Disc Golf Store
Rutledge, GA
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd   (Taken 10/2010)
Course Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A workout in the shade

1    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept grounds, beautiful course. As clean as I've seen. Plenty of shade from the tons of woods. Great for practicing up hill and down hill throws. Ownership is awesome! They really care for the land and for the players!
The front Nine ends at the parking lot aswell as the back nine. Making it the perfect course if your looking for a long or short game!
Cons: Prepair to work out on this one, folks! Lots of up and down hill play. And that's my only con, all except for this place being out in the middle of nowhere. Prepair to drive, but know that it'll be worth it!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've been to! Bring lots of water! They have a fountain there if you need!
Also this place is very well maintained. So let's all do our part to keep it that way! Its refreshing to step on the pin and not have to worry about picking glass out of my shoes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So much fun I played it in the Rain

1    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best maintained course I have ever seen. New, Crisp, and well funded. This course was built the community. Sponsors on each hole, Brooms on each poured concrete pad. The layout was pretty intuitive. I couldn't believe some of the spectacular shots that they had laid out. Really a prime course in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere. i didn't see any water to drink, and it holds water really well. Some places were nigh on swampy. Huge hills on the back 9 made it really treacherous in the rain. This is a physical chug-a-lug through the back 9.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 and back 9 both begin and end at the parking lot. I thought that was really convenient. This course blew my mind. Where did it come from? Who was inspired, and connected enough to make such a high quality course? He deserves a hug, because this is a Hidden Georgia Gem.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking the hills

2-4    6/14/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was really nice. Fun to play with a group instead of play alone atleast you can take breaks in between tees.
Cons: Seems like I can bring up more fins about this course than pros,but there high weeds and not alot of trash cans.if you need water Bildungsroman enough till you get back to the top of the hill no water down near the front 9. 15 isn't that basket on that dirt mound a little ridiculous. I'll stick with my local courses here in Tennessee.
Other Thoughts: Will play again because my family lives in morgan county

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential not quite realized

1    4/21/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area of a large park, so there aren't conflicts with other park users. Half of the course plays on a steep wooded hillside, the other half plays in a flat meadow with mature trees and a creek. A couple holes have the creek as a nice obstacle that adds some risk. Most of the meadow holes have enough trees that you have to shape interesting lines to get to the pin. The hill holes have tight woods and harsh punishment for errant shots.

There's a decent variety of hole lengths here, with some ace runs and a couple long holes that will require multiple drives for many players. You'll need a pretty complete set of shots to score well, with a balanced set of right and left turning holes and some straight shots. The concrete pads were in great shape with brooms at every tee, and the signs at both long and short tees had the hole number and distance.
Cons: The up and down holes are great to add challenge and fun, but they get a little repetitive with lots of straight shots that feel very similar. There's room for some fun cross hill shots, and holes that would use the hill along with more creative lines. The flat area of the course is full of weeds and tall grasses that seem to grow quickly, and this area seems to hold water after a rain. There's a nice map at the beginning of the course, take a look as there are a few spots where navigation is a little odd. There are some erosion issues on the hilly holes, it's going to be tough to combat that on such steep slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had fun here, especially with some of the nice elevation holes. There are some areas where the course could be even more fun and interesting. Beginners might be a little daunted by the steep hills and thick woods, but several holes have shorter tees that make the lengths a little more manageable. More experienced players will find some challenges, though it can get a bit repetitive at times.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar Course

1    6/10/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: jbain2012
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow this course was by far my favorite ever played. The challenges presented at hand are awesome. From throwing uphill to going right back down this course offers a hike to remember. The trees lining the sides of the fairway are a nice challenge if you fade when you throw so it makes you go right down the middle except for the holes with trees right in the middle. Overall the challenges are mindboggeling fun. The course is VERY clean which is not always easy to find. It is pretty much only a disc golf park which is sponsored by the rotary club of morgan county and the county itself so the upkeep is phenomenal.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Each hole has a broom on the tee to sweep off any debris which is something you don't usually find because people would steal them but this is a beautiful course tucked off in a secluded part of the woods. If you make it to this part of the state this course should be #1 on your list.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A must play course

5+    4/2/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: stg1020
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto comments from other reviewers. I would add that the it appears the course gets some regular maintenance...last few times it seems its been cleaned up a bit more. Good variety of holes for left and right handed players. Its mostly wooded but there are a few open holes. Accurate throws are a must here. Out of the fairways it can get nasty but not so thick that you can't find a wayward disc. Doing 18 is a great stretch of the legs. Wonderful use of the terrain...this course has some extreme up and down hill throws. Many holes on the front 9 give you a choice of lines through the trees.
Cons: On the front 9 there are some soggy bottom holes. I think some trees removed on the front 9 would improve play without making it easier.
There was some clear buring done and 9 was a mud wash...pine straw falling over time may take care of that.
Other Thoughts: this is a good course...get out and play it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent New Course

1    1/27/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 624  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek Park is a really solid tightly wooded challenge which incorporates several of the park's best features including steep valleys and hills and the mixture of dense pines and more open areas. All of this sets the course up nicely in terms of the variety of shots required for hot rounds and has a punishing factor (in the tighter pockets of trees) which is adequate to cause significant concern after poor drives.

Amenities: Everything is brand spankin' new so all of the baskets, concrete tees, and maps available to assist with navigation.

Loop-de-loop: Because of the taxing nature of the hills here, it is pretty nice to have the course make 2x nine hole loops so you can visit the car during a round. I'd imagine on a hot Georgia summer day, you'd be sucking down water pretty quick on this course!

Exclusively disc golf: The section of the park that the disc golf course is located on is unlikely to be used by many non-discers. Fairways are mostly pretty dense woods and so other park users are likely to stay near the 'front' of the park and likely only the occasional dog-walker will pose a problem.
Cons: One of my main issues with this course is the unrealized potential for a couple of really nice multiple-shot par four (or even par five) holes. The land to make this happen appears to be available and the awesome wooded alleys could make for a few really nice drive-landing zone combinations. If I remember correctly, there were only two holes which I felt I would be unlikely to reach the putting green from my drive (hole 15 and 17 I think, very late in the course) and on one of them (15) the drive required to get an easy par was just too easy. Out of many rounds, I could imagine scoring a high number of threes on this hole, a very unlikely two every once in a while, and only a few fours. This sets up for a hole that just doesn't have the power to separate out scores effectively. Add a bit of distance (or subtract a bit of distance) and this hole would play better for the higher amateur and pro-level player.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Indian Creek Park is a great course and the designer has done an excellent job in showcasing the best aspects of this beautiful park. Newer players may get a bit frustrated with some of the tigher holes, especially on the back nine, but will likely survive without too much pain as there at least is not very much thick rough. Experienced players will find this course quite challenging and will have to test out lines and execute with precision to rack up birdies.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Up and down...up and down...

1    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 63  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extreme elevation makes some short holes long and some long holes short.
Great tee pads and baskets.
Good map at the beginning of the course and on the back of the provided score cards.
Great fairways and seemingly perfectly placed trees which makes line shaping a must.
Short and long tees on several holes.
Cool elevated basket on 15.
Nice variety of shots required.
2 distinct 9 hole loops.
Cons: Some of the major uphills could probably have used a short tee but I understand it would be hard to place them.
The flatlands on 2-8 seem like they could easily flood.
The creek along 6 has mega steep banks, I know keep it on the fairway...but if you don't expect to pay.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent, well designed course. You start by throwing off the top of the world and then work yoru way through a very green, flat meadow with a lot of old trees to weave your way through. Most holes don't give you a straight line to throw, you have to throw a flex or slight turnover shot which makes the course a decent challenge.
When you get to 9 you get the pleasure of throwing back up the monster hill.
10-18 are the Hyde (or is it Jeckell? It's the evil one I am speaking of) of the course. You get another gorgeous downhill on 10 but with a lot more distance and a sweet dogleg. You then proceed up and down several times.
15 has a large mound that the basket is mounted on (I nailed a huge 35' putt on this one). 17 and 18 are the longest, one a massive right dogleg downhill and then 18 playing back up to the finish.

All in all a must play, worth the 1+hour drive. We will be back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well done design

1    1/1/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This brand new course looks like its been in the ground a lot longer than it has, so I can't wait to see what it will look like once its fully broken in. New courses in heavily wooded areas will often be very rough for a couple of years after opening, but this one is a great example of how to install a course. Seemingly every fairway was completely cleared of trees, stumps ground out and the ground tilled up and flattened -- so there are great fairways on every hole.

Nice concrete teepads and excellent signage. Easy to navigate; almost all baskets & lines visible from the teepads. Dual teepads on some holes. Great flow: Two loops of 9 holes that start and finish in the same area. Outstanding amenities: brand new pavillion, grilling & picnic area and playground and indoor restroom all in the "hub" of the course -- you could bring your family and they would be entertained while you play.

Good variety of shots required, need a strong backhand and forehand shot. Excellent disc golf terrain: it's a surprisingly hilly area and the design takes advantage of the varied terrain with uphill and downhill shots.

The course is challenging for beginners and advanced players. The 1st 9 hole loop is definitely easier, but gets increasingly harder towards the end. Most holes play fair -- only 1 or 2 with somewhat ill-legit lines.

Lastly, this is a really fun course to play in a beautiful wooded setting. The 1st 9 holes play through a flood plain along a nice creek in an area that was overgrown with privet, but has been cleared back to large hardwood trees. The 2nd 9 plays up and down sometimes very steep hills; I actually felt like i was getting exercise!
Cons: Still a few trees and branches that need to come out, but not very many -- I imagine this will be remedied very quickly judging by how much work has been put into clearing the course in the short time it's been open. This was cut out of a VERY rough area with 20' high privet, but you wouldn't know it.

Some tee signs are annoyingly close to the teepads.

No practice basket

Other Thoughts: This is a great, brand new course that ranks right up there with the Atlanta area's finest courses. It seems like its way out there, but is very close to I-20 and took me approximately 45 minutes from downtown Atlanta. Quick to play -- a round takes 2 hours or less. A 3rd loop of holes would be nice and they certainly have the room; only disappointment was not seeing more multi-shot holes .... the front 9 holes were fun and short, too bad there isn't a 3rd with longer, more challenging holes that mirror the 2nd 9.



7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Creek

1    10/23/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a surprisingly fun yet challenging eighteen hole course set in the beautiful Indian Creek Park. Mature trees with a mix of hardwoods and pines set the tone for the course and offer a very peaceful setting. To score well you'll most certainly have to adapt your game to the woods and prepare yourself for a hike. Overall, this course is a pleasure to play.

The course begins with hole one's wooded 246' downhill shot and it's a perfect introduction to what lies ahead. Although the next seven holes have little to no elevation changes, you have lots of obstacles to keep yourself challenged. You'll find yourself needing a variety of shots but also find plenty of choices as far as lines go. While tight, most of the holes do have a definite line for most shot types but accuracy is required. Five, six, and seven have a creek to the right of the fairway that could come into play but it's far enough away that most will avoid getting wet. Nine through eighteen wouldn't be much different from the last seven holes but this is where the big elevation changes come into play. While there are a few level fairways on the back there are some drastic uphill and downhill shots that really stand out, some of which are quite steep. It's a great mix of ups and downs and it makes this otherwise flat wooded course much more diverse. There's an elevated basket on hole fifteen for a change of pace as well. Hole one, the hole nine and ten transition, and hole eighteen all loop around back to the parking lot which most will agree is an ideal layout for a course.

There are nice concrete tee pads on every hole including the duel pads on the 10 holes that have a shorter amateur pad as well. Tee signs are also on every hole and give distances and map out the fairway pretty well. The DISCatcher baskets are new and are in perfect shape. There's a few benches scattered around the course for a quick rest too. The areas off the fairways were pretty clean for a new course and evidently they are consistently working to continue the cleaning effort.

The park itself is really nice too. There's ample parking near the course and a very clean restroom. There's also a nice pavilion that would work well for "tournament central" if the course is hosting events. Even on a great fall day the course only had one other person playing so for now anyway, it seems that overcrowding will not be a problem.
Cons: I really have to dig pretty deep to find any major cons here. Although not completely necessary, a next tee sign would have been nice on a hole or two. As mentioned, the flow is pretty easy to follow but I did have to look around and reference the course map a few times to find the next tee.

If you are not a wooded course fan you might find the holes a tad bit repetitive. There is enough variety out here but I know a few golfers who can get "tree fatigued". In other words, there are really no "open" holes to air it out on.
Other Thoughts: Besides the course, there are other activities at the park that non-disc golf family members can do while you play so it makes it a very family friendly park. I always like that because my wife and daughter get tired of playing after a few holes and it keeps them occupied. Also just 5 minutes away is Hard Labor Creek State Park. It's a nice park to give you something else to do if you make a drive out to the area. We checked out the campsites and cabins and they were great if camping is an option for your visit.

I really liked the way they attached the hole sponsor signs to the tee pad and named the sponsor on the baskets as well. I think other courses should consider doing this too if they're looking for funds for course improvements. It would be fairly cheap advertisement for the companies and it really gets there name out there in a way other than small print on a tee sign.

Many thanks to The Morgan County Parks & Recreation Department and The Rotary Club of Morgan County for what they have done, this is a great course and a nice park. It's definitely one that will likely have you wanting to come out and play multiple times. The course is sure to be a challenging and enjoyable experience for anybody regardless of skill level. Enjoy!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.