Nashua, NH 
Greeley Park Share
Uploaded By: KazamaSmokers  



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It's a Field

1    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: KCole
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: Great practice area. I had it all to myself.
Cons: Baskets are home made, not horrible, just not great. No tees, just baskets in a field, but the baskets are numbered. My drives go the length of the field, so I would practice driving the full field (not at a hole), and then I played the "course" with all my mid range discs and putters as practice.

This is not a course. It is a practice field.
Other Thoughts: The address for this is WRONG!

IMPORTANT: The field is located on Manchester St. between Charlotte ave and Beauview Ave. The concord st address is for the rest of Greeley park, not the disc golf area. They are connected through a long path in the woods, but my guess is you just want to drive to the disc golf area.

 

1    5/12/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Open Field for practice shots. I was able to create some of my own shots which made it a little more worth the stop.
Cons: Baskets, Baskets too close, not enough space to play, unsure about where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: If the woods were used it would touch up the place!

 

1    12/13/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's really not much good to say. The baskets have been recently redone so they're at least not falling apart anymore.
Cons: To call this a course is a stretch. There are nine numbered baskets in the field, but there are no tees and no signs of any sort. So there are no real defined holes.

The baskets are all homemade hanging tire-and-chain variety. They provide a nice target to aim for, but are not good as catching devices.
Other Thoughts: I drive by this field twice a day (to and from work) and I don't think I've ever actually seen anyone throwing discs.

It goes virtually unused and it's easy to see why. With no tees and baskets that can't catch, this "course" is really no different than a field with a series of stakes in the ground. The fact that these particular stakes have tires hanging from chains gives the Nashua Parks Department the opportunity to say "we already have a disc golf course."

As a practice field, this serves a nice puprose. But if you want a place to get a quick round in, keep looking.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Iamthemo11580
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Good place to practice.
Cons: No parking. Homemade targets.
Other Thoughts: This isn't really a course. It's a handful of homemade chain style poleholes in a small field. There aren't fairways, tees, or greens. It is, however, a great place to practice your short game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

5+    3/3/2006   4/7/2011
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never crowded, close by???
Cons: Short, worn down, not much of any kind of challenge (I could go on all day)
Other Thoughts: I used to play this course alot when I lived in Milford and was surprised that its still around now. When I played, I would play diagonal and make my own course shooting from the trees etc. Dont drive out of your way but if you need to practice and live in Nashua, stop by. Just don't expect much...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's oh so sad when a course goes bad

1    12/19/2010   12/19/2010
Review By: great white buffalo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am grasping at straws here to try to add some pro's here so bear with me. This course is located in an absolutely beautiful park. The park is located in a classy upscale neighborhood. The park was very clean. There was ample parking along the street. The park is easily accessible. The locals walking around the park very friendly and helpful. There were nine devices here that could be turned back into baskets with a little time and TLC. There is an enormous park in which a phenomenal disc golf course could be created.
Cons: Here is where the sadness comes. All nine of these devices that used to be baskets have seen better days. The center chains of the baskets hold up a piece of wood that holds up a tire around the perimeter of the bottom part of the basket. On four of these the wood had rotted away, and the baskets were in the shape you see on the home page of this course. The other five baskets were only one winter away from falling apart themselves. All nine of the baskets were in an open treeless meadow on the outskirts of the park. This meadow was about 3/4's of the size of a football field. There was not a single tee pad, or what looked like somewhere anyone ever had or would tee off. All the baskets were spaced less than 100 feet apart, and three and four were spaced about twenty feet apart. There were no trees in play even though you were right on the edge of a super nice tree line that stretches all the way across the park which was about ten city blocks wide to my best guess. A few of the baskets looked like people thought they were trash cans, and had started putting trash in them. I cleaned up the trash and put it where it belonged. The good thing is that people were not throwing the trash all over the ground.
Other Thoughts: I would assume that the city of Nashua will pull these baskets out of here in the near future if there is not a renewed spark of interest to try and bring it back to some form of decency. The baskets are honestly an eyesore in the condition that they are in. If some hardcore disc golfer lived in the area and worked with the city to bring back some glory to the baskets, and maybe reposition them in some arrangement that could be called a course, then it might be worth going. In the condition and layout that it is in, a hard core disc golfer would get out of his car, go look at the first basket, and quietly kneel and weep.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.