flow if you know which pad to play next. Really liked the elevation on the back 9.
Cons: The course needs some Next Tee signs and arrows at each one of the baskets. We spent about 30mins total walking back and forth looking for the next tee. The only other con is the sponsor signs in the Tee Pad? Great job getting the course put in but put the signs on the post.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Should be used for more tournaments in the Mid GA area. Great course to include in a day trip to the Monty.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Georgia Gem

2-4    11/22/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 21.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, well designed course in whic h the topography of the land is highlighted through disc golf.

18 quality baskets

Concrete tee pads, with several holes having both a pro and am teepad.

Benches to rest

Bathrooms

Figure 8 design that allows access back to the car after hole 9
Cons: I like the fact that the course displays its sponsors so prominetally on the baskets but I wish the sponsor signs were on the tee posts rather than the teepads. I found myself thinking about them during my run up on certain holes.

No trash cans except by the parking lot.

Other Thoughts: This course is a real treat. It is real fun to play and it features disc golf not usually seen in GA. If you find yourself going east bound on I-20 towards the IDGC-make a stop and play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Wooded Course

2-4    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Discatcher baskets on all holes.
- There are brooms on the tees, which was a very nice touch considering the amount of debris from all the trees.
- Elevation changes on many holes (although not fully utilized *see cons*) add to the mixture of shots required.
- Decent mixture of straight, anny, and hyzer routes.
- There were Am & Pro tees on several holes.
- Shade! Lot's of trees...the canopy provides some much needed shade in the hot, sticky, summer months we have here in the south.
- The park seemed nice, well-kept, and it was quiet when I played. Quite a peaceful, sunny morning to toss it around.
Cons: - Slick tee pads. I know all concrete pads become a little slick when wet, but a few of these seemed unusally slick.
- I don't feel the elevation changes throughout the park were fully utilized. There's really only two downhill shots where you can really let it fly (#'s 10 & 17), but #'s 1 & 13 are cool holes as well. It was a bit disappointing that, outside of those holes, all elevation changes were played as uphill holes. A few uphill holes are fine, but here they are all essentially the same hole, just repeated. Throw in a couple more downhill shots, and maybe a couple of cross hill shots (one fighting against the slope, and one going with the slope), and this course could be a solid 4.
- The elevated basket on #15. I understand in some cases it's needed (i.e. an open hole in need of "something" to make it special), but here it didn't seem necessary. Tuck the basket back left into the woods, which would require a long helix shot to really get close.
- I realize the course is fairly new, and lanes are still being realized, but there are a few holes that, in my opinion, need just a little more clearing. Difficult is fine. Having to pay for errant shots is fine. However, a couple of holes (#'s 5 and 15 come to mind) really don't have a good lane. Take out one (maybe two, max) of the leg sized trees in front of 5. It wouldn't take the difficulty out of the shot, but would certainly take the luck factor out.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a solid course, and well worth the 30 min drive I took to get there. I had high hopes seeing holes 1 & 10 from the parking lot, but was somewhat let down with a few of the holes on the front, and a couple of the uphill holes on the back.

Nonetheless, there are several good holes here, and a few really good holes; #'s 10 & 17 were phenomenal holes (right up there with some of my all-time favorites). Many of the "filler" holes are short, ace-run type holes, which certainly adds to the course. I do realize that when designing a DG course, sometimes you have to utilize what you can, which isn't always a lot. In all, I feel the designer(s) of this course did a good job using the park. My critiques are nothing more than opinion, and I will certainly be playing the course again.

Favorite Holes: 1, 7, 10, 11, 13, 17

**Note: my "CON" list seems a little long, but it should be noted that I feel this course will only get better with age. If people will come out and play this course and break it in a little, it has great potential. I'm new to the area, so I'm excited about seeing how the course ages.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of Nowhere Canopy Course

1    8/4/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: mouseclone
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: In GA the biggest pro during the summer time is the shade. This course will keep the sun from you 95% of the time.

The course is well kelp. The burn seems to have taking out the majority of the under brush which makes for a really clean course.

I'm a big fan of trees and this course is full of them. A great first time out experience.
Cons: Water and bathrooms are a hike away from if you are in the middle of playing the front or back 9.
Other Thoughts: The drive is well worth it.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A workout in the shade

1    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept grounds, beautiful course. As clean as I've seen. Plenty of shade from the tons of woods. Great for practicing up hill and down hill throws. Ownership is awesome! They really care for the land and for the players!
The front Nine ends at the parking lot aswell as the back nine. Making it the perfect course if your looking for a long or short game!
Cons: Prepair to work out on this one, folks! Lots of up and down hill play. And that's my only con, all except for this place being out in the middle of nowhere. Prepair to drive, but know that it'll be worth it!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've been to! Bring lots of water! They have a fountain there if you need!
Also this place is very well maintained. So let's all do our part to keep it that way! Its refreshing to step on the pin and not have to worry about picking glass out of my shoes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So much fun I played it in the Rain

1    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best maintained course I have ever seen. New, Crisp, and well funded. This course was built the community. Sponsors on each hole, Brooms on each poured concrete pad. The layout was pretty intuitive. I couldn't believe some of the spectacular shots that they had laid out. Really a prime course in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere. i didn't see any water to drink, and it holds water really well. Some places were nigh on swampy. Huge hills on the back 9 made it really treacherous in the rain. This is a physical chug-a-lug through the back 9.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 and back 9 both begin and end at the parking lot. I thought that was really convenient. This course blew my mind. Where did it come from? Who was inspired, and connected enough to make such a high quality course? He deserves a hug, because this is a Hidden Georgia Gem.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking the hills

2-4    6/14/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was really nice. Fun to play with a group instead of play alone atleast you can take breaks in between tees.
Cons: Seems like I can bring up more fins about this course than pros,but there high weeds and not alot of trash cans.if you need water Bildungsroman enough till you get back to the top of the hill no water down near the front 9. 15 isn't that basket on that dirt mound a little ridiculous. I'll stick with my local courses here in Tennessee.
Other Thoughts: Will play again because my family lives in morgan county

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential not quite realized

1    4/21/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area of a large park, so there aren't conflicts with other park users. Half of the course plays on a steep wooded hillside, the other half plays in a flat meadow with mature trees and a creek. A couple holes have the creek as a nice obstacle that adds some risk. Most of the meadow holes have enough trees that you have to shape interesting lines to get to the pin. The hill holes have tight woods and harsh punishment for errant shots.

There's a decent variety of hole lengths here, with some ace runs and a couple long holes that will require multiple drives for many players. You'll need a pretty complete set of shots to score well, with a balanced set of right and left turning holes and some straight shots. The concrete pads were in great shape with brooms at every tee, and the signs at both long and short tees had the hole number and distance.
Cons: The up and down holes are great to add challenge and fun, but they get a little repetitive with lots of straight shots that feel very similar. There's room for some fun cross hill shots, and holes that would use the hill along with more creative lines. The flat area of the course is full of weeds and tall grasses that seem to grow quickly, and this area seems to hold water after a rain. There's a nice map at the beginning of the course, take a look as there are a few spots where navigation is a little odd. There are some erosion issues on the hilly holes, it's going to be tough to combat that on such steep slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had fun here, especially with some of the nice elevation holes. There are some areas where the course could be even more fun and interesting. Beginners might be a little daunted by the steep hills and thick woods, but several holes have shorter tees that make the lengths a little more manageable. More experienced players will find some challenges, though it can get a bit repetitive at times.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar Course

1    6/10/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: jbain2012
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow this course was by far my favorite ever played. The challenges presented at hand are awesome. From throwing uphill to going right back down this course offers a hike to remember. The trees lining the sides of the fairway are a nice challenge if you fade when you throw so it makes you go right down the middle except for the holes with trees right in the middle. Overall the challenges are mindboggeling fun. The course is VERY clean which is not always easy to find. It is pretty much only a disc golf park which is sponsored by the rotary club of morgan county and the county itself so the upkeep is phenomenal.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Each hole has a broom on the tee to sweep off any debris which is something you don't usually find because people would steal them but this is a beautiful course tucked off in a secluded part of the woods. If you make it to this part of the state this course should be #1 on your list.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.