Troy, MI 
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Enjoyable

2-4    10/21/2016   10/25/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept. Holes can be technical which is nice without being too wooded. Variation from the first 5 holes to when you go over the bridge and get the next 4, compared to holes 13 thru 17 is a nice change-up. Almost makes it seem like you ar playing 3 different courses.
Because the holes aren't too long I can bring inexperienced friends, and have a blast.
Cons: Two big ones.
1. This park is huge even besides for the disc golf course. But for some reason, people love to walk and hang out right in the middle of holes. Even though there are acres and acres of beauty elsewhere in this park, and typically they are difficult to ask to move, even for us friendly bunch of disc golfers. So be patient, Troy citizens aren't as friendly as a disc golfer and you may not understand them.
2. Hole 18 is near the river, and at dusk it gets a bit darker and is across a river. There is a couple of poachers that wait for you to throw, and pretend to walk thru, but they snatch and go. Leaving you looking and not finding. Beware of the 18th hole at dusk.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Its close for me, its technical and not too long, but the course keeps changing things up. I like it and if it were longer,had some elevation changes, and was just a bit more ascetically pleasing, I would have ranked it higher. But a very solid 3.5

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth it to take I75 if heading north from Detroit Metro Airport

1    7/9/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: geodude
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean park, easy access to Interstate 75, mostly shaded, extra long concrete tees, good variety of tree challenges, nice park in an affluent suburb, creek runs through the course, mainly grass with trees, Ad-Hoc Festival on Summer Saturdays: see 'Cons' below. Free to play.. Some picnic tables at a few holes.
Cons: Some poison ivy at hole 18 along creek and ditch, very crowded on the weekend with some sort of Festive Dress up in Character event , was told this happens every Saturday in summer, dude with a giant white rabbit head, guy dressed up like ragged ann. Weekdays used by people doing Tai-chi with swords, very cool but you have to play around them, and thru them. Only one bathroom, far away, no water fountains that I saw. Lack of significant elevation changes, Could use more benches at tees.
Other Thoughts: The Festival was really cool I thought, played thru some women who were playing Pokemon-Go or something like that- had a chat about Geodude and Charzard (brush up on your Pokemon).

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Underrated

1    6/5/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: lVlrBoJang1es
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes.
Not extremely challenging.
Only 2 or 3 holes where losing a disc is a possibility.
Cons: Not overly challenging.
Confusing layout after the first few holes.
Risk of hitting civilians on the first few holes - they are very near to a shelter/grilling area.
Other Thoughts: This course plays nicely.

There are a few holes that present a water hazard which usually has a fast moving current. If you manage to place a disk in the stream, don't hesitate in trying to retrieve it because it only take a few moments for the flow to move the disk off your throwing line or sink it to the murky bottom.

The course starts with a few relatively open holes to get you warmed up. You'll run into a mix of wooded and open-field style holes in the 2nd half of the course. You have to cross over a bridge twice at points in the course that aren't clearly marked. The tee shot over the stream (immediately after you cross the bridge the 2nd time) is my favorite!

You go out with a bang on the last hole. It's a design that feels closer to what you'd experience at a more refined course - an open area tee shot that requires you to either lay up, or go long over a bridged brush hazard that stretches horizontally across the entire fairway. If you overshoot the basket on your 2nd shot once you clear the brush hazard, you can easily fly into the stream that runs the length of the course. This high risk/high reward can make or break your round (easy to lose a disk here).

Although Kensington is my favorite course, this is the best in terms of convenience when living in Royal Oak.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    6/19/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Sean525
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 3/18/2015
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Definitely a good course for beginners and players of all skill levels.

Lots of tree love/hate.

Glad the park staff finally took down the graffitied signs and replaced them with wood stakes.

Down the road from my house.

Great outdoor park and it's free!
Cons: This place can get really congested with crowds, especially on the weekends. Lots of casuals.

Civilians sometimes get in the way.

Careful of the Rouge River, I've lost a couple discs in that current.

Litterbugs are a problem. I wouldn't recommend walking around barefoot or bringing your dog because there is broken glass in some areas.

Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray, quite a few skeeters in the back 9.

Civilians tend to not realize they're walking on the course. Don't insult or shout at them, they have every right to be there just as much as you. Be courteous, kindly remind them that you are playing a game, and give them a heads up before you throw.

If you're going with a huge group, please be considerate and split into groups of 3 or 4 rather than a group of 10. Keep the pace steady for everybody else using the course. Since it's a free park it's going to attract a lot of casuals. Please use golf etiquette.

I usually play early to avoid the crowds and leagues.

Please don't litter and don't bring glass.


0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Reminds me of a lot of courses I know

1    4/21/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a very large multi-use park. Areas for DG are mostly DG exclusive but there are a few walking paths that intermingle.

Teepads-- Nice and in good shape. Adequate length for hole length.

Baskets-- all present and accounted for. some were a bit wobby and wonky but served their purpose well.

Routing and Nav-- I have to disagree with some of the other reviews. I think this course flows nicely. One gripe is the closeness of teepad to previous basket on a few holes.

Variety/water-- there are a lot of different holes here and the woods/ water are used very effectively. #10 over the water is a fun little hole that should/could have been repeated once or twice more. The water comes into play on several holes and that creek is a bit deeper than it looks ;)

Teesigns-- effective yet simple.. identical to raintrees.
Cons:
Very straightforward/Challenge-- the challenge in this course is not really all that high. Most holes are mid to fairway driver length and are straightforward. a lot of flex shots are required here.

Glass-- there is a lot of glass on the course in multiple places.

Other Thoughts:
I found the locals to be more than accommodating. I, as a single player, was never expected to play behind a large group. Always was let go through or play a hole with the locals.
I really liked this place. Had good vibes all over it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Firefighters

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: zombie brain
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent holes long and short not to busy fun times
Cons: They changed a few holes and there were no markers for distance or par
Other Thoughts: Overall not a bad course would play again and recommend for others to play. Not really any elevation but still fun

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course Overall

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: MoeDiscGolf06
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes weren't too long, but they were long enough to need a good drive
-Nice concrete tees-lots of room for a run-up
-Easy to find most of the tees without a map
-Wasn't too busy during the late afternoon
-Not too many places to lose a disc, except in the creek
-Park kept very clean
Cons: -Hole 10's tee is hard to find if you've never been here before
-A couple of the tee signs were missing, and most had graffiti/black paint all over them
-2 or 3 of the baskets seemed abnormally higher than the others
Other Thoughts: Intermediate level course. I wouldn't recommend this course for a first-timer, but players with at least a few months of experience would do well here.
The baskets weren't too close to the next tee, so there wasn't really any chance of hitting someone with a bad throw.
Overall, this was a really nice course, and I would definitely recommend checking it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice location for the course, nicely wooded but not a crazy amount of trees. Loved the layout of the course, they packed a nice 18 hole course into a not very large area.
Cons: Can be very busy at times, especially on nice weekend days and holidays. Also the course seems to hold a lot of water after it rains which causes a lot of flooding around baskets and a lot of mud while playing, seemed like i was wiping mud off my disc after every shot.
Other Thoughts: Great course for all levels of players, free to play which is nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 lunch break

2-4    8/20/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: liked this course a lot, got to play it on my lunch break a few times. it is a long course, very open and not a whole lot of trees, just a few right in the line of the hole, not very busy eather, at times.
Cons: its not hard to find its off the hwy. it is hard to find ur way to the next holes not a whole lot of direction! signs suck people beat them all up- but i guess it gives it charater!
Other Thoughts: had fun there, deff. recommand it to first time players!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Notorious

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: jamal_jumpstart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mix of shorty throws, long drives and over the river
-Lots of places to take a break (picnic tables)
-Two bridges to cross the river
-Dogs are welcome if you dont like going after your stray discs
Cons: -Crowded with certain demographics and lots of kids
-The river is near a sewage drain and the news said EColi was in it this morning
-Lots of graffiti
-Ignore the signs where to start, park in the back corner that is hole #1 now
Other Thoughts: I found two discs in the river that both said "Chris" on them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.