Rutledge, GA 
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #13 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid, Wooded Course

2-4    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Discatcher baskets on all holes.
- There are brooms on the tees, which was a very nice touch considering the amount of debris from all the trees.
- Elevation changes on many holes (although not fully utilized *see cons*) add to the mixture of shots required.
- Decent mixture of straight, anny, and hyzer routes.
- There were Am & Pro tees on several holes.
- Shade! Lot's of trees...the canopy provides some much needed shade in the hot, sticky, summer months we have here in the south.
- The park seemed nice, well-kept, and it was quiet when I played. Quite a peaceful, sunny morning to toss it around.
Cons: - Slick tee pads. I know all concrete pads become a little slick when wet, but a few of these seemed unusally slick.
- I don't feel the elevation changes throughout the park were fully utilized. There's really only two downhill shots where you can really let it fly (#'s 10 & 17), but #'s 1 & 13 are cool holes as well. It was a bit disappointing that, outside of those holes, all elevation changes were played as uphill holes. A few uphill holes are fine, but here they are all essentially the same hole, just repeated. Throw in a couple more downhill shots, and maybe a couple of cross hill shots (one fighting against the slope, and one going with the slope), and this course could be a solid 4.
- The elevated basket on #15. I understand in some cases it's needed (i.e. an open hole in need of "something" to make it special), but here it didn't seem necessary. Tuck the basket back left into the woods, which would require a long helix shot to really get close.
- I realize the course is fairly new, and lanes are still being realized, but there are a few holes that, in my opinion, need just a little more clearing. Difficult is fine. Having to pay for errant shots is fine. However, a couple of holes (#'s 5 and 15 come to mind) really don't have a good lane. Take out one (maybe two, max) of the leg sized trees in front of 5. It wouldn't take the difficulty out of the shot, but would certainly take the luck factor out.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a solid course, and well worth the 30 min drive I took to get there. I had high hopes seeing holes 1 & 10 from the parking lot, but was somewhat let down with a few of the holes on the front, and a couple of the uphill holes on the back.

Nonetheless, there are several good holes here, and a few really good holes; #'s 10 & 17 were phenomenal holes (right up there with some of my all-time favorites). Many of the "filler" holes are short, ace-run type holes, which certainly adds to the course. I do realize that when designing a DG course, sometimes you have to utilize what you can, which isn't always a lot. In all, I feel the designer(s) of this course did a good job using the park. My critiques are nothing more than opinion, and I will certainly be playing the course again.

Favorite Holes: 1, 7, 10, 11, 13, 17

**Note: my "CON" list seems a little long, but it should be noted that I feel this course will only get better with age. If people will come out and play this course and break it in a little, it has great potential. I'm new to the area, so I'm excited about seeing how the course ages.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of Nowhere Canopy Course

1    8/4/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: mouseclone
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: In GA the biggest pro during the summer time is the shade. This course will keep the sun from you 95% of the time.

The course is well kelp. The burn seems to have taking out the majority of the under brush which makes for a really clean course.

I'm a big fan of trees and this course is full of them. A great first time out experience.
Cons: Water and bathrooms are a hike away from if you are in the middle of playing the front or back 9.
Other Thoughts: The drive is well worth it.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A workout in the shade

1    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept grounds, beautiful course. As clean as I've seen. Plenty of shade from the tons of woods. Great for practicing up hill and down hill throws. Ownership is awesome! They really care for the land and for the players!
The front Nine ends at the parking lot aswell as the back nine. Making it the perfect course if your looking for a long or short game!
Cons: Prepair to work out on this one, folks! Lots of up and down hill play. And that's my only con, all except for this place being out in the middle of nowhere. Prepair to drive, but know that it'll be worth it!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've been to! Bring lots of water! They have a fountain there if you need!
Also this place is very well maintained. So let's all do our part to keep it that way! Its refreshing to step on the pin and not have to worry about picking glass out of my shoes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So much fun I played it in the Rain

1    7/20/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best maintained course I have ever seen. New, Crisp, and well funded. This course was built the community. Sponsors on each hole, Brooms on each poured concrete pad. The layout was pretty intuitive. I couldn't believe some of the spectacular shots that they had laid out. Really a prime course in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere. i didn't see any water to drink, and it holds water really well. Some places were nigh on swampy. Huge hills on the back 9 made it really treacherous in the rain. This is a physical chug-a-lug through the back 9.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 and back 9 both begin and end at the parking lot. I thought that was really convenient. This course blew my mind. Where did it come from? Who was inspired, and connected enough to make such a high quality course? He deserves a hug, because this is a Hidden Georgia Gem.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking the hills

2-4    6/14/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was really nice. Fun to play with a group instead of play alone atleast you can take breaks in between tees.
Cons: Seems like I can bring up more fins about this course than pros,but there high weeds and not alot of trash cans.if you need water Bildungsroman enough till you get back to the top of the hill no water down near the front 9. 15 isn't that basket on that dirt mound a little ridiculous. I'll stick with my local courses here in Tennessee.
Other Thoughts: Will play again because my family lives in morgan county

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential not quite realized

1    4/21/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area of a large park, so there aren't conflicts with other park users. Half of the course plays on a steep wooded hillside, the other half plays in a flat meadow with mature trees and a creek. A couple holes have the creek as a nice obstacle that adds some risk. Most of the meadow holes have enough trees that you have to shape interesting lines to get to the pin. The hill holes have tight woods and harsh punishment for errant shots.

There's a decent variety of hole lengths here, with some ace runs and a couple long holes that will require multiple drives for many players. You'll need a pretty complete set of shots to score well, with a balanced set of right and left turning holes and some straight shots. The concrete pads were in great shape with brooms at every tee, and the signs at both long and short tees had the hole number and distance.
Cons: The up and down holes are great to add challenge and fun, but they get a little repetitive with lots of straight shots that feel very similar. There's room for some fun cross hill shots, and holes that would use the hill along with more creative lines. The flat area of the course is full of weeds and tall grasses that seem to grow quickly, and this area seems to hold water after a rain. There's a nice map at the beginning of the course, take a look as there are a few spots where navigation is a little odd. There are some erosion issues on the hilly holes, it's going to be tough to combat that on such steep slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had fun here, especially with some of the nice elevation holes. There are some areas where the course could be even more fun and interesting. Beginners might be a little daunted by the steep hills and thick woods, but several holes have shorter tees that make the lengths a little more manageable. More experienced players will find some challenges, though it can get a bit repetitive at times.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar Course

1    6/10/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: jbain2012
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow this course was by far my favorite ever played. The challenges presented at hand are awesome. From throwing uphill to going right back down this course offers a hike to remember. The trees lining the sides of the fairway are a nice challenge if you fade when you throw so it makes you go right down the middle except for the holes with trees right in the middle. Overall the challenges are mindboggeling fun. The course is VERY clean which is not always easy to find. It is pretty much only a disc golf park which is sponsored by the rotary club of morgan county and the county itself so the upkeep is phenomenal.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Each hole has a broom on the tee to sweep off any debris which is something you don't usually find because people would steal them but this is a beautiful course tucked off in a secluded part of the woods. If you make it to this part of the state this course should be #1 on your list.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A must play course

5+    4/2/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: stg1020
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto comments from other reviewers. I would add that the it appears the course gets some regular maintenance...last few times it seems its been cleaned up a bit more. Good variety of holes for left and right handed players. Its mostly wooded but there are a few open holes. Accurate throws are a must here. Out of the fairways it can get nasty but not so thick that you can't find a wayward disc. Doing 18 is a great stretch of the legs. Wonderful use of the terrain...this course has some extreme up and down hill throws. Many holes on the front 9 give you a choice of lines through the trees.
Cons: On the front 9 there are some soggy bottom holes. I think some trees removed on the front 9 would improve play without making it easier.
There was some clear buring done and 9 was a mud wash...pine straw falling over time may take care of that.
Other Thoughts: this is a good course...get out and play it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent New Course

1    1/27/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 638  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 16 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek Park is a really solid tightly wooded challenge which incorporates several of the park's best features including steep valleys and hills and the mixture of dense pines and more open areas. All of this sets the course up nicely in terms of the variety of shots required for hot rounds and has a punishing factor (in the tighter pockets of trees) which is adequate to cause significant concern after poor drives.

Amenities: Everything is brand spankin' new so all of the baskets, concrete tees, and maps available to assist with navigation.

Loop-de-loop: Because of the taxing nature of the hills here, it is pretty nice to have the course make 2x nine hole loops so you can visit the car during a round. I'd imagine on a hot Georgia summer day, you'd be sucking down water pretty quick on this course!

Exclusively disc golf: The section of the park that the disc golf course is located on is unlikely to be used by many non-discers. Fairways are mostly pretty dense woods and so other park users are likely to stay near the 'front' of the park and likely only the occasional dog-walker will pose a problem.
Cons: One of my main issues with this course is the unrealized potential for a couple of really nice multiple-shot par four (or even par five) holes. The land to make this happen appears to be available and the awesome wooded alleys could make for a few really nice drive-landing zone combinations. If I remember correctly, there were only two holes which I felt I would be unlikely to reach the putting green from my drive (hole 15 and 17 I think, very late in the course) and on one of them (15) the drive required to get an easy par was just too easy. Out of many rounds, I could imagine scoring a high number of threes on this hole, a very unlikely two every once in a while, and only a few fours. This sets up for a hole that just doesn't have the power to separate out scores effectively. Add a bit of distance (or subtract a bit of distance) and this hole would play better for the higher amateur and pro-level player.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Indian Creek Park is a great course and the designer has done an excellent job in showcasing the best aspects of this beautiful park. Newer players may get a bit frustrated with some of the tigher holes, especially on the back nine, but will likely survive without too much pain as there at least is not very much thick rough. Experienced players will find this course quite challenging and will have to test out lines and execute with precision to rack up birdies.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Up and down...up and down...

1    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extreme elevation makes some short holes long and some long holes short.
Great tee pads and baskets.
Good map at the beginning of the course and on the back of the provided score cards.
Great fairways and seemingly perfectly placed trees which makes line shaping a must.
Short and long tees on several holes.
Cool elevated basket on 15.
Nice variety of shots required.
2 distinct 9 hole loops.
Cons: Some of the major uphills could probably have used a short tee but I understand it would be hard to place them.
The flatlands on 2-8 seem like they could easily flood.
The creek along 6 has mega steep banks, I know keep it on the fairway...but if you don't expect to pay.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent, well designed course. You start by throwing off the top of the world and then work yoru way through a very green, flat meadow with a lot of old trees to weave your way through. Most holes don't give you a straight line to throw, you have to throw a flex or slight turnover shot which makes the course a decent challenge.
When you get to 9 you get the pleasure of throwing back up the monster hill.
10-18 are the Hyde (or is it Jeckell? It's the evil one I am speaking of) of the course. You get another gorgeous downhill on 10 but with a lot more distance and a sweet dogleg. You then proceed up and down several times.
15 has a large mound that the basket is mounted on (I nailed a huge 35' putt on this one). 17 and 18 are the longest, one a massive right dogleg downhill and then 18 playing back up to the finish.

All in all a must play, worth the 1+hour drive. We will be back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.