Troy, MI
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Firefighters

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: zombie brain
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent holes long and short not to busy fun times
Cons: They changed a few holes and there were no markers for distance or par
Other Thoughts: Overall not a bad course would play again and recommend for others to play. Not really any elevation but still fun

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Course Overall

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: MoeDiscGolf06
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes weren't too long, but they were long enough to need a good drive
-Nice concrete tees-lots of room for a run-up
-Easy to find most of the tees without a map
-Wasn't too busy during the late afternoon
-Not too many places to lose a disc, except in the creek
-Park kept very clean
Cons: -Hole 10's tee is hard to find if you've never been here before
-A couple of the tee signs were missing, and most had graffiti/black paint all over them
-2 or 3 of the baskets seemed abnormally higher than the others
Other Thoughts: Intermediate level course. I wouldn't recommend this course for a first-timer, but players with at least a few months of experience would do well here.
The baskets weren't too close to the next tee, so there wasn't really any chance of hitting someone with a bad throw.
Overall, this was a really nice course, and I would definitely recommend checking it out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice location for the course, nicely wooded but not a crazy amount of trees. Loved the layout of the course, they packed a nice 18 hole course into a not very large area.
Cons: Can be very busy at times, especially on nice weekend days and holidays. Also the course seems to hold a lot of water after it rains which causes a lot of flooding around baskets and a lot of mud while playing, seemed like i was wiping mud off my disc after every shot.
Other Thoughts: Great course for all levels of players, free to play which is nice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lunch break

2-4    8/20/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: liked this course a lot, got to play it on my lunch break a few times. it is a long course, very open and not a whole lot of trees, just a few right in the line of the hole, not very busy eather, at times.
Cons: its not hard to find its off the hwy. it is hard to find ur way to the next holes not a whole lot of direction! signs suck people beat them all up- but i guess it gives it charater!
Other Thoughts: had fun there, deff. recommand it to first time players!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Notorious

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: jamal_jumpstart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mix of shorty throws, long drives and over the river
-Lots of places to take a break (picnic tables)
-Two bridges to cross the river
-Dogs are welcome if you dont like going after your stray discs
Cons: -Crowded with certain demographics and lots of kids
-The river is near a sewage drain and the news said EColi was in it this morning
-Lots of graffiti
-Ignore the signs where to start, park in the back corner that is hole #1 now
Other Thoughts: I found two discs in the river that both said "Chris" on them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fight fire with fire

1    9/20/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was just good fun. Nice header board at the tees for 1 nd 10. Looks like an active group in the area. Good to see. Courseflows well and signs make it easily navagable for a first time player here. Good use of trees on nearly all holes. I was seriously treejected on amny occasions when my shots were not well placed. Nice use of playing along both sides of the canal. water is not a real issue 'cept on 18. if you dunk it in the water on 10... you have a very wimpy arm... or just got psyched out bu teeing over water. You need to decide on 18 are you to lay up just short of the water or go for it. If you park well you will finish right back at the car. I did not. Course was getting quite busy as I was finishing up... looked like a league, maybe was gathering to play.
Cons: hard to find any real issues here other than the fact that the tee signs are all a bit trashed from grafitti and ace signatures. Also some of the pars seem a bit high or low. Played Raintree just prior so this one feels much nicer... cuz it is. Very little elevation change here... not much real opportunity for any due to overll terrain. Might be a few more opps to play across the water for the fun of it.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have a nice 18 holer like this closer to my house.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta love it

5+    8/25/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: mohmandm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is always in great shape. There are a few minor hiccups but the guys who play here are loyal and watch over it well. The local scene is great. Great for beginners. There aren't a bunch of mosquitoes at every hole.
Cons: Occassional large high school group. It could have a couple more difficult holes.
It could use a larger variety of holes and elevation changes. The water could come into play a little bit more.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and i couldn't be happier besides the fact that I am still aceless.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 new home course

2-4    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: jmacphee9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great park setting. excellent place to go with your friends all day and play some volleyball, discin, and there was a large group playing ultimate when we went. good tee signs really help the first time you go, even though its a simple course, with no elevation changes.
overall its a beautiful place that is very fun to play imo. cops seem to be not around at all, nor nescesary as everyone there seems to respect the park well. water adds to the difficulty but its very easy to retrieve discs in the 2-3 foot deep river.
Cons: maybe a bit on the easy side. wind is very strong typically on the front 9. trees protect the back 9 though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/9/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: Trickydrd
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy course to follow. As a beginner/intermediate course (my level) this offers a well rounded 18 holes. Great, friendly league night on Mondays.
Cons: Some random graffitti and at least 3 of the tee box signs are missing. Basket #11 is missing so I usually just drive the trees and call it par. Large groups won't always let a single or double play through but this is usually the exception. The way the course Zig/Zags most shots are very straight or simply around a tree or 2.
Other Thoughts: This is my favourite local course, I can play a round in 45-60min on my way home and miss the rush hour traffic. Much better than sitting sucking fumes on M-59!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Intermediate Course

5+    8/24/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: PhattD
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. For the top players it's an ace run on most of the holes, but it is a good lay out for people who are still working on breaking the 300' barrier. There are a lot of trees but there are also some pretty well defined lanes through them so it isn't a plinko course. About he only chance of losing a disc is in the stream which is usually low enough that even that isn't a problem.
Cons: Lost a lot of trees in the last few years. Which has opened up the layout some. Still a nice course tho.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.