Troy, MI 
Firefighters Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun course, terrible clientelle

5+    6/19/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Sean525
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of fun holes. Definitely a good course for beginners and players of all skill levels.

I'm not a fan of too many trees, although I do like a few because it makes it more of a challenge. This place has holes with lots open space. Lots of tree love/hate.

Hole 9 is my personal favorite, it's like throwing skipping stones on water.

That last hole can be a bit of a challenge, you can either play it safe or be daring. I recommend playing it safe until you get used to it, I lost my Excalibur in the Rouge River. That current can get strong.

Glad the park staff finally took down the graffitied signs and replaced them with wood stakes.

Down the road from my house.

Great outdoor park and it's free!
Cons: This place can get really congested with crowds, especially on the weekends.

Sometimes civilians don't realize they're walking around the disc golf course. I once saw an Indian family playing a cricket game on the first hole.


Clientele is not always appealing. Not saying everybody who goes here is like this. But there are certain categories of negative personalities.There are the:

1. Bratty adolescents who ignore the rules and etiquette of the game.

2. Casuals who take their time and don't know how to play. Just go out to party and get intoxicated.

3. Elitist players who think they own the course and have no courtesy to let smaller groups or singles play through. They have no sense of community.

4. League players can be a pain in the ass. League nights are a hassle because some of the them don't care that they're on a public course. They will harass you until you leave because they're too rude to let people play a round. Mind you just because you're in a league doesn't mean the course is closed to the public. I used to work at Stoney Creek, sometimes we had to remind people that they had to share the course. Unfortunately, you don't see that happening here.


Litterbugs are also a problem. Please don't leave your trash laying around. There are garbage bins on the course, use them.

Other Thoughts: For the record, most of the people I've met out there are really cool and nice for the most part, but there are always going to be a few bad apples here and there.

Bring bug spray, quite a few skeeters in the back 9.

Civilians tend to not realize they're walking on a disc golf course. Don't shout or swear at them, they have every right to be there just as much as you. Be courteous, kindly remind them that you are playing a game, and give them a heads up before you throw.

If you're going with a huge group, please be considerate and split into groups of 3 or 4 rather than a group of 10. Keep the pace steady for everybody else using the course. And please don't litter.


0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Reminds me of a lot of courses I know

1    4/21/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a very large multi-use park. Areas for DG are mostly DG exclusive but there are a few walking paths that intermingle.

Teepads-- Nice and in good shape. Adequate length for hole length.

Baskets-- all present and accounted for. some were a bit wobby and wonky but served their purpose well.

Routing and Nav-- I have to disagree with some of the other reviews. I think this course flows nicely. One gripe is the closeness of teepad to previous basket on a few holes.

Variety/water-- there are a lot of different holes here and the woods/ water are used very effectively. #10 over the water is a fun little hole that should/could have been repeated once or twice more. The water comes into play on several holes and that creek is a bit deeper than it looks ;)

Teesigns-- effective yet simple.. identical to raintrees.
Cons:
Very straightforward/Challenge-- the challenge in this course is not really all that high. Most holes are mid to fairway driver length and are straightforward. a lot of flex shots are required here.

Glass-- there is a lot of glass on the course in multiple places.

Other Thoughts:
I found the locals to be more than accommodating. I, as a single player, was never expected to play behind a large group. Always was let go through or play a hole with the locals.
I really liked this place. Had good vibes all over it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Firefighters

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: zombie brain
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent holes long and short not to busy fun times
Cons: They changed a few holes and there were no markers for distance or par
Other Thoughts: Overall not a bad course would play again and recommend for others to play. Not really any elevation but still fun

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course Overall

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: MoeDiscGolf06
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes weren't too long, but they were long enough to need a good drive
-Nice concrete tees-lots of room for a run-up
-Easy to find most of the tees without a map
-Wasn't too busy during the late afternoon
-Not too many places to lose a disc, except in the creek
-Park kept very clean
Cons: -Hole 10's tee is hard to find if you've never been here before
-A couple of the tee signs were missing, and most had graffiti/black paint all over them
-2 or 3 of the baskets seemed abnormally higher than the others
Other Thoughts: Intermediate level course. I wouldn't recommend this course for a first-timer, but players with at least a few months of experience would do well here.
The baskets weren't too close to the next tee, so there wasn't really any chance of hitting someone with a bad throw.
Overall, this was a really nice course, and I would definitely recommend checking it out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice location for the course, nicely wooded but not a crazy amount of trees. Loved the layout of the course, they packed a nice 18 hole course into a not very large area.
Cons: Can be very busy at times, especially on nice weekend days and holidays. Also the course seems to hold a lot of water after it rains which causes a lot of flooding around baskets and a lot of mud while playing, seemed like i was wiping mud off my disc after every shot.
Other Thoughts: Great course for all levels of players, free to play which is nice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lunch break

2-4    8/20/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: liked this course a lot, got to play it on my lunch break a few times. it is a long course, very open and not a whole lot of trees, just a few right in the line of the hole, not very busy eather, at times.
Cons: its not hard to find its off the hwy. it is hard to find ur way to the next holes not a whole lot of direction! signs suck people beat them all up- but i guess it gives it charater!
Other Thoughts: had fun there, deff. recommand it to first time players!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Notorious

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: jamal_jumpstart
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mix of shorty throws, long drives and over the river
-Lots of places to take a break (picnic tables)
-Two bridges to cross the river
-Dogs are welcome if you dont like going after your stray discs
Cons: -Crowded with certain demographics and lots of kids
-The river is near a sewage drain and the news said EColi was in it this morning
-Lots of graffiti
-Ignore the signs where to start, park in the back corner that is hole #1 now
Other Thoughts: I found two discs in the river that both said "Chris" on them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fight fire with fire

1    9/20/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was just good fun. Nice header board at the tees for 1 nd 10. Looks like an active group in the area. Good to see. Courseflows well and signs make it easily navagable for a first time player here. Good use of trees on nearly all holes. I was seriously treejected on amny occasions when my shots were not well placed. Nice use of playing along both sides of the canal. water is not a real issue 'cept on 18. if you dunk it in the water on 10... you have a very wimpy arm... or just got psyched out bu teeing over water. You need to decide on 18 are you to lay up just short of the water or go for it. If you park well you will finish right back at the car. I did not. Course was getting quite busy as I was finishing up... looked like a league, maybe was gathering to play.
Cons: hard to find any real issues here other than the fact that the tee signs are all a bit trashed from grafitti and ace signatures. Also some of the pars seem a bit high or low. Played Raintree just prior so this one feels much nicer... cuz it is. Very little elevation change here... not much real opportunity for any due to overll terrain. Might be a few more opps to play across the water for the fun of it.
Other Thoughts: I would love to have a nice 18 holer like this closer to my house.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta love it

5+    8/25/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: mohmandm
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is always in great shape. There are a few minor hiccups but the guys who play here are loyal and watch over it well. The local scene is great. Great for beginners. There aren't a bunch of mosquitoes at every hole.
Cons: Occassional large high school group. It could have a couple more difficult holes.
It could use a larger variety of holes and elevation changes. The water could come into play a little bit more.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and i couldn't be happier besides the fact that I am still aceless.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 new home course

2-4    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: jmacphee9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great park setting. excellent place to go with your friends all day and play some volleyball, discin, and there was a large group playing ultimate when we went. good tee signs really help the first time you go, even though its a simple course, with no elevation changes.
overall its a beautiful place that is very fun to play imo. cops seem to be not around at all, nor nescesary as everyone there seems to respect the park well. water adds to the difficulty but its very easy to retrieve discs in the 2-3 foot deep river.
Cons: maybe a bit on the easy side. wind is very strong typically on the front 9. trees protect the back 9 though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.