Rutledge, GA 
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #14 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Run to the hills!

2-4    2/21/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man this course has elevation. So much of it.

Seemingly infinite amounts of ups and downs come into play on almost every hole on the back 9.

The course starts off with a gentle downhill hole, and then 2-8 play along a mix of open and wooded holes located around a floodplain. It can get pretty mushy out here even after a relatively light rain but it's not unplayable by any means in those scenarios.

Nice teepads that are flush with the ground. A huge plus that seems so basic that so many courses manage to mess up.

I really love the balance of the front and back 9's. It keeps the course from feeling overbearing with the elevation on the back half.
Cons: I'm not quite sure what they were thinking with the teesign locations. Some of them are real stupid. Literally directly behind the teepad, maybe off to the side so you can slam your arm on it on the follow-thru. It's nothing I've had any troubles with but It's still extremely annoying and it's something you need to have in the back of your head a bit.

Speaking of teesigns, there's no map on them. This usually wouldn't be a huge deal but on a course with so much up and down, not being able to see the pin from the tee is really annoying. You have to run up the hill a pretty good ways to get an idea of where you're going on a couple of holes which is a huge pain in the ass.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course with a really fun layout. Nothing feels blatantly unfair or overly challenging.

You'll definitely want to try and snag a few birdies early on as some of the holes can get pretty tough, especially when fatigue may start to wear in.

I've played this course once in the summer and once in the winter. Playing out here in the summer can be pretty brutal, the sheer amount of hills along with the Georgia heat & humidity is no joke, so come prepared!

The park is beautiful and out of the two times I've been there, there has not been a single soul doing any other activities in it. This probably has to do with the fact that this course is truly in the middle of nowhere, but don't let that deter you from playing it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    11/29/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a variety of shots , easy to navigate and holes are visible from tees . Nicely maintained park .
Cons: Several holes will test your cardio - as they are extremely uphill .
Other Thoughts: Good location between ATL and AUG .

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Into Indian Creek

2-4    4/20/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 232  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek DGC is an excellent course that has the kind of variety and nice facilities to make it extremely enjoyable. Converging 9's start and end near the parking lot. All of the tee pads are concrete, two on some holes, with distance signs. Baskets are all in nice shape. Scorecards were available near the first hole. A couple of trash cans and brooms are on the course. A picnic pavilion, playground and restroom are near the parking lot.

The course itself is very well conceived, and lots of fun. Challenges include elevation change, water on a couple of holes, and a few long ones. Front nine starts with a steep downhill run that gives ace run possibilities. Holes two through eight are on flat grassy terrain with medium tree density. Some more open then others, with five, six, and seven being the closest to the water. Eight is the longest on the front, but fairly open, and nine takes you back uphill toward the parking area. The back nine is more challenging overall, but there are birdie chances sprinkled in. Ten is a long downhill drive with a beautiful fairway. Eleven plays on the flat, and twelve, thirteen and fourteen are up, down, and back up the hillside. Twelve is fairly steep and long. Thirteen is like one, but shorter and steeper. Fifteen is flatter, but lengthy, and the target sits atop an eight foot mound, which added three putts to my scorecard, regrettably. Sixteen is also flatter and reachable for a birdie. Seventeen is the longest hole down hill with a somewhat narrow fairway that bends right. Eighteen finishes up the hill for the last time, also a long one.

I think the blend is perfect on this course. Some flat shots that are not total filler holes, and I particularly like the elevation factor when its in play. The fairways have enough woods to force multiple shot shapes, but are still generous enough to make shots.
Cons: Some areas were muddy and soft or puddled from rain the day before, but not too bad considering. The tree on seven always kicks my disc over the creek, but it is still my favorite hole on the front nine. The up and down hiking is somewhat strenuous, if that is an issue. The uphill shots play long, and woods are almost ever-present obstacles, so lack of control may add frustration for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Liked Indian Creek DGC very much, played it for the third time last weekend, and hope to return again. Every part of your game will likely be tested, and the course is maintained quite nicely. Not crowded on the lovely April morning we visited.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent maintained course!

2-4    1/27/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Alejandro01
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is excellent maintained.
Course layout is easy to follow.
Amateur and pro pads are easy to identify.
Cons: Last eight holes are not as well maintained as the first 10.
Other Thoughts: The restroom areas are also kept clean.
This course has a walking trail attached to it, that has stations for adults and kids to get a little workout while hiking.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Creek

5+    6/9/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A hidden jewel in the country, this course is well worth the drive. This piece of property screams out for disc golf and if you like elevation change this is the place for you.
The course is well maintained with multiple pads at most holes, all are concrete. A nice touch is the hole sponsorships by local businesses on the pads. I would like to see more businesses get involved in the sport this way. There are signs at each pad with distances given. The course is very clean with nice bathrooms and playground up top for the kids. You will probably have the place to yourself as you are definitely out in the country. Navigating the course flows fairly well with just a couple of exceptions.
I really enjoy the design of this course, it has been well thought out with plenty of challenge for all players. Half the holes here will significantly play either longer or shorter than posted distance due to the hills. The other half is flat but will require you to work your disc around trees or the creek playing along three of the holes. There are lines available on all the holes, some will give you a choice hyzer or anhyzer, a couple will require some imagination. I especially like hole #15 with the basket on about a ten foot high hill and hole #7 that can be reached by a strong dive but you will have to challenge the trees and creek to do so. There are Ace opportunities and plenty of trouble to get into if you hit a tree. In my opinion a very good test of your disc golf skills.
Cons: A few "Next tee" signs would go a long way here. The pads seemed a little short but wide to me. While the sponsorship of holes by local businesses was great the signs on the pads got in the way occasionally. Benches and trash cans would be nice but this is one of the cleanest courses I have seen.
Other Thoughts: While this is a very fun course in my opinion I would not call this a beginner friendly course. The "red" tees help but I would recommend developing some skill and stamina before tackling this course. You will definitely want to bring water along with you and expect some real steep hill climbing. However if you are ready for physical demands, don't miss your opportunity to play here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    1/21/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: Zhugs546
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety of hole lengths
- You will need every throw variety in your arsenal to score well
- Undulating hilly terrain gives you a pretty damned good cardio workout
- Well-kept park, floodplain brush is well trimmed, and concrete tee pads are in great shape.
- 2 tee pads/hole (with maybe 3-4 exceptions) for varying skill levels.
- Pet friendly (brought my Weimaraner and he had a blast with no leash - no one else was in the park that day though) with multiple trash cans for disposing waste.
- Great risk / reward scenarios on many holes (get ready to lose a disc in the summer if you miscalculate a drive near the creek).
- Baskets and surrounding putting areas are very well maintained year round.
- Not a high-traffic (pedestrian or car) area
- Free course (most courses of this caliber are pay-to-play)

Cons: - Some holes have fairways with limbs that have grown in since the courses' inception 2 years ago that need pruning.
- Hole #5 pro tee first shot (see below)
- Occasional joggers on the cross-country trails that intersect fairways on the front nine.
- It is conceivable that the 7 of the front 9 would very well be underwater during a week of heavy rain (it IS a floodplain, after all). I'm nit-picking here because I've never seen it happen and I'm here fairly often.
Other Thoughts: This is a very well built course, one that was built by design and not retrofitted into an existing park space. The holes all have sponsors, with the entire park being funded by the rotary club of Morgan County. I give a hearty shout out to all of the people involved in the process. It almost seems fitting that one of the top courses in the state is nestled in Rutledge, GA near the phenomenal Hard Labor Creek SP. Now let's get specific, shall we?

- To say that this course is hilly would be too nondescript. This course is either as flat as a pancake or playing on a 30 degree slope. Nothing in between. The floodplain from the creek to the right of holes 5-7 extends out to cover holes 2-8. All other holes are either utilizing the giant slope up to the grade of the playground or are flat at the aforementioned grade. Having said that, you WILL sweat when you play here. The constant climbs will test your physical stamina since an elevated heart rate can have a profound effect on both the novice and pro disc golfer. I would recommend taking it slow on this one if you're pretty out of shape. At least in the summer it is very shady (but you get mosquitoes).

- There are some gorgeous holes on this one. I'm looking at you guys, #s 7, 10, 15, 17. #15 is just awesome. It's about a 330' straight tight shot out of the woods to the clearing around the mound upon which the basket sits. You can have a stellar drive and still shoot 3-4 on this hole if your putting is off or you catch the course on a windy day since the basket is elevated.

- Hole #5 (pro tee) is the bane of my existence. I mean, I consider myself to be proficient at every shot in disc golf. Forehand, Backhand, Tomahawk, Thumber, Roller - whatever there is no line to this basket. Add the creek on the right and it is a total WTF hole in that regard. I suppose you will get lucky bounces off trees and have your disc land within 20-30' and then again have a fortunate putt to card a 2. It's happened to me once. More likely, you'll scratch your head for a minute and then throw your disc into one of the many obstacles. You can still get a 3 with a bad drive. It's really only the first 100' of this hole that is poorly designed. If you played from the amateur tee you could expect to 2-3 this hole every time. I know some of you trolls will thumbs down my review because "we should play the courses as they are and not suggest changing them." Well, I'm not here to get the most thumbs up, I'm here to offer my perspective on what could be done to improve this already great course into the 5 disc realm.

- This course, with a few modifications, could be a 5-disc'er. Realistically, a pro tournament layout could be created by moving baskets on 5-6 holes to increase distance. Also realistically, a pro tournament would never be played this far away from Atlanta. The ATL open wouldn't use this course because it is not super convenient from ERP or Central Park, Cumming. You could, however, increase the hole lengths on a few holes and combine this with the go-big-or-go-home layout at Sandy Creek to create an A-level tournament. I would volunteer time to see that happen.

- I recommend this course for disc golfers of all skill level and it is totally worth the drive out to Rutledge. Get in a early round, eat lunch here: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/8...Cafe-Rutledge, then help yourself to another round here, play ball golf (blasphemy, I know) at Hard Labor Creek, or catch another round up at Sandy Creek in Athens. Or hell, PM me and come play up in Fun-Roe.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Unique elevation through the Woods

5+    12/18/2011   12/18/2011
Review By: georgesummers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well maintained tees and baskets. Am and Pro layouts make a good course for beginners and advanced players.
At its best the course design blends huge elevation changes in a woods course thats truly unique. The downhill and uphill tunnel shots offered truly tesy your ability to throw straight shots.
Cons: At its worst the course seems the course design is senseless walk up the hill up and walk down the hill. A few holes have no clear defined line and are just throw and hope holes. A very tiring course. Not a great place to play 3+ rounds.
Other Thoughts: Some spectacular holes mixed with a lot of uphill trudging, but in the end the good holes are worth the effort.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where to from here?

1    12/1/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: johndhjr71
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really liked the size of the Tee Pads. They were clearly marked as to what number each pad is once you got close enough. Liked choice of Am and Pro. We played Pro. Great layout. Excellent Flow if you know which pad to play next. Really liked the elevation on the back 9.
Cons: The course needs some Next Tee signs and arrows at each one of the baskets. We spent about 30mins total walking back and forth looking for the next tee. The only other con is the sponsor signs in the Tee Pad? Great job getting the course put in but put the signs on the post.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Should be used for more tournaments in the Mid GA area. Great course to include in a day trip to the Monty.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Georgia Gem

2-4    11/22/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, well designed course in whic h the topography of the land is highlighted through disc golf.

18 quality baskets

Concrete tee pads, with several holes having both a pro and am teepad.

Benches to rest

Bathrooms

Figure 8 design that allows access back to the car after hole 9
Cons: I like the fact that the course displays its sponsors so prominetally on the baskets but I wish the sponsor signs were on the tee posts rather than the teepads. I found myself thinking about them during my run up on certain holes.

No trash cans except by the parking lot.

Other Thoughts: This course is a real treat. It is real fun to play and it features disc golf not usually seen in GA. If you find yourself going east bound on I-20 towards the IDGC-make a stop and play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Wooded Course

2-4    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Discatcher baskets on all holes.
- There are brooms on the tees, which was a very nice touch considering the amount of debris from all the trees.
- Elevation changes on many holes (although not fully utilized *see cons*) add to the mixture of shots required.
- Decent mixture of straight, anny, and hyzer routes.
- There were Am & Pro tees on several holes.
- Shade! Lot's of trees...the canopy provides some much needed shade in the hot, sticky, summer months we have here in the south.
- The park seemed nice, well-kept, and it was quiet when I played. Quite a peaceful, sunny morning to toss it around.
Cons: - Slick tee pads. I know all concrete pads become a little slick when wet, but a few of these seemed unusally slick.
- I don't feel the elevation changes throughout the park were fully utilized. There's really only two downhill shots where you can really let it fly (#'s 10 & 17), but #'s 1 & 13 are cool holes as well. It was a bit disappointing that, outside of those holes, all elevation changes were played as uphill holes. A few uphill holes are fine, but here they are all essentially the same hole, just repeated. Throw in a couple more downhill shots, and maybe a couple of cross hill shots (one fighting against the slope, and one going with the slope), and this course could be a solid 4.
- The elevated basket on #15. I understand in some cases it's needed (i.e. an open hole in need of "something" to make it special), but here it didn't seem necessary. Tuck the basket back left into the woods, which would require a long helix shot to really get close.
- I realize the course is fairly new, and lanes are still being realized, but there are a few holes that, in my opinion, need just a little more clearing. Difficult is fine. Having to pay for errant shots is fine. However, a couple of holes (#'s 5 and 15 come to mind) really don't have a good lane. Take out one (maybe two, max) of the leg sized trees in front of 5. It wouldn't take the difficulty out of the shot, but would certainly take the luck factor out.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a solid course, and well worth the 30 min drive I took to get there. I had high hopes seeing holes 1 & 10 from the parking lot, but was somewhat let down with a few of the holes on the front, and a couple of the uphill holes on the back.

Nonetheless, there are several good holes here, and a few really good holes; #'s 10 & 17 were phenomenal holes (right up there with some of my all-time favorites). Many of the "filler" holes are short, ace-run type holes, which certainly adds to the course. I do realize that when designing a DG course, sometimes you have to utilize what you can, which isn't always a lot. In all, I feel the designer(s) of this course did a good job using the park. My critiques are nothing more than opinion, and I will certainly be playing the course again.

Favorite Holes: 1, 7, 10, 11, 13, 17

**Note: my "CON" list seems a little long, but it should be noted that I feel this course will only get better with age. If people will come out and play this course and break it in a little, it has great potential. I'm new to the area, so I'm excited about seeing how the course ages.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.